paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer

Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dark Horizon

Buy Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
60% of the weight of the stock steel hammer, the Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer is almost as slick as the surface of a non-stick skillet. The hammer itself is so light and cylcles so fast, that markers with the response trigger installed can't react fast enough to latch the sear. For that reason, the standard Model 98 Titanium Hammer was put in to production to add more weight. There is a very limited supply of these hammers so when they're sold out there will be no more.
Product Availability 
The Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Dead Monday, September 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom - Polished Internals, Milled Sight Rails (Dye Izon attached), Maddmann Spring Kit
Lapco Bigshot
Lapco T-Stock/Bottomline
Lapco Direct Feed
Q-Loader
BSI Stick Trigger/Guard
Sticky Grips
DOP Pro-Seal and Front Bolt
Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Rear Bolt
3k/207ci (yes, 207 I'm "fire extinguisher guy") on a remote line
Strengths: -Much lighter
-Reduces recoil
Weaknesses: -Too light for stock internals
-Expensive
Review: This thing really is quite a bit lighter. I wonder though, if using a drill and dremel you could make the stock bolt close to a similar weight. It's really expensive. It is so light that the stock valve barely opens properly! I'm ordering the low pressure kit valve spring and I'm doing a DIY LP kit using this hammer.
Conclusion: If you're planning on going crazy on your marker, and don't want to try lightening the rear bolt yourself, like me, then get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dariunas Sunday, March 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: -Tippman 98 C
-Flatline Barrel System / Quiet Riot 12" / SP Progressive 14"
-Dead On Paintball Powertube (I think it's aluminium)
-32 Degrees Hyperstar Bolt
-Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer (Lite)
-Cyclone Feed System
-BT Folding Stock (hollow)
-Poished internals
Strengths: Light
Silky smooth
VASTLY reduced recoil
Weaknesses: Needs stronger springs (read review)
Review: Great item. Comes with a couple of stickers and packaged to protect it.

Changing the hammer / rear bolt is a very easy job. So even if you're not mechanically minded, the user manual will see you through easy.

I took this out on the field. The sear springs were not tight enough to catch the sear when the hammer wanted to come back, so was burping a lot. Also speed was down a little bit so to get the right velocity for my flatline to shoot straight, I was pulling out that velocity screw and using more gas. Bad as I'm running a Cyclone on this too...

It's worth investing in a Trinity or Maddman spring kit. Change up the drive spring and sear spring. Sear spring is a must, drive spring you might not need to. Heavier drive springs will also make your trigger pull a little heavier when shooting fast, but you can have your velocity set low and save gas.

This thing REALLY takes down any kickback. I have virtually none now. The best thing about this hammer is the way the gun feels when you fire. It's smooth, consistent and controlled. Shots are more accurate, the low recoil induces less wobble and more accurate shooting. The lightness of the hammer also means less weight applied to the ball meaning less chance of ball breakage (your front bolt is probably the most significant factor here though)
Conclusion: VERY well machined product. These guys have done a sterling job. If you want to improve the performance of your marker rather than the looks, there's not much you can do, but this one is a must.

Also, for any 98 guys who doesn't know (I think you would, but just in case) - check out model98.org - excellence!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TerribleTom Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hammer is heavy and creates more recoil in operation
Marker Setup: Primary Marker: Tippmann 98 Custom, Pro Team Commando F/X kit (14 inch barrel, adjustable stock), Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Hammer, custom trigger sear spring, Cyclone Feed hopper, BossMan M16 mag kit - I've never had a ball chop in my Tippy.
Strengths: Its light! One peice design. Reduces recoil, thus helping accuracy.
Weaknesses: WIll require a stiffer spring for the sear. NOT compatible with ACT markers.
Review: When the padded mailer envelope arrived via US Postal service, it was in a clear plastic baggie with a 'We're sorry" note. The mailer had a hole in it where it had obviously been caught up in some mail sorting equipment, and there was no Lite Hammer.

I contacted Dark Horizon, and they dispatched a replacement - no questions asked. They even included a free barrel condom and some stickers! Schweet! A+++! To Dark Horizon customer service!

I had some hesitation about buying the Lite Hammer version, vs the standard Dark Horizon hammer, but in the end I chose the Lite version - - "why not go for the ultimate" was my reasoning. I was not disappointed. The difference between the Dark Horizon hammer and the stock hammer is night and day. Compared to the Lite Titanium, the stock hammer feels like a boat anchor.

Recoil was dramatically reduced. I have read comments that less recoil has no effect on accuracy. Anyone who says that is mistaken. The same principals in firearms apply to these Tippmann 98's. Recoil movement WILL reduce accuracy because the marker will move around more, the faster you fire. Think about taking a photograph - are your shots clearer (more accurate) when you are in a moving car being bounced around - or can you aim better when standing still?

Installing the hammer is a breeze. If you have ever had your Tippmann apart even once, and were able to put it back together properly, you can change out the hammer.

Upon installing the Lite Hammer, test firing showed one problem... The Lite Hammer it too light for the stock sear spring. The stock sear spring is not strong enough to return the sear to "latch position" fast enough, and the marker will cycle with your finger off the trigger.

The solution was simple and cheap. I went to a hardware store, bought some springs, and custom tweaked a stronger bigger spring for the sear. Problem fixed!
Conclusion: I wanted to give the Lite Hammer a 10 because I love it so much, but having to modify the spring to work with it, meant it gets a 9. Keep in mind, that is not a flaw with the Lite Hammer... but its not quite "plug and play". Overall - i HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone with an NON-ACT Tippmann 98.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 17th, 2008 at 5:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JClives Saturday, January 27th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hammer
Marker Setup: 98c, 12v revvy, 14" j&j ceramic barrel, Light titanium hammer
Strengths: Less Kick back, More quite, more smooth
Weaknesses: Price
Review: The first thing everyone (including me) notices about the hammer when you get it is its lightness and how much it takes of your kick back when you fire. It is like they say "verturally gone". It also makes your gun mcuh more quite. Not silent but a big improvement. I notice a fairly good improvement in my accuracy as well, but this is paintball so your not going to shoot perfect ever.The only thing that seemed odd to me is if you have A.C.T in your 98c them the A.C spring doesn't fit as lush as it used to. It still works don't get me wrong but the spring kind of has to curve slightly up to connect in the hole of the back plastic plug.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great improvement in your gun with the exeption of the price ( i paid 70 via internet) I would however look around for somthing cheaper before you set your heart on this, there might be somthing out there just as good for cheap.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wildchild7912 Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hammer
Marker Setup: 98 custom,CMI 16" QB Tru-Flite,Maddman springs,Ben Tippmann Sealed Bolt System,Psycho ballistics star fire bolt,Dye Stickies 3,DOP aluminum power tube,Cyclone feed,darkHorizon Titanium lite Hammer
Strengths: Very light weight,almost no recoil,reuduced noise(I will explain)
Weaknesses: Very limited
Review: I got it installed today,and man this thig is feather light compared to the stock hammer.Well packaged(If that means anything).So I got it installed and decided to dry fire it and man it was amazing so whilst I had my marker tore down I decided to give a good lubing and man this thing is so smooth.It went in with no problems and like I said I dry fired it and was amazed at the recoil(almost none existant)than I decided well the best way to oil the internals on the power tube is to put some marker oil on\in the ASA put some air thru it and I again was amazed(now the explanation)where the noise is reduced at is the infamous ringing when you you run on gun air,(98 Custom owners know that to well).I haven't had the chance to put some paintballs thru it yet and will update as soon as i dobut for right now it seems to do what they say it will.
Conclusion: Great product if you are looking to reduce recoil and stop that annoying ringing with on gun air well woth the money spent.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

USAF_Sniper Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None Avaliable
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
32 degrees Twisted Velocity Adjuster
Dark Horizon Impulse Titanium Hammer
Pro-Team Products Hyper Star Bolt
32 Degrees Terminator Barrel
32 Degrees Whisper Barrel
Brass Eagle Remote Kit
Strengths: Light, Very Fast, Low Recoil, Great Customer Service
Weaknesses: Only thing I can think of is why tippmann didnt do this.
Review: Well I wanted to get something new for my 98 Custom and couldnt decide. So trusting on the fath of PBREVIEW I orderd the bold from Kuwait......yes Kuwait. When I orderd it I only orderd one thinking selfishly, but then I talked to my freinds and orderd another one. Realizing that I send 2 orders in no more then 1 hour apart someone from the company contacted me and asked me what the deal was, if I wanted one and not 2 or if I wanted 2 or what ever. I told them yes I wanted 2 and that you could send them togeather, they told me that they would send them and becasue of the light weight they would only charge me shipping for 1. I had also aske for some stickers to pass around the fields and they also sent me about 12 no charge. So anyways, I got it here and tested it with my old Terminator barrel and my new Whisper barrel. Both preformed outstading. The lightended recoil and trigger pull are outstanding, including the gas eficency this is an outstanding product. This also dampens the sound of the gun quite a bit and gets rid of the pinging sound that you get when you fire with a tank attached to the gun. This also makes using a remote kit alot more doable with the lesend recoil. All of this stuff equals into betteraccuracy.
Conclusion: Buy Buy Buy, great product for the price and great customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dpc Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock one.
Marker Setup: 98c
flatline barrel w/ metal shroud
rear velocity adjuster
maddman spirng kit
dark horizon lite titanium hammer
double trigger
pro seal power tube
lapco cocking knob
Strengths: Light
Faster cycle
Shiny
Weaknesses: Uhhh none
Review: This is off the chain it makes the gun lighter, faster, and it doesn't kick at all and with the respinse trigger it shoots faster than well it did without it so it rocks. People came up to me with bob longs and dye's and asked what i had and the were surprised when I told them.
Conclusion: I love it 10!!! all the way
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilentCreeper Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" 32* Whisper
GTA Double Trigger
X-Chamber
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Dark Horizon "Lite" Titanium Hammer
Shocktech Drop Forward
Strengths: Very light
Virtually eliminates recoil
Better accuracy
Weaknesses: Trigger pull seems a bit heavier
Blows back further and hits the buffer o-ring
Review: I got this item in the mail about a week after i ordered it. I installed it the next day when i had time and noticed a great difference. It felt like i was holding air compared to the stock hammer. It is insanely light. After i installed it i shot my gun. The accuracy improved by about 50%. I shot at a tree about 80 feet away from me and hit it about 95 out of 100 times. that was a great improvement over my stock bolt. The only little thing i noticed is that the trigger pull feels a bit squishy and heavier. i was actually able to pull my trigger about 3/4 of the way and let go, and then pull it just a bit more to shoot it. But my gun slightly did this when i shot it the first time. I think i just need to give it some time to break in. It also is so light that it blows back as far as it can, and hits the buffer o-ring. There is a ring where the buffer o-ring keeps hitting, but it just wipes off so no worries. Im getting a regulator soon to try and fix this, because i think my pressure is a little high with my co2.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great upgrade, buy this product. It will be one of the good things that you'll do in life.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 8th, 2005 at 2:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media