paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004

Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $850

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
After nineteen years of making paintball markers, you could think, " What's next?" The makers of the BushMaster SI, ProMaster SI, Panther, Puma, Bobcat, ThunderCat, AlleyCat, Desert Fox, BushMaster 2000, B2K, and the BKO bring to play the next evolution, the FREESTYLE!

The Freestyle is a new evolutionary concept marker. It is a single bore design that has many incredible features (No Sally, its not another spool valve.) The Freestyle is extremely lightweight at 1.8lbs. The marker is very small measuring less than eight inches tall from the feed tube to grip (6.5 inches from top of body to grip) and the body is 7 3/8 inches long. It is an amazingliy fast, quick whipping electro-pneumatic gun. The Freestyle is not a toy, it is a serious shooter for the serious shooter.

Among its many features, these are the top:

Paintball Detection System (aka PDS)
Illuminated Toggle On/Off Switches for operation and the PDS
Ergonomically Profiled Grip
Amazingly Fast CPS
"Cocker" barrel thread pattern
Fade anodizing in four patterns
Four-way adjustable trigger
Low Pressure operation
Dual Regulation
Low Profile Gauge
Clamping Feed Neck with 3D milling
Easy to Install 9 volt battery
Drop Forward and On/Off included
Easy disassembly
12 inch Ported Barrel
One key note of interest is the Paint Detection System (aka PDS.) Unlike most markers with a paint detection system the Indian Creek Design markers use a beam break system instead of a reflective beam system. This means no more worries about dark shelled paints or bolts. With the break beam PDS the marker will not fire is the beam is present. When a ball falls in place it breaks the beam allowing the marker to cycle. Most reflective eyes have problems with dark shelled paints and bolts due to the light being asorbed by the shell or bolt instead of being reflected back to the eye.

After nineteen years in the business you know that ICD will be here for you tomorrow should anything go wrong with your marker. Make sure to get your order in early so not to get caught up in a back order list that is surely coming.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2004 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
TheNoisyCricket Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, dm4's,shocker
Marker Setup: -Freestyle red to black
-red halo b
-cp barrel with lapco sizers
-unimount
-45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
new reg
chaos board
barrel kit
FAST HOPPER
Strengths: -Small fit tight in your bunkers
-Fast for ripping people up
Weaknesses: -Gas hogg at first
-work the ticks out like everygun
-strange reg
Review: Over all i think this gun is a great gun.

Its great for front players who want to stay small in the snakes and at the 50's

its great for back players to stay least exposed for when laning

chaos 60bps

acurate, fast, beautiful

icd setting the new standards

-dual eyes for no chop
-light weight for running faster
-best manual ive ever seen
-manual on computer full color pics step by step guide to everything
-sexy
-quiet
Conclusion: i recomend this gun to someone who wants to get serious into paintball. Mostly speedball. its a great gun overall.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PbAllWiZZ Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels- Bigger but still nice
Timmys- Ive only shot one, so I cant really say
E Cockers- Nowheres near as nice as this
Marker Setup: Bushmaster 2K4
Uni-mount
Dye Stickies
Eggo
More to come soon...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Uh, lets see, definetly (sp?) a fast hopper. A new barrel wouldnt be a bad idea, but its not like the stock one is crap. Also, some people dont like the ICD regs, so test it before you change it.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Cheap compard to some electros.
Best bang for the buck.
Weaknesses: Takes some tweaking
Gas Hog (Like 600 shots to a 68/3K)
Review: My Friend jsut got this gun and I must say Im impressed. When he took it out of the package I was amazed at how small it was. Not only that but it was one of the lightest markers I have ever held. There were some downsides however. The trigger is very long stock, but insanley light. I was able to easily walk it, and Im horrible at that. Also, I was with my friend the first time he played with it. First, he had some trouble adjusting the regs. Once that was over, the gun would spontaneously turn off during mid firing, and also, the bolt would sometimes pinch the ball even though he had a Halo and the eyes. When it did fire though, it was so nice. Another thing: If you buy one make sure to get the newer model, which includes a calmshell frame and rail w/ On/Off, as opposed to the original Vert Frame with Drop and On/Off. Also, the newer models will come with a new bolt that increases efficiency. Overall this is a very good gun, and I would highly recommend it.
Conclusion: As I stated above, buy this gun. Just make sure you get a newer model.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DRTHV8R Sunday, June 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dmc, pm5, pmr, slg for spools
Marker Setup: ICD Freestyle
proficiency engine?
evil driver 14" barrel
evil detonator hpr
trinity clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
proficiency engine
clamping feedneck
barrel of your choice
Strengths: SMOOTH
easy to take apart
small
light
Weaknesses: Air efficiency
icd no longer in business
board options
takes a lot of maitenance
Review: I bought this gun used (50 shots with reballs) for $90

the good:
-small and light package, easy to throw around
-nice asa stock
-looks nice, not overdone or anything
-simple maitenance, doesn't get much easier
-probably one of the smoothest guns i've ever shot
-feels extremely ballanced in your hands

the bad:
-can't get parts anywhere, icd is no longer in business. there are plenty of forums though to help out
-air efficiency is awful. i shoot a ninja 50/4500 in a town where we can only get 3000 psi fills. i learn to pick my shots. air efficiency is awful, although the proficiency engines do help out a bit, but they are hard to come across
-board is basic. on with eyes and on without eyes. nothing more. no dwell no rof no nothing
-fsdo is common, especially right after airing up the marker
-stock barrel is really okay
Conclusion: Overall this gun is definately the nicest shooting gun i have shot thus far, but it is spoiled by poor air efficiency and a lack or board options. i have a bigger air tank coming, which may help out, but if you are a back player and want to throw down a lot of paint, you may want to look elsewhere. as for front players, this would definately be a good gun to look into. i got mine at a price where i almost feel guilty for stealing it, but you can find them in the $80-$150 range used. definately a gun to look for if you want a smooth, balanced gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Holcomb7 Thursday, November 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Ego-much faster
Promaster-same speed
Marker Setup: 04 freestyle with 05 internals,freak kit, PMI 68/4500, Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Board
Vlocity or halo
HE bolt
Strengths: Speed
Light
Looks
Feel
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Review: This is a great gun by ICD a I think it was a step in the right direction for ICD. this gun is fast, light, and looks awesome. This gun cost a lot when it came out but now you can find it cheaper these days. This gun is great for any level paintballer. I say if you can afford it get it but dont expect too much without putting some money into it. I would get an upgraded board, the HE bolt, and a big tank because you will go through air like it is going out of style.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to any one that is looking for a good gun that can make it into a great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

corbo Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers, timmys cockers all better
Marker Setup: 03 cocker, tickler LPR, STO ram
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new gun
Strengths: Its light and small
Weaknesses: Breaks
Review: Ok so this gun is one of the best IF it works. Its fast, super small, accurate, very light. I spend more time repairing, checking and sending this thing into the shops than any other marker I have had. Theres always something going wrong. Mines a 1st generation so maybe the newer models are better but I wont be buying anything indian creek because of this.
Conclusion: Go for something better.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bs576 Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 Dye Matrix LCD
2005 Dye DM4
2006 ICD Freestyle 7
Marker Setup: Freestyle 7
Halo w/Angry Board
Centerflag 68/4500
Dye Ultralight
CP roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Smooth
Easy on Paint
Small
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Inefficient
Review: These are great guns, however if you play back I would not recommend it as it can go through air really fast. I could get about 5 pods and a hopper off of a full 68/4500 fill with my Gen2 w/out HE bolt, but this is one of the more efficient ones I've come in contact with. However, if you don't need more than about 4 pods worth of efficiency in a game this gun is great, especially since you can get them for so cheap these days. They are very small, light, smooth, accurate, and fast. This is a great gun as long as you don't mind the inefficiency.
Conclusion: Good gun. If you play front, I'd get it. Not a great gun for a back player or a mid player who tends to shoot a fair amount of paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GnaRkiLLK5 Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD FS7
SP impulse
ego 05
Marker Setup: 2005 ICD FS7, Macdev conquest 4500 adjustable, V-boarded ripped Halo, Cp trigger, AKA sidewinder, STD JDS LPR, CCM feedneck, Dye stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
NOX board
ICD underground stock fs upgrade kit
on/off
Strengths: Light
Fast
Accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Review: This gun is the lightest i've owned. The shipping weight was 1.8 pounds. AMAZING

This gun has an unlimited rate of fire but the stock board only has semi mode. Slap a nox in it and you have a crazy fast marker.

This marker shoots ball on ball. This gun is so accurate it makes it easy to put your balls on the other guy's face. LOL

This gun's downfall is its efficiency. You could expect to get around 800 shots off of a 68/4500 tank. But with all day air this is not a problem, but you may need to take a few extra trips to the fill station.

Go out and buy a freestyle. Oh and by the way all Freestyles are great.
Conclusion: this is a great product. ICD struck gold with the freestyle lineup. Buy a V7 if you can, but if you can't this will deff do the job
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jupez Saturday, November 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All angels, custom cockers, trixs, protos, dm5s, rippers, and more.
Marker Setup: Gen. 2 04 FreeStyle
AKA Sidewinder
JDS LPR
Deadly Wind Grips
Freak Barrel Kit
Red Halo B (Victory and Rip-Drive)
Digital 45/45 Angel A.I.R.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
HPR
Strengths: Fast
Lightweight
Small
Light Mantenence
Cheap
Weaknesses: Balancing regulators
Noid' problems
Bad effeciency.
Review: I purchased my Gen. 2 04 FreeStyle about a year ago. I have overall been very happy with my FreeStyle. Happy enough that I just ordered my FSV7. This gun was extremly fast, out o f the box basically. After a little trigger adjustments, this thing was ripping! The only problems I had when I first got it was that the regulators need balancing which can be a total pain!! After you master this, you are fine though.

After soon putting my Angel A.I.R. on this gun, I felt like I was shooting a pistol. This thing was so tight to my shoulder, I feel in complete control of the gun.

One thing I noticed out of the box is it had bad effeciency, but the Hawk's Upgrade can fix this. When I played in Florida, I was getting 650 balls off of a 68/3000 which isn't bad at all...

I'd recommend this gun to anyone, and even with the problems it has, they can easily be user fixed so i'm coming back for more ICD! I give this gun a 10/10
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any front player. Heck, maybe even a backplayer because it shoots very well and the range on it is good. Check this gun out!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Madness689 Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None first icd marker i have owned
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 06 with a CP Barrel
45/45 Crossfire
Halo with Boost
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, Feedneck, Trigger, and bolt kit
Strengths: Extremly light, very fast and very accurate and very compact and decent consistency.
Weaknesses: Unrealible, breaks paint, BIG GAS HOG!!!
Review: Overall I really enjoyed having this marker. I sutid my needs perfectly as a frontman, beacause it is light accurate fast and compact. The 2 hude drawbacks about this gun was the fact that i never played a day with it without it breaking down on me. And that fact that it uses soooooo much air. But when it did work i really liked shooting it.
Conclusion: So overall if you know alot about the marker then go ahead and get it becasue you will defintly need to fix it sooner or later.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JMD-123 Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blow forward type markers, ie Automag, Desert Fox
The Freestyle is best compared with an E-Mag
Marker Setup: 2k4 Gen 2 freestyle, CP kit, Reloader B, macdev 68/45, Nox board, Custom Millwork.
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE bolt, Good Barrel, perhaps a new Reg.
Strengths: SPEED
Reliability
Sound signature
Kick
Trigger
Price
Weaknesses: GAS HOG!
Resale Value
Review: I bought my Gen2 Freestyle Last summer, i left it mostly stock for that season, and it fared me well... But i found myself checking my gauge during games, only to find that i had 500 psi left! After only 600 rounds!

Needless to say, i was less than impressed with the efficiency of my new marker.

Now, don't mind that small weakness, This marker RIPS!, i have been able to reach a consistent 18 bps after some adjustments to the trigger.

The Biggest Gripe i have with this marker is that in order to up your efficiency you have to sacrifice the buttery smooth performance of the the Non-HE bolt.

Now... the newer versions of this marker are better in most ways, but i purchased mine for $400 last year, which means you should be able to find one for $250 nowadays!

But...You will be hard pressed to find a freestyle owner who wants to part with this amazing marker.

As of now, i am getting 850 shots with a 4000 fill, this is due to the break-in period, and my new NOX board, so now i can decrease my dwell.

My stock regulator has been sufficient, giving me ~7 fps variations, but since my 'style performs best at 280 fps i have nothing to worry about, and i don't notice lots of drop-off.

Well, im sure i missed something, just feel free to comment on this review.
Conclusion: This marker is a major contender on any field, speed and relability wise, with its only downfalls being efficiency and resale value.

So 10-2=8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media