paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004

Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $850

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
After nineteen years of making paintball markers, you could think, " What's next?" The makers of the BushMaster SI, ProMaster SI, Panther, Puma, Bobcat, ThunderCat, AlleyCat, Desert Fox, BushMaster 2000, B2K, and the BKO bring to play the next evolution, the FREESTYLE!

The Freestyle is a new evolutionary concept marker. It is a single bore design that has many incredible features (No Sally, its not another spool valve.) The Freestyle is extremely lightweight at 1.8lbs. The marker is very small measuring less than eight inches tall from the feed tube to grip (6.5 inches from top of body to grip) and the body is 7 3/8 inches long. It is an amazingliy fast, quick whipping electro-pneumatic gun. The Freestyle is not a toy, it is a serious shooter for the serious shooter.

Among its many features, these are the top:

Paintball Detection System (aka PDS)
Illuminated Toggle On/Off Switches for operation and the PDS
Ergonomically Profiled Grip
Amazingly Fast CPS
"Cocker" barrel thread pattern
Fade anodizing in four patterns
Four-way adjustable trigger
Low Pressure operation
Dual Regulation
Low Profile Gauge
Clamping Feed Neck with 3D milling
Easy to Install 9 volt battery
Drop Forward and On/Off included
Easy disassembly
12 inch Ported Barrel
One key note of interest is the Paint Detection System (aka PDS.) Unlike most markers with a paint detection system the Indian Creek Design markers use a beam break system instead of a reflective beam system. This means no more worries about dark shelled paints or bolts. With the break beam PDS the marker will not fire is the beam is present. When a ball falls in place it breaks the beam allowing the marker to cycle. Most reflective eyes have problems with dark shelled paints and bolts due to the light being asorbed by the shell or bolt instead of being reflected back to the eye.

After nineteen years in the business you know that ICD will be here for you tomorrow should anything go wrong with your marker. Make sure to get your order in early so not to get caught up in a back order list that is surely coming.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Sporefrog Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers (both mech and e2'ed), Timmies, DM4, shocker, nerve, and B2K.
Marker Setup: 04 Gen2 Freestyle 45/4500, Stiffi switch kit, nox board, prototype techna trigger, contract killers lady panels, Reloader B black, 05 CP on/off, CP reg, JDS LPR, carbon fiber side panels. CP twist-lock feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
See my set-up.
Strengths: Consistency, fast, light, small, little kick, quiet, trigger and cheap.
Weaknesses: Efficiency and First shot drop off.
Review: I got this gun for $620 shipped with a free prodigy trigger, such a great deal.

Strengths:

Consistency – Out of the box with out any adjusting and only a couple tanks shot through it, it was shooting +/- 5. The regulator isn’t the best ever (I would recommend getting the Custom Products regulator) but it’s pretty good.

Fast – When you get the trigger set up how you like it its really fast. I was shooting a DM4 and a Freestyle right next to each other and the kick on the freestyle was just as small, and the Freestyle was quieter. The speed was the same (as most high end guns all are really fast).

Light – Weighs 1.8 pounds. You’re not going to find a lighter gun. Its even lighter than SP’s ION, even though the ION has a plastic shell.

Small – It’s really small and will lower your profile greatly.

Little Kick – As I said before the kick was about the same as the DM4, if not less.

Quiet – Really, really quiet, quieter than the DM4, put a St!ffi on it and it will be much quieter.

Trigger – 4 point adjustable, you’re able to get the trigger exactly how you want it.

Cheap – I’ve seen tons on EBay go for $609 shipped, make sure you’re getting the Gen 2 with the 05 parts though.

Weakness:

Efficiency – Before the regulators are broken in you don’t get the best Efficiency.

First shot drop off(FSDO) – Before the regs are broken in there is FSDO but all you have to do is right before the game just shoot a couple balls and you’ll be fine. And once the regs are broken in the FSDO goes away.
Conclusion: When buying a new gun you should really consider this. Don't listen to the reviews for this gun that are 2's they just don't know how to properly maintain thier gun, set the regs, and lube the gun. The FSDO and bad effiecency are problems but go away after the gun is broken in..
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 24th, 2005 at 11:05 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Alarick Friday, January 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
00 Raced Darkcocker
97 Evolution Autococker
03 Shocker
Marker Setup: Changes weekly
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE bolt, LP reg, HP reg, a whole different marker.
Strengths: Small size
Low weight
excelent customer service from ICD
Weaknesses: Poor quality controll over all
Review: The Freestyle that i bought was a 04 Black/Blue second gen, and to be short and simple, the gun cycled properly for the FIRST 6 DRYFIRES ONLY, then showed all the symptoms of bolt stick.

(and yes, the eyes where off)

In spite of the fact the ICD CS was very helpfull, the issue with my marker was not fixed, and the only advice i received was "lube the gun more/less" or "clean the gun after a ball break" and "send it back to ICD".

Never having shot any paint through the gun, or so much as had it on a field, it was not a dirt issue, and if the gun is so fussy about lube that ICD can not lube it right from the factory, the Freestyle needs to go back to the drawing board.

This gun costs way too much to not have it function AT ALL out of the box.
Maybe others had better luck, but all it takes is once for me to take my money elsewhere

Conclusion: ICD needs to raise their qulity controll standards and/or spend more time testing their markers before release then after that maybe the Freestyle would be worth the risk, but currently, i'd say take your hard earned money elsewhere.

*EDIT* I would like to add, that if you are considering a Freestyle, please choose the 05 over the 04, the issues hopefully have been worked out, and they should come with the HE bolt.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 25th, 2005 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

D|sc|ple Saturday, June 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
=x
Marker Setup: 04 v2 (HE bolt Kit)
Stiffy 12 inch (all inserts, but tend to play with .689)
Dye Stickys
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (Stiffy, CP, Dye UL,.......etc)
Regs
NOX or CAOS board
The next gen of bolt kits (referring to anything after the HE bolts, when avaliable)
Strengths: Light
Accurate
ROF (insane)
Easily Adjusted Trigger
Weaknesses: Air Hog
Side to Sie play with the trigger
First shot drop off
Review: I did a lot reading and planning for the gun I was going to buy next. I decided with fields giving out all day air for dirt cheap now a days and the pricing being what is was at the time I bought the gun ($489), I went with the Freestyle. Out of the box, I had minor issues that needed to be worked out the first day. My second trip back the next day proved to be very enjoyable. I swapped out the factory barrel for the stiffy 12 inch (.689). Gun wasn't loud to begin with, but it definitely got quieter. The accuracy of the gun is like shooting teetas off a boar hog from 50ft-100ft. Describing the rate of fire on this gun won't do it justice, so I will keep it short and sweet......The gun will yawn at your 30 bps rate of fire =/.....The trigger takes some time getting use to it. Although you can make the trigger pull smaller then an ameba's pecker, the side to side play takes time getting over (I am sure some people have absolutely no problem with side to side play). I spend 2+ hrs adjusting my trigger for my game. Working on the gun can be cumbersome. The Pro Freestyle has helped in the area for sure, but for us 04-05 users getting into and fixing the gun is about as fun as mowing the lawn.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to back and forward players alike. I would have to say that once the next gen bolt kits come out, this gun will prove to be among the top 10 guns of all time. With the new guns coming out and the price of this one going up so much from the first months it was out, I would tell people to look at the ION. Its hard to beat a gun that good for under $300. If the FS comes back down in price, I will be firm in saying this is the best bang for the buck by a large margin.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 4th, 2005 at 11:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DustinSobolik Monday, May 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Electro Cockers, Shockers, Matrixes
Marker Setup: E Orracle w/too many ups to list
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Regulator, Nox Board, .689 St!ffi or .690 Dye Ultralite
Strengths: Break Beam Eyes
Amazingly Light
Shoots great
FAST
Weaknesses: Bad Regulator
Balance
Review: I played a tourney plus a few games with my buddies Freestyle and here's my review of it:

Accuracy: Comparable to any other open bolt high end gun it's rougly the same

Weight: Amazingly light but it's off balance, it's lighter than a Shocker but it doesn't feel so because of the balance( goes toward the grip frame), but once you put it against your shoulder it's perfect

Speed: I shot it with the stock board which was Semi Auto which was great but wh have that when you can have a ramping NOX Board that can go up to 20 bps ramping, the ramping on the NOX Board is 3 Shots per second then full auto so there is not a PSP Ramping mode

Chrono: The shots ranged from 270, 260, 263 the reg has to be broken in quite a bit and needs a lot of messing with, so if your going to get this gun get a new reg on it
Conclusion: Buy it and if you like ramping put a NOX Board in it, and make sure you get a new regulator, and also put a new barrel on it preferable a .689-.691 bore
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flog Monster Monday, April 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
...Ill Just list the guns I have owned, ALL paintball guns are somewhat similar.
Raptor, PMI traccer, Omen, BKO, Ironman Timmy, Freestyle

I have used Angels led`s to Force 4`s DM4`s, e-Cockers and many generation timmys and shockers and imps
Marker Setup: ICD Freestyle, With tank and what not. I also have not sent my freestyle in for its new HE bolt, although it is a gen 2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo Maybe...I run an Egg2 and still i think it might skip.
Strengths: Size, Very Small. Light. Fast, Quite, accurate No breaks.
Weaknesses: Crudy regulator.
Review: I traded this gun for my Timmy. It was brand new never used, Gen 2.

I gassed it up set the regs, and loaded it up with some paint. It mowed.

Plain and simple, This gun was quite a surprise to me. I had owned a BKO and was less than impressed with its performance. I took a chance and traded my timmy which was insanely fast for something I knew little about, Just cuz it was brand new. I am not disappointed. I shot about a case and ahlf trhough it, and then Lent it to my Girlfriends brother to use for a 3 man tourney. He had no breaks or chops. He was useing a messed up egg on it, which in a way slowed it down some. But he still didnt not break, it shot fine the whole time. (his team also came in first place not cuz the FS but still I like to think it helped some)

Conclusion: I think anyone who is a serious paintball player should get one, Thye are justa s fast if not faster than a shocker, lighter, and much easier to maintain. This is by far the best gun I have owned yet, my timmy was good but this beats it in weight and size, and amtches it in speed and reliabilty.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lamar123 Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-cocker
Dm4
ion
cyborg
shocker
you name it
Marker Setup: 04 gen 2 freestyle
all 05 internals
HE Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
REG
Barrel
Strengths: -FAST
-Small
-Light
-consistant
-shoots ropes
Weaknesses: Out of the box.....kinda scares you because sometime it leaks. thats all tho.
Review: When i first bought this gun...i turned off both regs so i could tune it.....it was leaking like crazy and i thought the noid might have been blown. luckly there was a freestyle tech at the tourny i was at and he fixed it for me. this gun was amazing. its really really fast and it got alot of peoples attention. the only thing i dont like about this gun is the reg....its really small and isnt all that great over the chrono. i guess its all the players preference tho. this gun is awsome.
Conclusion: This gun is sick.....go get one...you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lvl4l2C Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Shocker
Marker Setup: -ICD Generation 2 04 Freestyle
-HE Bolt Kit
-Halo B
-45/4500 HP Crossfire Tank
-CP 2 Piece Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel
-New HPR
Strengths: Fast, no kick, light, compact
Weaknesses: Gas Hog until regs are broken in
Review: This gun mows faces off! All day long, people at the field wanted to use it. It's so light, and small, and confortable. Since my regs weren't broken in the first time i used it, I only got around 2 pods and a hopper off 3000 psi out of a 45 ci tank. The barrel is pretty bad.
Conclusion: Seeing how small, and light, and fast this gun is, Id say that any front player, or back, should get it. As long as you know how to set the regs before you use it, it'll be fine. BUY THIS GUN IF YOU WANT A GREAT HIGH END GUN!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hothead2 Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
TES, misc. Spyders
Marker Setup: 68/4500 nitroduck, 2k4 freestyle with 2k5 internals, Halo tsa (upgrading soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, better feedneck, new board
Strengths: Fast, light, consestant
Weaknesses: Break in the regs, bad stock eye logic
Review: Well went to the field with my FS after I got all the electirical issues taken care of. I rented a 48/3000 tank so I would have all day air (damn pevs and there expensive air). I chrono'd my gun and it was anywere between 278-283 w/o the regs broken in. Right away I was having problems with the bolt not recocking all the way. I knew it had to be it not lubed or the lpr was too low. So I lubed the bolt and set the lpr and was fine for the rest of the day.

So I played a game and was out of paint with out even getting through a hopper full of paint. Was dissappointed but I just filled up again. As the day went on I defenitly noticed it getting more air effecient.

I wasnt impressed at all with the eye logic (i was using a halo tsa, getting halo b next pay check...) and I actually chopped one ball. Sometimes the eyes were just weird, there was a ball in the breach and it wasnt firing. Other games it was completely fine.

I have got to say this gun does not clean out well when it chops a ball. I cleaned the barrel on the field and my shots were all over the place even after I cleaned the barrel. So I cleaned the bolt and stuff after the game.

Now it sounds like I was having alot of problems but all this happened in the morning. As I learned the gun better through out the day I was having less and less problems.

My overall review is once you get to learn the gun it is very very nice marker. If you dont know how to work it well then you will have problems.
Conclusion: You must consider this if your considering high end guns. Once the regs are broken in it is truely a dream to shoot. Just take the time to learn it inside and out and you should have no problems
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

EvoXCockMaster Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Matrix
Marker Setup: Check my sig
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new High Efficiency bolt from ICD, Halo or Empire Reloader B
Strengths: FAST, accurate, dependable, sleek, get a lot of turning heads, did i mention its FAST!!??
Weaknesses: gas hog, not many upgrades, no LCD
Review: I got an Eblade on my cocker, (obviously) and i miss the LCD, but its not a big deal, cause the LCD doesn't help me shoot people easier. I love this gun, the first game i played with it, i had 5 gun techs and numorous amounts of people come up to me and ask to hold it and rip it etc.. then i brought the gun onto the field, im running an empire reloader b with rip drive, and i needed it! This gun RAINS pain on my opponents! I love it! def. one of my best purchases. I recomend it to anyone who is interested. I prchased mine for 850 on ebay, brand new, shipped directly from IDC in Idaho. Only thing is, i found myself filling my tank quite frequently, especially after dry firing.
Conclusion: Buy it and you will not be disapointed, i wasnt..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quiefingeagle Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix, DM4, Cockers, Bushies, Shocker, Impulse, Intimidators...
Marker Setup: ICD Freestyle silver/ black fade
Freak Set
Halo w/ rip
Crossfire w/ check it on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
The reg is a big must for this gun because of the slow recharge rate but this doesnt effect the speed of the gun at all. The reg is plus or minus 6 on the chrono and also is almost too small to hold with the hand. Everyone says that this gun needs a new barrel but supprisingly the stock barrel is not bad at all. The only reason i have a freak set is because i had it before i got my freestyle. This gun is so fast your gona need a halo or egg for sure.
Strengths: -Very fast
-Small n light
-Accurate
-Cheap but competes with all the big boys easily
Weaknesses: -Efficiency but only for backs
-Funky milling
Review: Ok the biggest review i can give is that two people on my team used to shoot shockers and loved them to death but after shooting my freestyle decided to switch. This gun is a front mans dream gun because of its size, but the speed and accuracy make it a awsome back gun too. A new bolt is in the 05 FS increasing the eff 30% making efficiency not a problem now. Over all this gun has impressed me and many people around me and thats why im giving this gun a 9. A 9 because i dont think any gun is a perfect 10 and because the milling is kinda funky.
Conclusion: Final recommendation - get it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media