paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Syndicate Misfit / Syndicate Misfit / Syndicate Misfit / Syndicate Misfit

Syndicate Misfit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Syndicate

Buy Syndicate Misfit

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Syndicate Misfit
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 74
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
2 piece 14 inch barrel

Enhanced volume chamber

3/4" Pressure gauge

Vertical feed

Electronic double trigger

Push button safety

External velocity adjuster

Deluxe field strip pin

Diffuser style venturi bolt

Power feed

Spring Loaded ball detent

Vertical adapter

LED light display

External battery charger port

Top and rear cocking

Two tone anodized fade finish

Milled receiver

Milled Body

Standard bottom line adapter

Velocity adjuster with knob and lock

Adjustable in line regulator

Stainless steel swivel fittings

Stainless steel braided hose

Wrap around rubber grips

Machined double trigger (fully adjustable)

Multi mode electronic frame

Adjustable rate of fire up to 16 balls per second

Three firing modes: Semi-automatic - Three round bursts - Full Auto
Product Availability 
The Syndicate Misfit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Mikey_Gee Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months131 of 133 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My Model 98 (Great gun but not close)
Spyder style guns ( but with a superior edge )
Marker Setup: -Syndicate Misfit
-CP lightning drop
-CP on/off ASA
-Empire Re-loader
-Spring Kit with Light/Medium
-Nylon Bandit Bolt
-Crossfire 47/3000 (88/4500 coming soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed, but most of us want some type of upgrade. For me I love drops so that was a must (stock drop is not enuff for me but not bad by any means) and I have found a site that has an aftermarket bolt that is nylon/delrin that I will be buying.
(site --> http://www.mustangpaintball.com/bolts/lesspop.htm
l )

You WILL NEED a spring kit, this gun shoots hot out of the box (approx lowest at about 275. Good for outdoor, bad for indoor). I have the Light/Medium spring in mine and it works great. But most folks buy a spring kit anyway. Cheepest and easiest upgrade you can buy.

The stock barrel is not "BAD" but I myself will be picking up a Barrel kit. Either the Empire 10 piece of the CP Full Bore kit. Paint to Barrel matching is one of the MOST IMPORTENT and most often overlooked aspects of Paintball accuracy and reduction in ball breaks.

**EDIT November 18th. 2004**
This gun likes to EAT up batteries. If at all possible (which I see no reason why not) use a 9.6V @ 170mAH capacity rechargable battery. The misfit has a Larger than normal capacitor and it requires a good amount of juice to keep the solenoid from only HALF tripping and striking the sear and cauing a misfire/skipped shot.

Just do a search on: "Paintball 9.6 volt rechargeable battery"

Here is why:
-Actual 9.6-volt @ 170 mAh capacity.
-Will actually out-perform a standard 200 mAh 9 volt battery with higher voltage.
-20 mAh more capacity and 1.4 Volts more voltage than other 9-volt NiMH batteries available.
-The 9.6-volt will operate equipment that other 9V rechargeable batteries will not.
-Same size as a standard 9-volt battery.
-Can be recharged hundreds of times with no memory effect.
-True 9.6-volt batteries. Most commercially available 9-volt rechargeable batteries are only 8.4-volt and don't work well in paintball applications.

Plus the rechargable will save you $$$ in the long run as well. Now from what I have been told my Syndicate on Nov16, 2004 is that they will have the charger and battery available within the next month of so. I myself will wait for it. I don't want to have to open up the trigger frame everytime to recharge. IF you don't want to, any 9.6V @ 170mAH rechargable will do. You will just have to charge it outside the gun.

Give the battery a FULL CHARGE each time before a day of playing. I will also be buying a 2nd batter to have 2 with me (just in case ;-)

ALSO ........ I really like my Empire Re-Loader hopper but find that I am outshooting it with the Misfit , so not that this is a bad thing, but I think I will be buying a feeding hopper (Empire B).

**ANOTHER TIP**
I don't like to take my gun out in the rain and cold winter weather because of the ELECTROINCS, therefore I wanted a backup. I was thinking a 98 Custom but I still wanted the LOW PRESSURE operation of my Misfit, so I bought a MECHANICAL SPYDER trigger frame. So when winter rolls around or the day of play is very wet, I just swap my E-Trigger for my Mechanical one. I loose rate of fire, but I have no fear of ruining my electronics either. Plus, let's say my board goes Poof, well I quick swap to the mechanical and at least I am still playing with my low pressure gun until my electro trigger is fixed. Plus a mechanical frame is MUCH LESS $$$ than a whole new gun for a backup. KEEP IN MIND you will need to buy a drop adaptor to go from the offset syder holes to the standard inline holes of the Misfit for the drop. They are about $10 to $15.
Strengths: Read my main review in body
Weaknesses: Read my main review in body
Review: First off, I am 31 years old and NOT some KID with a new toy. I call the shots the way I seen them ..... Like it or not !!

Also read my comment added to "p8ntboy2000's" review.

=================================
MY STYLE: (to compare to your own as reference)
REC Player, outdoor in the dirt mainly. Small local rec tournaments, and indoor speedball tournaments. If I get a crew together, we just play in the bush behind my place with Junk paint from Walmart if I don't have some seconds around. I am a member at a field so I do use my stuff for more than shooting cans in the back yard )

==================================
KEY STRENGHTS:
**UNSTOPPABLE WORKHORSE (Tippmann reliablility with Spyder simplicity)
**Air Efficient is UNREAL (at least 800 shots from a small crossfire steel 47/3000. Once again, read my comments and test results under "p8ntboy2000's" review)
**It is Reliable and will give you no worries
**Stock Barrel is accurate and very compatable with medium to large paint.
**FAST TRIGGER
**Looks FANTASTIC (nice milling and balance)
**PRICE PRICE PRICE .................. Oh yes, and the PRICE !!!

=================================
KEY WEAKNESSES:

** EDIT ** Jan 7th, 2005
Gun does not come with a charger and Battery as most Spyder and PMI guns do. Although 99% of Spyder and PMI's come with a charger and battery, actually pretty much any marker with a charge port does, the Misfit does not. You can use regular 9v's but I would recommend a rechargable. Read RECOMMEND UPGRADES for more info on this.

Not an issue for me but maybe for others:
**A little bit heavy, but that way it feels like a solid marker in your hand and you know you don't have to worry about those PLASTIC frames breaking. It is all metal baby !! (the weight MAY be an issue if your 9 years old with 2inch arms ..... maybe)
**Shoots hot out of box ($10 spring kit will fix that)
**Maybe lack of accessories, but with this gun, WHO NEEDS EM'. Most stuff like the drop and barrel are all Spyder compatible, so no worries. The bolt was a bit hard to find, but follow the URL I have given you and problem solved. They also told me that the Misfit Charger and 9.6V battery is on the way to your local distributor and a new accessory section on the site is in the works.
**Bit of a kick to it, but not much of an issue. HEY, you got this gun for dirt cheap. Plus stick in a lighter bolt and I am sure the issue will be gone. But even with no bolt upgrade, the kick is a none issue.

BOLT --> http://www.mustangpaintball.com/bolts/lesspop.htm
l (Bottom of page)

Here is what the bolt write-up says:
The bolt is made from a nylon-like materaial and is even lighter than delrin. Velocity is increased due to less force required to move the bolt. The bolt has a cupped face to gently push the ball forward. No venturi produces higher flow. No oil, this bolt is self-lubricating like the delrin, but can take moisture and oils without swelling.

** EDIT **
Got my new bold from Bandit Bolts (Fantastic folks to deal with) and it is killer. VERY VERY LIGHT, not flow blocking venturi to bother with. Got it with the O-Rings which do not need lube, just makes a better seat than one without. Cannot wait to Crono and see the difference. Kick of the gun is for sure less now. And you can tell that the craftsmanship in this bolt is top notch.

=================================
LOOKS:
Mine is a red to black fade and looks KILLER. The milling is killer as well. Kind of looks like the bob long 2002 Intimidators. The anodising job is great. Nothing I can see is out of place and it is of high quality. You can see the Misfit was a labour of love. This gun definatly will get you some "OOOOO's" and some "Ahhhhhhh's" but to be honest, if the gun does not PERFORM, look mean squat..........................Which I will talk about in my PERFORMANCE category ....

=================================
MAINTENANCE:
STUPID SIMPLE to say the least. No tools required for breakdown. Quick disconnect is a nice cotter pin style rather than a retaining pin that will get lost. I can strip, clean, oil, and re-assemble this gun in under 5 minutes. Like ANY GUN, the better you treat it, the longer it will last.

=================================
PERFORMANCE:
Chrono was within +/- 4 fps. The stock regulator is FINE infact, I was running the guns reg at 350psi and I am chronoed at 280 fps. I also have a light/medium sypder spring in it to help with the Low Pressure 375psi. I know that normally when you run at a lower pressure it is less turbulance on the ball but it is less gas efficent (so the pro-shop guys around here tell me due to the valvue being open longer), but the boys at MISFIT told me that with their PATENTED LEAK PROOF VALVE... that issue does not apply here. So anyone who dumped the MISFIT regulator for another one may be loosing out simple because they may have not really accomplished much of anything. REMEMBER ... 99% of all regs need a BREAKIN PERIOD. I wounder how it will run once I get the lighter bolt?? One of the guys at Syndicate told me he has this bolt and it running at around 275 psi. THAT IS IMPRESSIVE considering the low price tag on this gun and that it is a sear tripping blow back. I run compressed air so I will not comment on CO2 seeing as how I have no Idea how this gun runs on it. From what I have seen, it runs well on both, but better on Compressed.

This gun will IMPRESS you for it's preformance. VERY LIGHT trigger for sure. It took me an wooping 2 minutes to adjuct to a hair light pull. A little bit of side to side play but it could only be described as MINIMAL at best. I am after running at least 2 cases of paint through this thing and it preformed flawlessly. One day out it was a crappy misty day and the electronics did not give any issues. Using the Draxxux Blaze and Midnight paint, the stock barrel is nice. But really, as long as your paint to barrel is matched well, you can shoot crappy paint well to (oh yes... you will be surprized the difference it makes to have paint to barrel match). At home I ran some cheap Brass Eagle paint (YUCK) and Zap rec paint and it also performed above the standard I expected for a stock barrel (not as well as the Draxxux but hey, what do you want). The REAL test (and I WANTED to push my luck) was dumping UGLY seconds paint into the hopper and letting them rip. NOW, they were not supper accurate, but hey, most of this paint was dimpled, egg shaped, soft spots on the shells and a good bit of it even had shells from broken balls stuck to them. The only breaks I got were BARREL breaks .... NOT CHOPS from the bolt. Yes, even with crap seconds, this gun rocked. Much like my Model 98, I could feed this beast ANYTHING, and it would do what I asked it to, and that is PERFORM WITHOUT ISSUE.

The Full Auto and burst mode are fun to PLAY AROUND with, but that is it for me. 99% of all organized field will not allow it. If you do intend to RIP at full auto, GET A FAST HOPPER. You can adjust you BPS from 5pbs up to 16pbs. It comes as 5pbs deault. Programming the board is also stupid simple. READ THEDIRECTIONS. Anyway, full auto .... BLAHHH. Most fields DO NOT allow it so the FIELD LOCK ability on the Misfit is great. Just stick the jumper on the two pins in the handgrip and you now have dissable you burst and auto mode. ... TO EASY !!

**TIP/TRICK for TRIGGER**
An easy MOD to do is to go to your local dollar store and pick up a pack of that THIN sticky backed rubber furniture leg floor protectors. Now, adjust your trigger to the lightest pull you can. You will notice you still have a LITTLE bit of back pull or tail lag in the trigger. Just shave and trim this little round rubber thingy and stick in behind the trigger on the actual frame. You will now have VERY LITTLE pull forward and back on your trigger. My trigger is INSANE LIGHT.


=================================
CUSTOMER SERVICE:
Like it is not enuff that the gun is outstanding, the customer service at Syndicate is just as high on the scale. I have talked to these guys a few times with just general questions and they talk to you like you have been friends for years. Not like they are doing you a favour and you better make it quick because you're bothering them.

Keith and Neil are the two gents I spoke with and they are great guys. And they do return phone calls. Also spent some time on the Phone with Peter, one of the Owners, and Man oh Man, what I nice guy. I CANNOT STRESS THIS ENUFF ...... CUSTOMER SERVICE IS JUST A IMPORTANT AS THE GUN. And Syndicate, in my opinion, stands at the top of the heap.

BTW, if you find after a while when your firing, it sounds like your gun is not tripping the sear every time (ie light "CLICK" CLICK"), it simply means your battery in the gun is low. ALWAYS USE FRESH BATTERIES. Better Yet, like meantioned above, buy a 9.6v 170mAh rechargable. This goes for ALL ELECTO markers
Conclusion: Well, I have long winded everyone enuff. In short all I will say is "Keep your high priced stuff". I will have this MISFIT for a LONG LONG time. Unless I get sponsored and they GAVE me a high end gun, the MISFIT is my main gun for a good while to come. Evil with a high end gun sponsorship, you can bet your last dollar I would have my MISFIT on the field as a RELIABLE and GREAT PREFORMING backup. WIth that being said, would I go into a HIGH END tournament with my Misfit .............. MOST DEFINATLEY. I can easly walk the trigger to get me at around 12-14 BPS. I am not a SPRAY AND PRAY type of player so I see no need for anything higher. Even 12-14 is a bit much for me. If I wanted to get 20+ balls in the air in a second, I'd just throw em by the fist full :-)

Let's be a bit realistic here, if I am pinned down behind a bunker and hear 10 balls a second rattling off the bunker, I will get my head down and keep it down just as much and just as fast as I would if it was 20 balls a second hitting the bunker. I should buy stocks in Paintball companies so all the guys shooting at crazy rates of fire can help my stocks rise and buy me that new sports car and boat I want.

Now someday, somewhere out there, you MAY get a Monday morning gun. DO NOT JUDGE ON THAT. ALL PRODUCTS have lemons. I have not heard of a MISFIT lemon yet. And if you do, CALL MISFIT, the service is un-parreled and they will bend over backward to keep you 110% satisfied with your product.

NOW, with all that has been said, the factor that seems to ALWAYS be overlooked is THE PRICE. You get a STINK LOAD of gun for a VERY SMALL investment. Now that the sale is over it is back up to $325 Canadian, and to be honest, now that I know the gun, I would have payed that price in a heart beat.

I will give this Marker a 10/10 with no reservations at all. Best bang for your buck (and then a whole lot more) bare none. HUGE PROPS to Syndicate on the creation of the Misfit. Still baffles me what they can produce for that great of a price.

If I missed anything or you have anything to say or add, please leave a comment on my review.

And please, pay MORE ATTENTION to the reviews given by folks who OWN and USE the Misfit on a REGULAR basis. Not the review of folks that fire 20 or 30 balls from it on a TEST and then give a review on a Misfit that probably has not had the LPR adjusted and the Trigger adjusted. 13-14 bps is NOT hard to achieve on the adjusted trigger,


Cheers.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:40 am PST
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntboy2000 Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months28 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I returned a TES marker and bought a Misfit because the TES kept having problems. The Misfit has been real good to me and the guys at Syndicate are the best! They talked to me for over an hour on the phone just to go over how the gun works. I didn't even to read the owners manual!
Marker Setup: I really didn't need to add any accessories to it since it came with almost everything I wanted on a gun. I use a Crossfire 47ci with 3k preset reg. I get the marker down to low pressure easily and it works good with my CO2 tank when I can't get my HP tank filled.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If someone can dual reg it for CO2 use you'll be able to get it to work at lower pressure. But at 500psi it works real good with CO2. On my HP set up I have it humming at 375psi! Not bad for a sear tripping blow back!
Strengths: Looks great, Works Awesome, stock parts are made very well, Syndicates service is the best!
Weaknesses: I wish they had more aftermarket accessories from the factory
Review: This gun is the best gun you can get under $300. NO CONTEST. I bought mine for only $255 and that was much less than what I paid for my TES gun which never worked. When I returned my TES I even had enough to buy a new revy!!! The Misfit works great and the guys at Syndicate are really cool. They spent a lot of time with me to make sure I knew how to use my new gun. Keith at Syndicate told me that everyone that works there plays paintball and this made me feel real good about my purchase. I liked knowing that the Misfit was made by paintball players and that they use their own product. I heard the Draxxus paint is made the same way and that's why I only shoot Draxxus. It's better to know that your stuff is made by paintball PLAYERS and not some old dude in a board room. The Misfit works just as good as it looks. I dumped a hopper full of paint with at its max rate of fire (16BPS!) and didn't chop a ball once. The gun has a lot of milliing and a ton of features. 3 firing modes, adjustable rate of fire up to 16 bps, adjustable trigger, LED display, ALL METAL HANDLE, a really cool valve, and other stuff. This is only the 4th gun I've owned and is far the best for what I paid for it!!!
Conclusion: I recommend that anyone with $250 that is looking for a new gun ... BUY A MISFIT! The service from these guys and the gun itself are awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannPhreak Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
E-Force Piranha's
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Response, Mock Lapco Silencer, and Car Stock

Gunmetal to Black Misfit
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, really.
Strengths: ** See Review **
Weaknesses: ** See Review **
Review: First off, I'd like to say that I bought my first Misfit about 3 days ago, and had an awful experience with it. But my proshop promptly traded me the broken Misfit for a brand new one, which has worked flawlessly so far. No harm, no foul, huh?

I really wanted an Ion, but like a lot of people, an Ion just wasn't in my budget, because I would have needed compressed air, along with the gun, and my 68/45 Crossfire was stolen. So, I chose the Misfit instead, and I am very pleased so far. I have run about half a case through my Misfit so far, and have not had a break or chop, knock on wood. The stock reg is comparable to a Palmer's Stabilizer, believe it or not, and is absolutely magnificent with Co2. Syndicate could really make a profit selling these regs by themselves. Same goes for the stock barrel. It is astonishing also. Using Draxxus, and my proshop's cheap store made paint, the barrel remained dead on, every single shot. I will say, though, if you ever happen to experience a barrel break, prepare for some awful accuracy. I didn't actually have a barrel break, but some paint broke in the bag on the way home, so it's still technically the same. Now, onto the review!

** Key Strengths **

Reliability~ Aside from my first lemon, my new Misfit hasn't given me a bit of trouble. At all. Just like my Tippmann, I know when I pick it up, it will function without issue. When I switch to a different mode, I know it will, again function without issue.
============================================================
========

LED's~ The LED's, a retarded monkey could learn, without even looking at the manual. There are 4 modes;

Blinking Green = Standby Mode: The marker is turned on and fuctioning, but the trigger will not respond while the green LED is blinking. Also known as Safe Mode.

Solid Green = Semi: For every pull of the trigger, the marker will fire one shot.

Solid Orange = 3 Round Burst: For every pull of the trigger, the marker will fire 3 shots.

Solid Red = Full Auto: For as long as the trigger is held down, the marker will fire in a fully automatic mode.
============================================================
========

The Misfit's Board~ The Misfit's board, like the LED's is extremely simple to use.

Tourney Lock: To activate the tourney lock, pull the black jumper, (above the ROF adjuster), out completely, and push it onto both of the jumper pins. You should now only be able to use semi. Before you seal the grip back up, make sure it's working properly, as to avoid hassle. To switch back from tourney mode, pull the black jumper out, and connect it to the first pin only. Extremely simple, and user friendly. Not to mention effective.

Rate of Fire Adjuster~ On the far right of the board, there should be a tiny white button somewhere around the tourney lock jumper. To adjust your current ROF, put the marker in standby mode, and press the button the number of times you want according to BPS. So, say you want the marker to be capped at 10bps, then you press the white button 10 times. The marker can be capped at 16. If you choose to cap the board, all 3 LED'S will blink, and do a little light show so that you know it's capped. After, the marker will go back into standby mode until you switch modes again.

Battery Harness: The harness holds the battery securely and has plenty of extra wire inside the grip, but still fits without issue when you seal the grip back up.
============================================================
========

Efficiency~ I haven't gotten to fully mess around with this yet, but from what I can tell, it's significantly more efficient than most other stacked-tube blowbacks in it's class. Given that it runs around 300psi, instead of the typical 800psi on most other markers. So, that most definitely helps efficiency.
============================================================
========

Stock Regulator~ As I have said before, the stock regulator is awesome. It is comparable to a Palmer's Stabilizer. I was shooting ropes on straight liquid Co2, and only itty-bitty little mists of Co2 came out. It is very consistant, even before it is broken in, also. If Syndicate sold these regs by themselves, they'd make a fortune.
============================================================
========

Stock Barrel~ The best barrel I've ever seen a stock low-end gun, or even a mid-end for that matter. No holds barred. I was putting one ball on top of another from about 100ft away, easily. This barrel does not need replacing. If you did replace it, I'd tell you that you wasted your money, same as the reg. Just get a decent paint match, and you're golden.
============================================================
========

Stock Bolt~ The stock bolt is a very good bolt. It is a diffuser style venturi bolt. And, for being a venturi, is extremely nice. It's fairly light, but extremely solid. It's also top, and rear cocking.
============================================================
========

Stock Feedneck~ It's not exactly a great feedneck, but it's solid, works, and is an exclusive feature for this marker. Considering that no other company that I know of, put's these stock on their markers. All hoppers need sanding since it's not a clamping neck, but it's no big deal.
============================================================
========

Anno~ The stock anno is very high quality, and you have a wide range of colors to choose from. Orange, Blue, Black, Red, Green, Gunmetal, and Gold. This is also a plus because most markers are exclusive to only 1 or 2 colors. It's also scratch resistant.
============================================================
========

Milling~ The milling on the Misfit is also very nice, and resembles that of a 2k2 Timmy. It is nice and even, and looks killer.
============================================================
========

Trigger~ The trigger is fairly nice, and comes with a very light stock switch. However, it limit's itself speed-wise, and if you can, find a new one. But it's by no means bad.
============================================================
========

Drop~ The drop is small, but works. It adds to an already compact gun. Not much I really can say. It's nice and solid, and balances the gun out nicely w/ a 20oz or HPA Tank.
============================================================
========

** Key Weaknesses **

Cycling Problems~ The Misfit gave me one major set-back. The solenoid won't fully cycle the sear. And on F/A, will not achieve 16bps. Not like you'll use it. But it did kind of piss me off. Other than this, no problems.
Conclusion: Buy it. Best bang for your buck, period.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

sepa Monday, January 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
it is kinda like higher end spyders, just more reliable
Marker Setup: misfit
apache hopper
68/4500, or 16 oz co2 (depends on what i can get at the time)
lapco clamping feed neck (soon as it gets here)
KO lady drop with on/off
6 pc velocity spring kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
a pretty good hopper
Strengths: Pretty fast
Reliable
Air efficient
Programmable to 16 bps
Adjustable trigger
Low pressure
tourny lock
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side(if that bothers you)
Review: ***pros***
--my first gun was the good ol' 98 custom. i had it for around 2 years, and put it through some serious crap. when i decided i needed a faster gun i was really worried about getting a gun that wasn't very reliable. the misfit, however, stood up to my high standards of reliability.
--the misfit is also pretty efficient on co2(this is in comparison to my air-hog tippmann, however) it runs ok on co2, but i think she would like nitro. better
--its bps is pretty good(16), i realize that there are a lot of guns that can out shoot it, but for the $180 i paid for it, i am more than happy. it is also programmable.
--low pressure is really nice. she runs along very well at 350 psi.
--maybe the most important point, it rarely chops, it even shoots the crappy wal-mart paint.
--the adjustable trigger makes it easy to get the pull just the way YOU like it.
--the tourney lock is nice. i have never accidental changed settings in a game thanks to this.
--stock barrel is pretty good
***cons***
--the gun shoots hot right out of the box. this can be fixed by playin with the regulator a little. or you could get a new spring for 5 or so $.
--she acts up in the cold sometimes, but that is only because i use co2. the regulator also gets really cold when i get on it, but this to is caused by the co2(i got to get an HP tank)
--you have to open the grips to adjust the rate of fire. o well.
***update 3/29/05***
I just got a 68/4500 nitro tank. I'll let you know how it turns out after i use it for a little while.
Conclusion: Well i would say this is a great gun for the price. It is pretty fast, reliable, and doesn't chop. I haven't had her in a good speed ball game yet, but she stands up great in the fire fights in the games with my friends. She earns the 9 easy. (if you haven't yet, read Mikey Gee's review. it is the first in the "most helpful" category.)
***update***
I played with it in a speed ball game a little while back. The gun ran great....I however got my butt kicked bad. Thats ok though, a little more practice and i'll be back.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 at 7:34 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Enigma LPA Friday, July 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a POS Sting Ray, then went to a Spyder Compact, then a ACI Graffiti Illustrator ,Evil Omen, now im using the "MISFIT". In my eyes its an overall good gun for the price you can't beat it.
Marker Setup: - J&J Ceramic Barrel 14 inch Black
- DYE Hyper 2 Inline Regulator
- Shocktech Spring Kit
- Bandit Bolt
- Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer
- Macroline Kit Black
- CP (Lightning) Drop Black
- CP On/Off Black
- Lapco Clamping Feed Neck Black
- New Designz Titanium Bolt Pin
- Maddman Low Pressure Valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
Look at my Marker Setup its all there + Maybe a trigger upgrade 50g.
Strengths: Accurate, Doesn't chop balls, Really good pressure settings can be acquired.
Weaknesses: Loud when fired just a little barrel upgrade will fix that.
Review: This gun is not a spyder , it performs better than a spyder , it is spyder compatible which is kinda cool. looks cool, performs great. its a keeper in my eyes. Ive enjoyed playing with my misfit. The first day i got this gun i went threw 400 rounds and the misfit only broke 1 ball out of 400. But i think it was just a bad ball.
Conclusion: BUY ONE !!!!!!!! The misfit will fit you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 23rd, 2008 at 10:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PensylMan Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My last Marker i had was a Spyder E 99
I have used Custom 98
Marker Setup: Syndicate Misfit
Electric Hopper
Smart Parts All American Barrel
20oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only upgrades i can think of would be Nitro Tank with a drop, fast hopper, but this is just for better playing there is nothing WRONG WITH THIS GUN
Strengths: Fast,Strong Looks great, Great Price , never will let you down
Weaknesses: Nothing i have found Yet
Review: If your looking for a great gun to have fun with and enter matches this is the one for you. If your looking for parts to upgrade with, Spyder Parts work with this gun. Anything that can be done with a Spyder can be done to the misfit. But you wont find much you will need to do to the marker because everything stock is crazy. Nothing is cheep on the gun. If you want to lay down the paint trust me it can be done with this gun 16 bps now thats not bad for a gun under $300. I bought my marker at Paintball Thunder but check out the misfit site to see where you can get one.



Conclusion: You Need a gun buy this one. Like i said befor it wont let you down, and its well worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 at 12:03 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

General Spyder Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
jt 5.0
98 custom
Marker Setup: black to green fade misfit
w/ whisper barrel
12 volt revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock barrel is nice, so i wouldnt change that
i would get a nice hopper to keep up
Strengths: IT has a nice trigger pull and extremely accurate!!!!
Weaknesses: A little loud, thats about it....not something to worry about tho
Review: Seriously, this gun is perfect for intermediate players who know what they r doing, this gun is nice. Its fast too. beginners will need to practice w/ it a lot. i play woodsball and this gun is perfect for it. Not to mention i kick ass w/ it in speedball. Its really light. best gun i got for under 300.
Conclusion: extremely decent gun. it cought up w/ the 98 RT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

locoaztec Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom not close
Marker Setup: stock , 3a 47ci 3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better drop forward
halo or egg II
Strengths:
Accurate, fast, looks good
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side
Review: This gun is awsome. I used it in a tournement and it held its own against the 1000 dollar markers. it shoots straight as hell and I have only chopped one ball and that was shooting cheap blue streak with it on full auto and at 16 bps. the gun is a little heavy but I only notice it in the start of a game when you hit the bunkers and put it to work you dont notice at all. The only other thing I noticed after was alittle wear on the bolt after use. nothing big it was only the back of the bolt. with it well lubed the internals and the front of the bolt were fine. I am definatly happy with this marker and at only 175 it was a steal.
It looks great, shoots straight, and it come with all the upgrades needed already.
Conclusion: this is a great maker for someone on a budget or doesnt feel like they need a 1000 dollar gun. I would recommend this marker to anyone and am thinking about a second one for my girlfriend
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

M_dogg Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none that is this good
Marker Setup: - Syndicate Misfit (black orange fade)
- Halo TSA LCD Frontman (Black)
- Phat Flame Drop Forward (Black)
- Phat ASA On/Off (Black)
- Rufus Dawg Hard Marker Case (Blue)
- PMI Pure Energy 72 ci HPA Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
- new ASA the one that they have on it dosint fit my On/Off valve
- new braided hose the one on it is left hand threds (only fits syndicate ASA)
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: ASA and braided hose
Review: It is the best gun i have ever seen.
well the best gun for 208 bux dozint need a new barrel thats a plus and it
as a sweet mini gauge.
features
- LED Electronic Metal Grip Frame - Two piece 14 inch barrel
- External Battery Rechargeable Port (Charger not included)
- Enhanced volume chamber - 3/4" Pressure gauge
- Vertical feed - Electronic double trigger - Push button safety
- External velocity adjuster - Deluxe field strip pin - Diffuser style venturi bolt
- Power feed- 9 1/2" barrel - Spring Loaded ball detent - Vertical adapter
- Top and rear cocking - Two tone anodized fade finish - Milled receiver
- Milled Body - Standard bottom line adapter - Velocity adjuster with knob and lock
- Adjustable in line regulator - Stainless steel swivel fittings - Wrap around rubber grips
- Stainless steel braided hose - Machined double trigger (fully adjustable)
- Multi mode electronic frame - Adjustable rate of fire up to 16 balls per second
- Three firing modes: Semi-automatic - Three round bursts - Full Auto
- Tournament lock - in line regulator. if any of you peeps have a Smart Parts On/Off it won't fit on the ASA that comes with the gun. all you half to do is take the in line regulator off and screw your CO2 or N2 tank on. it should just screw on. I tourney tested this gun and i didn't have any problems with this gun it shot straight as it can go no jams no balls would have broke if my halo didn't break but thats my bad so with a gravity feed hopper balls do break but i shoot real fast so it ok if you don't shoot faster then 6rd per sec. but you need a electronic hopper if your in to tourney play. so over all its a good gun and its worth every penny.
-black green fade and -black gold fade.
Conclusion: This gun rox. i loved this gun from the first time i saw it
this is the gun for me.
I recommend this gun to anyone with 200 bux
I give this gun a 10 because it rox.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 at 7:04 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pballer4life457 Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder none as good as this beast!!
Marker Setup: Syndicate misfit with a PMI 48 cu 3000 psi compressed air tank, Smart parts progressive barrell, Eggo 2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Compressed air and electronic hopper
Strengths: Accurate, pretty quite, fast, and looks awesome!!!
Weaknesses: None This baby rocks!!
Review: I got this gun about 7 or 8 months ago and i love it!! i was using a bob longs millineum sp but it started to break down on me. So i went to my local paintball store and i saw this gun and i knew that it was for me lol!! I bought it all stock and then i got a eggo 2 hopper and a few days ago i got compressed air, and today i got a new smart parts progressive barrel. This gun is the best gun i have really ever used for under 300 dollars. I have won many games with this gun and it kicks butt. get this gun
Conclusion: If u are lookin for a great electronic paintball gun that is worth the money then go with this gun it is cheap, fast, good lookin, and works great all of the time. So if u want a good gun get this now!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media