paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Wgp-07 Thursday, May 20th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe (owns Freak)
Kaner ( didnt think kaner was better but lol it is)
Boomsticks (also better)
Marker Setup: Nightkast with tons of upgrades so im not going to name them all
Recommended
Paintballs:
well any
paint to bore match
i like RPS
Strengths: looks cool
Accurate up to 50'
Weaknesses: nice idea but flemsy backs
not accurate at long distances
Review: I woulda have to say Do not but this barrel kit!

Hard to clean if u chop a ball....doesnt work well with slightly old paint

Isnt as accurate as it should be for how much it costs.. get a pipe! more accurate

The backs r soo flemsy. Any minor collision and wow that back is ruined.
Seriously not worth the hasel to use this barrel kit.
Well its better then a stock barrel but for the price u could get somthing a lot better!
Conclusion: Get a pipe kit or dye boomstick or ultralite and save urself the time.
This barrel is cool looking but it just isnt accuratre or user friendly
Its hard to clean w/o water. Do not get it!!
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 20th, 2004 at 3:48 pm PST
I found this review  
23 Comments - Add Comment

sprayinpaint999 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
boom stick
freak jr.
Marker Setup: '03 smart parts vision impy
ND blade trigger
ND bolt
ND clamping low rise
eggy II w/ z board
68 4500 crossfire tank
freak kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
usually anything that isn't a combination, so the size can stay as consistent as possible, i like pmi premium
Strengths: Many bore sizes
Durable
Well made
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Inserts are very thin
Have to size paint
Review: Many people say that there is a lot of hype about this barrel system. I do agree with this, but when they say that the barrel does not live up to its name i do not agree with that. I started out with a freak jr. which i borrowed from a friend and it made a heck of a difference on my pirahna and from then on i loved the barrel. Later when i decided to get a new gun (impy) i decided to get a whole new freak kit with the gun. when i got my gun the accuracy was ok, paintballs would only curve off course occassionally. but when i got my freak the trajectory was absolutely perfect every time. they werent too lofty and they had quite a flat trajectory line to them. they barrel did wonders. the only bad thing about the barrell is the performance of it after you chop a ball. when you chop a ball most of the time the balls go pretty crazy but this is the case with any barrel. the freak does a good job of clearing the paint out after you break. it only takes about 5 balls through it to get pretty clean and accurate again. the only thing that you need to remember is to get good paint that is all the same size. because when one ball is bigger than another the accuracy goes to crap. but if u don't buy crap paint and u size the bore to the paint then this barrel is awesome. i think it is quite good for the price. because if u want a barrel system then you're gonna be spending around 200 dollars anyways. you get what you pay for anyways. even if u did fine a barrel system cheaper than this it probably wouldn't be as accurate or well made. plus it comes with a case that keeps everything all organized which is handy.
Conclusion: Overall i think this is a great system to buy. it is cheaper than the e pipe and boom stick with diff backs also. the fact taht the system comes with so many bore sizes is good too. it has every single size bore that you would ever need. and when the barrel is clean and the paint is sized to the bore perfectly the barrel preformes flawlessly. i give it a 10 because of its price, performance, looks, and many bore sizes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Wednesday, January 26th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JJ, CMI, Tru Flight, SP AA, Dye Boom and Excel
Marker Setup: AGD Emag valve,ULE body, RPG sub zero feed neck, Level X, AGD Intelli double trigger frame with dye sticky grips, Custom Products direct mount on/off , 10in Freak barrel, Empire Reloader I, Pure Energy 88ci /3000psi with Dye cover.

Back up marker: Smart Parts Vision Impulse, Tape worm, CP LPR Reg, Freak barrel, CP Unimount. 48/3000 Pure Energy steely.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, as long as they are round
Strengths: Can be used with any paint. No longer limited to one kind or one size.
Weaknesses: Issue with having 3 pcs vs 2. Still great barrel.
Review: Well its the Freak. Great barrel, lots of colors and styles. The best thing that SP did was come out with the SS (stainless steel) inserts. I only have the 3 SS that I use the most, rest are aluminum. The aluminum ones are great too and I have never had mine bend or warp from use. I did by an empire ball sizer so I didnt have to try and put a ball down the insert to check for size. Makes finding the size much quicker and easier. I do love how many fronts they have to customize to your marker and liking. I have use the Freak for a long time and the all american one pc and two. Best barrels.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel, you dont need to buy all the inserts just the ones that you use. Makes having a barrel system small and easy. I do also recommend CP and Dyes 2 pc systems but I find they are more spendy and hard to find used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ghost2867 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
do i really have to list all the barrels ive used??

ive used...nearly all WGP barrels available, pipe kits, jt barrels, 3a barrels, 32* barrels, dye barrels, lapco, and even more...:|
Marker Setup: 2k2-bodied Cocker with a few ups.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesnt really matter...just make sure the ball can roll out the barrel
Strengths: Very versatile, accurate, looks good imo
Weaknesses: Pricey
Review: This is a very strong barrel kit...

its definitely one of the most accurate barrels around, and its not just because of the multiple-insert system or whatever.

overall, its fairly well-made...though one thing that pisses me off is the fact that the inserts are polished...those wear out.

and frankly, the company's crap about the 2 micron finish...u cant shoot paint out of this thing...trust me.

a definite advantage is the fact that it comes with so many bores...while this isnt as important in an open-bolt gun, on a closed bolt gun(except the mags with detents in the barrels), having this many bores helps out quite a bit in preventing rollouts.

its accuracy is pretty good, but not the best ive seen. this barrel has been hyped up so much, its annoying.
Conclusion: buy it if u want...its up to u.

personally, i think its a solid and overall good barrel, but $180 for the aluminum kit is a bit much IMO. aside from buying used, i dont think its really all that worth it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bdwsr88888 Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nutting, went straight to it heard to many good things about it.
Marker Setup: 03' cocker,dye hinge trigger,12volt revy,20oz. CO2(i got to get a nitro tank)bob long bolt,bomb 3 way, volumizer,macroline,14"green all american freak barrel with a .689 insert
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintball(if u get the kit) but if not and just 1 insert diablo or draxxus
Strengths: Quite,this barrel can handle any paintball,looks great,
Weaknesses: A little on the expensive side
Review: I like this barrel alot its a major upgrade from a stock i've noticed my balls are going where i want them to and they are dead on accurate.The main thing i love about this barrel is the look it had on my gun green tip with a black base and a green body omg its awsome!!!!!
Conclusion: I recommend getting the kit cause if u have the kit u can shoot almost every ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 9th, 2005 at 7:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WillyW0nka Friday, October 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
UL (a bit more accurate, but no adjustable bore sizes, you'd have to buy multiple backs)
Oddssey kit(freaks are way more accurate and look much better)
Assassins (freak more accurate/adjustable)
Tear Drop (freak way more accurate/adjustable)
Marker Setup: Blue/Silver Nerve
Halo B
68/45 PE

Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind you want, as long as you have multiple bore sizes.
Strengths: Weight
Adjustable bores
multiple front/back styles
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Backs look kind of ugly
Review: I've owned a couple different freak systems now. I've had an older style one and the stainless steel version. Both were very accurate and quiet. I personally prefer the all-american barrel tip with the aluminum back and aluminum inserts.

Weight: 8
-They're a tad heavy for the price, but much lighter than many other barrels that you'd normally get on your marker stock.

Adjustability: 10
-You have options from multiple fronts, backs, bore sizes and even different types of metal.

Noise level: 9
-I didn't notice any problems in the amount of noise from the barrel

Accuracy: 9
-Not the most accurate, but definately up there. The adjustable bore sizes enable you to match your paint with the specific size, creating a good solid straight shot.
Conclusion: I bought a full kit for $55, it was a heck of a deal. I wouldn't reccomend paying anything over $65 for this kit though, there are nicer barrels to be had.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderMan1492 Wednesday, May 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
68ci 4500psi pure energy tank
Halo B with rip drive

Smart Parts Ion
68/45
Halo

Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything as long as you have good bore match
Get the boremaster
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Great looking
Interchangeable inserts
Weaknesses: Nothing besides price perhaps
Review: This is one of the best barrels on the market for smart parts. The interchangeable inserts allow you to match your paint to bore perfectly, giving you an incredibly accurate shot every time. You can also change the tips to the all american, jr freak, tactical, etc.
All in all, the money spent for this thing will save you a load of time cleaning the barrel!
Conclusion: Anybody who wants to shoot accurately primarily tournament players
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedballer77 Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-the old SP teardrops
-SP progressive,
-SP All american,
-taso winforce,
-empire twister
and stock barrels (eeww)
Marker Setup: SPYDER VS1
-Dxs 48/3000
-Dead on paintball drop with on off
-FREAK 12" barrel with AA front
-Halo TSA lcd backman
-Vs2/3 clamping feedneck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any thats the point.
If you're smart enough to figure out which little tube fits the balls best than your qualified to use this barrel with any paint. If not have someone do it for you then stick with that paint and wear a helmet 24/7
Strengths: accurate as ****
fairly light
looks awesome with AA front
Weaknesses: $$$Expensive$$$(barrel $109, my gun $149)
does not shoot though breaks well
Review: FREAK

Shoots amazing. Hits pop cans consistently from about 30 ft away single shots and bursts no problem on my spyder and that things got some kick. Balls go so straight one on top of another like fat kids eating a chocolate cake.
If you should so happen to be shooting a spyder or heaven forbid something worse and u chop or like me your detents get ripped off and u double feed your screwed because this barrel does not shoot though breaks well its get out the squeegee time and if u play aggressive like me u arn't usually in the best spot to do that.
The price is a bit steep especially compared to my gun but u get what u pay for. And I know the new backs are linger but the inserts are the same wonder if longer inserts would be better. longer zone of acceleration means less air used?



So I order a freak jr mini kit and there out of stock oh wait the guy says he can give me the pieces separate for the same price. Sure whatever I didn't care. By the way wasn't too thrilled with the fact is was a 14" but not willing to pay anymore for the full freak. Two days later what shows up? A brand new Freak, back ALL-CANADIAN(american) front and 3 inserts cheah its a 12" too. Well not really its the old style short back and new style front so its the perfect length 12"



Conclusion: GET IT! Or at least get the junior. If you have the money. I really hated parting with that cash considering my minimum wage job but meh its worth it. GET the AA front if you can quieter and looks better but works pretty much the same just more porting not 100% necessary but definitely cool.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 6th, 2007 at 6:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

colinfarrell699 Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil driver, boomstick, stiffi, dye UL and others
Marker Setup: PM6, freak barrel, orange bolt, hybrid grips, pulse hopper, and a 68/4500 PMI Tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint that is worth over forty bucks except evil. Evil paint is bad stuff.
Strengths: Accuracy, efficiency, and range.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I've been using freak barrels and I've been seeing freak barrels being used and there is no barrel like them.

Pros:

1. The inserts are really helpful in assisting in accuracy and range and the right size insert provides better air efficiency too.
2. The barrel doesn't pop a lot balls. A couple every now and then but rarely.
3. The accuracy is the best.
4. The range it provides is awesome.
5. It is light-ish. A little on the heavy side, but it doesn't bother me.
6. The looks are great.
7. The front peice fits the back peice and insert perfectly.

Cons:

1. Its price is a little high. And the insert kit isn't cheap either.
Conclusion: The barrel is well worth the price it has. And it is one of the most accurate barrels on the market. I'll give it a ten without event thinking about it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tom spencer Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just the stock barrel
Marker Setup: PMR
14" freak barrel with St!ffi tip
88ci 5000psi pure energy
eggy 3
E-vents
Recommended
Paintballs:
round ones
Strengths: Very accurate.
Bore changing.
Looks.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I love this barrel i have a PMR and i hate the stock barrel i did not find the stock barrel very accurate at all (not good because im a back). So i bought a 16" blue freak with the bore master kit. When i put it on my marker it looked awsum. So i took it down to the field gased up my marker got a hopper of Dxs Frostbite paintballs and just let rip. there was this little pole in the middle of the range and i was consistently put balls onto it. It was very accurate on the range so i took it out on to the field. My friend had told me that because it was a 16" it would be hard to move around bunkers but i didn't find that all. i found that this was a very very accurate barrel out on the range and the field.
Today because i had some air and paint left that i wanted to use up i shot a pillow in the garden and after about 150 paintballs it had shot straight through because all the balls were landing in exactly the same place every time.
I found that the bore changing was very good because no matter what paint you have it will always fit.

EDIT: ive just got the St!ffi tip for it and the weight difference is massive. There is a small change in accuracy (for the better). I love the St!ffi though but the barrel is good with out it.
Conclusion: All in all a very good barrel.
Very accurate over all ranges.
Good bore changing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 at 11:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media