paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Xtreme BKO / Indian Creek Designs Xtreme BKO / Indian Creek Designs Xtreme BKO / Indian Creek Designs Xtreme BKO

Indian Creek Designs Xtreme BKO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Xtreme BKO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Xtreme BKO
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $325

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same as the original 04 BKO with an exception of new milling and a new high pressure regulator.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Xtreme BKO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Justin The Pyro Tuesday, August 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder AMG - Worse
Marker Setup: Alley Cat
Tippmann
Piranha
BKO
Recommended
Upgrades:
New HPR
New LPR
New Ram
New Barrel
Strengths: Price
ROF
Smallness
Lightness
Delrin bolt
Easy to fine tune
Decent stock barrel
Weaknesses: High maintenance
Manual is almost useless
Trigger pull hard to set
Bad HPR
Loud
Review: Ok, it took 2 and a half weeks to get this delivered but it finally came. I gassed it up and shot it. The first thing I noticed was it was almost as loud as my Tippmann. The second thing I noticed was the velocity was set too high. I read the manual and got that taken care of. The manual said I needed to lube the bolt with Silicone Spray and the regulator pistons and cylindrical housing with White Lithium Grease. What the hell does that mean? I knew where those parts were, but there is no diagram in the manual telling me how I should go about taking it apart. All it has is a picture of the gun in the back of the manual. I went on PBR, and got that taken care of but it was still annoying that they did not tell me how to do it to begin with. Also, it told me to use blue loctite on the two screws in the trigger so they do not come screwed in too far over time. Since this is an 04 milled version BKO, there are 3 screws in the trigger. Do not mess with the one in the middle, trust me I did and it did nothing good for me. They are refering to the top and bottom screws in the trigger. Setting the trigger pull is one of the most tedious things I have ever done in my entire life. The screws are set in such a way that it is hard to get to and is small and hard to set. Also, in the manual it says: "If you pull the trigger and the LED goes off and stays off, you have adjusted the screw in too far. Back it out." What they mean by this is when you pull the trigger and the little light is not on anymore then you release the trigger and the light is still not shining, you are screwed. I had trouble with this when adjusting my trigger pull and thought I would include this into the review because ICD worded it so poorly. The high pressure regulator comes off into 3 pieces. Each pieces unscrews from the next piece starting from the small notch near the hose fitting. I suggest you use a rubber glove and maybe a wrench to get it off because I had a lot of trouble getting it off to lube it. The stock feedneck is a pain in the butt. It unscrews but is tight on all my hoppers. I suggest you sand down a hopper you already have or just get a clamping feedneck. Do not use this gun with co2 unless you have the proper setup. I'm not going to go into detail on this because you can always check the forums. ICD has good customer service so if you screw your gun up somehow talk to them. The gun has a 1 year warranty so don't crap your pants if you kill it. Keep it operating at 225 PSI. The factory set it right, but you might have to fine tune the HPR depending on what HPA tank you have. This gun shoots 18 BPS which is decently fast but it is somewhat hard to get it that fast. You need a good trigger finger. The battery is a pain in the butt because you insert it in the trigger frame, right where the delicate electronics are. It makes you paranoid you will kill it somehow every time you change the battery. The performance of this gun is good, it shot accurately with consistent velocity, but you might want to put something on the barrel to keep it on there because after a couple hundred shots it started to unscrew and it made my balls curve everywhere. This gun is easy to field strip. The bolt has a small pin you just pull out and out it comes. Just make sure the bolt is pushed back all the way when you put the pin back in or else it does not catch the spring and the bolt just flops around. The last thing I will ramble on about is this gun DOES NOT come with an ASA or drop forward or cradle. This means you will have to get it yourself, so do not expect to play with it the day it comes in the mail unless you also bought an ASA.
Conclusion: This is a very good gun, especially for the price. I do not like the maintenance for it, but with everything high performance, it takes care to keep it up and running. I give it a 9 because nothing is perfect and I do not like the owner's manual it comes with.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 10th, 2004 at 4:11 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

akaAssasyn Sunday, August 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
my first electro
Marker Setup: black BKO, Mac Dev Red Valve, PowerLyte SS, Rico AK, CP Reg. OTB Blind Bolt, Shocktech piston, Dye Mini drop. Oring mod for the detent.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If its anything like mine you NEED a new bolt. Go with a Vapor or Blind Bolt. The bore in the top tube is just too large. Or you could get a Halo.

I'll recommend everything I have, except the piston and drop (use what you like). The ST piston I'm iffy about the improvements, there are trade-offs from what the stock provides.
Strengths: Price, fast and easy to use.
Weaknesses: Bolt/blowback
Review: I was ready to leave the world of blowbacks, but I only play once in a couple months or monthly now, so I didn't want to get an expensive marker. So I did some research and went through a couple of PB forums and found the BKO.

More kick than other electros, but its fast.

Easy to maintain. The wiring is very delicate when you stip the marker.

Nice stock trigger.

My only issue is blow back, which can be fixed easily.
Conclusion: Throw you 9 volt in and shoot some strings. Not realy to spend a grand buy a BKO.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gogged U Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
impys matrixes cockers
Marker Setup: 04 bko
max flo reg
PB drop
supa fly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
shocktech bolt
shocktech piston
CP or maxflo reg
fast hopper
Strengths: accuracy.........consistencie.............speed and light weight
Weaknesses: it came dirty but other than that nothing
Review: THEE best gun u can buy for under 350 dollars it rips stock and works great i would recomend it to any players that want to start playing tournaments it is pretty small so it a great front gun and rips if u want to play back also all around great gun
Conclusion: BUY IT..............NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dman1514 Saturday, July 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse-very similar, but the bko is superior in the price range and is lighter.
Marker Setup: 2004 Silver Extreme BKO
Y-Boarded eggy
SP Boss Progressive
Vapor Valve
Sidewinder reg
2004 Chaos Board
32 Degrees Universal drop (highly recommended for 2004 extreme BKOs, many colors and look sexy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
FAST hopper-nothing less than y-board egg
barrel
board
Valve-with the valve you will want to buy and aftermarket reg to keep up with the high flow of the new valve, but the stock does ok
Reg
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Quiet
Light
Cheap
Easy to maintain
Well-made
Weaknesses: Stock regs-they are decent, but i demand the best
The stock barrel is ok
Review: I got my gun like 2-3 months ago

FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVE JUST GOT THEIR BKO!!!- You will have to do a bit of tinkering before you can get it up and running such as setting up your bottomline and adjusting/breaking in your regs. Adjusting/breaking in your regs will be a pain. But that is what the lovely people in the ICD forum are for. BE PATIENT!!!! IF IF IF IF IF IF you have problems with your BKO you can work through them.

The reason i said this is because before i purchased my bko i was deciding between my bko and an impulse. I researched quite a bit here on pbreview and at my local proshop. While researching, i kept hearing mixed feelings about the BKO. Some said the gun ripped, and others wanted to throw it against a wall after they tried to use it. Thanks to a friend, i finally decided to buy the bko and have no regrets. It is a much better buy than an impulse. It is like 100 dollars cheaper, and with imps you have to buy a ton of ups to get the gun working like a low pressure kit for their stock regs and a tapeworm to even allow you to dry fire the gun. Believe me, the BKO is much better.


Now to my review


The first day i got it, i slapped on my drop and air to dry fire it. Being the first day i was on the verge of committing suicide when i heard this leak(gush) by the gripframe. But thanks to the people at pbreview-icd forum, i found out that the regs just needed to be adjusted. So i adjusted them to what they said.

The next day after i had gone to get air and balls, i tried to dry fire it again. Still a leak. Then i came across this simple fix that Impya had posted in the ICD forum. All i had to do was tighten two little screws.

The leak was gone.

A week later (after much dry firing and shooting at trees in my back yard) when i was at my field, i took it to the chrono. I was able to get like +/-4 with the stock regs. Thats pretty good. But also consider the regs were broken in and working at their peak. I had no problems that day and it was one the the most fun days of paintball ever.

Since then i have had no problems with my BKO and i have fallen in love with it
Conclusion: BUY IT-this is the best gun for your money
With time and a few upgrades, this gun can compete with anything that it meets at the field
If you're deciding between this or an imp or a 2004 cocker GET THIS. You won't regret it.
If you ever need help, just hit me up on AIM- DJManis1514
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jimmyjames Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first Electro marker. Spyders, and Autocockers.
Marker Setup: Red 04 BKO with Vapor Bolt, Red 02 Autococker Orracalized (Front block, bolt) Matching Red Hinge Trigger, Crossfire 68cu 4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Bolt
Strengths: Light weight, Quick Trigger
Weaknesses: Not Accurate, won't longball (even when used with Boomstick), Blowback
Review: When I first used this gun I was sooooo disappointed. After only three games I put it away and used my Autocker. The chopping, and lack of accuracy just ruined my first impression of this gun. Changing the barrel didn't help the accuracy at alI ,should have purchased the E-blade for my cocker instead of this marker.
Conclusion: I would suggest this gun would be good for the beginner but not much else. For the money, you would be better off buying a Spyder and upgrading it.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 8th, 2004 at 8:04 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Drift or die86 Friday, September 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, mag, angel, cyborg, matrix, e-cockers, most higher end electros. All are MUCH better then the BKO.
Marker Setup: 2004 extreme bko, cp grip reg, hoseless micro rock, vapor valve, zenitram magnetic trigger frame, bonebrake clamping no rise, PDS, trinity unimount, z board egg JUST SOLD, 2004dye LCD matrix will be here Wednesday.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Do not even bother
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Faulty construction and parts, slow service time, junk
Review: Since my previous review was deleted. At first i loved the gun, then the board fried itself. Sent it in, and got it back 3 weeks later and had to pay for shipping both ways for a factory defective part. Gun was strong for a bit after that, then the stock regulators went crazy, 100+- at the chrono, it was strange, the regs were also cleaned and lubed and i still had problems. Did not bother to send it in this time, so i just bought a new set of regulators, a CP grip reg and a Hoseless Micro Rock. Gun was good after that, pretty good at the chrono. The stock parts were garbage, so i then began changing them, the only stock things now are teh ram, bolt and obviously the frame.
Well the second board fried itself when i plugged a new battery in and the i saw a spark from the board, nothing i could really do except send it back, which i did. 40 dollars and 2 weeks later i got the gun back just intime for my tournement. didnt have air to test, but the tech at ICD when they put PDS on without my full permission, said he has to use paint and air to check everything out. I get to the field get air and have about two hours untill our first match. I got air and paint and just planned on adjusting the velocity and getting the operating pressure down. I screw the tank in, and the solenoid is leaking! the gasket was broken, and im sure I did not do that. I decided to just suck it up and play with the leak, but the gun did not fire 90% of the time when i pulled the trigger, and when i was able to get 3 cycles in a short amount of time i had INSANE shootdown.

Heres how this looks to me= I send the company/factory my gun/thier brand new product that i spent money own. For those of you who do not know, ICD offeres a 12 month warranty on parts and labor on their gun that they are not honoring. If the tech put air AND paint through the gun, he would have not only saw the leak and the shoot down, but he may of noticed some PDS chopping. i was able to get 300 balls through the gun and yes, I did chop a ball.

I am very pissed of about this, so i bought a new gun, my matrix will be here in a few days.

Phil
Conclusion: Well I do not know the how big the first batch was, but i ahve the 293 2004 Extreme bko to be made. Possibly the first batch since those tend to have some leak issues. I am forced to give the gun a one because the gun not only sucks, but the tech support to fix the gun sucks and i have paid shipping both ways whenever i send it in.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 4th, 2004 at 12:21 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Illidan Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
b2k, impulse, shockers, omen
Marker Setup: 04 BKO, Sceptor Kit, centerflag 68ci3k tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Quality parts??
Strengths: Innovative idea, looks good for $300 marker.
Weaknesses: poor quality
Review: Alright, i had heard good things about ICD and the BKO, I recently sold my autococker, and was looking at higher end markers. I decided id pick up a BKO to play with until I had enough money for whatever I wanted.

When I received the BKO in the mail and opened the package it looked good. Nice gloss anodizing, trigger was 4-way adjustable, and a gauge on the adjustable stock reg were all very nice features.

However, as soon as I gassed up the marker air leaked (more liked gushed) out of the solenoid. I tried adjusting the reg, but this had no effect. After this I packaged the marker back up and shipped it back for a new one. They sent me a new one. This one worked for about 7 hours, I had shot about 400 paintballs when all of a sudden, this one started leaking.
Conclusion: Every product a company makes should be tested straight out of the factory to make it sure it runs properly. These markers obviously were not held up to these avg. standards.

Maybe ur marker works great and good for you,all I can say is two of the ones I got didn't.
I will give it a 5 because the BKO is a good idea, just quality is horrid. Also, some people seem to be having good luck with them, maybe its the company I bought from...
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 5:04 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

sergentslaughte Tuesday, December 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: All Stock BKO
68/45 HPa
Eggy 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator is a must!
Bolt
Trigger
LPR is u find 'em
Strengths: Cheap
Electronic
Weaknesses: almost EVERYTHING
Review: Hey, this is a pretty good gun for it time, ICD just didn't know what they were doing. The stock regulator is assembled in a way that the air doesn't flow right, the half moon's in the inside should be full circle. Most people have a problem with a lot of kick, usually its because the body is to big for the bolt so the bolt doesn't fit snuggly. The solenoid breaks too easily.

Overall this is a decent gun, its just high maintenence

Good:
Short trigger pull
Fast?
Decent Feedneck
Delrin Bolt

Bad:
The trigger is uncomfortable
Th regulator is crap, spikes all over the place
The LPR is hard to adjust properly, turn all the way it the gun has not pressure, all the way down is still has no pressure,
The solenoid is $100+ to replace if it blown
The solednoid gastket is almost IMPOSSIBLE to find replacements
The VA is impossible to find replacements for now, so it something happens to it, bye bye BKO
Conclusion: I really woudn't even have bought this product unless it was $50, which was what I paid for it, and you should pay no more. It needs to be rebuilt all the time! It's like a Bushmaster that went wrong, all the way through the factory!!!
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

leethaxz Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
similar products = impulse

compares equally.
Marker Setup: angel ir3 stock (just purchsed)
68/45 cross blue

icd bko
freak barrell kit
vapor valve
supa fly
palmers pursuit low pressure
Recommended
Upgrades:
vapor valve
supa fly bolt
low pressure reg
new barell
Strengths: Speed
Wheight
Durability
Warranty
Weaknesses: The barell is not that
Review: Great accurate gun if used on low pressure nitro (blue)
consistent as well
dont use on co2 for best results
capable of 18bps.
elec on off
great fast gun, light wheight, great for a n00bz0rz or for an experienced paintballer.

Vapor modifications are eccellent for this gun. the warranty is a one year warranty.
however i would suggest a decent barrell. a decent low price barrell is the teardrop.
Conclusion: Would reccomend it to anyone and ecryone for its price.
ive heard they are not consistent, but they must be a bunch of tards to say that.
they are prolly running it on co2
the barell isnt bad but i reccomend a new one.

great price. great gun.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SmpBaller Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Imagine
04 c0cker
b2k3
Marker Setup: black 04 bko
evo II
Crossfire 68/45
drop forward
blind bolt
Dye Ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
a Halo B or a Evo II
nitro
maybe a new bolt if u chop alot
Strengths: Super Fas
Looks good
Quiet and quick field stripping
Weaknesses: The stock bolt chops a lil too much
and thats bout it!!
Review: The Gun is awsome, if ur upgrading from a spyder or a tippman or any gun u need to get a 04 bko. This gun is very very fas and is quiet as heck. The stock bolt is kinda bad but thats bout it. It is way better than the spyder imagine, faster and about as accurate as the 04 c0cker, and bout the same as the b2k3.
Conclusion: Get the gun, its a good gun to play tournys with or to play in the bak yard. Around 300 and is well worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media