paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp

Evil Pimp Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Pimp

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Pimp
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $700

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pimp Specifications:
Electro-Pneumatic Open Bolt
Un-Capped Board for insane rate of fire
Break Beam ACE System
Impulse Barrel Threads
Adjustable Respirator LPR
Evil 300 PSI LPR Gauge
Blade Trigger
Adjustable Debounce
Twist Lock Delrin Bolt - no bolt pin
Dual Timmy Style Ball Detents
Tray-less Trigger Frame
Shortstack Feed Tube with o-rings to fit different hoppers
Adjustable ROF (eye off)
Aluminum Eye Covers
On/Off Bottomline
Macroline
Detonator Vertical Regulator
Pipe Barrel
Evil Punch 2
Barrel Centering O-ring
Evil Grips
1 oz Tube Pus
Product Availability 
The Evil Pimp is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
tyler89 Sunday, January 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
little of everything
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 2006- Clear dust
Recommended
Upgrades:
new on/off
new feedneck
a bunch of spare eyes/ball detents
Strengths: It shoots fast when it works
Weaknesses: Chops a lot...works half of the time until it chops...then ur screwed
Review: two of my teammates have these markers...everytime i looked over at them they're banging there guns trying to get them to work. Its horrible, i have never seen a gun chop so much. Granted when they work they are just as fast as any gun out there, the trigger pull is extremely light. But it is always chopping. Always. we lost a tournament today cuz of these guns. Guess the prize at the tournament? Ironically it was 3 evil pimps for first place (it was a 3-man tourny).
Conclusion: Do not buy this gun. It went through three sets of ball detents today and on top of that the eyes are horrible. I am going to give it a 2 because when it does work its good, but it only works half of the time.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

DRTHV8R Sunday, June 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmies, bigger, lighter, bought the same for speed
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp
EFT Body
Shocktech bolt
killa detents
ultra pipe tip
expanded trigger frame
different trigger
hybrid lpr
ccm shorty clamping feedneck
delrin poppit
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feedneck
other than that you are good to go
Strengths: Fast
cheap (resale)
air efficiency
Weaknesses: Heavy
some maitenance can be troubling
trigger not for everyone
Review: This is the second pimp i have owned. i bought this one for $100 and the first for $100 also

the good:
-fast fast fast
-trigger isn't for everyone, but if you get used to it, well it rocks. i kept the stock trigger on my first pimp and on my second one, it came with a lighter microswitch and different trigger, but i can adjust to both
-basic maitenance isn't too bad, more on this later
-evil pipe barrel is my fave, i run a full pipe on my other markers. glad to see a pipe on this one and mine has an ultra tip - score
-very similar to a intimidator in design with an impulse kind of ram. definately original design, definately works well
-great board stock with the ghetto 7.0 or the w.a.s. boards
-great stock asa
-easy to find and extremely cheap used
-air efficiency is awesome, some claim 1800 shots off of a full 68/4500
-what i find is the more upgrades i put into it, the bigger the smile comes across my face after shooting it. stock it is very good, but it does get better as you upgrade

the bad:
-stovepipe feedneck blah. even the twist locks that came on later models were pathetic, get a clamping feedneck on there.
-heavy heavy gun, unless you get a custom body (like an eft) which has a lot of that extra metal milled away
-some of the more intricate maitenance can be difficult, such as the hpr, lpr, and dealing with the internal microline hoses that intimidators are so well known for
-to buy, but that just makes resalve value worse
-company no longer exists, so finding parts is quite a mission
-i'm not a fan of the rubber finger detents. i use killa detents in mine, which work well, but the stock detents, also found in timmies and egos, i am not a fan of. i wish the detents were spring loaded ball bearing or soemthing. just go out and get some killas off of ebay
Conclusion: These are awesome guns for the price that you can find them at used. i would definately spending $100 and finding one for yourself. i've even seen some as low as $50 so just hunt around and find yourself a deal - you won't be disappointed 9.5 for performance for price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wcjones2 Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion, ICD B2K4
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp, WAS Equalizer, SP Q-lock, Hybrid Verdikt LPR, Hybrid on/off ASA w/ bleed, Hybrid grips, Empire Reloader B, Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball detents--kila detents or check out Boss Paintball Products for other options
On/off ASA with bleed
Strengths: Uncapped board
Dual breakbeam eyes
Quick-strip bolt
Weaknesses: Ball detents
ASA difficult to turn
LPR can't be adjusted gassed-up
Review: After the last tourney I played in I decided to go space-gun and get ready for the next speedball tourney with gear that can meet the ROF of the other teams. Gotta tell ya, getting blasted by some guy sweetspotting 20+ bps is sobering!

So I grabbed an Evil Pimp. I topped it off with an Empire Reloader B.

The Pimp is not an Impulse clone. It's like an Impulse plus. The front of the marker is set up like an Intimidator and the back is like an Impulse. Timpulse. There are no "essential" upgrades. The Pimp works well out of the box. It needs an HPA cylinder (HP or LP, works with either) and a loader (HALO B, Reloader B, or VLocity would be best as they can keep up witht he ROF). The stock barrel is a low-end Pipe, so if you want to upgrade barrel (probably not necessary) you can pick up a .689 Pipe back and roll from there. Also, some people have problems with the Pimp's trigger. You can pick up either a blade or double style trigger to replace the standard trigger. Also, some people find the trigger guard kind of small, so you can upgrade the entire grip assembly and get more room for your fingers. Finally, some people like to replace the Evil ASA since it can be difficult to turn off when gassed up, and it has no bleed.

So, the Pimp--quiet. Not as quiet as some other markers, but nothing loud, that's for sure. A different barrel would help quiet it down, but I like the Pipe. Maybe a Stiffi front would help.

That crazy slant-back trigger? I like it! Once you get used to it you can walk it so fast! I was shooting ropes out there. Also, since the grip/handguard are set up so nicely, you can switch easily and effortlessly between a two-finger and single-finger trigger hold. The trigger has a travel adjustment screw, a switch actuation screw, and trigger sensitivity setting on the board.

Consistant velocities. I was amazed that while it was still breaking in I was getting +/- 3 over the chrono. The Detonator is GREAT!

Weight--with the Reloader, full of paint and with a 68/4500 HPA cylinder fully filled weighs nearly the same as a Tippmann A-5. No significant difference there. Heavier than some markers, lighter than others. The Pimp is slightly larger than some markers, but also not as big as others. Seems to be a nice medium.

The eyes work! However, in order to get the max ROF from it while using the eyes, you need a force-feed loader like the Halo B or Empire Reloader. You'll lose performance by using an agitated hopper. Just wait for the mess if you try to shoot fast without the eyes!

The Evil Grip is fine. It's nothing special, just hard rubber with a couple of jewels on it. It works, but for those of you who really want a better grab, look at replacing it.

It breaks down very easily--I'm impressed! One half-turn on the back of the bolt and the bolt slides right out. The bolt is delrin with venturi style porting so no need for any upgrades.

This guy comes with an ENORMOUS bottle of lube (Evil Pus) and when I broke it down I discovered the factory had already pre-lubed it for me. Wow. Again, I was impressed.

In the box it also came with all tools needed, spare ball detents, a new LPR seal, and an Evil barrel condom. Everything you need except the air and loader.

The detents are too soft and need to be replaced too often. You can pick up stiffer Timmy detets, but they are shorter, so no improvement there. However, there are stiffer Pimp detents and various detent mods available. Easy fix.

The barrel is a sort of Pipe. It's the same style, but low-end. The front is a matte-black (unless you went with a color scheme) standard Pipe front end, but the back is not as polished as a standard Pipe kit. Good news though--Evil sells Pipe kits without the fronts in either 3 or 5 back sets. Good planing--I can save money on my barrel kit by buying only the backs I need. Good marketing too--keeps people with Pimps buying Pipe backs....

All-in-all, I'm very pleased with the Pimp. It does everything a good speedball marker should, but doesn't have all the bells and whistles of some other markers. It's a good, solid performer at a great price (picked up mine for $590!).
Conclusion: I think the Pimp is a great way to get into the high-end electro-market without spending an arm and leg. Just an arm. If you're on a budget, if you want an insane ROF, or you just like Evil products and you want a space-gun, give the Pimp a chance. It's well worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 4:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madk9 Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse Vision
ICD B2K
Evil Omen 2.0
Spyder TL-X

NONE OF THESE GUNS EVEN COMPARE!!!!!!!!
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp w/ Smokey Halo B rip drive. 72 ci tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
u need a fast hopper cause this is one fast gun.
Strengths: Fast
Accurate Stock Barrel
Light
Awesome looking
BreakBeam Eyes
Made Well
Its EVIL
Weaknesses: Hey if u can find one tell me.
Review: When I first got this gun i had nothing but problems with it, although u will learn that it was not the gun at all.
I got this marker used on ebay and that wasn't a good idea and when i first got it it sucked quite badly. So i sent it to PMI and got it a week later. WOW. This is the best gun i have ever held in my life. I never thought it would be better then i heard but it was. The trigger came fully adjusted and with almost no effort i ripped a sweet stream of green paint, none popped. The eyes work like a charm, and the trigger is really nice. I found that it has almost no maintenance what so ever. U grease 2 parts every i dunno, 5 cases.

TAKING IT TO A FIELD

My marker was still a virgin not shooting anyone so i took it to the local rebal field. It was so awesome. I had alot of kids ask me what kind of gun it was and a few even wanted to trade. hahahah. well here we go. It was dead strait and no jams. The pressure at 120 psi was more then enough to bring the paintballs across the field. Best day of my life.

A few more months have gone by and still no problems. The gun just seems to work better and better. I broke in my new evil detonator reg, and it is very nice. I shot a whole case 2day and no chops/breaks.
Conclusion: I would recoment this product to anyone who wants a reliable marker that has a great ROF. It was my first evil product bought, and probably going to be my main marker for years to come. Thanks for reading A++++++++++
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 19th, 2006 at 7:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

underground pbs Sunday, November 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 Piranha, some Spiders, an Angel once and 1 tricked out Tippman
Marker Setup: Pimp with Pure Energy 4500 psi tank, Pure Energy 3000 psi tank, Extreme Rage electric hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast (26 bps), easy maintenance, handles almost any paintballs, good barrel, good regulator
Weaknesses: Small trigger frame for big gloves
Review: This is one of the fastest guns on the market right now. I have used about 4 boxes of cheap paintballs through this gun and I only chopped about 12 paintballs altogether. Maintenance almost requires no oil. If you play in tournaments, this gun is good because it has all of the paintball leagues (NPPL, etc.) settings built in. The ramping board is a huge bonus to the gun over the 2004 model.

Conclusion: If you can afford to buy this gun, do. Even if you are a newbie with money to spend, this gun is for you with easy maintenance and durability. If you are a serious tournney player this gun is definitely fast enough and of great quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 2nd, 2006 at 11:47 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

the magician Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen
Piranha EXT Pro
Spyders
Marker Setup: Evil Omen, Pure Energy 72/4500, Evil Pipe, Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better ASA
Strengths: Fast
Trigger is easy to rip
Looks great
Break Beam Eyes
Weaknesses: Doesn't come in a gloss fade ( just my opinion)
Review: A guy at my feild owns this and i had the pleasure of shooting,

First of this thing rips, for me the trigger felt great and i adjusted to the position of it instantly. It feels great to hold and is very well balanced with a halo and scion on it. It looks great and Evil customer support will take care of you if any thing does go wrong.

When i get the money this sick gat will be mine, i love it and you will too, BUY IT!!!

Conclusion: Although i was sceptical about the weight first this will be my next marker, one of the feild owners is even selling his new Alias timmy to get one of these, that has to say something about the quality of it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slickrickq8 Friday, November 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidator, Shocker, Impulse, Bushmaster
Marker Setup: stock pimp, flame drop forward, 68/4500 preset, Stock Pipe and or empire set. halo b stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I picked up a empire barrel kit to try and quiet it down. Great barrel for this marker.
Strengths: Well balanced, streamlined unlike some markers that are 2x as fat
Weaknesses: 3.5lbs but doesnt feel like it with drop. Stock evil pipe very loud.
Review: I put on a basic flame drop forward on it and it handels nice. Very balanced. The pimp was very loud out of the box so I went to an Empire barrel system and the noise went down. Break in time is a drawback out of the box although once broke-in it is very good and reliable. I played with the ROF and with the eye off it will rock as fast as I can make it go. Accuracy seems really good out the box and should get even better once broken in.
UPDATE: dec. 1 After break-in (apprx. 8000 shots) the marker runs great. dropped the pressure down and I can get 4 pods and a halo (780 shots) and still had plenty of air in a 4500. a little quieter now but going to get a freak set for it to see if its any better.
Conclusion: Overall Its a 9 with the loudness out of the box and the break in time. Support is 10 and the owners book very informative on all aspects of the marker. Great job evil looking forward to a long time use with this marker. And the price is much less than to comparable markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 1st, 2004 at 11:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ACDP Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann A-5, Spyder AMG LCD, Diablo Mongoose, Spyder Xtra, Intimidator A-bomb
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp Kit,Evil Pipe Kit,Evo-2 with Zboard,N2
A-5,Response Trigger,Empire 4-Piece,Double Trigger,Drop Forward,Regulaor,Gauge,On/Off Switch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pipe Kit, and a fast hopper. I like the Evo-2 with Zboard
Strengths: Eyes, speed, and accuracy.
Weaknesses: It takes a little while to "run-in" your gun.
Review: This gun is great. You open the box, and you just look at it for a minute. It looks great. I had upgraded from my A5, so some people say this gun is heavy, but I think its light. It might not be the lightest, but its good enough. The stock barrel was working good, but I wanted a little bit more accuracy, so I bought an Evil Pipe Kit. The nice thing about the Pimp is that it accepts Impulse threads. I put that in, and I was getting comments about my gun from everyone there. The balls never chopped, it was shooting fast and really accurate. It takes a little while to break it in, so you will have fluctuations for a little while, but after that this gun rips!
Conclusion: This is a great gun and you should definitely buy it. You really do get your money's worth. Fast, accurate, and that un-capped rof is nice. Add that to the eye system and this gun will mess people up. It can keep up with those guns that cost like 200-300 more. You should definitely buy this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 7th, 2005 at 9:17 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Narleydawg22 Tuesday, August 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2005 Piranha EVO,Upgraded Spyder Victor

I've tested Shockers, Ions, Timmys, Tippmanns, and Cockers
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp Silver w/7.0 ramping board,Dye Ultralite,Halo B w/victory board and shocktech aluminum drive cone,shocktech dual ball detents,shocktech clamping feedneck,phat flame drop forward,new designz on/off, HPA 91ci /4500 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new on/off
new barrel
better feedneck
drop forward
Strengths: FAST!
accurate and reliable
VERY easy maintenance
eyes are awesome
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck and on/off
Shoot down
Air efficiency
Review: This marker is awesome right out of the box. But knowing that there was a problem with shoot down I took it to my local field and dry fired about 2 full fills of my 91ci 4500psi HPA tank. after that there are no problems. when i first got it the on/off leaked so i got it fixed but ended up buying a new one anyways.it has been a VERY reliable marker for me and people on the opposing team usually try to stay away from me. it shoots good with almost any paint. i bought some crappy brass eagle paint and only chopped like 2 out of 500(when i had the bps at about 35). thats pretty dang good for the worst paint in the world. if u have the money for it it's worth it getting it. the maintenace on this gun is SOOO easy, because of how the bolt is, i like it! it's a little heavy but if u have a little bit of muscle its not bad and u get used to it. the air efficiency could be better, but its not that bad. it looks tight and i think every body from my town is jealeous cause they want one.i got tired of changing detents so i ordered some shocktech ones, only bad thing is that u have to ship your gun to N.Y. to get the detents installed, but once u get it back its sweet! hands down one of the best markers out. why spend $1000 dollars when u can get a pimp for around $450-650.
Conclusion: Dont be scared, buy it! (if u can handle it)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 26th, 2005 at 10:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scarface2386 Friday, April 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
lasoya timmy (only tested), ton ton impulse (only tested), 03 vert feed autococker, tippman 98 custom w/flatline, icon e
Marker Setup: stock pimp
71/4500 carbon fiber stubby
Halo TSA (needs a faster one)
stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
faster hopper (halo b, evo 2, or reloader b)
maybe a new trigger (stock takes some getting used to, but once you got it you can rip)
better barrel (freak kit or pipe kit would work well)
Strengths: Accurate
Extremely fast (after minor adjustments)
Low Maintenance
Weaknesses: Trigger takes getting used to
Louder than most guns
Long break in period
Review: When I first got my Pimp, my first impression was that it was a great looking gun. The anodizing isn't the most complex but it still looks great. After taking it out of the box, I gassed it up and went to my backyard to try it out. I go out and begin firing and immediately noticed what people meant by the trigger is a little weird. I also noticed a weird shoot down in a lot of the balls when I tried to walk the trigger. After asking around I found out that it was all part of the break in period (about 6000-8000 shots).

My first day on the field with my Pimp started out good. It was shooting fast and accurate except for that weird shoot down. Unfortunately this only lasted about 4 to 5 games and then it happened. I went out onto the field and tried to shoot off a couple shots before the round starts and noticed nothing came out. I checked the hopper and made sure it was on, it was, then tried again, nothing. The gun would load a ball into the chamber but wouldn't fire until it had about 5 in at a time, then all of them would come out at the same time and go 5 feet before hitting the ground. After sitting out for about an hour trying to fix it I gave up. Luckily my brother brought his backup ton ton impy which I used so it wasn't a lost day.

After that I sent in the gun to the shop where I bought it from and they fixed it for me free of charge. The next week I took it out and had no problems except for that shoot down thing. Since then I've taken the spring out of my trigger, adjusted the trigger sensitivity to just above debounce, and gotten the gun broken in enough to eliminate the shoot down. So after the long break in period and a few asjustments the gun shoots strings of paint with no shoot down and all the accuracy you need to keep up with other more expensive high end markers.
Conclusion: Best gun for the money (I got mine for 700) that will keep up with any other marker out there. I do not regret purchasing the Pimp after I saw it broken in and neither will you. I would give this gun a 10 but because of the unusual shoot down during break in, I have to give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 1st, 2005 at 2:14 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media