paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board

Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Wicked Air Sportz

Buy Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board

Paintball Impulse Boards

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Equalizer is a tournament legal, semi-only board for Smart Parts' Impulse series markers. The Equalizer upgrade includes a completely new eye system specifically designed for paintball. This upgrade board increases the rate of fire and offers numerous other features. The new boards come with PSP ramping and NXL full auto modes.
Product Availability 
The Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
SandMan817 Sunday, December 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Frenzy board(timmy) not as good.
Marker Setup: $20 Blue to Matte Black fade Ca$h Money Impulse
Matte freak back with silver AA front
Smoke Evolution II with Z-Board
Silver no-rise CIP feedneck
Equalizer Board
SIlver Shoctech Mini-Drop with Silver On/off
Dye Throttle 45/45 n2 tank
Cash Money Goods.
Strengths: Modes
Ramping
Ease of Adjustment
Eyes
Weaknesses: Installation is frustrating
Eye cover had to be tapped in with mallet
Review: This board is discustingly fast when you have it properly setup. I had this board installed the day i got it and everything was going well untill i got to the part where i had to file down the little metal peice. I didnt have the tool to file it down so i went to my neighbor's house and he used a dremel and it took less thatn 5 minutes. after i finished that part, and had to install the eye cover this is where the problem occured. I tried pressing the eye cover on as hard as i could and it wouldn't go on. so i had to sand it down a tad bit and get a mallet and tap it in. after that everything else was fine. After shooting paint out of my gun on Eye Mode 2(reflective) the thing was ripping so fast. I was using a EvLution 2 with zboard and this gun was spittin out atleast 20 bps. so i was insanley happey that i didnt have any problems. When i was using my freak barrel the shots were dead on. I was in awe because the shots were soo damn accurate. The only thing that i had a problem with was the gun wasn't able to recharge fast enough when on Training Mode or w/e its called. it would have the worst drop of every. But you dont even need to use that because u cant with paint. Semi-Auto was still fuggin fast, but not as fast as psp ramping. Not 1 chop when using eye mode 2. it was so great.
Conclusion: If you want your gun to be ripping and want the psp mode, and nxl mode get this. also the adjustments for the board are sooo easy. The only thing that would be a problem is the filing down of the metal piece and the eye cover. I give this product a 9/10 just because the installation, but not everything good is easy to install.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wickedimpygod05 Sunday, September 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cricket board (old and new), sp vision, not fair for the equalizer to be compared to these boards
Marker Setup: '05 black impulse, w.a.s board, Halo B w/ victory board, aci 70ci 4500 adjustable, empire barrel kit, new desingz internals and lpr kit, contract killa' shizzle grips
Strengths: Fast, very few chops, adjustability, see review
Weaknesses: Installation, warranty void, see review
Review: First off let me say that i dont hate smartparts, there a good company and back many respectable players and teams. Unfortunatly for smartparts though wicked air sportz has ultimetily outdone them.

The equalizer board steps up the level of the impulse while keeping the cost relativly cheap. I'll admit that though it may sound like a gimmick, it is the real deal! read on for more info:

When i first got the board i was psyched because i had to skip a couple of days at the field so i could have enough money for paint. Let me say it was absolutly worth it! I got it and found that the file you need is not a 3/16, or at least it didnt work for me. so after a detour to the hardware shop and dropping a mere 3 dollars on a file i was well on my way to what i consider heaven on earth. I got to the field and filed down the nub, then sharpied it in like they say to do. I then proceded to install the board which fit perfectly into the tray, then threaded the eyes through and screwed it in. I placed the eyecover over the eye and screwed iit in place.

So that was the major weakness, i know its not one but that was the only downside i have expirenced.

I procede to the chrono and adjusted my settings, they are as follows: dwell 9.2, debounce stock, eye mode 2 (requires reflective bolt), bip delay stock, rof cap n/a, eye sensitivity 5, and firing mode psp 3 shot ramping. (field legal)

I then put paint into the gun and fired a string of 20, adjusted my trigger and walked it as fast as possibe. Now with psp i know you can shoot as fast as your hopper will feed and mines sat a 32 but lest be honest its only bout 20 or 25 tops. DOnt get me wrong its still mad fast.

After a full day of playing and ONE chop (thanks to a crappy ball detent) I was very impressed by the overall preformance. I only have one more weakness of this board, and that is its hard to keep the paint tab when having so much speed at your fingertips...but ill get used to it, and i think you will too :)
Conclusion: I think that the product is a steal at the price. I would buy it over again anyday, espicaly over the vision board from sp. Definatly consider if not purchase this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NCAssassins Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Non-vision cricket board = no comparison, period.
Marker Setup: 03 Impulse w/ sp lpr, was board, blade trigger w/ spring mod, 48/3k pmi tank,
Strengths: SPEED! Free firmware downloads!
Weaknesses: Price, on older boards no ramping w/o equalink, debounce is not that great.
Review: I have had this board for about 3 months now, and it is awesome. I love the speed, and the switch is alot shorter and a little lighter than with my cricket board. I am looking forward to buying the equalink now because of the psp and nxl modes, and while I said the price is a weakness the entire board with eyes is less than a vision kit from sp. Also I recently chopped an eye cable, and ordered 2 for $5 each. Not bad when you consider the $25 dollar price tag of an sp vision cable.

WAS is not bad on shipping either, I got mine about a week after I ordered it. Like I said above the debounce does not work all that well b/c of it's logic(or lack thereof), basicly it limits the amount of time between shots however I shoot out of rythym when I rock the trigger while the gun rythmicly cycles. This acts as more of a rof cap then debounce, but it really doesn't matter all I had to do was tighten up my custom spring, so if you have the original spring still you probably won't have a problem with excessive bounce.

As far as speed it is awesome, I even made a test video the other day, and they have a few on the site that basicly speak for themselves. In the video if you're wondering the reason it is shooting even when the hopper is empty, is basicly because the hopper is empty. My eyes are set to level 7 which prevents chopping, will read the balls even half way past the ball detents but I did have to turn the BIP delay up to prevent chops(none so far), and at that level the eyes will pick up to much light if you are using a clear hopper, basicly meaning no chops but be prepared to dry fire.

The eye logic other than the brightness prob are great, no probs with dark paint(as long as you calibrate them first). No chops yet.
Conclusion: I give it a 10, mainly because you can update the firmware for free whenever they come out with an upgrade for it(such as psp ramping, and nxl full auto). Awesome board relatively easy to install if you know your way around and impulse.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

indrul1.0 Saturday, August 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
blue light vision cricket
eblade?
Marker Setup: nasty impulse 3.5
ndz ram assembaly
mid weight hammer
rip valve gen 2
ndz vff 15*
gen 2 nasty maxflow
32*on off
shoctech medium drop
cp roller
halo b
nitroduck 68/45
Strengths: Dwell is much more precise
You can control top rof
Full auto ramping
Weaknesses: You have to file down the eye hole which takes an eternity
Review: all in all, I think that this board is rightfully named the equilizer because it increases my rate of fire about 5-7 bps. It does take a pretty long time to install for a novice like me, and the filing is nerve racking because you dont want to mess up the gun, but overall the end result is amazing, I would never go back to the cricket board
Conclusion: Its a must for an impulse
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

w00dY Saturday, July 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock cricket board while my WAS board was away
Marker Setup: Adrenalin Impulse all ndz'ed and adrenalin parts with WAS board
Strengths: Able to be upgraded
Weaknesses: Eye fileing maybe kinda scary/hard
Eye bypass capped @13
Review: I didnt have to file out my hole as a bought the gun with a WAS board in it, then a month ago a kid turned up my reg while i was on the field playing with my phantom and blew my noid into the board or something since it wouldnt work after that... send it back to them and they fixed it for me for shipping, great customer service anyway when it came back it had the new 2.4 codes on it and thats just awesome

This makes you imp total rock eye's work great, now has psp and nxl legal and modified ramping which can be set exactly to the 15bps max because they use a PACT timer on their boards, no FSDO but i never had it anyway and with this board i actually have the problem of haveing a first shot hot situation.... in simulate ive had my imp cycling at 30 cps havent gotten a chance with paint yet, as my friend with a v35 halo just got back today but i have done 20 already no problem at all
Conclusion: GO FOR IT! easy to setup once you learn it, easy to fine tune, great customer service, ability to be upgraded for newer codes with the 50 dollar cable which is like sending you boards out twice to most other places to get upgraded but you can do it at home and o yea FAST FAST FAST people are like thats not an imp is it???? course that could just be the adrenalin milling :P
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 23rd, 2005 at 8:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

familyguy6007 Thursday, June 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock board.
Marker Setup: impulse with blade trigger,halo b,WAS board and new designs bolt n' hammer.
Strengths: It shoots very fast. The eye is unbelievable. It's less money than SP vision.
Weaknesses: Not too complex but kindof hard to figure out how to work.
Review: This board allows you to adjust dwell, debounce, bip delay, eye mode, rof, and eye sensitivity. It is hard to find what setup works best because of all the stuff you can adjust. Other than that this changes everything about the gun. I can shoot so much faster than before and I never break paint in a game. I recommend this to anyone who never wants to chop paint and shoot very very fast.
Conclusion: Buy this if you have an impulse. Once you have it set, you'll love it. I'm not giving it a 10 because of the installation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

AdrianSpecialEd Monday, May 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Vision board. Stock vision board pales in comparison.
Marker Setup: TKO Impulse, stock internals, Freak Bolt (red anodization), Smart Parts titanium pull pin, All american barrel, CP drop forward, 68/4500 PMI compressed air tank, Halo hopper
Strengths: Very good controls and options, easy to program
Weaknesses: If you're not a good tinkerer, you may have installation issues
Review: Compared to the stock vision board, this is night and day. The options and features that you have control over are everything you need. This board is not intended to go full auto or does it have any programmed burst settings. Most people don't play in those types of tournaments anyway. And if you do, all you have to do is lower the debounce setting, and you're practically bouncing your way to full auto. Installation was not very hard, involving some filing of the main body vision hole, and some tinkering with the detent spacer rings provided. The instructions online are very clear and concise, and any issues are answered there. The WAS online message board was also helpful for any other questions.

Dwell control on WAS board is excellent, instead of a pot switch as found on the smart parts board you can actually program the actual milleseconds. And the WAS board provides more voltage toward the solenoid, insuring better "firing". Debounce control is very very nice feature, to optimize how you are trying to play - and the sensitivity of said bounce. Eye control and Rate of Fire features are also excellent.

The board also has an eye bypass mode, which is handy to dry fire, and make sure that the marker is cycling correctly.

I took my marker out to chronograph it, and unloaded 100 balls in a few seconds...the WAS board detects the bolt and how that is firing, along with the balls in the breech. Definitely no chopping here...

Get a Halo, absolutely, to keep up!
Conclusion: I would recommend it hands down....$150...for all the stuff you'd ever need!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lafever25 Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ECS
Marker Setup: 02" Impulse
WAS Board
New Design FPR/ ANS
Shocktech Bolt/ pin
Upgraded brass and titanium internals
12V xboard revvy w/ pure energy 68" 3000psi tank
Freak Barrel system
Strengths: Fast, comes with eye, and has lots of modes
Weaknesses: Price is high for most. Installation is fairly simple but setting it takes time.
Review: Probly the biggest upgrade you can put on a non vision stock impulse.
Eye logic isnt the greatest. cant detect some color paints. sometimes the sunlight fools the eye if you have a clear hopper thinking it sees paint and you end up chopping. During games i had to shake my imp so the ball is set perfectly in front of the eye in order to shoot or even disable the eye system to shoot and ended up chopping.
Conclusion: Good board. Does shoot fast with a low Debounce setting. But must tweek with the eye setting to prevent chopping. Im ordering a White Bolt and a halo so i can use eye mode 2. hopefully it helps with my problem.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Infamypaintball Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cricket (blue light) board
Marker Setup: 2k4 impulse
ND stubby eq+ bolt
WAS eq+
ND HE ram assembly
ND RIP valve
Evil Respirator
ND FAT trigger
Q-lock
Evil Driver Barrel
Shocktech drop
Evil on/off
Egg w/z board
Strengths: Very easy to use and install
insanely fast
no chopping!!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: after waiting 3 weeks it finally came..... once I filed it down and got it set to my previous settings it was good to go, with absolutley no drop off and insane speeds. All I have to say is buy it, no matter how long you wait for it, it's probably the best upgrade you can buy, and you won't be disappointed
Conclusion: Just buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBbackplayer899 Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cricket Board <-- Not Even Close
Marker Setup: 03 Blue Impulse
WAS Board
OTB Trigger Frame
SP LPR
Freak Kit
Stange Bolt
Mango Blade Trigger
Slick Shot Ram
CCM Feed Neck
15degree ASA
Strengths: Fast
Custom Programing
Dual Eye Mods
Weaknesses: Annoying to install
Programing takes awhile to get right
Review: When I first got the WAS I was so excitied that I wanted to go play right away. But the WAS is not a ready to go out of the box board.

Installation- Standard installation is used except you must file down the eye hole. If done to fast can cuase damage and if not done right, will lead to problems that will make you wanna throw it away. After you file down the eye hole you must blacken out the eye hole with a sharpie, the sharpie can be washed away or faded easy if you chop or break paint that gets inside. Eye cover dose not fit the eye correctly and can cuase the eye board to chip when pressing it on.

Programing- All the programing features of the WAS are great. You can adjust Dwell, ROF, Eye Mods, BIP, Sensitvity, and DeBounce. All of these need to be adjusted. You can use a computer to program the board but you have to pay 50$ for something that only cost about 1$ to make.

Dwell: To low for most guns (stock 7)

Eye Mods: Bypass, Eye on, Reflective Eye, Simulation. If you want to use reflective mod you bust have a white derlin or a stock impulse bolt will work. I had some problems with this mod so I just use regular eyes.

Ball in Place: I turned mine down and then turned it back up becuase it was chopping

Sensitivity: Yes, you can use all color paint but it will NOT work very well. I had many problems with the stock sensitivity and raised it to 15. After changing the sensitibity I did not chop one ball, but when I used "Blaze Pink/Black" paint it would not detect it.

DeBounce: If you wanna be a cheater tun the debounce down to 2 and it will ramp out of control to the point of having troubles trying to stop it. Stock setting is 10 but I lowered mine to 7 so I could get a little bounce witch will make it pretty speedy.

Preformance: After twinking the board to be perfect fit for your gun this board is amazing. After adjusting the board i have shot about 4k paintballs through it and only choped ounce becuase I turned the eye off to shoot through the pink/black paint that it would not register.

Please note that the board was installed correctly and was looked over several times before playing with it.
Conclusion: If you wanna spend the time to adjust the board then buy it. If not just get a regular vision.

I am giving it a 8 becuase it did NOT read all paint, dificult to install, and programing will give you a head ache.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media