paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Softstream Mask / JT Softstream Mask / JT Softstream Mask

JT Softstream Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Softstream Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Softstream Mask
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 5.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Single lense goggles with a visor.
Product Availability 
The JT Softstream Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
xman Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flex 7
Marker Setup: cnc xmag dust black to red fade with left warp feed a halo b and 72ci 4500psi flatline
Strengths: light
Weaknesses: bulky
Review: this mask has good vision but it sticks out by your ears and the strap doesn't stay tight. it is great for beginners and is a low cost mask. although it is pretty simple to clean and take apart, the material is not to flexable so it doesn't fit your face.
Conclusion: it doesn't have the quality of a high end mask but that's why it cost a lot less. like i said it would be great for thos first starting off.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stewylouie Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra Pro Shield
JT Whipper Snapper
JT X-Fire
Marker Setup: KAPP Cocker, KAPP Rhino Reg, Clippard Ram, ANS Gen-X Reg, KAPP Back-Block/Bolt, KAPP 45 slide trigger frame, KAPP trigger.
Strengths: Light, Airy, Flexible Comfortable.
Weaknesses: Offers very little protection to head shots.Old Elite style lens with limited vision.
Review: If you don't like the heavy weight of current masks, the Softstream is an alternative.
The mask uses the Elite Goggle system attached to a sfot foam mask.
The Foam makes it very light and flexible.
It breathes and is very comforatble to wear.
However, beacuse its only light foam, it does very littel for protection to face and head shots. It offers cushion but that's it.
As to fogging, this mask is not different than any othe JT, if you have offing problems, use a thermal lens.
Conclusion: Cheap light mask for those who want the extra comfort of a soft mask and is noty concerned with the reduction in protection.
Personally, I prefer the added protection of a hard mask.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kocker141 Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flex 7
Marker Setup: custom autocoker
Strengths: It protects your eyes from being shot out
Weaknesses: If you get hit anywhere else besides the goggles, it is going to hurt.
Review: This mask cost me 20 bucks awhile ago and I played with it for around a year. It fogged up regularly, hurt when you got hit, and generally was a pain to use. I started to borrow one of my friends Flex 7 masks and was amazed. The Softstream WILL reduce the impact of paint on your face, but it will still leave a mark. It also bends and contorts rather easily...i know thats the point but it gets quit annoying.

My father owned one and always had trouble with it fogging up and the goggle straps slipping during play. Not good at all. Actually...very bad.

It is by all means safer playing with this than not wearing a mask (*disclaimer*don't play w/out a mask...duh) but not by much. Its decent...but blown away by pretty much anything else.
Conclusion: Its worth it to spend around 30 bucks more and purchase a decent mask system instead of this. I cannot recommend it in good conscience. It gets a 4 because it protects your eyes, but not much else.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MaRaUdEr2006 Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Alpha 2000. It's a lot better.
Marker Setup: Rebel '02 with X-core expansion chamber
Strengths: -Cheap
Weaknesses: -Fogs very easily
-Uncomforable
-Big holes let tons of paint in
Review: My cousin has this two of these because his dad and he bought packages that came with the same mask. He used his and it fogged up right away, so he tried his dad's and it also fogged up right away. They bought anti-fog stickers to put on the lens but they STILL fogged up in about 5 minutes. He let me try it and it is uncomfortable. Whenever you get shot in the face with it on, the huge holes in the mask let paint get all over your face. The only good thing about it is that it is very cheap.
Conclusion: I don't recommend this to anybody, even if it's in a cheap package with a gun. It fogs up way too fast and it's just not worth the money. Get a JT Alpha 2000 for the same price. It's a lot better.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 29th, 2003 at 3:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT spectra, flex, brass eagle deluxe
Strengths: 1) the price was pretty good at the time, i just bought the cheapest thing that i could find.
2) uh... it hasn't broke... much
Weaknesses: 1) this mask fogs pretty bad
2) this mask optional visor barely stays on
3) this mask's bottom vents (mouth guard) separated from lense
4) this mask has got a cheap lense, straches easilty
5) the mouth gaurd on this mask is cheap

(a little wordy, but i need one hundred words at least in the good, the bad, and the conclusion.)
Conclusion: don't buy this mask; even though it is cheap, go with a more expensive and better quaility mask like a Scott or higher end JT, you'll be much happier is the long run
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: stock JT Excellerator 4.0, 12 oz. CO2
Strengths: well it is light and flexible
reasonably comfortable
Weaknesses: the lens scratches pretty easily...
and it fogs up if I do too much running
the foam rubber earguards fell off...
Conclusion: not too bad
it was the cheapest thing at the field I was playing at... and I was sick of the rental mask at the time..
it cost me 20$
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fleaf Tuesday, June 19th, 2001
Strengths: the foam is extremely soft and confortable, it looks pretty good and it has a low profile. the mask is made of soft plastic so it might prevent a ball break but who knows?Vision is pretty good.
Weaknesses: This mask produces a lot of heat around the eyes during a game and the lense fog like h*ll if you don't have a thermal lense. The whole mask is soft and it isn't in a rounded shaped form like the JT spectras or the Nvaders. Basically this mask is unique in a bad way. Since it's soft there is constant pressure in the back of my head because that's where the mask is holding on to. That's sucks though because by the end of the day, I have a huge headache.
Conclusion: the vision is alright, yeah it does fog a lot after using them for a while. It's somewhat confortable to wear, I wouldn't recommend them though. For the same price, go with the v-force armor. This mask only stays on well when tightened extremely tight but it later gives me a headaches because there is constant pressure in the back of my head. Hope this helped, any more questions just e-mali me.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodAngel Tuesday, June 12th, 2001
Strengths: This is a good mask. Its plenty good for playing any type of paintball game. Its not the best mask in the world but it does what its designed to do. Its size is large and comfortable, therefor it provides plenty of protection. It also has a visor so it keeps the sun out of your eyes if your playing on a sunny day. The lenses NEVER fog. My lenses havn't fogged up once playing with them. Some masks do, others dont. Plenty of ventilation keeps you cool.
Weaknesses: Its a big mask and it wont fit a small head. It is adjustable but can be difficult at times.
Conclusion: You can see very clearly through the mask. It never fogs up so you dont have to worry about being in the middle of a game and have a fogged up mask. Its protective and fits well. This is a great mask for the beginner paintball enthusiast or someone who plays paintball in their spare time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 20th, 2001
Strengths: Very Comfortable, hugs your face very well and covers most of your head very well. This mask is very similiar to my Flex-7 except for the plastic that is used for the bulk of the mask, not that it's really a bad thing.
Weaknesses: It comes with a single pane lense which should immediately be replaced with a thermal lense, which is an additional $20 but is VERY worth it(also why it got a rating of 8). After owning about 6 different masks, I'll never, ever ever use a single pane lense no matter what. If you can't see anything, you will NOT be able to shoot anything.
Conclusion: Greatmask, but it needs a thermal lense to be an even better mask. Definately worth the $20 or so that they're sold for now.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 23rd, 2001
Strengths: the mask has pretty good protection, it even guards some of your neck.its light weight and it very comfortable, and is good for the price.
Weaknesses: after a while when you start to sweat the mask starts to fog up. this is annoying because you have to keep cleaning it.
Conclusion: good mask but i suggest to get a betetr lense for it. with the new lense this is a very good mask.id give it a 7/10 without the new lense, but a 9/10 with the new one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media