paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
zgr81andonly Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammerhead Mini Fin barrel system
Marker Setup: 03 WGP Black Magic
J & J ceramic barrel
Hammerhead Mini fin barrel
32 Degrees flame drop foreward
PMI on/off
Pure Energy 68 C.I. 4500 psi n2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Always buy good paint! Hellfire are great.
Strengths: Not as many as you would think.
Weaknesses: No more than any other barrel, the weakness lies in the inconsistency of paint.
Review: I, unlike most people apparently, was not impressed with this kit. The simple fact is that even good paint, from the same bag will vary several thousandths of an inch from one paintball to the next. There is nothing wrong with this barrel kit, but you are just as well off to buy good paint and a barrel to match it. I have used case after case of hellfire and it dosen't vary enough to warrant an extra $100 for any kit.
Conclusion: Decent barrel, just not worth the money
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 6th, 2005 at 2:57 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

deadsquiggles Saturday, November 5th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
TechT iFit, Dye Boomstick, J&J Ceramic.
Marker Setup: X7 Classic with Trinity X36 stock, Pro-Connect 3, and 14 inch Freak.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.
Strengths: Cheap, useful, assortment of lengths.
Weaknesses: Straight bore, doesn't ease the paint in.
Review: This is the greatest barrel I've used. It allows you to size your paint which gives you great improvements in accuracy and efficiency. It also has a great assortment of barrel lengths you can get. You can make the barrel anywhere from 12 to 20 inches. Another cool thing is that even though they're expensive new, there's enough used ones floating around that you can get one in decent condition for cheap. I got a A5 thread back, 14 inch Freak front, and a .689 insert for 45 bucks. And inserts are pretty cheap at 10 bucks a pop. All in all, this is a great barrel set up and I would recommend it to anyone.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel system. I highly recommend it. I have it and I'll never get rid of it. The only reason I gave it a 9 out of 10 is because nothing is perfect, not even this.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 5th, 2011 at 3:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zachg4488 Monday, July 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder electra 09 black, 68/4500 crossfire HPA tank, 14 inch smart parts freak barrel, empire reloader b hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use RPS Evil paintballs and they seem to work extremely well
Strengths: Very accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: When i had first got my marker, one of the first things that i went after was the smart parts freak barrel kit. I was looking to buy a good barrel kit, because i had heard that the spyder electra's stock barrel was not all that and plus i was looking for a 14 inch barrel. Well i found the barrel kit on ANS gear and decided what the heck, you know it had great reviews from numerous websites. Well i spent the $150 and i tell you what, what a barrel! It has amazing accuracy and i am so glad that i spent the extra for a barrel kit like this. EXCELLENT!!
Conclusion: Excellent Barrel Kit!!! Buy it !!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajbjoust Monday, December 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
first barrel kit
Marker Setup: Invert Mini, 14" Freak Barrel, Empire Myth 45-45 carbon fiber tank
Tippmann A5, BT M16 barrel, polished internals, QEPH, lightning rod, 6 pos. stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paint work great due to the sizers
Strengths: Size any paint
Weaknesses: Tough to get sizers out after a ball break
Review: This is a great product, can be used with any paint due to the sizers. Makes the marker quieter. Makes the marker shoot dead on if you size the paint right. The only down fall Ican find is that after you get a paint break in the back of the barrel where the sizer is, it can be a pain to get it out due to it being oily. Ya I know really a stretch to find a complaint. I would however like to see this in a solid barrel instead of the 2 peice.
Conclusion: Want to be the dude that does the head shots then get this kit
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

napalm42 Thursday, June 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J s2
J&J edge elite kit
Psychoballistics Aradus barrel
Dye UL
J&J 2 piece aluminum
tons of stock barrels
armson rifled
All American Barrel
SP teardrop
SP progressive
Marker Setup: AGD Tac-One Warp left
68/45 Manifold Maxflo
AGD warp feed
V'lo jr with virtue chip
30mm simmons reddot
Full Freak kit A/C threading

Fully upp'd Tac-Ion
68/45 myth'd crossfire tank
v'lo jr with virtue chip
Proteam warp feed
Full Freak kit IMP threading
Recommended
Paintballs:
any that have a shell and fill
Strengths: Accuracy
customizability
decibel level
Weaknesses: Possibly weight
aluminum inserts can bend
Review: I have used this barrel kit for a good amount of time now... i feel it is the best thing i have honestly ever shot. In my list of similar products used i have many barrels but of course the kits will shoots better than the 1 or even some 2 piece barrels
------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------
----

Strengths -


Customizability... This barrel comes with 4 different style backs (depending on year) and 5 different fronts with 6 different length fronts in probably about 7 threadings...

fronts - teardrop (rare nowadays), AA, freak, Tactical, rain
lengths - 10" (AA only)
12" Tear drop, AA, Freak, rain(maybe)
14" Tear drop, AA, Freak, rain(maybe)
16" Tear drop, AA, Freak, rain(maybe)
18" Tactical (i think)
20" Tactical

colors - unlimited... they are aluminum fronts and backs so they can be anno'd to match

threading - imp, A/C, angel, A-5, 98, SFT, NXT(imp), old style angel (rare nowadays)
--------------------------------------
Accuracy... the barrel has 8 different inserts which are all microhoned to a pretty tight tolerance meaning that 98% of the time the bore on the insert is very very close to the actual bore of the insert... this is a huge problem with many kits out there. they have inserts with the same bore (but different markings) due to low tolerances in production...

But, with the freak kit and a properly chosen insert it is possible to shoot a 6" grouping at 20bps full auto from 75 feet away, which is pretty rediculous... i also shoot a 2-3" grouping at 75-100 feet on single shot with my ion and tac-one
---------------------------------------
decibel level... this is dependant on the front you choose... the order of quietest to loudest is as follows

AA
Teardrop
Freak
Tactical
Rain (disputable)

with the AA front on my mag it is nearly silent, and with the rain tip it is not too much worse than the freak front (this is why it is disputable because it is believed to be the loudest)
------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------

weaknesses-

weight... its not the lightest barrel out there but its surprisingly not that much heavier than a J&J ceramic edge kit

the inserts are made of aluminum and therefore can be bent or damaged if dropped... but this is the case with a lot of things in paintball and isnt really a weakness...


I personally love this product... i currently have 2 backs (A/C, imp) 3 fronts (10" AA, 12" teardrop, and 14" freak) and they all shoot amazing and equally as accurate... however, the product is not without flaws because tolerances arent 100% and people will eventually get a bad batch like anyone could.

I personally got a bad batch and actually got 3 bad mis-shapen inserts and the balls would freak out when they came out of the tip... but SP replaced them for free and there are no problems now
Conclusion: I highly reccomend this barrel system because 2 backs, 3 fronts, and 8 inserts means 6 complete barrel kits (in essence) and has only cost me $140 (i bought the parts used)

only give it a 9/10 because no product is without flaws and the tolerances are great but not the best
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 12th, 2008 at 8:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

victoralphac. Sunday, June 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Jr.
Marker Setup: I have a black/red epiphany with virtue board, virtue eyes, smart parts q-lock feedneck, smart parts s-rail, smart parts freak back/all american tip.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any properly bore matched paintballs
Strengths: Exchangable bore sizes and variety of tips available
Weaknesses: Heavier than some, price
Review: I bought this barrel about 6 months ago for my SP Epiphany, works great. You can get a variety of sized bores and match them up nicely with your wide spectrum of paintballs avaliable. Thing performs great and looks awsome with an All American Tip on it. You can get the different sized bore inserts very cheap and customize these with the different colors. Two thumbs up in my book
Conclusion: Revolutionary changable bore which only cost 12-15 per bore instead of different full backs, get it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pantherfan88 Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels of all kinds
Spyders tippys ions/sp8s
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Virtue Boad, Pro EQ bolt, Sp 360 QEV, Full Freak Barrel Kit, Hybrid Virtue Grip, Q lock feed neck, New Designz Roller Trigger, New Designz Scopian frame, Virtue'd Viewloader Vlocity (Basically nothing stock except for the reg)

Smartparts NXT Nasty Shocker #27 Tadao Board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind thats the beauty of it
Strengths: Versital
Weaknesses: None
Review: The freak kit has resulted in fewer paint breaks in the barrel. im not going to say it made my gun shoot striater; however it did look nice and work nice...i break so few paintballs in the barrel this causes less cleaning of the marker...which can and will lead to acute laziness....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Conclusion: Awsome upgrade really pricey go with the freak jr and just get the .687 thru the .691
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Ionkiller Friday, February 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Pure Energy preset 68 cu 3000 psi Compressed air tank
Cp Razor drop
12 in Freak barrel w/ All american tip

Diablo Wrath
Halo B w/RIP Drive
Pure energy 48/3000 preset air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any its a kit
Strengths: Accurate
Shoots thru breaks fairly well
Inserts fit any paintballs
Accessorizable
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Ive used this kit for a few months now on my ion and so far it has worked flawlessly. its very accurate and its also a bonus not having to worry about what size of paintball you are using. another good thing is the upgradeability, you can change lengths and colours too. theres also the allamerican tip for those fans who want to upgrade their all a's to freaks. This is overall what you should expect out of a kit
Conclusion: Im going to give it a 9 because no matter what itll work and its not really expensive. also nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 1st, 2008 at 10:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

team_xile Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Progressive, Evil Pipe Kit
Marker Setup: Angel 1
45/4500 Crossfire
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any...hence why it is a kit.
Strengths: Price, weight, looks, ease of use
Weaknesses: none that I can think of
Review: Well, this barrel kit is simply amazing. It is nice being able to purchase whatever kind of paintball you want and know that it will fit in a barrel no matter what.
When I used this barrel, I never ran into a single problem. I never had a problem with finding the correct size or anything. I always tested between 5 and 10 paintballs to ensure that the barrel insert I chose was the right size. Once I was sure, I was playing all day, no barrel breaks nothing.

As a matter of fact, in the 2 years I used this barrel kit, I never had a barrel break. That is no lie.

The inserts easily slide in and out of the barrel back. Once the barrel back is screwed onto the marker, the insert isn't going anywhere. You can be insured that the insert won't move around or spin during hard play.

There are 2 types of freak barrel systems, stainless steel, and aluminum.
The aluminum ones are lighter, but less durable as far as denting and what not. The stainless steel ones are a little bit heavier, but are almost indestructible. Not to mention that some of the sizes are the same.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great barrel kit, the freak is the one for you. It has a great price tag, and is very easy to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dannypaint1 Saturday, January 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UL
CP
and barrel with a back and a front
Marker Setup: -Pmr UL'ed with full freak system "14, proto alloy back cap
-68 ci 4500 psi DXS hpa tank
-smoke halo b loader with NDZ rip drive
-Vforce profiler with mirror Lens
-Dye C5 jersey
-Empire contact pants
eclipse elbow/forearm pads
Recommended
Paintballs:
any gun
Strengths: Accurate
Lot of variety
Weaknesses: Is a little heavy, no biggy
Review: This barrel is great, but like all barrels nothing is going to be pin point accurate. I have used a freak on a spyder, pmr, and a sl66 ego and i loved it and all three guns. Also the barrel inst that expensive. It is also easer to change the bore size, instead of having to take the barrel off then unscrew the top and back part u just unscrew pull out the insert and slide another one in. And you are back to playing.
Conclusion: It is a great barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media