paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey O3 Mechanical / Odyssey O3 Mechanical / Odyssey O3 Mechanical / Odyssey O3 Mechanical

Odyssey O3 Mechanical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey O3 Mechanical

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey O3 Mechanical
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $349

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New O3 Body with custom streamlined look
Cocker compatible with closed bolt design
Standard with roller sear for smooth,efficient and light trigger pull
Low-pressure operation makes for great consistency and overall accuracy
Equipped with low friction Delran bolt and reverse style P back block
Standard with clamp feed tube and bottom line Regulator, and in-line grip

Available in Black - Grey - and Red
Product Availability 
The Odyssey O3 Mechanical is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
paranoid Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP auto cocker09, 2000, and 2002
Marker Setup: For this marker
STOCK
plus
Boomstick
50 ci 3000 worrgass
Odyssey TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel. Freak is my favorite, but evil pipe kit isn't bad.
Jackhammer LPR
System X or other Regulator.

Strengths: Cheap. 220 for package.
Easy adjustment for the threeway.
Light and shortened bolt.
Weaknesses: 1. That cool 3-way .. leaks.
2. That cool bolt, it is pretty blocky.
Review: OK, I have several guns. An tricked out A-5 for scenario and woodsball, an Ion for speedball, and a few older cockers I use for both purposes. I like to mix it up and I have cheap friends. So the other markers stick around.

You know how it is.

So I ordered this , mainly for the accessories it cam with and when it came in I was in for a surprise.

First, the main reg was on the bottom of the grip. Kind of like a maxflow. Mind, that's in looks only.

The front pneumatics seemed fairly standard other than the nice and easy adjustment for the throw on the three way.

So I lubed it up and started a basic timing.

When i got to the part where you gas it up, I blew off the hoses. Like a dumb@ss I turned the lpr the wrong way. Doh!

Fixed that and went to town with the rest.

It truth, it was pretty dialed in right out of the box.

Three way kept leaking.

I did everything. Lubed it, turned the mainreg down to 220 PSI, lpr almost off, and 3-way leaks just slightly.

Ignoring the faint hiss, I popped the Halo on , screwed in a boomstick, filled the hopper and went to rip some paint out.

The trigger is STIFF. It could really benefit from a lighter spring.
So I had a little finger fatigue, but it did rip em out pretty good for a mechanical marker.

Not really ball on ball either, but was pretty good. I may try it out with a freak later.

And the stock delrin bolt was a nice plus, even if it is blocky. Two things deserve to be gently cupped, paintballs and something else I can't write here. Friends don't let friends use aluminum bolts. The cocker tech at the local field I go to swears by the custom aluminum bolts he makes, but i won't touch em. Orings break down and that aluminum bolt is going to scratch your expensive guns internals evreytime.

Back to the gun review.

So this gun is temperamental.

And tech support, OMG. First I went to the website. Awful. So bad... and to top it off, the site didn't acknowledge that they made any other product than the Halo except for one blurry picture of this marker.

Their sales site isn't even working. That's just bad business.

It was a late Thursday night, so I sent an email. I sent another one the following Monday night. Still had no answer, and they don't have an 800 number. I am certainly not going to spend money on a phone call if email support is available, but it looks like I may have to.
I guess i'll call from work ;) .

Then there was the anodizing. It was a blue to black fade. You have to really want to see the blue to notice it. Substandard.

And finally, the write up claims 100 percent cocker compatible for upgrades.
More like 75 % cocker compatible.


UPDATE:

Odyssey doesn't sell anything anymore. They don't make anything anymore, and they don't answer thier phones.

nationalpaintball supply is the only distributor, according to thier automated message, and the number they give for tech support for all products 972-438-2900 is not answered.

I guess I ain't getting any factory replacement parts.
Conclusion: I wouldn't reccomend this gun to anyone.

Over all I am just not impressed. A marker should work out of the box. It doesn't need to work well, but it needs to basically function. This marker fails that most basic test.

Nice design ideas, poorly executed fabrication.

It is not comftorable to fire.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 31st, 2005 at 8:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thematt13 Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP vertical
WORRGAMES trilogy
WORRGAMES prostock 2005
Marker Setup: i didn't put anything on it yet, but i am looking to put an electronic tirrger on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Fastest shooting mechanical gun ever
Easy clean
Comes timed
$179
Eye ready
Weaknesses: Sort of slow for high-end tournaments
Review: this is the best mechanical gun ever made, and for the price you just gotta buy it. just a couple of days ago i saw a guy a capnt Carl's with this gun but with an e-blade and it was the fastest shooting cocker ever and was always write on target plus with no kick. also Its upgradable and its ready for the eyes so when or if you do decide to get an e-blade for it you wont have to worry about the eyes. The finish to this gun is bad ass from black to blue. the quality of the back block is like one shade darker than the rest of the marker and it really sets the gun off. I've really just been playing around with it at team practices and i've been holding my own up against angles to nerve to bob longs. I would consider this gun a good mid-grade gun but with the proper upgrades a truly High-end gun and you will become a good tournament player.
Conclusion: This is the best mechanical gun ever and for the price you would be a retard not to buy it, and i'm giving this a ten because of it price and accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 5th, 2005 at 9:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pinnacle2009 Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 Cocker
Marker Setup: Stock o3m
-12v Revvy
-Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new LPR and a spring kit.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, fairly light, and pnu's are very good for stock.
Weaknesses: Trigger is kinda heavy. Thats it.
Review: So, I got this for Christmas. My mom had ordered a Red/Black Fade one, though. I got like a silver dust. I love it. It looks so good!

First thing I do when i opend it was took I outside and aired it up. Needed a little bit of timing and lubing. Finally got it working and added paint. At first the velocity was too high, so I lowered it, and now it is shooting ball on ball. The stock barrel is very good. It was shooting better than my 14" Kaner.

Pnuematics needed lubing but after I did that, they were great. I tried replacing the LPR with a Orracle LPR but i couldnt get it off, so I just decided to keep it on there. The Ram is very nice. So smooth! And the 3-way is also pretty nice.

The trigger is heavy. Replace or lighten the sear spring. The trigger frame is nice. It will take Dye Stickies and pretty much any other grips out there. (Just thought that was nice since my old T1 couldn't do that). The frame also has a back stop, which is nice, but I didn't get a chance to do anything to that.

The Reg is nice. I have heard some people not liking too much but I love it. I just wish it wasnt so easy to move the adjustment knob (kinda easy to mess up the pressure you set it at).

The bolt is derlin. Very nice too. Although, it won't take newer style bolts. You'd need a new backblock anyway. The cocking rod is ok, but you have to adjust how much it goes into the hammer, which isnt that bad, i actually like it.

I also didn't have a chance to test for efficiency, but it seems to be pretty good.

All in all, its a very nice gun. Especially for the price.
Conclusion: I'd recomend this gun to anyone. Shoots very nicely stock.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 25th, 2004 at 2:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alexlikesfire Wednesday, February 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: ION, Blackheart board, HaloB Hopper, full freak kit, Superfly bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit.
Strengths: Extremely air efficient. Accurate with new barrel. Works with CO2 or air.
Weaknesses: Needs to be timed constantly.
Not alot of upgrades for this marker.
Review: The first time using it, it worked like a dream. You could pic off anyone you wanted and it has a pretty decent rate of fire for speed. But after a couple times of use the three way would hiss. The o-rings that are meant to fit in there seem to be a touch to small. When you wiggle the rod that gos from the trigger to the three way the hiss would stop then it would start again if you stopped. I tried to find o-rings that were only a little thicker but no luck. The other problem is that it is supposed to be fully cocker compatable but if you go to buy a new bolt or anything it doesnt quite fit. The only thing that worked was the barrel. It also has to be timed constantly.
Conclusion: If you know how to time it and are just looking for a backup woodsball gun this would work. But if your looking to upgrade a gun this is not the one to do it to. I give it a five because it does work well when it is timed.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazysyco141202 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
custom cocker, trilogy cocker.
Marker Setup: O3M cocker, dye stickies, everything else is stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accurate, doesn't chop. cheap 160 bucks.
Weaknesses: Gas hog, sometimes leaks for no reason.
Review: I baught my gun from a store on ebay for $160 bucks brand new. It turned out the store I baught it from was in Japan. It took a while to get to me. I got it and took it to the local paintball shop to get timed. They said they had no clue how to time it and said it was imposible to time. After that I went to another shop and they said the same thing. Before I gave up I went to the new pevs shop that had just opened up and they said it would be no problem. The guy aired it up to check it out and it leaked like He!!. He said it needed a whole new vertical reg so I emailed the guy I baught it from and he sent me a new one. I took it back to pevs and I droped it off. They called me up and said the whole marker was screwed up so I once again emailed the guy I baught it from. I sent it back and the guy said he would send me a new one all ready timed. I got the new one and it wasn't timed. I took it back to pevs and they timed it no problem. They got it to work after a month and a half. Since then I have played with the marker about 8 times and it works fine exept it leaks sometimes from the reg but after I shoot 1 or 2 shots it stops. I talked to someone at the field and they said they had the same problem.
Conclusion: It is a great marker for the money and it works great. I just got a defective one. I like that all the stock parts work so well and that the stock barrek is so accurate. I just hope this doesn't happen to anyone else. I was lucky to buy it from a store with great customer service.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

odysseyo33 Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS GX-4
WGP oraccle
other autocockers
Marker Setup: Odyssey 03m
Dye Throttle Air System
Halo B
CCM bolt
Shocktech ram
Hybrid regulator
Dye Sticky grips
12" Proto barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new regulator and barrel if you do not like the big .693 bore.
Strengths: The stock bolt
It comes with a double roller sear
clamping feed neck

Weaknesses: The regulator is pretty inconsistent at least for me it was.
Thats really it
Review: Overall the Odyssey 03m is an excellent gun for starters to professionals. It is a very fast and reliable gun. The stock delrin bolt is excellent, the red/black fade is really nice, it comes stock with a clamping feedneck which is a must, the parts are excellent quality.
The only comment I have is about the regulator is is pretty inconsistent. A CP reg. should do the trick.
I also had to take the gun apart to fix a seal cup that was misaligned from the factory.

Other than that it is GREAT!!
Conclusion: My only upgrade that I could think of is a new regulator it was really inconsistent. I give it a 9 for the trouble to take the gun apart and fix a misaligned seal cup too. I have all kinds of guns from DM4's to Tippmanns and this gun is near the top.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shakman119 Monday, December 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dragunfly fake eblade
Timmys
Low ends of all sorts
2 shockers
The Ion
Marker Setup: Bob Longs Texas Storm Intimidator
Freak, back and Freak front
Hybrid Ram
A+ Bolt
Frenzy 110
Check It Unimoun
Check It on off
Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
You could Eblade this and than it would be a solid marker
New front block would take away some issues
if you want to stick mech, you can get a new hinge frame
Strengths: Looks pretty good
efficent
clamp neck
quite
Weaknesses: Some timing issues
choppage
Stock barrel is poor
not of highest quality
Shortstrokeing
reg issues
Review: My buddies marker, I tested it 2-3 times, and it was not bad. It was prone to some short strokeing because of the nasty trigger, and that led to choppage

The stock barrel was of solid lenght, but had a tendency to curve

The front block had some leakage, but was fixed with some timing help

You need to have some tech skills to keep this marker in shape.

The stock trigger is nasty thoe, and schould be replaced.

Very cheep, and good looking
Conclusion: If you would like a cocker and you dont have a lot of cash, this is a solid choice
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pigpen1116 Tuesday, December 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp prostock 05- a little better
wgp vertical 04 - about the same
psychoballistics superbolt 04- much worse
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3M, evil detonator, evil pneumatics, aim rods, dye beavertail.
Halo - B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade out of the box : Pneumatics, Regulator
Upgrade eventually: rods
Strengths: Accuracy
Noise
WGP Compatibility
Weaknesses: Pretty Bad Stock
Rods bent
ALL SCREWS LOC-TITED
Review: Let me try to be as unbiased as possible. I will break it up into parts.

Pneumatics: Low quality. When I got my gun, not only was it untimed, but there was a leak at the three-way. Adjusting is quite difficult and should only be left to experts.

Regulator: The regulator is grip mouned as is not vertical. The regulator is total junk. You might as well throw it away and get a new one. Although some swear by it.. I think it is crap. FPS fluctuates with this regultaor +- 25 f.p.s..

Barrel: Very accurate.. Ball on Ball at the chrono. It is also very quiet. I wouldnt reccomend upgrading immideatley. The stock barrel is nice. Though it does have quite a large bore size, it doesn't seem to have an effect on accuracy.

Back Block: Not the best. P block design, but was slightly bent around where the cocking rod goes through.

Bolt: Good delrin bolt. I cant recall chopping any time

Detent: Not the best, but sufficient. There is only one, and it isnt a ball detent. Its is a rubber brush. It does its job fairly well.

Rods: Terrible. Not only are all the rods somewhat bent, but ever fitting is loc-tited shut. The only way i could remove the cocking rod from the lpr was with two vice grips.

Misc.: There is no safety at all. Paintjob scratches easily. Trigger pull is very heavy. Not totally wgp compatible (everything but the valve). Odyssey customer service is horrible
Conclusion: This is overall a decent gun which can be turned into a good one with many hours of tinkering and upgrading. After all is done, it is a force to be reckoned with. I would give it a 9 after upgrades, but stock.. I give it a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ugly112 Friday, October 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom with ups
various spider clones
Marker Setup: odyssey o3m
HP 47/3000 psi tank
all-american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new hinge/swinge trigger
any new barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
Quiet
Looks
Price
COCKER!!
Weaknesses: Barrel (.693 is way too big)
Instruction manual
Stock o-rings
Review: ok i bought this gun off of eBay for $150 shipped. When it came i was pleased to find that it had already been timed. When I screwed in the tank it immediately started leaking out of the reg. Checked the manual and found nothing. Figured out that you had to set the pressure to 200-250 psi or it would leak (out of box was set all the way up). Started firing and was pleased to find it had already been timed YES!!! went to shoot paint through it and...........nothing. tilted the gun down and out rolls a paintball. Went back inside and screwed the velocity in some. Went back and, screwed in tank and WOOSH air goes right through the gun. Took out the cocking rod and out falls an o-ring. Replaced o-ring and repeated the process with the same results. Dismayed i went in and replaced the o-ring again. Before i screwed the velocity nut in again i saw the hole where a beaver-tail would go and realized it was shredding my o-rings. This time i screwed the velocity nut to the point of the hole and stopped just short. From that point on the gun has shot like a dream. The accuracy is really good considering the barrel is monstrously huge and paint rolls out of it thanks to the tiny ball-detent. Trigger pull is pretty heavy but when shooting paint it has a nice snappy feel. With acouple of upgrades this gun will be the better than most cockers on the field (prob. $200 worth but who cares because that plus the starting price is almost the same as any new cocker) pretty easy to string together nice accurate shots since there is almost no recoil. All in all a pretty good cocker.

*update*
now the gun leaks half the time you gas it up and doesnt cycle completely the other half. its timed properly so the pneumatics are just messed up crap

*update*
well never worked when i wanted too so i just got a new gun. trying to turn it into a good backup gun but it still only works half the time.
Conclusion: I would recomend the o3m to any one looking for an entry level cocker (sooo much better than anything on the god-awful trilogy line) who has time to spend tinkering and figuring things out for themselves. Even with its downfalls i would say its a better buy than any of the spider clones i have used in the past.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 18th, 2006 at 4:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

splatmaster76 Thursday, September 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3m, WGP slide frame and trigger, Custom Products 1 Piece Classic 16" Barrel, 12v Revvy with X-Board, Crossfire 48/3000 ca tank, CCM front pneumatics.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel(pretty much for any marker), Front Pneumatics, Trigger Frame(preference)
Strengths: Price, Performance
Weaknesses: Front Pneumatics
Review: A few months ago I found one of these brand new in the box on e-bay for a great price. I couldn't resist a cocker clone at that kind of price and I finally broke down and purchased it. I have to say that I agree with one of the guys on here about Odyssey's customer service, it's not good in fact it sucks. I called because I needed a new spring for my stock trigger frame. 3 months later no spring and no help. I don't care though, that's why I picked up a cocker clone, I just replaced the grip frame with a new grip frame and single trigger slider from WGP. I also after playing a few times found the front pneumatics to be cheap and very spotty function wise. I didn't even bother with Odyssey, I just replaced all the front pneumatics with a new front end kit and new front block from CCM. Now this marker absolutely rocks, it's very reliable, and very accurate with the new barrel. It is super smooth to shoot and is fully compatible with the E-Blade setup from Eclipse. If you are willing to put a little work into this marker you can have a super smooth shooting mechanical marker or even upgrade into a electro for a very reasonable price. Plus you have the advantage of having an autococker with a unique body style, and look. This comes with a Delrin bolt right from the factory and don't let anyone fool you, the parts that you can't replace which are the Valve, the Back Block, and the Bolt, don't need to be replaced unless you just like to spend money. They will not impact performance one bit. This is a solid dependable marker that with a little work can be upgraded into a monster marker. Well worth evey dollar put into it.
Conclusion: I think if you are looking to get into a cocker for a reasonable amount of money, and are willing to do a little work on it. You would be hard pressed to find a better marker to start with than this. It is a great marker for the money. Well worth it. I give it a nine because of the poor front pneumatics on mine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media