paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, January 7th, 2001
Strengths: Price:Eight barrels for around $220. What else needs to be said?. Most tourney players have at least three barrels that total in cost over $220. Once you buy it you will never have to worry about buying anouther barrel, even if you switch guns. Just buy a new back portion and your set.
Accuracy: With good paint and the right insert it shoot a very thight shot group. I couldn't believe the improvement over my stock barrel.
Looks: I think mine looks Sexy Baby. The engraving on the inserts shows through the window on the back part wich is cool, and there is also a little smart parts cross thing beside that. The engraving is very light on the inserts, so much so that I thought it was painted on. Since its engraved you don't have to worry about it coming off later after a lot of use.
Noise: Very quite. It reduced the noise of my angel to a whisper.
Weight: Its very light compared to a boomstick.
Ball breakage: Iv'e only had ball breaks with some very krappy paint in cold weather. Even with poor paint you just go to a larger size insert and this usually stops the breaks.
Weaknesses: Some will say the price is too high and that's true if you own a $100 paintgun or only play rec once every four months. My inserts are a little difficult to get out and almost ipossible if a ball breaks "wich is rare", but other owners ive asked don't seem to have this problem with theirs.
Conclusion: I use my 12" freak on an angel lcd and have had no problem with mine except for the inserts being difficult to get out. Any paint will work with it and thats the best part of owning it. I never have to worry about paint to barrel match. Just $220 and no more barrel problems. I would put my freak up againsed any other barrel out there. I give it a very high recommendation. Before you go spending $90 to $120 on a single high end barrel save a little more and get the freak. you will not be disapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 19th, 2000
Strengths: This barrel is the best to hit the market ever.Or should i say barrels.If you want to spend the money like i did you can get different colors,lenghts,bore sizes,you can buy different back parts of the barrel to accomadate different guns,and you can even get an all american front and a tear drop front.It is like 15-20 barrels in one.The accurcy was fantastic,and the barrel was very quiet.I experinced very little barrel breaks only about two and that was out of about six thousand rounds.
Weaknesses: The price is very expensive,if you want all these barrels in one.I suggest getting another job.
Conclusion: Awsome if you can afford it.Many options,great accurcy,quiet,and little barrel breaks.What more can you ask for in a barrel.Nothing so that is why i recomend it to anyone who can afford it.And if you can't they make a starter kit with just the barrel and one bore size.Any way you buy it it is defentinally worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 18th, 2000
Strengths: This sucker shoots anything. With all the different inserts, find the right match is no problem. With the tear drop end it's dead quite, all you hear is the "click, click" of my cocker. As long as the barrel is clean this thing shoots straight as an arrow.
Weaknesses: I could do without the looks, I don't particularly like the tear drop look. And I've actually had a batch of El Tigre's that wouldn't even fit down the largest insert, probably the ball not the barrel. Once you get a break, its all over, the porting is almost impossible to clean without a hose. It also costs a small fortune, but this is the only barrel you'll ever need.
Conclusion: I wouldn't hesistate to reccommend this to anyone, I've only broken 2 balls in the barrel and they were because of double feeds, stupidity on my part. I'm gonna go get myself a shorter front piece in red to match my cocker. If you like shooting an assortment of paint definitely get this barrel, much cheaper than getting 3 or 4 boomsticks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartballer Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion barrel-cant compare
ultralight- similar but not as accurate at long distances
stiffi-alot like the freak, and lighter
Marker Setup: 06 black ion
sp low-rise feedneck
sp 360 qev
new designs blade trigger
sp on/off
shocktech rail
soon to come- freAk with AA front & sp firebolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
any kind of decent paint
Strengths: Bore sizes
Colors
Looks
Accuracy
Minimal ball breaks (with good paint)
Weaknesses: Maybe heavier than some other barrels but not enough to notice
Review: I tested my friends freak and i was amazed. It is probably the most accurate barrel i have every shot, the stiffi is real close. I love the freak because it has a wide range of bore sizes, colors, and is super accurate. It definetly one of the most most accurate and all around barrels on the market. you cant go wrong with a freak.
Conclusion: If you have the money, get the freak. you wont be dissappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 12th, 2006 at 12:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbdawgfan Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sceptor Barrel -- Not quite as accurate
Progressive -- Not near as good
Teardrop -- Not near as good
Marker Setup: Red '06 SmartParts Ion
Black SmartParts Q-Lock Feedneck
Black SmartParts Freak Back
Dust Red SmartParts 06 14'' Freak Front(not the all-american front)
SmartParts Freak Boremaster Insert Kit
Dust Red SmartParts Dovetail and on/off ASA
Scenario Dreams T-Board
Custom Products Rake Trigger - Red
Black HALO B w/ Rip Drive
Pure Energy 68/4500 N2 Tank (for use with all my guns)
Black/Grey Empire Bottle Glove

***Backup Gun****
Blue SmartParts Vision Impulse
Cricket Board
Blue/Black Max-Flo Regulator(Not vertical reg)
Blue Clamping no-rise Feedneck
SP Magnetic Blade Trigger
SP Tapeworm
12" Blue SP Progressive
SP Tank On/Off Valve.
VL Blue Revolution Hopper or Halo B w/ Rip Drive

***BACKUPBACKUP GUN***
PMI Piranha Ext Pro
VL Quantrum Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. Any paintballs will fit if you have all of the inserts.
Strengths: Accurate, inserts, awesome looking, uses allamerican fronts too, 2 piece, and other things.
Weaknesses: A little expensive, kinda heavy.
Review: This is an awesome barrel. It is extremely accurate if you use the perfect bore size for the balls you're shooting. It looks way better than any barrel i've ever seen to me. It has different types of fronts, backs, and inserts that you can buy. Just buy a different back, and you can use it on different-threaded guns. The barrel is durable, but the inserts are NOT so be careful with them. It is a little bit pricy, but i don't care. Just save up a little money and buy one if you can.
Conclusion: It's worth the money, even though its a pretty good bit. I love everything about it except for only a thing or two. I'm giving it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

piranhaprokid Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J's
pipe
hammerhead
Marker Setup: i definately hopped on the ion bandwagon, but before it was a bandwagon you see...
Recommended
Paintballs:
its a freak... anything u want
Strengths: Adaptabile
Weaknesses: Stiff to get front and back apart
Review: its all covered in strengths and weaknesses I love my freak barrel, accurate, quiete and i think pretty good looking.

The freak is probably the best barrel system i have every used. The hammerhead backs are too short and the pipe is too loud. I have never used teh scepter or poison arrow but i hear they are both top notch barrels

the empire barrel kit is also a good option
Conclusion: Buy it on ebay 100 bux, cant beat it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

midguy Wednesday, September 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Classic 14 inch barrel
All-American Barrel
Marker Setup: SP Shocker, Halo B, PMI Pure Energy 46/4500 nitro tank, Freak Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
size wise any, for consistency and better accuracy, Thrust Paintballs
Strengths: Accuracy
Quiet
Looks badass on any gun
Weaknesses: Cost
Review: I bought the kit mainly for practices and tourneys, but i also use it for open play. Anyway, the first time I used it, I was impressed. My accuracy improved so much, I was in aww. No matter what marker u use, this barrel will make it so much better.

Its not a cheap barrel, but trust me, its worth it in the long run.
Conclusion: Get it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 6th, 2006 at 6:52 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

x baller 8888 Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Non-Vsion Smart Parts Impulse
ND Bolt
ND Detents
ND Drop
Blade Trigger
other cosmetic ups...
Egg Hopper
Freak Barrel
Nitro Duck 68/300
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: It can fit any paintball prefectly.
Weaknesses: Read review.
Review: I have noticed that the stainless inserts make the barrel a little more accurate than the aluminum ones. I use this barrel with 2 inserts and never ran into any problems of any kind with it. There really are no weaknesses except for how many inserts there are for it... there is no need to have 7 inserts... of course it makes it better but I only use 2 and it has fit every ball that I have used perfectly fine.
Conclusion: This barrel is a lot of money but is worth every penny in the long run.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Acepaintballr08 Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock wgp 04 autococker... J&J pro 1
Marker Setup: 04 WGP autococker, drop forward, superfly bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any so far
Strengths: Accuracy... Distance on shots
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: A great barrel for the price.. i'm using an 04 WGP Autococker and this barrel is beastin. The accuracy is awesome, and its giving me a lot more distance on my shots. I deffinitely recommend this barrel for the price, It was between getting an All American or this, Both for 80 bucks at my proshop. Deffinitely impressed wiht the results wiht this barrel, and it's good for all year round. Just stick in a bigger insert during the cold, and you're ready to go. Nice Barrel : 0
Conclusion: A steal for the price, Accuracy perfect on my autococker. 10 out of 10 : )
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jesterm10 Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe
Marker Setup: Evo-X, E2Evo-X, Euro Angel, freak set, VL evoII loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
They fit every paint
Strengths: Best variation for every ball
Weaknesses: Maintenance
Review: This freak set is the best barrel system you can use. But take good care about it, always grease the O-rings inside the back!!! If you do not grease them they will be moved out when you put in the inserts!!! Also take the time to unscrew the back and insert them from the back in the right direction so that you can read die bore size in the window!!! If you do not, they may brake when you tight them to strong!!!
Conclusion: If you have the money and the time to clean and take care about it its the best you can get
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media