paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
marsman2015 Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick
Marker Setup: Impulse vision, tapeworm, blade trigger, evil bolt, freak barrel system, halo b, 68 ci 4500 psi crossfire nitro w/ on/off valve, shocktech drop.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any except ones you find on the ground..
Strengths: Nice looking, very accurate, it has inserts so you can use it with any paintballs.
Weaknesses: Expensive, and the inserts can bend even thought I have never had one bend.
Review: This is the best barrel I have ever used. I like it better than the dye boomstick or anything else. I like that you can change the front so you can have it be a different color or length depending on what field you are playing at and that you can change inserts so you can use any painballs with it. Most people say that to find the right size insert you should find one that is tight but not too tight but my friend and I have found out that putting a bigger sized insert in it (one that the ball will just be able to roll out of) makes it a lot more accurate.
Conclusion: The best. A little expensive but worth the money. Get it and you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redripshocker03 Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil pipe, stiffi switch, freak jr., all american, empire they are all good barrels
Marker Setup: Vision shocker, ccm no rise, rip trigger, freak kit, cp regulator, HE bolt, 45/45, shocktech on/off, halo b with victory board , boards: dynasty, nerve, stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only major rec brands or tourney paint is the best but that is all i use lol Rec: stinger, draxxus white box, ect. tourney: hellfire, inferno, chronic, ect. don't use any academy or wall-mart paint
Strengths: Accurate, best with smartpart guns, no kick
Weaknesses: Not really any
Review: I love this kit, i definitely recommend it if you don't feel like pay extra 25 dollars for a stiffi, decreases kick between stock barrel an freak kit.. i prefer you have a shocker or impulse for this kit. not good on auto cockers or Timmi's, if you wanna pay extra money then they are all right on wdp angles
Conclusion: IT is a GOOD buy for its money im giving it a 9 because it is only good on smartpart guns
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Xcessiv4c Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
OTP, Boomstik
Marker Setup: 2k2 Green AC w/ E-Blade and titanium internals
Recommended
Paintballs:
I like marbs and all-stars
Strengths: The ability to match paint sizes. At least on my AC it's very quiet.
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as portrayed, inserts are easy to mis-shape or bend.
Review: When I first bought this product I was fed all the hoopla about never breaking paint, about the incredible accuracy, several barrels in one. The fact is that it is not as accurate as all the hype. Now its not as bad as some, but it isn't the end all be all of barrels systems. With marbs and all-stars, which are the paints I like to use the most, I found the boomstick to be a far better barrel as far as accuracy goes. However, the freak shot blaze paint extemely well. Looking foward to trying the eViL Pipe. As far as the inserts go I thought, "what a great idea". Until they started becoming mis-shaped. This, in my opinion, is a weakness in the design. It's cleaner than a whole bunch of different backs you have to carry around, but the liability is once it's out of round it's not going to function as well. (Obviously). One of my favorite things about the barrel is how quiet it is on my AC. Getting the sneak on someone and shooting them in the side or the back is a treat. Especially, when they dont hear the ball coming at them and all you can see are these huge eyeballs in their goggles with that 'oh crap' look. That's priceless.
Conclusion: If your looking for a all in one system this one is pretty good if you take care of your stuff. I prefer something with better accuracy and a bit more durable as far as inserts go. As far as rating barrels never seen a 10. That would be something that never breaks paint and is spot on accurate every time. Doesn't exist.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ref_28 Tuesday, March 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing similar tot his barrel besides a powerlyte scepter.
Marker Setup: WGP Green Fade Orracle with stainless steel total freak system, 68/3000 puer enery fiber rapped tank(with dye tank cover), Paintball incorperated on/off 12volt revy.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, this barrel can 9.9 times out of 10 fit any size paintballs.
Strengths: This barrel rips any other. Very nice looking, can get the barrel in many different colors, lightweight., usually never chopps(must be the gun), 2 piece barrel, easy to clean, can fit any size paintbal, hast the reputation, very light, very light, and comes with a very nice travel case.
Weaknesses: There is nothing bad so far, other than the fact that if you are careless you can loos the inserts.
Conclusion: This barrel kicksl others by far, espically the powerlyte scepter, i would recomend this barrel to anyone who is looking for accuracy and precsion. GET THIS BARREL!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomys
titainium boomys
cp
cp kit
others
Marker Setup: electric skies splash eclipse angel led
*air assist mod
*adrenalin high rise feed tube
*cobra bolt
*bonebrake bolt
*cobra hammer
*warped sportz 2k2 dark angel maximizers(x2)
*eclipse drop, anoed to match
*armegedon 4500 system, with two tanks, 45, and 68
*pro quick connect, polished
*DYE boomsticks anoed two match in all lenth and sizes, gathered them up from different angels
*freak kit
*CP kit
*some other barrels
*all american stainless 12 inch, 14 inch .689, .687 respectively
* o and dye stickies
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything, thats the beauty of it.
Strengths: The bar-nothing, take-no-prisoners best overall barrel on the market today.
Compared to:

boomy: Boomstick, from dye, is a bit more acurate, WITH A GOOD PAINT TO BARREL MATCH, however, you must have just that, and with a boomy you can't always have it. The tourneys I go to are torney paint, with boomys, you need to have a couple to make sure you get a good fit. Even it you got the four id boomy sizes, you would be paying almost 500 dollars. The freak wins because 8 times to 1 it will be more accurate.

titainium boomer: lightweight, just a bit lighter than the freak, when the paint fits the dye perfectly the accuracy will be THE SAME, on all the other days, the freak will always have a perfect fit, the freak wins.

cp one piece: The freak is just better, I just like these for there short lenth, short price, the cool thing is for this price you can get them in a couple of different ids or its just a great upgrade barrel for beginners who don't want to spend twice the cost of the gun on the barrel.

cp kit: same idea, way different way of doing it. The different backs are probably a little better than the inserts but cost more. The freak has better porting though giving it that edge. there both screw two-piecers. The freak is cheaper. the freak has more sizes, it will be a bit more prices but there inserts, which evens it out. I'd say there about equal.

cobra barrel: not nearly as good as the others
Weaknesses: nothing really. Because everything that could be bad is ruled out by a good that it therefore causes.
Conclusion: same as the good: best overall barrel out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoeliusCeasar Saturday, March 17th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire 7-Piece Barrel kit
Evil Pipe Kit
Psycho Ballistics Aradus
Empire Twister
Stiffi .693 16"
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion modified to feed from bottom of the gun. (-:
Qloader
CP Reg
Qev
Empire barrel kit
Hand customized single finger trigger with single trigger guard
Apex Barrel (haven't used it yet)
JT Pro Flex 7
Recommended
Paintballs:
Something very hard so you can get an accurate tight fit without breaking on the hard front edge.
Strengths: If you have multiple guns,
You only need one insert kit for all your guns.
Weaknesses: Breaks paint with a good fit.
Innaccurate with any fit.
Review: I was shooting Empire Engage in a 10" pattern with my Empire-7 .687 back I switched to a freak .689 larger insert and the first ball broke. I cleaned the freak out and couldn't hit a 3 foot pattern at the same range. The Freak just dosn't have any real advantages unless you have many guns. It seems nice that they have an insert in any size, but if you get a tight fit you break. So it won't do you any real good. With the junior you get three large sizes so you can't use medium or small paint anyways.
Conclusion: If you have at least three guns-get a lucky kit because it has inserts very different from a freak and if its bad it's probably not as bad as a freak and it has 14 inch insert/tips. I haven't used it yet but I want to.

If you have one gun go with the Empire 7 Piece kit or the Evil Pipe
DON'T GET THE J&J EDGE.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 26th, 2007 at 10:14 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

be1498 Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Full Bore set, Powerlyte Scepter
Marker Setup: Classic Intimidator w/clamshell, WAS Equalizer, Bob's blade trigger, Bob Long delrin bolt, Sidewinder reg, Check-it ram & cap, LP mod, CP new rail w/Kapp on/off, Ricochet AK, Crossfire 68/4500 HPA, barrels, yada yada yada
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about any.
Strengths: Allows you to size your barrel to your paint if you think you need it.
Weaknesses: Freak front is hard to clean, inserts are fragile
Review: I'm not sure that the quality control is up to par on this product. Some inserts seem to lack a nice finish, and they're sorta fragile.

It shoots well, although I prefer my Scepter with only 5 inserts. I don't seem to use the smaller ones much anyway.

The case is nice, but the clear part is easy to crack, and it's too big to fit in most gear bags. The Scepter and the CP set come in nice, small Cordura bags that protect well.

The Freak front is a pain to clean and traps water. I'd recommend the AA front.
Conclusion: It's not the best, but is much nicer than some other products out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 26th, 2003 at 6:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockwood Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used a J&J ceramic and it was nice but know where close to this Freak kit!
Marker Setup: Pirahna e-force core df with a freak jr. kit,dead on 8 stage expansion chamber,32 degrees drop foward,12 volt view loader revi.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used a really cheap Dunahms ball called Core and I had a little trouble not breaking them,but when they didn't break they hit everything I was aiming at. Try a little better of a brand and it will dominate!
Strengths: Very accurate
nice look
easily upgradable
very popular
Weaknesses: The incerts start to scrach very soon
Review: I used a really bad and old paint through this barrel and it just inhaled it! The whole point of the incerts is that the bor on differant paint brands change and you get the most accuracy out of it if they both match. One way you can see if they match is if you put a ball into the incert and blowing on one side of the barrel. If it hesitates a little bit, that is the one you want to use. The bor of the same ball will change in differant weather conditions. When it is warm, theyget a little bigger, vice-versa.
Conclusion: This barrel is really great but I expected moe for the price!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TwitchyTrigger Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe Barrel System
Marker Setup: 2002 Vision Impulse with new designz low rise, new designz high flow valve, new designz delrin bolt, new designz titanium bolt pin, new designz slick shot ram shaft, michigan paintball outlet stainless steel rat hole hammer, new designz high volume valve cap, new designz blade trigger, dye sticky grips, eclipse solenoid optimizer, and a new designz hammer cap.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint will work well, but make sure the paint is consistant in size, otherwise an insert too small can really make a mess.
Strengths: -Extremely Accurate
-Very Customizable
-Relatively Quiet
-Shoots super straight
Weaknesses: -Difficult to clean
-Inserts are fragile
-Tip Threading isn't good
-Progressive Barrel is quieter
Review: When I first got a hold of my freak I was very excited, but I perhaps prepared myself for something that would meet my expectations. Afterall, I did spend $180 getting this barrel kit. The barrel looks awesome, can be used on most markers, and matches virtually every sized paint. It comes with a handy case aswell. It looks good, and shoots very well, but I was suprised to find out that the progressive barrel that came with my impulse shoots almost as well, and quieter. I then realized I bought the freak for looks more than performance. The inserts are really fragile, and they feel horrible when you change them in and out of the freak back.
There are a lot of faults that I have come across with my freak. I firstly noticed that my freak tip was never factory finished, and has a lot of internal damage. The barrel tip and back don't align well, and I can't seem to get the "freak" carving to match up with my marker. Sometimes I can get it to work, but it's inconsistant.
It didn't take me long to notice that cleaning this barrel on and off the field is remarkably difficult. The tip's porting doesn't shoot out the excess paint well at all, and the insert and the back seem to hold a small ring of paint that instantly get's smeared with the next shot.
When I don't break paint, it shoots amazingly, but I have to warn you, that using the wrong insert really can shatter the performance that you're going for with this barrel system.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the freak is a "pretty" barrel system. I was suprisingly dissapointed with it, but I strongly recommend a barrel system that allows you to match the barrel to the paint. The evil pipe is a much better product, but the freak IS still good.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

killens18 Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: I use a ION w/ a FREAK Barrel, QEV, and a clamping feedneck.
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY. I personally use DUSK by Draxxus. They Can't Get Soft like others, and they are dead accurate.
Strengths: Changable Bore Sizes
Dead on Accuracy
Changable Fronts
Great Efficiency
EXTREMELY QUIET!!
Weaknesses: Cleaning is a pain, but not to bad.
Price
Review: I've Played with this barrel a couple of times and could tell a HUGE difference from the other barrels. I went to a scenario last week with this and was clocking em from way away. This barrel works GREAT with any gun. Most of the INaccuracy of other barrels is caused by the paintballs swelling or shrinking. Well with this, just change the inserts! But what i love about this barrel is how QUIET it is! I could be shooting at a enemy 10 yards away and them not know who's shooting!
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel over all the others if you have the money. You will be Glad You bought it. I also Recommend getting the All-American Front along with it. For the reason that the front is quieter, and is spiral ported for more accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 10th, 2007 at 6:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media