paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004

Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $850

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
After nineteen years of making paintball markers, you could think, " What's next?" The makers of the BushMaster SI, ProMaster SI, Panther, Puma, Bobcat, ThunderCat, AlleyCat, Desert Fox, BushMaster 2000, B2K, and the BKO bring to play the next evolution, the FREESTYLE!

The Freestyle is a new evolutionary concept marker. It is a single bore design that has many incredible features (No Sally, its not another spool valve.) The Freestyle is extremely lightweight at 1.8lbs. The marker is very small measuring less than eight inches tall from the feed tube to grip (6.5 inches from top of body to grip) and the body is 7 3/8 inches long. It is an amazingliy fast, quick whipping electro-pneumatic gun. The Freestyle is not a toy, it is a serious shooter for the serious shooter.

Among its many features, these are the top:

Paintball Detection System (aka PDS)
Illuminated Toggle On/Off Switches for operation and the PDS
Ergonomically Profiled Grip
Amazingly Fast CPS
"Cocker" barrel thread pattern
Fade anodizing in four patterns
Four-way adjustable trigger
Low Pressure operation
Dual Regulation
Low Profile Gauge
Clamping Feed Neck with 3D milling
Easy to Install 9 volt battery
Drop Forward and On/Off included
Easy disassembly
12 inch Ported Barrel
One key note of interest is the Paint Detection System (aka PDS.) Unlike most markers with a paint detection system the Indian Creek Design markers use a beam break system instead of a reflective beam system. This means no more worries about dark shelled paints or bolts. With the break beam PDS the marker will not fire is the beam is present. When a ball falls in place it breaks the beam allowing the marker to cycle. Most reflective eyes have problems with dark shelled paints and bolts due to the light being asorbed by the shell or bolt instead of being reflected back to the eye.

After nineteen years in the business you know that ICD will be here for you tomorrow should anything go wrong with your marker. Make sure to get your order in early so not to get caught up in a back order list that is surely coming.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
babykiller Saturday, September 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c, B2K, Angel Speed 4
Marker Setup: B2K, halo backman, nitroduck 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Insanely fast, compact, uber sexy, freakin great price, easy to use, etc.
Weaknesses: Couldn't see any.
Review: After testing I've concluded this is the best gun ever made. Period. It was so insanely fast, smooth, sexy, VERY small/compact(which in this case is a very good thing) and for 850?!?!?! C'mon, there practically givin 'em away. Plus there was absofreakinlutely no kick. Go test this gun, and then buy it like I am going to. It is the best gun for the best price out there. Seriously man, it's like when you shoot it you feel all giddy inside...
Conclusion: BEST gun, ready to rip right out of the box, UBER-consistent.... Theres nothing wrong with this thing. GO BUY IT. NOW. you'll seriously see a jump in your kill o meter with this thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sdlm Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
matrix, almost the same gun, in a much different package.
shocker 2k3 feels slower than this, about the same size & weight, not quite as compact by design as the freestyle
angel, much better trigger and better frame but, more recoil, but overal is better
timmy, a whole different world, the Timmy is huge compared to this
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Shocker sport 4x4
Single trigger frame
14" CP barrel
Kapp drop zone
AA Raptor Rex 114/45
VL EGG II w/ z board

backup
pre-99 cocker RF
sto reg, &ram
shocktech bomb 3-way
12" lapco bigsho SS
VL revvi with x board

backup backup
ICD BKO with 12" lapco bigshot

backups backups backup
sheridan pgp 2k1
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEEDS new reg
NEEDS fast hopper
SHOULD HAVE nitro tank (works decent on Co2 though)
SHOULD HAVE new barrel (not icd threaded)
Strengths: fast, no kick, low ball breakage, compact, light, free drop on/off
Weaknesses: horrible ergonomics, effecentcy, trigger frame, stock grips don't fit frame, board
Review: well, I have shot many ICD freestyles and I must say they are excellent markers that have good and bad points.
Pros:
-Fast; just as fast as anything else , same as matrix, timmy, angel
-low recoil; just like a matrix, the accuracy is very good in rapid fire, there is no real kick
-low ball breakage: probibly from the low pressure operation, it will pinch not chop
-compact; it will reduce profile
-light; if you care it is
-free drop on/off: it includes this for free I don't like it but, some may

Maybe:
-Works well on co2, now I think this is great, I mean It will absolutly rip on co2 but, the question is why spend $1000 on a gun and $20 on the tank, I think all support equipment should match the marker in level, so for this marker I would use an adjustable tank like an Air america armagedon, apocalypse, or raptor rex
-cocker threaded; most people like this I have a lapco bigshot in ICD and Cocker threads and I don't care too much except that ICD threads are soo much better with the whole 4 entry threads if you ever want to use a pull thru squegee in a game it isn't hard. that and ICD threads are different, which is unique on the flipside that means it is harder to find ICD barrels, either way some like it others myself included don't care

bad:
-horrible ergonomics; someone needs to slap whoever decided that they were gonna have a reg as small as a WDP mimreg but, make it have a hose that comes out near the of the side of it, there is nothing to grip on! it is really, so you might as well just buy a more comfortable reg like a WDP minireg, or if you like somthing bigger how about a torpedo or stabalizer, I got a stab. and I love it, comfy even though the hose comes out the side b/c there is still stuff to grip on to.
-effecentcy; maybe it was just me but, it seems about equal to my shocker
-trigger frame; this is not the trigger you expect on a marker of this calibler, gone is the nice APP panel grips that some timmys, and BKOs came with now they have a wrap around grips but, get this THE FRONT OF IT DOESN'T FIT THE FRAME, seriously when you squeeze it it goes in, there is not enough metal on the frame to fill the wrap around grips , so there is just air between the rubber and metal on the front of the frame. it is a 90 degree frame but, it is of a bad design, not like an angel space frame, and not as good as a timmy clamshell either.
-trigger; again not nearly what I would expect to be on a marker like this, it is pretty much the same trigger that is on my BKO sloppy and though it is wider not wide enough. it is light, very light, but the matrix's trigger or the angels trigger completely owns this. I actually like it better than the timmy triggers oddly, but I haven't tried the new blade triggers for them yet. and as far as triggers go the only choice I know of is a blade trigger for the freestyle.
-the board has some bad eye and trigger logic, I have seen some with entropy boards and they rock like that. I mean it isn't immediatly noticable, but when you take an Angel IR3 with a trigger ALOT stiffer then the freestyle you should be able to shoot the freestyle faster right? I mean, it is odd but, the freestyle seems to go about 16bps or so bouncing or not so, I think that the trigger logic is messed up or somthing, it won't hit the 20 the angel does, and that angel did it in 2k1, I think ICD should just get a deal with vaporworks and always have chaos/entropy in all of these b/c with one of those these things are terrors on the field fire rate wise. the eyes also work beter with a different board on a halo the thing kept on pinching when I fired it fast, sometimes it would pinch the ssame ball twice every once and again it would break a ball it pinched twice but, this never occured unless you actually fire as fast as possible. I used an Egg II and a halo B z code and it was pretty much the same with the pinching issue which makes me think that the eyes don't work that well or maybe don't work with Zap that well or somthing they might be color sensitive or somthing.
-no upgradeability; there isn't any aftermarket 'cept regs and barrels and drops .
-price; for this price a matrix or angel are both better guns, which makes me sad as I am an ICD owner and I wouldn't mind owning a really high end gun from them but, it just needs a lower price for me to justify it over a speed or matrix.
Conclusion: all, in all it is a marker to watch out for as it is really good but, not a product that I would buy due to several problems and a price that doesn't make sense, if it where the samre price as a stock shocker I would get it, but otherwise there are much better buys out there than this. I give this gun an 8 b/c it performs like a terror but, it has several problems that need to be rectified in order for me to pic one up
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pitvpr Sunday, July 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob long Dark Timmy, DM$’s , Shockers, Angels, various Cockers, Impulse, Bushy B2K, BKO and a variety of lower end markers.
Marker Setup: I have two Freestyles.

#1 Is a stock late model ’04 Gen2 with HE bolt, MacDev regulator, CCM feedneck, CP rail with On/Off and a custom made Scythe magnetic trigger.
#2 Is a stock Naughty Dogs model
Also, I use a MacDev matchstix barrel system for all my guns and feed them with a Halo.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If it’s an ’04, I recommend a better feedneck . Also I personally don’t like the On/Off, I would change that as well.
If you want to maximize the speed of this gun you need a Board. Like the one’s available from NOX or Vaporworks.
Strengths: Fast, quiet, accurate, reliable and NO KICK of any kind.
Weaknesses: The only major design flaw is the board pins.
Review: The Freestyle is a single tube design. The single tube houses both the valve and the bolt in-line. The bolt blows forward and the solenoid is used to re-cock the bolt.

I have read that the blow forward design of this gun makes it so that it’s physically capable of more than 60 cycles per second…! The only other design out there that comes close to this capability is the “spool valve” design of the Matrix.
With this said, obviously ya can’t shoot paint that fast! But she is a speedy one.

People should really consider mechanical DESIGN when considering a gun purchase.
For example, a Timmy or an Angel will always have more kick and will not be as fast as a Matrix or a Shocker because of the design. Guns with a traditional Hammer/Bolt design have to move more mass.

Out of all the designs out there, the Freestyle has the least moving bolt mass in total weight and size. This with the fact that it’s a venturi style bolt makes it incredibly accurate as well.

Because of the deign, regulation balance is very critical. This balance can affect speed, accuracy and reliability. Most of the complaints out there would be eliminated if they set up the regs properly to begin with. It’s not difficult, but it’s very critical. Proper regulator balance will totally make this gun rip-ropes and it will improve gas usage and eliminate any chance of chopping. It’s all in the BALANCE…!

The stock electronics, (“the board”) are fast, but not capable of matching the actual speed that the gun is capable of. So to really maximize the Freestyles performance you should get an upgraded full featured board. Remember that most other markers out there in the $1200 to $1400 already come with a “ramping” style board that makes them seem faster but this is only electronics helping your fingers. Don’t be fooled…!

Also, with a better board comes improved “eye logic” this will increase the actual speed that the information is processed to see and fire the paintball.

But that's not to say that the STOCK board isn't great. I just mention this to dispell the notion of those so called speed guns out there.

Conclusion: All things considered, this is the best Tournament grade marker on the planet righ now and it's very affordable.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pballhoser98 Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None like this but i used to have a hooked up tippmann 98
Marker Setup: ICD Freestyle silver to black fade with an evo II. used to have a tippmann 98 Custom with a response trigger, J&J 2 pc. stainless 14 inch barrel, Viewloader Revolution loader, low pressure kit, Crossfire 3000 psi 68 ci preset, and double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far a new barrel i guess
Strengths: Fast, quiet, light, small, good barrel, and easy dissasembly, doesnt chop
Weaknesses: The barrel i guess and it takes a second to figure out the on/off
Review: This gun is awsome i just got it a couple of weeks ago and have used twice so far. This is my first electro so its an experience. This thing just rips. I was shooting ropes of paint like nothing. The trigger is already nice and light for easy walking. No matter how fast you shoot it doesnt bounce. When i first shot it i swore it didnt shoot because it was so quiet. This gun is ridiculously accurate for a stock barrel. At first i didnt know how to use the on/off but i figured it out. Its a great gun and i got it for a deal of $599 at Eastern Paintball. It looks sick in black to silver and isnt as bright as it is in the picture
Conclusion: If you are into the tournament scene and dont feel like emptying your wallet this gun is a must buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shocker1313 Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy, Matrix,Dm4, angel...none compare as far as setup
Marker Setup: Freestyle Black to Yellow fade, SS Freak Kit, 68/4500 Pure Energy , Halo B, shocktech micro drop and on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
New and longer barrel, maybe new bolt if u plan on shooting near a case a game
Strengths: No kick, very small and light, can be back or frontman gun, speed,
Weaknesses: There really are none exept maybe air efficiency
Review: The gun is an awsome gun all around. It has the size speed and capability to be anyones gun. Other than the pos barrel they give u its ready to go right out the box. Make sure u go through the manuall thoroughly and review how to set the regs. Make sure u kno how to operate the regs and so u can set them up to the best of their capability. I think the gun is a good gun and as long as u maintain everything the way u should it will work great. I highly advise choosing this gun
Conclusion: The gun so far is great but it may be too early to tell. A of now its a 9.8..Its a good buy compared to a matrix or i like it as much as the dm4 or proto
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

moose soup Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy, E-blade cockers, shockers, 04 cocker, karnivor, umm more but not that good
Marker Setup: 04 Blue/Black Freestyle
smart parts air on/off
cp reg
14" dye ultralite
Contract killers panels
ccm no-rise
smoke Halo B w/rip drive
70/45 crossfire low pressure stubby
HE bolt
Naughty Dogs "nox" board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new reg if needed. Good stock barrel but I already had a dye barrel. FAST Hopper like a HaloB or a Empire B
Strengths: FAST, sexy, light, small, break beam eyes, clamp feed is good, umm fast, price, ACCURATE!
Weaknesses: Kinda an air hog, but HE bolt helps that
Review: I got this gun a few months ago. It is so FAST. I have taken it to my local field and I chopped balls most of the day. I finally found out my eyes were not on! Once I turned them on I had no ball chops at all the rest of the day. I now average like 1 or 2 chops per case of paint (not bad to me.) You will need a fast hopper to go with this beast. A halo B or an empire B. It is super fast and light (1.8lbs). So quiet too. I use a lot more paint now because of the insane speed of the gun. This gun is not too bad on air. It is great for front players who want to get tight on the bunker. Still it is good for back players who shoot like mad. Very accurate also, even with the stock but in the future I would eventually get a new barrel. I like the switches on the back, very easy to understand. This gun seriously rips like no other. The dawgs, russian legion, bone break, and more to come are using the freestyle. Gerry and "Rocky Knuth" are instaling a new Naughty Dogs "NOX" board on it and it will make it shoot insanely fast with much ease. I have seen these boards in action and they are the fastest shooting guns i have ever seen.
Conclusion: I would recamend this gun to anyone who is looking for pro performance but still cant pay too much. Great gun for a tourny player. If you are looking for a gun $700-$900 this is the gun to get. Shockers are good too. I would personally get this over a shocker, but my friend has one and it is very good indeed but does require more upgrades stock. If you want to send massive streams of paint down field buy it now!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 10th, 2005 at 4:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

karlklym Thursday, August 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
bonebrake bushy
Marker Setup: black to blue fade, cp rail, 68-4500 bulldog II, halo b, cp reg (of course)
Recommended
Upgrades:
cp reg, barrel
Strengths: Very insainly fast, no bounce, small, accurate, pds, trigger easy to adjust
Weaknesses: Air efficency
Review: This gun is pretty much amazing, it chronos in so well with less then a drop or raise of 2 fps with the cp reg. does take a little tinkering but once its set up its ready to rip, im going disscuss the air efficientcy sure its not that well but give time for the guys at ICD to work on it, my freestyle isnt that bad on air at all i can get probly around4 pods and a hopper off it which for some of u isnt alot but what can ya do. this gun is super sweet looking and is small and once u set ur trigger u will be mowin off the break like nobody's Business. Also get a halo for this un-tame beast, u will probly need it sooner or later. Once you break the Freestyle in you will probly see better consistancy in ur fps and more shots per fill.
Conclusion: If you are thinking of buying it, i would say too, you will probly be very happy with it, im sure its not as good as the higher end guns, such as the aliass and dm4s but those are a pretty steep hill from the freestyle in price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DYE_PB44 Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, eblade autocockers, timmys, and some angels
Marker Setup: Black to Red ICD Freestyle (all stock just got it tonight)
halo b
pmi HPA tank 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
mabey barrel but it is accerate (so you might wanna go to a freak)
mabey new reg
HPA tank
Halo b/ eggs will work too
Strengths: Fast, small, light, and has eyes, did i say fast?
Weaknesses: The feed neck cant fit a halo
CD manual not good
Review: I just got this gun tonight and i have to say that it ripps. The first thing that i have to talk about is speed. Right out of the box i was going through hoppers. No trigger adjustments just wanted to see what it had. The gun had NO KICK. This gun was just as accerate as any cocker i have ever shot. The gun is very small and easy to handle. the only thing i really dont like about it is it doesnt fit my halo! Even with the adjustable feed neck. But thats really the only problem i have had
Conclusion: This gun ripps just has hard as any top end gun(mabey not like a timmy but close). If you are looking into getting a high-end gun, look at the freestyle. It has the same performance and it is cheaper. GO TO IT, IT WANTS YOU.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 6th, 2005 at 9:24 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tdbeez Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACE'd LED Matrix--FS is much lighter and just as fast
DM4-- Stock board is better than FS stock, but for $750 it is just FINE
Timmy--never really liked them BUT they are good guns-more kick than FS
B2K3 CHAOS'd-- just about as light as FS but much taller and not as comfy. alot more kick
mags, cockers, old skool shockers, spyders, etc..
Marker Setup: YELLOW/BLACK GEN. 2 with HE bolt and new stock software. 14" Freak barrel, HALO B
Recommended
Upgrades:
aftermarket board,aftermarket barrel kit, aftermarket clamping feed neck--thats it.
Strengths: Light, fast, easy maintenance, barely any recoil, beam-break eyes, trigger adj.
Weaknesses: stock board is not adjustable. Dogs are comin out with a board , though:)
Review: I was very impressed with this marker. after i got it working and setup it performed flawlessly all day. light and maneuvarable allows for a variety of shooting positions without excessive arm fatigue.

the gun didn't work at first. it wouldnt shoot a steady stream no matter where i set the regs. 260fps, 140fps, 182fps, 290fps, 110fps, etc... i took the bolt assembly out and was really surprised how difficult it was to manually cycle the bolt. i would push and pull on it and it was not a smooth acton at all. i figured this had to be my problem. i finally got the valve pin out without scratching it and then i had a 20 minute battle with that %$#@!()&#@-ing o-ring. it will be easier next time. i replaced it and lubed it and the delrin piece on the valve VERY good. put the assembly back together and immediately felt a difference. although not super smooth like my Evolve kit, it was still a definite improvement. put gun back together and adjusted the regs and everything worked great. i set regs and played with the gun today and found that if i keep the velocity below 290fps there is a noticeable drop in the amount of kick produced. i chopped one ball(eyes off--dont ask) out of about 1600. HPR was set between 340-360psi- FPS was 275-295. no double feeds with the HALO and yes it IS just as accurate as any gun with good paint/barrel match. i paid $750 and i do believe i got my moneys worth
Conclusion: i love the fact that it is a totally new design on this marker. new innovation is what makes the world go 'round:) i would definitely recommend this marker to relatively experienced paintballers(tourny players and people who have a working knowledge of how airguns work). not to say others wouldnt enjoy it just as much, but it is regulator sensitive and if you are not aware of how LPR and HPR work, then it might cause some problems. for the price i paid, i couldn't have bought a better gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 10th, 2004 at 3:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann_nick27 Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
matrix
Marker Setup: blue to black freestyle
cp drop with sp on/off
halo B
72/45 PE
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe barrel
Strengths: Awsome looks, fast,accurate,low profile, break beam eyes, light, dependable.
Weaknesses: Um... maybe gas hog..i dont really care though
Review: My freestyle has been working awsome for my from day 1.....ive shot a couple cases through her and shes working awsome. i dump a hopper off the break because u cannot control yourself when ur shooting because u just want to keep going. it is very accurate with no lobing required to get to a far bunker(angels) because of its very flat projectory(trix). i think the freestyle is a awsome looking gun and the ano and milling is true quality. it is very easy mantainence for the freestyle, all u do is take out the screw at the bottom of the grip and slide the whole backblock out and also if u lube the orings with good lube(super lube, lube gel) ur gun wont need to be cleaned for a couple cases. this gun is very light and feels like quality in your hands. i have never chopped yet in my freestyle because of the awsome break beam eyes. this marker is truely quality and is made with care.. the ones that were made with the old valve and board had some bugs but there worked out now with the new valve, board, and frame. its pretty much a no upgrades necessary marker, unlike some other markers made by some companies(SP).
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to some1 who is looking for a high quality tourney marker at a affordable price. it wont let u down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media