paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL-X / Kingman Spyder TL-X / Kingman Spyder TL-X / Kingman Spyder TL-X

Kingman Spyder TL-X Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL-X

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL-X
[ View Photos (49) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 232
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
TL-X features:
Semi-automatic
Sleek,custom design receiver
Super light trigger pull
Anit-double feed
Expansion chamber with fore grip
Tournament velocity adjuster
Vertical ball feed
Drop foward
Quick disconnect pin
Bottom line set up with stainless steel hose
New two trigger finger with regulation trigger guard
Operates on co2 or compressed air
12" aluminum barrel
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL-X is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (24):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
godzilla(911) Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
fokus 2ks
tippmann 98 cutom
Marker Setup: none
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accurate marker
Good looking
Cheap to upgrade
Amazing gun for the price
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is the best gun i have ever used in my life. Anyone that has the money should get it. It is low maintanance and very light. It looks cool and it is cheap. The gun barely recoils. This gun is the best gun i have ever used in my life. Anyone that has the money should get it. It is low maintanance and very light. It looks cool and it is cheap. The gun barely recoils.
Conclusion: Amazing gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 21st, 2004 at 4:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

seeingblue Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
1st and 2nd generation automags.....Long ago
Marker Setup: Spyder tl-x
Palmer stabilizer
ESP 3.0 ipi frame
14" progressive barrel
12v revvy
68/3000 psi crossfire
shocktech #4 chrome drop forward
hydrid technology "grind" cradle
ccm no rise clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Palmer Stabilizer
compressed air
Electronic trigger
Strengths: Dependability
Simplicity
Fast

Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Expansion chamber
Review: It is the first marker that i have purchased in a very long time. Staying up late and looking at pages of different reviews, at low price markers, There were so many options to go with. I figured i would take a shot at a kingman, based solely on the reviews that this marker had recieved, And never really actually testing one out. I had found a great package deal online and placed the order, The marker arrived nearly 5 days later, And it was impressive out of the box. I was thrilled at what i had ordered. but extremely anxious to actually go out and finally use it. I was extremely pleased with it's performance, i have gone through nearly 3 cases of paint and had not chopped a single ball. The performance of the gun has greatly improved with the upgrade of the regulator along with the anti-siphon tube. The chrono'd shot speeds are +/-5 fps of eachother, and the regulator isn't quite broken-in yet. I highly recommend the suggested upgrades listed, being that the marker was merely pennies in cost. The staff, out at palmers pursuit are extremely friendly and very knowledgeable, and are willing to assist you in any questions in regards to set up.
*UPDATE*
As of june '05, i have started using compressed air and i am extremely impressed with the added performance of the marker. I am currently on the fence with whether or not i want to go with a low pressure set up.
Conclusion: I am stoked on the decision i made to go with the TL-X, it is very inexpensive, extremely upgradeable, and a very durable marker. It's a great woodsball, and recreational use marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 10th, 2005 at 8:09 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

battery Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Sling Shot - Really bad compared to any gun.
Spyder Victor 2 - It's a great gun almost as good as TL-X
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
Viewloader 200 Hopper
JJ Ceramic 14'' Barrel
20 oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, but the stock barrel works great anyways.
Strengths: Very durable
Very accurate even with stock barrel
Shoots fast, not sure how fast
Weaknesses: It might be heavy for some people, but I think it's perfect.
Review: This is a great gun for beginners or even pros. It shoots nice and it doesn't break a ball at all. I use Draxxus Blaze paintballs and it works perfectly with the gun and JJ Ceramic barrel. There is no annoying beaver tail hanging out the back of the gun, just a nice little knob on the top of the gun you pull back. The gun is really accurate with the stock barrel, but a new barrel might be nice. I can hit things very accurately from 100 feet away. And the gun is still accurate form 150 feet away.

The first time I played with the gun I got a lot of hits. I dropped the gun several times with no problems. A 20 oz. CO2 tank balances the gun really nice since the gun is heavier than some guns. For those of you who are really rich, you can use N2 without upgrading the gun. The entire gun is metal except for the rubber grip which makes it really comfortable. It would be nice if it had a rubber fore grip like the Victor 2 though. But the expansion chamber with the gun is nice too. I also like the thumb velocity adjuster which is very nice.

The only problem I had with the gun is that when I wanted to take the cocking bolt out it wouldn't let me because the knob that stuck out keeps it from sliding out. Eventually I figured out all you have to do is pull the knob up and it comes right out. Then the bolt will come out easy. Other than that I have had no other problems. I think it's a lot better than electronic markers which cost a lot and then you end up wasting more money on balls and batteries.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a gun of great quality for a great price, I would suggest this gun. The price can range from 97 to 150 dollars, just depends on where you buy it. But if you need to save even more money, I would suggest getting a Spyder Victor 2, the price can range from 55 to 100 dollars. Players of any skill can use the TL-X. It is a very upgradeable gun. I think the gun is really good looking too. But any Spyder gun is great anyways, but I like this Spyder the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

triggerhappym Saturday, June 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor 2 (Not nearly as good a gun.)
Cheap rental piranha (worse than the Victor II)
Imagine with an evil pipe barrel (similar)
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-x
14" Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel
16 oz CO2 tank
Low-rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel. Stock is ok, but a new one really helps. I recommend the teardrop if you want a good cheap barrel.
Electronic trigger. I plan on getting one of these next year. It shortens the trigger pull and is faster.
Electronic hopper. to keep up with your triggerhappiness cuz with this gun you will want to shoot fast
Low-rise really helps lower the hopper
I had to get a new spring kit because my spring was too long
Strengths: Accurate
good on gas
cool colour
balanced
Weaknesses: Only one colour
Shiny
A little heavy
Hopper sits high
Moderate trigger pull
Unwalkable trigger
Review: I am new to paintball and this was my first gun. I bought it off the internet for $120 CAN. I took it out of the box, put some paint and CO2 on it and took it out back for some test firing. I was amazed at how accurate the stock barrel was. I put 350 shots through it then and there was only one chop, but that was because the velocity was at like 350 fps from the box.
That weekend i took my friend out back with his Victor 2 and we played 1 on 1. This gun was amazing. The second he looked out this gun would shoot at the exact spot with only a stock barrel.
Three days after that i took it for another spin at my local field with another friend. It did surprisingly well in woodsball and speedball. After this game i bought a 14" teardrop off ebay.
After having this gun for 1 week my friend organized a game with about eight people in their own field. he had a Imagine with a evil pipe 14" barrel. My gun outperformed a brand new pilot, fokus, and equaled an Imagine.
Me and my imagine friend were hiding behind a tree when one guy with a cheap piranha came right up to us. His hopper was sticking out from behind a tree about 45 feet away. I shot it about 7 times.
This is the most incredible gun i have ever used.

//EDIT//

After playing for three rounds at my local field I had eliminated two players. I had only used 20 paintballs. Several other players had balls come extremely close to hitting them or bounced off.
I then went to another local field and played again, but my spring was too short because they shortened it with a lighter and i had to get a spring kit. This gun was incredible i took out three people shooting 204 fps.

Conclusion: This gun is the best low end mechanical marker that i have seen yet. After putting 6000 shots through this gun i've only had 3 breaks and they were because of the CO2 tank being loose and the velocity being too high. I also outshot my gravity hopper. I think that it is good for anyone that wants to get into paintball. It worked for me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 1:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blacha 007 Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor 2
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel maybe a sight
Strengths: *Top cocking
*Cool design
*Okay barrel
Weaknesses: *Weird handle
*To reflective for forest games
*metal bottomline handle
Review: I am new to paintball so I dont know every little thing there is to know. I think its wonderful gun for 86.99$ compared to 139.99$. I love the design its sleek and the top-cocking is cool too. The barrel is okay accurate compared to Spyder Victor (No Offence). And Its very easy to take apart.
Conclusion: Ithink this gun is great for a starter to have and is pretty cheap where I found it.
So 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 at 12:55 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tragedy Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Syder Victor, Tippmann Pro/Carbine, Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: What it came with.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Accuracy
Co2 Efficient
Doesn't Chop Balls
Looks cool
Light Weight
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I only tested this I shot about 500 balls, none chopped. I found it extremely accurate, I loved this gun. I'm going to buy it, I live in canada so its about $170 but its amazing.

I reccomend this gun to everyone.

The stock barrel is good, and the gun is really light.
It looks really slick.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to everyone, It has everything you want.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

grillinvinny Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann m98, black dragun compact w/ vl loader, spyder xtra, Tippmann sl-68 w/ zap reloader
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X w/ spyder xtra grip (il tell u y in a minute),vl200, 12oz,everything else is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel maybe? but mine shoots great with the stock one
Strengths: Great design and paint job, good-great accuracy (w/ stock barrel), co2 friendly
Weaknesses: Its a little heavy. thats it
Review: I've just bought the gun so forgive me for the crapp review. I just received it yesterday from the states ( i live in the philippines) and i just wanted to try my brand new gun. Right out of the box, I got a little surprise. The gun i ordered was the xtra not the tl-x. Plus i wasnt sure which was which coz of the venturi bolt and the sypder xtra grip. I checked all the pball sites i know and came to the conclusiio that my gun was a TL-X with a venturi bolt, sight rail and a very peculiar but effective,xtra grip. (il post the pic so u can see)I went to the arena and found my friends already getting ready to go. ( TRAFFIC) So i just stayed behind hoping to play with my new gun. I went to the range and fired 30-40 bullets in less than 6 secs. I was very surprised because i wasx using a crappy vl200 loader and an almost empty co2 tank. The accuracy was great but over 60+ feet it kinda gets screwed up.When i did play, I joined a group of guys (newbies btw). We found ourselves playing 4 on 4 with the first round. Right from the start, i ran out shot oh maybe...40+ rounds in 10 secs? i managed to kill only 1 guy with that amount coz of the so called 10 feet rule. the second round, 1 more guy joined so i was put with the 4 members aginst 5. What i did was instruct the guys to just shoot them from their base bunker and i will just bunker all 5 of them in one run. Go time. I ran out to the right side and started shooting at the other team. When i was at the rigt side of the bunker (with 4 members in it) i started firing my marker.I managed to kill all 4 of them. while i was walking to the bunker (there was only 1 guy left and i left that tomy teammates) I realized that i had 0 balls left. I counted my stash and i found out that i managed to shoot 57 rounds in about 10 secs in that single bunker run.
Conclusion: This was a great move in my part coz i used to play with an sl-68 pump so i was able to get up close and personal with the opposition.This gun never chopped a ball in th 1000+ rounds i fired during practice. (700 of which were all fired really fast) I reccomend u buy this gun. I didnt get what i ordered, but hell i got an even better one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

usefuljon Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact Tippman 98c stingray pirranna etc
Marker Setup: busted Spyder TL-X
Recommended
Upgrades:
Air, Electric hopper, and Siffi barrel.
Strengths: Doesn't chop balls very accurate out of box solid frame cool design
Weaknesses: After 6hrs there was some scoring on the bolt and inner chamber. plastic grip
Review: i played with this marker for 4 hours brand new out of box and it was amazing. very accurate smoth firing didn't chop a single ball after 1500 rounds. then the thing just broke in my hands. i'm not sure what caused the malfunction but its quite broken. The upper bolt of the marker moved to far back in the chamber and not only bent the top cocking pin but also broke out the back cover of the marker. This did not completely render the marker useless i was able to finish the game i was in but after that the marker would not fire properly. The bolts are both stuck in the gun and it will no longer fire. i'm giving kingman the benifit of the doubt that they haven't produced a shotty product because otherwise i've been quite satisfied by their markers, but the one i recieved seemed to be made with poor quality metal and assembled by a three year old. one of the trigger frame screws was loose and the expansion chamber wasn't screwed in all the way. Maybe i was lied to by my seller and its a refurb marker or maybe i just got a bad egg. i don't know i was just very surprised to have it break so quickly.

*****UPDATE******

I recieved a replacement marker and the thing is a firestorm of pain for anyone on the other end! It's awsome. I upgraded the barrell to a St!ffi and it's silent and accurate. people were complaning about not being able to hear where the shots were coming from. great entry marker but definately needs a better barrel.
Conclusion: if mine is the only bad one then go get it. when i played it was great, i mean amazing for $100 otherwise get something else. I'm giving this gun an 7 because of the out of box failure.

*****UPDATE****
After i got the new marker i can't complain its smooth beautiful and kickass.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004 at 4:33 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

riley321 Monday, May 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman '98 Custom-good gun, but the TLX was better
Tippman A-5 with response trigger- works well when playing and has good accuracy, an all around better gun, but expensive
Recommended
Upgrades:
It's too shiny, add camo.
Strengths: Accurate
Volocity is easy to adjust
Easy trigger pull
Doesn't split balls
Weaknesses: It is obvious when playing because of the colour
Review: It's an all around good gun. It is accurate and light. the tournament volocity adjuster makes it easy for you to adjust, whether your velocity is to high or to low. There aren't many weaknesses to this gun, except that it is to shiny when playing so your easy to see, but you can paint camo over that.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to anyone who wants a good, accurate gun that doesn't split balls, without spending to much money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 18th, 2009 at 10:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oublik2 Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot- Egg3- Proto 1 piece- Dye stickys= better then the TL-X
Stryker EMX-1000- all stock= better then the TL-X
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X all stock
Gravity hopper- VL 200
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Maybe an agitating hopper? It's only a mech gun but if you want to spoil yourself with a feeder, by all means go ahead.
-Barrel, but the stock barrel isn't half bad if you put decent paint through it.
-Clamping feedneck.
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: -GOOD-
-Good price for a good mech gun
-Decent stock barrel with pretty nice accuracy.
-I've had no more then 5 ball breaks
-Not a gas hog by any means.

-BAD-
-I had 2 leaks around the gas line but thats only because i didnt tighten anything when i first recieved the gun and then i went under heavy hours of play, and droped it. But a simple tightening of some screws and valves, and it was all ready to go.
-Only chopped no more then 5 balls out of around..1800, due to my lack of money i bought Monster Balls, which is a horrible choice. Never again.
-Thats about it, but they are both my fault and my lack of judgement.
-A little too loud for my taste but a better barrel can fix that

-REVEW-
I was searching online for a good Paintball gun that I didn't have to put over a hundred dollars to spend on an electro gun, so I settled for a mech gun that was a very good, but didnt cost very much, seeing how i'm new to the sport. Most places I went to go looking for pointed to the TL-X. So I did more research and took a liking to it and I bought it off of Ebay for $62 and some odd change, pretty good deal for just the gun, hopper elbow and a barrel plug. I then went and got a hopper, co2 tank, and some paintballs and when i got back home i gased it up and shot a couple. The accuracy, as i've said before really depends on the quality of the paint your shooting. Monster Balls curved all over the place and somtimes didn't even break at all. But when i went to a field and bought their paint i noticed an incredible improvement. Balls were spot on and no curves. Obviousley you are not going to get up to 20bps with this thing, but it did surprise me with how fast it could go and not chop.
Conclusion: I spent around a total of $80 for getting the gun and everything else to get it shooting, not that bad at all if i do say so myself.
The TL-X is a great beginner gun performance wise and at a great cost.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 19th, 2007 at 11:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (24):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media