paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
rhyno_alsnow Tuesday, September 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pipe's
Empire Kit
Other kits, or two piece barrels
Marker Setup: Impulse
68/4500 PE Tank
Evo II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any good ones, well any, since it's a changeable bore
Strengths: Bore changing
Accuracy
The Fronts
Weaknesses: Weight
Price(but if bought used, it's great)
Review: The main strength about a freak barrel, or kit, is it's bore changing, which causes the paintball to barrel match to be better, which increases accuracy, concluding the dynamo status.

The accuracy is just liek anyother good high-end barrel, this being a dynamo.

Fronts are changeable, which makes it great, if you play back or front, back having a 14" or fron 10" or 12" is good.

The two weaknesses that i found are the weight and price. The weight is not much of a factor if you have a shocker or an alias, but if you have an impulse like me, then you know. and the price, my reccomandation is, DO NOT BUY NEW, why pay 300(canadian, like 230 american) for a new one, while a used one costing 150-200(like 110-140 american) is much cheaper, and is basically the exact same thing, jsut that it's used, and liek 2 or 3 scratches is nuthin, like who cares, who's gunna see anyway.
Conclusion: This it the kit to go with because it's so 'upgradable' i guess, and is great in accuracy, but always BUY USED...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lobsterboy360 Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, ultralight, all american, stock 04 cocker barrel, prograssive, pipe
Marker Setup: 04 cocker wit upgrades
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: interchangeable bore sizes
accurate
looks hawt
Weaknesses: pain to get off my gun but all 2-piece barrels are on cockers
Review: The freak kit is the best kit out there. It's light, accurate, and it looks real nice. It is much better that a pipe kit which is good, but very disappointing. It's not as accurate as the freak and it is not as interchangeable. Although you need to fork over $180 for the freak kit, it's well worth it. It basically garuntees accuracy without any balls popping in your barrel.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel kit availible. It's better than the pipe, kaner, the dye barrels and although I haven't used a scepter, I'll just assume its better. haha
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wgpfrontman224 Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-dye boomstick- pretty hot
-Jt 2 piece- pretty good, but a bit shy of the boomstick
-Dye ultralite- mad light, great accuracy, better than the boomstick
Marker Setup: -Blue 03 Verticle Feed Autococker
-Worrblade
-14 in. Freak
-68/4500 tank
-Phat flame drop forward with dovetail on/off
- ANS GenX2 adjustable Reg
- Blue Empire Reloader B
- Shocktech Superfly bolt(white)
-ANS pneumatic kit(except for the electronic 3-way from the worrblade)
- dye beavertail
- KAPP blue pump arm
-KAPP blue cocking rod
-KAPP Blue actuating rod
Recommended
Paintballs:
any high end paint with a consistent bore size, I prefer Hellfires
Strengths: -looks
-accuracy
-reputation
-weight
Weaknesses: none, maybe the price tag
Review: This thing is awesome, it is definately worth the $$, it is accurate down to about 8 inches, even with broken balls, it still flies straight and true, but u gotta use high end paint, or else it wont work because of the changing bore sizes. THis looks really cool, and I love the options of an aluminum bakc, and any color all american front, that makes it match your gun, and the inserts are colored, which is pretty cool. Plus, if you have a cocker, its kinda hard to get the back half of a 2 piece barrel off with the pneumatics there, and the freak has "FREAK" engraved all the way through it, so you can just put an allen key through and turn it. this thing rocks
Conclusion: Buy it if you can afford it, definately worth the $$$, if you cant get enough dough, then go with the dye ultralite
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drsnoze Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 2002 Smart Parts Vision Impulse
2003 Smart Parts Vision Shocker
2002 LCD Toxic Matrix
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything you can get your hands on
Strengths: You can match any paint with it, which means accuarcy. Need i say more
Weaknesses: Insert are week, now make a stainless steel version, but of course costs more
Review: I would recommend this barrel to anyone. It you can get the imperial paintball undertow bolt, it works amazing with the the freak. The system is the best barrel system i have shot and i have seen almost every barrel because i work at a shop. I have never heard anyone dis the freak system and i don't understand why people are giving it bad reviews because it rocks
Conclusion: IT IS SWEET, save up for one, and remember to check bore sizes when you use a new case of paint so you don't run into problems
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Winchester Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jacko Infinaty Barrel, Winchester stock barrel
Marker Setup: 2k2 Chrome Angel with full freak 68 ci 3000 psi tank, Ans Generation X regulator, revy 12 volt hopper trigger job
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything since interchangable sleeves
Strengths: any ball size works, pretty quite, finds right sleeve shots like bullets
Weaknesses: gotta take out the sleeves and kinda make signs of use on the sleeve
Review: first time i used it did know how to bore size paint so it was alittle off. but then i figured it out and i was shooting bullets i love this system can do any kind of paint and sends them straight. Its is also pretty quite with paint in it can send paint right to the spot i want it plus with an angel i can put alot of paint in the exact same spots
Conclusion: Great Barrel system recommend it to any one. has everything that you would want in a barrel system. shoots very straight with the right insert
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PAINtball Ruler Wednesday, June 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick-- Totally Overrated, DO NOT BELIEVE THE ADS THIS BARREL SUCKS
Tippmann A-5 Stock-- Not great, but one of the best stock out there
Lapco Big Shot-- Great barrel for the money, deadly accurate, CHEAP!!!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Factory Installed Response Trigger
40 inch Java Remote Coil
Dye Boomstick 16'
Freak With 2 Inserts, .684, .686
Pure Energy 16oz ,co2
GT site rail, from Psycho Ballistics
Recommended
Paintballs:
This barrel loves Draxxus, MArbelizers, and Nelson Hot Spots.
Strengths: Sturdy Build
Awesome Porting
It's Silence
Crazy Accurate
Inserts
Speed-ball and Rec-Ball
Weaknesses: A lot of people say the price, but its not that bad.
Review: When i first tryed the barrel, it was on some pro's Angel, I instantly new i had to have it!
I was able to peg even can sized objects in one or two shots from 100+ feet. I wanted one so bad, but all the guns that could fit the Freak were $700+ dollars. I purchased the A-5 in February as soon as it came out, and foolishly bought the boomstick. I liked its acuracy, but when i got my ghilie suit, the loudness of the BOOM ruined my chances of being a sniper. The day smart parts decided to make an A-5 Freak thread, i was already harrasing them. When i got it, i put it to the test, It was early spring, and the squirrels were out getting nuts. Well one was running along the top of my neighbors fence, and i pegged it in one shot. This barrel is the most accurate barrel i have ever fired, EVER. It is also quit as hell. You can shoot a dog, and it won't even know where its being shot at from. I learned that drill from www.pbsniper.com, best place for sniper to go.

Conclusion: Best barrel on the Market. Going to test the All-American barrels my cousins got. No wonder even Angels use freak barrels!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

paintballjnke44 Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No others [ i mean bore chngeing type barrels]
Marker Setup: Genx-3 autococker [orange to black fade chaos series], Sytem -x delrin bolt,tko drop,nitro duck 68ci 3,000 psi tank,freak of course,12 volt revy,redz tank cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
any well except be but if u wanted to any
Strengths: u can shoot any paint and it iz really nice and great for tourneys
Weaknesses: None
Review: ok i found nothing wrong with this barrel and people that damage the inserts are probaly clumsy or are doing somthing wrong,but if u drop then on a hard rock or a really hard surface it will dent but i have not had this problem cause i take good care of my stuff but it is hard to dent them at that this barrel iz the best ok u will b very happy with it i promise u i think it is probably the best barrel out there but that iz my opinion.OK well it iz really nice because u can use any paint and it will shoot nice and no balls rolling out of the barrel,it iz really nice for the tournments that i go to and just tournements because u usally dont get to pick your paint therefore where ever u go u will always b fine it is almost like having 8 barrels but not it is really nice
Conclusion: i think this iz a great barrel and iz a good investment it will pay for itself saving your but wen you ned it best trust me u won't regret it i didn't
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Captain Anarchy Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
P&P Boomstick
J&J
SP Progressive
Marker Setup: Nasty Impulse
Pure Energy 68/4500
Freak Barrel (Red Back, Red All American Front)
Evo II
ANS Jackhammer II
Slik Shot Hammer Shaft
New Designz Valve
Tactical Cradle
Recommended
Paintballs:
Even Wal-Mart paint shoots ok in the Freak (but I wouldn't reccomend trying it)
Strengths: Accurate
Any size paint
Good looks
Weaknesses: If for some reason you do break paint, you have to run water thru it.
Review: This is one amazing barrel, I've shoot quite a few barrels in my time, and nothing compares to the Freak system. I've shot it on an Impulse, Matrix, 2k2 E-Cocker, Pirahna, and Rebel. It works great on ANY gun. One of the great things about it is, for multiple gun owners like me, is that if you get a new back, you've got a totally new barrel for a differnt gun, Ive got an Impulse, Cocker, and Tippmann back. Compare that to buying boomsticks for each. In the rare occasion that you DO break a ball, it can be a pain to clean sometimes, with mine, im out of the game. Thank god I only break about once every 2 or 3 cases of paint.

I give it 9 out of 10 because of the paint cleaning annoyance.
Conclusion: This is a GREAT barrel for the money. I would reccomend this to anyone, especially multiple gun owners
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NYRChaoS Friday, April 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, carbon fiber.
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 Vertical Feed Autococker Green
- Barrel: Smart Parts Full Freak 14" AA Black, 12' FRT Green
- Bolt: Shocktech Supa Fly Bolt
- Grip Frame: Kapp Reflex Black
- Grips: Dye Stickies Green
- Drop Forward: Custom Products Flame DF Green
- ASA: Custom Products On/Off Green
- Vert ASA: Kapp 45º Vert ASA
- Cocking Rod: Kapp Twisted Green
- Ball Detent: Shocktech Rebuildable Green
- Hose: Macroline
- Beavertail: Kapp Green
- Pumping Arm: Kapp Green
Recommended
Paintballs:
LOL, ummmmmmm u can use any.....
Strengths: Overall its a great barrel system.
Weaknesses: None. Some say the inserts bend........ not with me.
Review: Ok, What can i really say about this system besides its only the best one out there. I LOVE THE FREAK!!!! I will never use any other barrel. 8 inserts that are color coded for size. Some people say that they bend easy but i havent bent any and the 5 other people that have it on my team havent bent any eather. I wouldnt be able to live with out a freak. If you have a cocker it can be a pain sometimes because when u turn it the front will come off without the back but i got used to taking it off.
Conclusion: This is an awesome system im never going with anything else. Unless ............. naw this is the best ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

stonersr25 Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None whatsoever
Marker Setup: Currently a Custom 98 with revy,X-chamber,double trigger,and Carbon Fiber 14" barrel.I'm in the process of making a custom mag--Now have the mag complete with freak,8 hole valve.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that are consistently round.Thats the whole point.
Strengths: Able to use all size paints and it is very versital.
Weaknesses: Expensive,not the most sturdy,just be careful with it.
Review: I just got my Freak a few days ago and have not had a chance to play a game with it yet but my brother and I were out messing around with it and found it to be very accurate,quiet,and just plain cool.Right now I have a 12 inch but I have a 16 on the way so that should make my mag all the more quiet.What more could you want,quiet-accurate-looks good-able to shoot any paint.This is the last barrel I'll ever get most likely,unless they start to make them in stainlee steel,then they would be perfect.
Conclusion: Awsome barrel,save your money and get one.It may seem like a lot at first but I've seen kids spend alot more on barrels and not have as much variety or look as good on there gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media