paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp

Evil Pimp Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Pimp

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Pimp
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $700

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pimp Specifications:
Electro-Pneumatic Open Bolt
Un-Capped Board for insane rate of fire
Break Beam ACE System
Impulse Barrel Threads
Adjustable Respirator LPR
Evil 300 PSI LPR Gauge
Blade Trigger
Adjustable Debounce
Twist Lock Delrin Bolt - no bolt pin
Dual Timmy Style Ball Detents
Tray-less Trigger Frame
Shortstack Feed Tube with o-rings to fit different hoppers
Adjustable ROF (eye off)
Aluminum Eye Covers
On/Off Bottomline
Macroline
Detonator Vertical Regulator
Pipe Barrel
Evil Punch 2
Barrel Centering O-ring
Evil Grips
1 oz Tube Pus
Product Availability 
The Evil Pimp is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
TheBulldog Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder FENIX, All American back/FREAK front, w/ DYE Stickies. 2001 ANGEL, DYE barrels, Pure Energy 45/45, 3A 68/45 HPA
Marker Setup: Stock Black to Gold EVIL PIPM, EVO2 w/ Z-board upgrade.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None That I Know Of Yet.
Strengths: Accuracy, Speed, Simplicity, SPEED, No Chops, Cool Looking, and uhhh... SPEED!
Weaknesses: Less than perfect Anno job. Pin that trigger pivots on sometimes falls out.
Review: I have not been in paintball very long but have jumped into the game head first. I started out with a low end Piranah, then a Spyder FENIX, then an ANGEL. THEN.... THE PIMP! The PIRANAH was cool at first. It shot paint... I wanted something faster so I bought the Spyder FENIX and it shot more paint. I then bought an ANGEL. I had then realized that there was a lot more to markers than I had ever thought. The ANGEL obviosly shamed the FENIX. I loved the ANGEL and realized the FENIX was JUNK by comparisin. I saw a PIMP at my local paintball shop and thought it looked cool and was supposed to be as fast as the operator could make it. So. I sold my other markers and bought the PIMP. When it arrived, I hooked up the air, threw on a hopper of balls and gave it a whirl. WOW!!! This thing ROCKS! Faster than anything I had used or seen in the past. Right out of the box, it was faster than the FENIX at max bps on full auto, hasn't chopped any balls, as accurate as the ANGEL, light, and looked cool. I am sold on the PIMP! This is an awsome marker so far. Other than the two weaknesses mentioned above, I have nothing but great things to say about it.
Conclusion: Sell all of your other crap and get a PIMP! You will love it. Shop around and you can find them for around 7 Bills. If you want a gun that will keep up with the really expensive, highest end markers, and not spend $1000+, Get the PIMP!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DerekHoevel Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toxic Matrix, Angel Ir3, Rat Impulse, Alias, Ironman Matrix and Timmy, Lasoya, DM4, Empire Timmy, about every other Timmy, Shocker, NYX Matrix, Shocktech Timmy
Marker Setup: Pimp, Evil Pipe, Punch Kit, Halo, Scion
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothiin really
Strengths: the board isn't caped at anything
Weaknesses: um....... nothin really
Review: well, lets see...... it was fast, light, fast, accurate, fast, consistant and have I mentioned fast? I shot a proto type and that was sweet so the ones they sell will be sick... the one I shot didnt even have a Serial number. I have shot a new one each week and the newer they are, the better they get.
Conclusion: It will be sweet once they come out
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

Kruchko Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Ion
04 Impulse (no eyes, w/ anti chop bolt)
Omen 2.0
Autococker
Russian Legion Timmy
DM4
DM5
Piranah STX
A-5 (w/ response and w/ E trigger)
Spyder
Piranah Evo
Tippman Carbine and Model 98
Tippman 98 Pro E (great starter for the $$$)
Marker Setup: Pimp
Halo B
Pipe Kit
4" drop forward
68ci - 4500psi Tank w/ Guerilla Air Reg (thanks Dan)
Recommended
Upgrades:
2 piece barrel kit for anyone 1/2 way serious about acuracy
good tank and reg
Empire Halo B (dont bother with any other brand or type, they're all junk
Blade trigger if you dont like the flat stock (its all preference)
Strengths: Consistancy
Speed
Consistancy
simple design
easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Heavy
Trigger
Jury is still out on the Detonator Reg
Review: I have been paint balling sence 1998 and used a large variety of great and terrible markers. So far the best that I have found for the $$$ and least amount of BS has been the PIMP. I have used the PIMP as my exclusive high end marker for the past year and a half so I have seen its good and bad sides. . . you guys who own markers for a month and then write a review need to hold off for another 5 months.

As far as looks go its just as atractive as any other gun out there. Its not as extreme looking as a Timmy or DM4,5,6,C. So if you are buying a gun for looks this doesnt rate as a master piece. Milling is nice, the finish is fair, and the style is definatly 45 and not too far from the traditional old school.

Consistancy is where this work horse earns its money. With good paint this thing doesnt chop with the eyes on and a good hopper. I said good paint. . . spend the money and get the good stuff or great stuff. I have only had chopping issues with damaged and old or crappy paint. And once when the weather took a 30 degree swing in less than an hour (I live in Wisconsin, happens all the time). The eyes work just as good as any other. With a HaloB you can lay down a nice rope to keep guys bunkered down and tag guys on the break. I used an Apache the first week I owned it and found that it left my gun dry every once in a while.

Air consumption isnt bad at all once you break it in. The first 2000-3000 rounds drained a couple of 68-4500's, which was concerning. Now I can get through a case with about one tank, so there is no problem there. The Detonator reg hasnt given me any problems, though I am thinking of upgrading it to something better soon because its sometimes difficult to adjust when things get out of whack after a cleaning.

Here's the bad stuff:
-Its a heavy sow. With a full HaloB, drop forward, pipe, and a 68-4500 this thing feels about 50% heavier than a Timmy or DM# and 100% heavier than an Ion. I really only notice it before and after games. So maybe it isnt the greatest for small front players.
-The way that the gauge is situationed on the Detonator reg sucks. Its hard to clean around when you take a gun hit and its possitioned forward so that you cant see it unless you are staring down the front of the marker.
-The Detonator reg is rather long so that you cant put a huge drop forward on it.

Conclusion: There are a lot of high end markers out there now. Most are expensive pieces of artwork that people like to brag about owning primarily because of price or whatever is trendy at the time. The PIMP works and works well with the proper accesories that any high end marker NEEDS. For $1100 someone can purchase a PIMP, a Halo B, Pipe Kit, nice tank and Reg and get some pretty great results. Compared to purchasing an $1000 marker and having to spend even more on accesories or buying a high end $300 marker and then spending $700 getting new parts accesories for it so that it performs the way it should.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

-PBV Friday, September 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
'05 Speed
ION
Ego
Marker Setup: Silver Evil Pimp
Halo B with Rip Drive
68/45 PE Tank with Lp Centerflag Reg
Evil Pipe Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
You may want to get a Pipe kit for it, even though the stock barrel is fine.
Strengths: Quality
Durability
Speed
Lightweight
Awesome trigger
Lifetime warranty
Awesome grips
Awesome reg
Weaknesses: Long break-in period for the reg. (Roughly 5000 shots)
Review: Out of the box this gun is a ripper, it has practically all the best parts, an awesome look, Evil's lifetime warranty, and an awesomely helpful manual to boot.

Out of the box performance:

You don't need to upgrade this marker at all, (hell, you barely can!) Out of the box it is amazing. Evil tests each PIMP before packaging it, so its settings are perfect from the start. This marker looks awesome, the body, milling, and anodizing is so detailed.

Weight: ~3.4 pounds.. yeah, its not super light, but the Pimp is so well balanced you feel like you're holding air.

Eyes: 10,000+ Rounds, no chops w/ eyes on... even with eyes off at 14 BPS it ever chops... EVER... Only 2 jams, both because of low hopper batteries.

Trigger: The trigger feels like nothing, the 80g switch is insane. You can easily crank out 20 BPS once you get used to the trigger.

Maintenance: This thing is like a gift from heaven, the only thing you really need to clean post-game is the bolt, which is super-simple to remove and replace. You simply twist and pull to get it out, twist and push to get it in.

Durability: This thing will last a lifetime.. if it doesn't, Evil covers it.

Reg: Once broken in you'll get around 4+/4- consistancy.

Air efficiency: I get about 900-980 shots out of my 68/45...

Operating pressure: High or low, your choice.

Conclusion: The Evil Pimp is rated the fifth best gun by the NPPL, the other four in the list are twice or three times as much. This marker owns faces.

Evil Wins!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FishyFrontMan Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, Dragon Timmy, Alias Timmy and Impulse are probably the closest
Marker Setup: PIMP
Pipe kit
EVIL blade trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
The slanted trigger is either a "hit or miss" with people and a more functional on/off.
Strengths: Rate of fire, ease of maintanence, reliability
Weaknesses: Heavy, large profile, time consuming to change settings
Review: To begin, take note that I had my PIMP for a year. A gun might perform great the first day out, but two critical parts of its performance, maintainence and reliability, cannot be tested in such a short amount of time. I will address the five main things you should look for in a paintball gun and how they apply to the Pimp: accuracy, rate of fire, reliability, maintenance, and aesthetics. Note that range is determined entirely by velocity unless a force other than gravity and momentum is put on the ball (as with the flatline) so it makes no difference in this review.

Accuracy: Though my Pimp had a pipe kit almost from the get-go, I played with the stock barrel many times as a substitute for the .689 pipe back(the stock back is also .689). The accuracy wasn't incredible with the stock, but in comparison with other stock barrels, it was among the best. It outperformed an angel and a cyborg, but was outperformed by an autococker all with their stock barrels. When all three had barrel kits on them(a pipe kit, edge kit, and freak kit respectively) they had a little enough difference from the Pimp with its pipe kit to make any practical paintball player overlook this comparison, although only the angel seemed more accurate.

Rate of fire: This is where the pimp really came through for me. The pimp with the stock trigger can compete with any gun on the market. With the blade trigger upgrade, it can beat any gun on the market. With two points of andjustment on the stock trigger as well as electronic trigger sensitivity and trigger pull resistance, you can customize the trigger to capitalize on your fingers' strengths. This coincides this the very valid point that a person's fingers decide rate of fire on all high end guns, not the gun itself. The rate of fire only increased with the addition of the more adjustable evil blade trigger.

Reliability: I had only one problem with my Pimp during my time with it and that was because my detonator regulator had been accidentally unscrewed by a friend. The result was serious shootdown. Because this was a user error, the pimp is proven to be an extremely reliable gun when taken care of correctly.

Maintainence: The upkeep of the pimp is very simple, quick, and far-between. The manual says to relube the ram after every 50,000 shots, an already impressive number, but I found I could do it with even less frequency. I never had the dubious honor of taking apart the LPR, but that seemed a little more involved. Because I never had to though, I am led to believe this is not necesarily a critical part of maintainence. Electronically, both trying to change settings and modes of fire, the pimp is more time consuming. It is very easy to do, and well spelled-out in the manual, but takes time due to the lack of an LCD screen. I would expect that you would run into this on any gun without an LCD screen, so I do not consider it inconvenient.

Aesthetics: This is probably where the Pimp is lacking most. It is, in my opinion, a good looking gun, but it gets little respect as it is not of the mainstream. It is also very heavy and tall. The milling is nothing spectacular, but it looks good in a simple way.
Conclusion: The pimp is a gun that is a little rough around the edges, but when it comes to performance and reliability, it runs with the best of them. The incredibly low price for such a gun also greatly weighs in its favor.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 25th, 2006 at 7:20 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

firegod Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Ir3, Impulse, etc.
Marker Setup: Pimp, Extreme Rage Locking Feed, Pysco Drop with on/off, Pipe Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop with on/off makes it balance
Strengths: VERY FAST! accurate, dependable( for the time I've had it )
Weaknesses: Nothing so far
Review: Nice milling, nice shape, good colors, balanced, nice gip very nice all around! Not that many around so if you can get your hands on one get it. PMI ( Evil ) Good job in this marker desing. Keeps up with all the big dogs. Not that much of a gas hog. Pretty good reg. Easy to field strip.
Conclusion: It's worth every penny!!!! Two of our team members use it Including myself. Did I mention VERY FAST!!! Fast for back player, compact for the fronts.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jay_nape3187 Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse several types of timmys cockers shockers angels emags matrixs i have shot and owned them all
Marker Setup: custom pimp kit w/W.A.S. board
16'' full freak kit
88/4500 cross fire fiber tank
new designs on/off and cp rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel pipe kits suck
W.A.S. board get one for 35 bucks you cant beat it
Strengths: Fast out of the box no upgrades needed
Lighter than an impulse
Easy to maintiain
Weaknesses: Lets face facts it's a suped up impulse
Bit of an air hog
Review: when i took it out of the box i was leery of it's capabilities i expected it to be like my impulse (not that my impulse sucks or anything it's one of the best guns i have owned)
i was surprised that out of the box it was fast really fast. the stock board has ramping and other modes on it so you don't really need a new one but i would spring for the W.A.S. board it's only 35 dollars and it lets you fine tune you marker to get that exact feel your looking for the only thing i didn't like was the barrel it comes with a pipe kit which in my personal opinion are the worst barrels ever made i'd recommend a freak kit or a dye ultra lite. so barrel aside this is a all around good gun weather you are a newbie or your a seasoned vet to the sport. this is a good gun for those impulse owners it's practically the same gun it accepts a lot of impulse parts and is lighter than a stock impulse check it out you wont be disappointed
Conclusion: Impulse oweners should check this out for sure it makes a great upgrade from the heavier stock impulse and it's faster than the impulse right out of the box so for the couple of hundies more go ahead get the pimp it's worth the extra dough
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mada_77 Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, angels, DM5's, Cockers, BKO, Impluses
Marker Setup: 05 Black Vision Shocker with nerve board~ Stock for now
Pure Energy 68/4500 HP tank
Egg 2 w Z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
possibly the whole pipe kit but you dont neeed it
Strengths: Speed
Size
Reg
LPR
Weaknesses: Heavy, not too bad tho
Chopping (read review)
Gas hog (read review)
Review: PRO'S

Speed:
well what can i say, this gun is fast. Even with stock board its a killing machine. Easily the fastest on our team.

Size:
now the pimp os alittle heavy and alittle big but it seems to be just the right size (for me), it is also very ballanced unlike others i have used which makes it very easy to run and gun with.

Reg:
the stock detonator it an amazing reg. My brother (owner of the gun) has only lubed it once but he has had it for almost a year now and it doesnt drop off or shoot down at all.

LPR:
the evil lpr is one of the best as far as im concerned. Very easy to use and adjust and never fails me.

CON'S

Weight:
The pimp is alittle on the heavy side but like I said above it seems to be ballanced in my hands (with tank and halo)

Chopping:
Now my brother did have a problem with chopping but it was because of improper settings. He just restet the board and its been fine since.

Gass Hog:
The pimp is a huge gas hor AT FIRST, once you break it in it is quite efficient. Plus at tournaments there is usually free air.
Conclusion: If you looking to step up from and impulse or BKO or something in that range this is the parfect marker, but if you looking to go very high end spend the extra cash and get a ego, DM5 etc.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

redz fanatic Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bob longs, angels, dyes, omen
Marker Setup: Pimp freak barrel kit, angel air ( won it in a local tourny, never thought of buying angel air but hey it was free!) halo b. w/ rip drive, trigger modifications, red in color, graphics on the side with my team name (incomplete sanity)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, the pipe barrel is ok but is picky on paint, get a pipe or freak KIT so u can adust the barrels to your paint
Strengths: price, looks good, light, compact, FAST as crap,
Weaknesses: Only have 1
Review: i had bought this gun cause my angel speed had gotten stolen at tourny, i had loved that gun. one of my friends had recomended to me. he said he had seen it online and the reviews were dont right good. ne way i thought that it would be ok as a backup gun. when i got it, took some time to chrono it in, but all guns are like that. after a couple games i had changed my mind about it. pretty light and quick. i had some trigger modifications done at the field proshop. they had recomended it. after that, i decided that this was THE gun. not a painball gun but THE PAINTBALL GUN.
Conclusion: its cheap in price, compact, looks great, BUY this and u wont be dissapointed
it got a 10 only cause i cant put a 20
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Downer Monday, August 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Impulse, Doesnt even compare. Many upgraded Impys cant compare. At least none I know of.
Dragon Timmy, The Pimp is just as fast little heavier but the weight balances out nice.
Evil Omen, Same company other than the great Tech Support the Omen barely compares.
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp Kit,
Crossfire 68/3000
Egg II Z/board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not many out now, but you really dont need any. The pimp is pretty much pimped out as it is.
Strengths: One of the best regs, size, speed, an it just looks Pimp.
Weaknesses: Break in period, First run anno, Air effeciency
Review: Well, I decided to upgrade to faster marker. After looking around I settled on the Pimp. I was a little hesitant at first because it is a new marker and I was gonna wait for the bugs to be worked out. However I got a good deal so I jumped on it. The first day out ( the day I bought it) I played a tourney and it was ripping. I hadnt even adjusted the ETS or anything. I was seeing fps flucuations of maybe 4 or 5. I had to upgrade my egg to a z board because I was outshooting it quite often. When people say it is a cross of an Impulse and a Timmy, thats about the most fitting description I can think of. Maybe the only problem I have encountered was once I got it home, I took it out to empty the paint and It was shooting eratic, one of every 8 shots or so would just kinda barely fire. After talking with some people on pbnation and a few adjustments. It was ripping again. No fsdo. Perhaps the only thing I dislike is the air effeciency isnt great, not bad. But It could be better. Right now I am shooting 285fps. With the lpr set about 118. Kick ( or lack thereof) is hardly noticable, Nothing like a trix. But if ya want no kick, go get a trix. Overall this is one of the best markers I have shot.
Conclusion: Get it, Break the reg in, and start showin all the timmy and shocker owners what this bad boy can do. It can easily keep up with any marker on the market in my honest opinion.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 23rd, 2004 at 10:23 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media