paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board

Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Wicked Air Sportz

Buy Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board

Paintball Impulse Boards

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Equalizer is a tournament legal, semi-only board for Smart Parts' Impulse series markers. The Equalizer upgrade includes a completely new eye system specifically designed for paintball. This upgrade board increases the rate of fire and offers numerous other features. The new boards come with PSP ramping and NXL full auto modes.
Product Availability 
The Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
LTJRocks77 Saturday, May 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock non vision board
ECS non vision board
Sp vision board
Marker Setup: stock body Impulse
JackHammer II lpr
New Designz stubby eq bolt
New Designz rip valve
New Designz rat hole ss hammer
New Designz slik shot ram
New Designz talon grip
Check-It no rise
WAS EQ Board
P.E. 45/45
Evo II
Strengths: Fast
NO fsdo
incredible adjustablility
no chops
Weaknesses: eye cover isnt perfect fit
filling nub is annoying
Use alot more paint
Review: Initial impressions: When i first found out i got it i ripped it out of the box and stared at it. It was so beautiful. After waiting a year i thought it was just a dream so i stubbed my toe on purpose and it was real. I was happy as anyting.
It comes with a board (really it does? didnt know that captain obvious!) a bunch of shims (for long detents) an eye cover, 3 screws (1 to screw on the eye 2 for the dwell covers.) and the eye.


Installing: I started to file down the eye nub first. I put paper towls in the top tube to catch the shavings. Well It took a little bit to finally file it down but once i got it down all the way i filled it in with a black sharpie. It wasnt a perfect job but it works. It took a total of 15 mins to get it down perfectly. I used some keyboard dusters (can with air basiclly) to clean it up. I then started to get to work on the board
I took my frame off and took out the board and swapped it with the eq. It Fit perfectly. I routed the eye and tryed to attach the cover but found out it was pretty tight. It took atleast 10 mins before i finally got the eye in the cover. When i put it on i noticed that a little bit of the eye showed from the back of the gun but i dont think that will be a problem. Anyway i got it all hooked up fine and installed. I then grabbed some air and paint and went outside.

Shooting: When i got outside i started to set it up. I put the dwell at 8.4 and the debounce at 2. I put the eye mode on 4 (simulate) and started to rip. It shot so fast that my jaw dropped to the ground. I put the eye mode back to 2 (non reflective bolt) and turned my gun off and got all the air out. After about 15 mins i aired up my gun put in paint and turned it on. I fired and noticed that there was 0 fsdo even after i had my dwell lower then normal. I pulled the trigger again and it started to bounce alot. I pulled it and held it in the sweet spot and emptied a full hopper with just bounce.
I finally upped the debounce to 5 or 6 and put in some more paint. It wouldn't bounce at all so it was good. With my old non vision board i would still chop with my evo2. I fired a string of about 15-16 off and got no chopps at all. I finished off the hopper as fast as i could and no chops.
I put in another hopper full and started to try to make it chop. I turned the gun from 90 degrees left to 90 degrees right while ripping and didnt get any chops. It would be slow but it still wouldnt chop. I love it.

Comparison to other boards: Well the stock non vision board is crap so thats out. The ecs non vision wasn't as fast (without vision it was hard to tell if it was as fast or not) and the stock vision board is good but it has fsdo, no debounce, and still chops a few times. I have gotten the stock board to chop a few times with a revy but not nearly as many as without it. The was board doesnt chop from what ive seen and it is easier to rip with.
Conclusion: This board rocks and i recommend it for EVERYONE. If you have a non vision imp this should be your next upgrade. This board is also FAST! Ive shot so many guns out there and i would take this over almost all guns.
What could be better then?
no chops
no fsdo
an extremely fast board
did i mention no chopping?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 8th, 2004 at 5:13 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1220 Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 14" full freak barrel kit
Blue tapeworm
EvoII loader
45k Crossfire HPA tank.
Strengths: Better eye system
Lets you shoot alot faster
Weaknesses: Kind of a pain to install
Adjusting the settings is kind of annoying too.
Review: The Smart Parts vision uses a reflective eye that sometimes has trouble detecting certain dark colors of paint. When this happens it ends up doing more harm then good. The WAS board is much better. The WAS eye system has no trouble detecting paint and you can adjust the eye sensitivity level so you can use any type of paint with no trouble at all. Also the WAS board lets you shoot much faster then the Smart Parts vision. In black bolt mode the WAS board is capped at whatever you set it at. In white bolt mode the ROF (Rate Of Fire) is unlimited. Both the WAS board and the Smart Parts vision cost the same price but the WAS board is a million times better then the Smart Parts vision will ever be. It is a little bit of a pain in the butt to install and adjust the settings BUT once you do get it set the board is AWSOME and it worth every cent. I give it a 9/10 because it would be nice if it were a little easier to install.
Conclusion: If your looking for a new board for you Impy definitly get the WAS board. The WAS board inccreases your ROF and has a better eye system. The WAS board blows away the stock Impy board and vision.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

fenix1990 Thursday, March 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Vision Impulse
Marker Setup: 2004 Impulse
LPR
Vertical Maxflow
Smart Parts drop w/ on/off
Dye Sticky Grip
Full Freak Kit
Strengths: Less Expensive than the Smart Parts Vision
Tons of features
CRAZY FAST
no chops
Weaknesses: Pain to install
have to use all the online manuals
Review: When i first got this WAS board i was so siked to get it up and running. the first thing that i did was started to install it. I shortly found out how hard it was going to be to install it. i had to go to the hardware store and buy a chainsaw file and allen wrench kit because of the numerous allen wrenches you need to get your gun taken apart. then i started to file down the eye hole which wasn't as hard as i thought it would be. i got everything back together and printed out the manual of of the WAS website adn started to program it. lots of versatility when it comes to options. you should probably shoot paint through it and then program and repeat as necessary. my first day playing with it i was so impressed. i turned the debounce to 2 and put the ROF Cap at 29 and ramped it like crazy. its not exactly legal in tournaments like this but just for fun it was CRAZY fast. a great overall board.
Conclusion: In conclusion, i would reccomend this board for any Impulse owner. it's worth every penny. I would give it a 10 if it werent for the hassle i went through installing it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wipeout454 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
non-vision and vision cricket board
Marker Setup: 2k3 Impulse
Evil Bolt
Evil Respirator
Eclipse SS hammer
OTB frame
Empire barrel kit
Halo B
Strengths: completely customizable electronics
eye is easy to turn off if it malfunctions
Weaknesses: eye cover is hard to get on
have to void warrantee
Review: This is an awesome board. Once you get used to how the menus work adjusting this board is easy. You have to file the vision hole in the body flush, voiding your warrantee, but this is no big deal and takes like 5 min if you are careful. You can completely customize the different delays for debounce, ball in place to your shooting style and type of loader, plus eye sensitivity can be adjusted if needed for different textures of paint. Overall a great product now that is finally out. I was shooting 18 bps out of the box with only adjusting my trigger and none of the board settings.
Conclusion: Get this board you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ase Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ECS and cricket.
Marker Setup: Matte Red Team Strange Vision Impulse
Diamond Red Empire Reloader B
System X Hyperflow 68/4500
Red CP On/Off
Red Freak Barrel Kit
Black Dye Sticky 3
Chrome Custom Products Twist Lock Feed Neck
Xball Paint
WAS board
Shocktech Mini-Drop
SP LPR
NDZ RIP Valve
NDZ Slik Shot Ram
NDZ Titanium Bolt Pin
NDZ 15*ASA
NDZ Blade Trigger
NDZ Equalizer Stubby Bolt
Strengths: FAST
debounce settings
eye logic
cool new eye cover
lots more see review
Weaknesses: Installation a bit time consuming and scary
dwell adjustment.
Review: well this board is FAST. the eye logic is alot better than the stock boards because the actual eye is set LOWER. that means it doesnt detect a paintball until it is all the way to the bottom of the breech, therefore reducing chops.

INSTALLATION: well i was scared of messing something up at first so i tried to find a place to do it for me. i couldnt find one locally because of the dangers (if they messed something up, they would be liable). so i decided to do it myself. the installation proved rather simple WITH THE RIGHT TOOLS but also time consuming, especially since i was going extra slow and being extra careful. basically you just take off your frame, unhook the old board from the solenoid and eyes, take out the old eyes, hook in the new board and hook it up to the solenoid and eyes, file down about a cm x 1/2cm thick metal, put in small screws in old dwell adjustment holes, and put everything back together.
as you may have guessed, the filing down the eye was the hardest part. at first i started using a screwdriver and some pliers as sort of a chisel (idiotic, i know). after about 45 minutes of that with little progress, i got on the impulse forum and learned from a very helpful member (IKEY) to use a small fine threaded wood screw. i did it and it worked like magic all the metal gone in probly 10-15 minutes.
with that done, I now had to get the eye cable routed around a hole where a screw would be and through a small slit in the frame. i used just a bit of paper tape to stick it to the sides and get it routed well. worked quite nicely. everything else from there is just reassembling your gun. the installation manual on www.wickedairsportz.com was extremely helpful through all of this with pictures.

TAKING IT TO THE FIELD: first i decided to dry fire it a little. turned it on, held down the power button for 1/2 a second to disable the eye, and start ripping. impressive. noticeably faster than previous board. just to see how fast this thing can really go, i turn the debounce down to 2 (lowest possible, dont ask me why) and WOW. enough said. let's put some paint in this mother...
using an empire reloader B i got 0 chops all day. well, ill be honest i dont have the fastest fingers at the field, so i let my teammate darren try his luck with chopping. still no. he was probably shooting 18 bps. we tried everything, shaking it, holding it sideways, upside down, we put a revvie on it, we tried darker paint (had to turn the eye sensitivity up slightly for the eye to see it). no chops. we did get a break in the hopper when we were shaking it though, thats how hard we were shaking it!

SETTINGS/ADJUSTMENTS: well one thing painful about the adjustments is the dwell. to adjust your dwell at the chrono, you have to turn your gun off, hold down the trigger and turn the gun on, adjust dwell accordingly, turn off, turn back on shoot, and if your velocity is still not where you want it, reapeat. people behind you inline for the chrono get pretty annoyed. i think it would be better if they just left the old dwell buttons open so we could adjust our dwell like that.
most of the stock settings worked fine, with the exception of dwell and eye mode. basically if you have a reflective bolt, you use eye mode 2, and if you have a non-reflective bolt you use eye mode 1, which uses a ROF cap. the way you can tell if your bolt is reflective or not is while the eye is on, push your bolt forward, and if the eye senses it (you will know by a blinking green light) then your bolt is reflective. if it doesnt see it then your bolt is not reflective.
Conclusion: In my opnion the WAS board is the ultimate board for any impulse. it doesnt get much better than this.dont be afraid of the installation, i could do it and i had never even disassmebled my imp that much prior to that.i would give it a 9.5, just for the dwell adjusting, but i cant so ill just round that up to 10. i hope this review was helpful. GET A WAS BOARD NOW!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 at 10:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pythonowner Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse vision board
Marker Setup: Python impulse w/ equalizer board, Dead on paintball drop, halo b w/rip, 68,4500nitroduck.
Strengths: Can update via equalink, Ease of use, different modes of fire, superior vision system.
Weaknesses: Must be very care full with the install process. Voids any warranty if one exists
Review: The fact that you can update the board and make changes with the equalink cable is a great reason to purchase this board. Other upgrade boards for the impulse like the black-heart and the stock vision board can not be updated.

The vision system monitors the paintball in the breach like a crossbeam vision system would. This is good for people who don't use a force feed hopper like the halo b because when you are shooting fast and the last few balls fall out of the hopper they bounce up and this could cause a chopped paintball if you are using another board although this is unlikely to happen.

Another great thing about this board is that it eliminates a factor contributing to first shot drop off. This board uses a higher voltage than a stock board witch eliminates first shot drop off with out first shot drop off software.

With the equalinq cable you can update the board with updated software by W.A.S. This is the main reason I bought the board. The modes of fire in paintball are changing and in the future will change. Tournaments will require different modes of fire and because of this i highly recommend getting a board for your gun that you can update. With the equalizer you can update the board.

Another great feature is the 25g micro switch. This gave my trigger a lighter feel and made it more sappy.

There are many more features that i can talk about but these were the main reasons i am happy with the board.

W.A.S. is coming out with live fire software which will redetermine the best settings for your gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this product because it is very user friendly. You can update it via equalink. Superior fire modes. 25g micro switch. Eliminates a factor that contributes and causes First shot drop off. I would reccomend this board to every one now that it is sold for 99.99.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acpbaseball89 Monday, November 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blue Light Vision Board
Marker Setup: 2k4 Vision Impulse Green
Wicked Air Sports Equalizer Board
NDZ Slik Shot Hammmer
NDZ Delrin Bolt
NDZ Delrin Pull PIn
NDZ Blade magno trigger
wgp flame drop
32* on/off
47/3000 steely(poormans tank)
halo B
Strengths: Fast, Extrememly Adjustable and wow did i mention fast
Weaknesses: Are u kidding me there is none.
Review: Holy Cap this board is fast. I mean i have 2 impulses one with the blue light vision board and one with the Was board and there is no comparison. You can put as many upgrades into the one without the was baord and it still wont be as nice as the one with the WAS board. I mean you can adjust everything with the was board from dwell, debounce, eye sensitivity, bip delay, rof, and there is even like 4 eye modes. This board does it all major props to wicked air sports on this one they relaly put the work in.
Conclusion: This is simply the best upgrade you can get for ur imp hands down no complaints this board is another level from the sp boards.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 8th, 2004 at 5:35 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

luap119 Friday, May 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
cricket board and ECS
Marker Setup: 2k3 EQUALIZED impy BLACK, all ndz internals, ndz no rise, ndz detents, ndz blade trigger, JackHammer II lpr, freak system, clear halo b, EQ board
Strengths: FAST, SIMPLE TO USE, FAST, FAST, and uhh FAST......OH YEA NO FSDO
Weaknesses: uummmmmm NOTHING. maybe installation
Review: WOW EQ ROX THE BOAT.

I got it yesterday and what can i say im shooting so much faster. The strings of paint are so consistant. NO FIRST SHOT DROPOFF.. installation took about 20 minutes and was fairly easy because i actually knew what i was doing. once i had it installed i put some almost black shelled paintin the camber and it read it with ease..
Conclusion: GO OUT AND BUY IT. FAST, NO FSDO, BETTER EYE SYSTEM, MANY DIFFERENT EYE MODES, ETC....i give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pandemonium Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys (WAS, and Frenzy boards) Angels, Bushmasters (blow never get one!!!!), matrix's, shockers ( new and old), and cockers.
Marker Setup: 03 impulse w/ equalizer
68/4500 nitro
z-board egg
ND blade trigger
Strengths: INCREDIBLY FAST!!!!!
doesn't chop
Weaknesses: installing it is a challenge.
Review: The gun is amazingly fast with this board. and you NEVER chop. i had the gun on debounce 2, and my friend was doing 20 bps. my egg broke after i played a game, and i was forced to use a 12v revvy for the rest of the day. I ripped 16 bps without choping, and without skipping any shots. all the refs asked me how i fould shoot so fast with the hopper ( i really had no idea, revvy = 13bps, and im shooting 16 WTF??!!!). This board absolutely rips, and everyone should get one.

Conclusion: im giving this board a 7 just because of the hassle you have to go through in order to install. ( the eye cover doesnt fit well, filing out the blockage for the eye.)it. but once its installed its the best thing you could ever do to you gun. GET IT!!!!!!!!! if it was easier to install i would give it a 10, but the best things arent always gonna be easy to do.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 10th, 2004 at 5:49 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

bigAL~82 Friday, March 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crickit Board
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Imp
Max Flo inline reg
freak system barrel
CP roller trigger
Strengths: Fast
Eyes
Adjustiblity
NPPL, PSP modes
Weaknesses: Trigger programing
You have to memorize the colored lights or print off owners manual
Review: I love it it boosted my rate of fire alot. the psp and nppl modes are adjustible from 3-30 bps (only 15 bps is leagle). Could have a few more options but its the only imp board i could find. I took it out to pevs ohio and rolled some suckas. It gave me the edge i need to compete in tournies
Great Product
Conclusion: I love it
get one and kill some suckas
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media