paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Sydarm Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye aluminum
Marker Setup: E-Mag Micro w/ full freak kit, 68/45 w/ drop, haloB
Strengths: Below
Weaknesses: Below
Review: Pros:
-multiple bore
-changing bores doesn't take very long
-accuracy (although multiple boomsticks would probably beat this)
-price...consider that buying several high quality barrels would cost more than this for sure
-can change the overall length if you have more tips


Cons:
-fragile aluminum inserts (steel now available, but more expensive)
Conclusion: Overall, I've been quite satisfied with my freak kit.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

max ollivant Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: angel LCD with warped sportz anti-chop eye and an evo2
Recommended
Paintballs:
any if you get the complete kit
Strengths: very accurate and quite.
Weaknesses: none
Review: I bought this product almost a year ago and... it was the best upgrade i ever bought it is quiet and accurate which come very handy whether your playing rec ball or tourney play. This barrel will shoot any paint providing you buy the complet kit but before you spend $175 on the whole kit find out what your local Fields paint size is and then you can buy just one insert. The inserts are small aluminum sleeves that you insert into the back of the barrel.There is no difference between the stainless steel back and the aluminum back but there is a difference between the freak front and the all american front.The freak is much quieter but the all american front is more accurate.
Conclusion: Go out to your local Field and buy this barrel. It is great all around. I would suggest buying a 689,687,and 691inserts if your not going to buy the whole kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Devs Tuesday, May 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe, Empire barrel set, CP Pro set
Marker Setup: WGP Green 2k2 Vert Cocker
WGP Hinge
WGP CT 3Way
Shocktech FGP LPR
WGP STO Ram
Palmer Stab inline reg
kapp beavertail, cocking rod, on/off
cp flame drop
shocktech rat and supafly
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Green with black splash BM2k
Vapored
Soon to be chaos chip
soon to be PDS'd by ICD
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, duh! Thats why you get a freak!
Strengths: 8 barrels in a single kit, minimize bore sizing problems.
Weaknesses: Price... ick
Review: Function:
The Freak works wonders. Honestly it does. It eliminates the necessity of owning multiple barrels for different size paint. Being able to use one barrel to accomodate all forms of paint is the best idea out there as far as i'm concerned. I mainly shoot a cocker, which everyone knows is closed bolt. So if the barrel is too big, i skip shots cause the previous rolled right out the barrel! Ack! Bad stuff... So i need a perfect fit. And the freak gives me that. I wouldn't trade it for anything! Well... Except maybe an Angel Speed! :-D

Style:
The stainless back looks the best, hands down. The aluminum is kinda bland... I like the fact that you can use AA fronts or Freak fronts, so you can get the totally customized look! The freak barrel porting looks cool... kind of a pain to clean, but still cool looking. And I like all the colors of the inserts! WOOHOO!!!

Durability:
Dont' kid yourself, the sleeves are made of aluminum. You have to take good care of them, or you'll be fronting more money to get new ones. This can be a problem for you people who don't baby your equipment. My gear is so insanely important to me, it gets cleaned after every day of play, and is stored in the proper places... So its not a big deal for me. I got the back stuck in my cocker, and because of the front pneus, i couldn't get a grip on it. someone suggested taking an allen key or screwdriver and putting it through the big holes to get some leverage... BAD IDEA!!! It bent the side wall of the back.. The stainless steel bent!! What the hell! Thats about it... Just take care of the stuff and it'll treat you very well.

Bad!?!?:
To tell you the truth, the only real drawback to the freak is the fact that its a single barrel with some small aluminum sleeves... But its still 200 bucks! Just the barrel and a single insert is 109... What in the heck is that all about??? I absolutely love the product, but I'm glad i bought mine used. I only paid 130 for the entire kit from a guy getting out of paintball. But I feel sorry for all the guys paying retail for this puppy. But it is worth it if you play as much as I do. So... Its bad and its not... Just depends on how much use you plan on getting out of it.
Conclusion: Overall this is an amazing product.
Smartparts does it again. I'm not a big fan of the company itself, but they make good products. Tech support is lacking. They never got back to me.... After like 3 months... Anyway, the barrel is a step above the rest. It gives you the edge needed to win the game. Accuracy is greatly helped because you can get a proper ball/barrel fit! So there you have it. I say buy this if you have the money! Other wise try to find it used! Price is the only thing bringing this puppy down a notch.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mcot2 Saturday, January 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used many barrels. To many to name.
Marker Setup: Electronic autockcer. 2k2 cocker with eBlade, and of course a freak, and other stuff.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. This barrel is great.
Strengths: Please read my review it is serious and not made up.
Its accurate. -- Nice porting, and also paint to barrel match is key, when u have 8 inserts it is always nice.
Its quiet -- SP is know for their quiet barrels. Being a tourney player I dont usually need a quiet barrel, but hey its nice.
It is 8 barels in one -- with this kit you can match almost all paint, to an insert that fits, therefor you will have a nice snug fit, and your shots will become more accurate.
Looks -- The barrel looks awsome.

Weaknesses: Theres not much to say, thats bad about the freak. Maybe if you don't like the colors (although there are several colors to choose from to match almost any marker) And also some may say the price is a little step, but hye youd need 8 boomsticks to do the job of this barrel, costing in excess of 800 bucks!
Conclusion: I have heard a lot of talk about, :"Ultralight owns" and stuff. Dont listen, itds a bunch of milarchy. It id proven that paint/barrel match helps accuracy a lot. Because if the paint is to big it can cause a lot of ball breaks, and if the paint is too small it can cause tubulance inside the barrel. Now, I have also heard things like "Smart Parts quality sucks!" Well I have to admit, they do have a few problems, if you experience any problems with your barrel, they will refund your money or send a new one. Now folks, im just saying this to repond to those people. Obviosly every company has a few problems, but its only maybe 1 or 2 barrels in a batch of 4 or 5 hundred that may have minor defects. For crying out lopud my brother got a 32 degress barrel that fell appart on him. (the muzle break accually slip right off the barrel) So I mean its not like they can help it. So please dont diss smart parts,they make good quality products. And give me some .684 pmi premiums, and you and your ultralight .691 bore barrel with the primeums. I gurentte I will shoot better, more accuratly with my freak, and also with the tighter fit it may be a little more silent as well.

The freak system gets my vote of a 10 for style, function, and just plain ownage.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

db8erboi Tuesday, December 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Boomstick/Ultralite
Powerlite Barrel
SP All American
Marker Setup: 2k2 Smart Parts IMPULSE
VISION
Full Freak Kit
Jackhammer II LPR
Vertical Reg
Undertow Bolt
Demonic Strangler Low rise
I-Frame
CP Chrome Flame Drop
68/4500 Centerflag Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything will work... honestly
Diablo
Strengths: 1. Extremely Accurate (With the correct bore size-explained below)
2. Fits ANY Paint
3. Looks Great

Very accurate, you will put one ball on top of the other if you can hold your marker that still. If you have a stock barrel on your marker, The Freak will improve your accuracy greatly. Even if you shoot a high end barrel (such as a DYE barrel) you will still get more bricks (kills).
Weaknesses: There are VERY FEW problems with this barrel.
-The inserts are fragile, if you are carful with them, try and not drop them (worse is stepping on them) they will shoot straight for the rest of your paintball career.
Conclusion: The Freak is a wonderful barrel. You won't be sorry with it. And after using a DYE boomstick and DYE ultralite, once I switched to the Freak, I was very happy with the improved accuracy. Also, when you bore size right, you can save air (making the marker more efficient) and actually be more consistent with your velocity.


HOW TO BORE SIZE:
Bore sizing is really simple. The best way to do it is to put the paintball into the insert, and then look through the insert at a bright light (light bulb). Ideally, the insert should fit tightly enough around the insert so that there is a small amount of light on either side of the paintball. You don't want it to be too loose where the paintball is sitting in the insert with light all the way around(except where it touches the insert) or too tight, where you can see no or very little light.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wilkie Tuesday, February 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degree Carbon Fiber Barrel
Dye Stainless
Dye Boomstick
Dye Ultralite
SP All American
Lapco Big Shot
ACI Barrel
Armson Stealth
Marker Setup: 2002 Blast Black Cave Rat Impulse with Vision Eye
14 " Freak with the the All-American font tip and all the inserts Kit
Egg II w/Y drive
New 68/4500 Max Flow
Voodoo VFF
Adrenalin low rise feed neckband gas thru gripe
Adrenaline magnetic double blade trigger frame
SP sticky grips
Voodoo Bolt
New Designz bolt
New Designz RIP Valve (GMFV)
New Designz Hammer assembly (slick ram & housing)
New Designz Ball detects
New Designz Vision Eye cover
Rat Hammer

2001 British Racing Green V-feed Shocker
14 " Freak with the the All-American font tip and all the inserts Kit
Twister low rise feed neck
88/4500 Max Flow w/SP drop forward
Evolution (x-board)
Eclipse Blade trigger
Eclipse Delrin Bolt
Hyper Sport Works Gas thru stock

Power Feed Automag
Chrome body
Intell double Blade Trigger Frame
SP Crazy Black Splashed Kit
14"Crazy Black Splashed SP All American barrel (.689)
Red Revolution (x-board)
ANS Venturi bolt
Chrome Kapp Drop Forward
68/3000 Airgun Flatline Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
All Stars, El Tigre, RPS, and Marballizers.
Strengths: Shoots all sizes and brands of paintballs equally, well., and Is accurate and quite.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have been playing paintball for over 7 years, so I have used and owned many different paintball barrels. Having all the right length barrels and bore sizes use to get really expensive. The Freak allow you for about 175 dollars to have all the bore sizes you need. The extra fonts are relatively inexpensive as well at about 45 dollars.

I find the Freak to be an accurate and dependable paintball barrel. I recommend it.
Conclusion: Freak barrel gives you the ability to shoot all sizes and brands of paint. It also allows you to change the barrel length by just changing the barrel font. When you buy a new marker, all you need is a new barrel back. I love my Freaks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 10th, 2004 at 8:23 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

torbo Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
anything/everything
Marker Setup: pfhl Automag, RT pro barrel, PE 68/3000 Fiber wrapped, 9v revvy, Lapco d/f
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: changeable bores
quiet
looks good
Weaknesses: PRICE
durability
inserts
really short inserts
Review: Obviously a multiple bore barrel is nice. It allows you to use any size paint. So that makes it more accurate, provided a good paint to barrel match. The barrel is also very quiet. And it looks pretty cool. There is bad though. First I personally am not a fan of insert systems. I feel that there are too many pieces, and the inserts are not as durable as simply changing backs. In the freak system, the inserts are very thin. They dont always line up perfactly with the fronts and backs, leaving a gap. And the inserts are only 4 inches long, giving Terrible gas effiency. I would say that the biggest problem is the price. A freak with 2 inserts costs $120 or so. My favorite barrel system is the J&J edge. You can get the edge with 4 backs for $115. Teh threads on the back also seem to wear quickly on the aluminum backs.
Conclusion: Overall this is a good barrel system. It is just overpriced, and is sometimes lacking in quality control. Its got quite bad effiency too. It does shoot well though. Seven only for the durability, and the cost.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 29th, 2003 at 4:51 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

C]-[iLDe Friday, February 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Green Marble Adrenalin Angel #134
68/4500 Max Flow
10' Full Freak Set
Halo
Recommended
Paintballs:
Supposedly, ANY paint will shoot well with the Freak, right?
Strengths: - Bore Matching for maximum consistancy
- Interchangable Freak backs for different markers
- Nice carrying case
Weaknesses: - Price
I paid upwards of $200 for the entire set, 10' front and 2 backs.

- Too much porting
I personally think the Freak has WAY too much ported length. The inserts are only 6 inches long, which means you only get 6 inches of acceleration length and the rest is muzzle break. This leads to a bit less efficiency that you might see with a less ported barrel. This being so, the freak is NOT your best bet for any super-low pressure marker. I would personally like to see a Freak system with 8 inches of unported length anfd a 2 inch muzzle break, like a LAPCO barrel.

- Ugly
I absolutely HATE that concave Freak tip, its appearance just doesnt appeal to me at all. I wish they had made it a smooth cylinder like their Porgressive barrel series.

- Lack of Variety
It would be great if the All American front came in othe lengths than 14 inches because, as i just mentioned, the Freak front's loks dont appeal to everyone.

- Lack of Performance
When I switch between a given barrel and the most appropriate Freak insert, i almost ALWAYS see greater fps consistancy from the normal barrel. Smart Parts should have designed this product better.

Conclusion: I wasnt satisfied with the Freak's performance. The concept was GREAT, but it just seemed to fall short of the promised effect. I will ALWAYS try to match my paint to a normal barrel i have before using my Freak set. I would not recommend this product.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 17th, 2000
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Shot pretty much every paint through the paint. Whether it be smelly paintball, soggy paintballs, big paintballs, fat paintballs, skinny paintballs, grande taco bell paintballs, week old paintball, two week old paintballs, pmi paintballs, team color paintballs, marballizer paintballs, and all other crap paintballs and haven't broke a paint yet. The freak I must say has been the best barrel set I have ever purchased. With 8 different sizes to choose from to match your paint, you can't go wrong. Get one now and you won't be disappointed. If you do, then just come back and flame away. For everyone I have known who has them, they have enjoyed and recommended it! Come try it for yourself! Get one now! As far as looks go, it has sweet tear drop look! Two piece (front and back) that will also comes in color if you choose to but standard is black. The inserts on the other hand are colored coordinated with the bore size but it's no big deal because it "inserts" into the standard black or colored backend.

Oh yeah, they also have different barrel sizes for them.

Other than that, this should help.
Weaknesses: Well...price.
Conclusion: Have any questions, email me. It's the most direct way of getting an answer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop, progressive, bigshot, other barrels
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will work well in this
Strengths: Interchangable
Pretty accurate
Weaknesses: Somewhat lower quality of the systems
Expensive
Review: Well with the freak system is probably the best system out there if you have alot of guns cause its very interchangable. Its pretty accurate not the best out there, cause if you have a similary paint to barrel match a one peice actually should be mre accurate, but with the freak its much easier to get a perfect match. So it will tend to be more accurate.
Conclusion: If you have alot of pb guns this is probably the best for you. But otherwise one peice barrels or any other barrel system may be best for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media