paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
RAT_Impulse626 Saturday, March 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick is close, but not as quite and doesn't have as flat a trajectory and doesn't have as much distance.
Marker Setup: High Luster Finish grey RAT Impulse. Full freak, stainless steel eclipse hammer, titanium eclipse ram, werm undertow bolt, delrin bolt, vision, LPR, I-Frame, 4500 psi Max-flo, pretty much the works.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS and Draxxus are good. Don't shoot cheap crap.
Strengths: Very accurate. Probably the most accurate barrel an the market, also the quietist. Long distance shots, flat trajectory, and looks awesome.
Weaknesses: There is nothing I can really say as far as this baby being bad.
Conclusion: Best barrel you can buy, and worth the money. A good suggestion though, don't put this barrel on a gun that isn't even worth as much. Don't put this thing on a Pirhana, or a Tippmann, or a Spyder, because these guns really can't be that accurate, even with the help of this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevnight311 Friday, March 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick
Marker Setup: outcast with swing trigger, viewloader evolution 2 loader 68cu/4500 psi pure energy tank and how can i forget the FrEaK
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil is by far the best you can possibly use, they are very consistent when they are made
Strengths: amazing results, you gotta shoot it to believe it. No joke i used evil and midnight paint abd the shots went right on top of eachother with amazing accuracy.

also once you buy the front piece you can buy any threads to fit any marker so if you have the freak system you can keep adding little parts to it and 1 freak can = 20 barrells

Weaknesses: the barrel has 8 inner parts(various bore sizes) that you must take care of, if they dent you must (and can) replace them for it to work right

bore sizing can be a pain, but to correctly size paint put a ball into one of the inner parts and hold it up to the light, the ball should be touching the sides at 2 or 3 points.

id the ball is too small it will be inaccurate cause it bounces down the barrell on its way out, if its too big it wont go far and it might even get stuck

if you know how to use the freak then theres nothing bad with it
Conclusion: definately worth the money, if your a serious player its a must have
this is the best thing that ever happened to paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Brandon104 Sunday, February 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick, Powerlyte Sceptor, JT 2 piece
Marker Setup: 2k2 Cricket Vision Impulse
Too many upgrades to list
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind you wish
Strengths: With all the inserts, you can shoot any paint accurately. Light weight compared to some other barrels with the aluminum back. 8 inserts are availible for it. This is a great barrel if you have more than 1 type of marker. All you have to do is buy a new back and you're freak kit will work on 2 different threaded markers.
Weaknesses: The freak only holds the aluminum inserts in with o-rings. The inserts aren't locked in place as with a few other barrel systems. The inserts are also a pain to deal with.
Conclusion: If you only have one type of marker, i would recommend looking into the powerlyte sceptor. But, overall this is a good buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freakjoe Thursday, January 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomys, ultralite, J&J ceramic, lapco
Marker Setup: Flash green/black (best colors) 16" freak system, 9v revy, flame drop, pure energy expanse.
Recommended
Paintballs:
pick your favorite!!!!!!
Strengths: Here ya go 8 barrels right away!!!!!
this barrel kills, it is one of the most accurate barrels i have ever used, i love it because of the easily changeable slips that change your bore size. just think, on those hot days when your paint expands and you start choppin casue the friction in the barrel. well in that case you take you freak system and pull out an insert that will go best with your newly expanded paint. Also if you have multiple guns all you need to do is buy backs for them and you can put the front in any one of those guns.
Weaknesses: -Not to much bad, the slips arent to durable, but as long as your not a dum ass and try and break them then you will be fine
-its sorta difficult to squeege it out, the tip shreds you squeege :(
Conclusion: this barrel is great for anygun on the market, i would recomend it to any gun out there. buy any paint you want and you have 8 barrels to chose from to make that paint fit, after all a gun sucks if it doesnt have good paint-barrel fit

im gonna give it a 15, even though it says 10 (unfortunatley i cant go any higher)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spazmo_Rogue Friday, January 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel on my gun (doesnt even remotely compare)
Marker Setup: piranha bl vf g3
multimetal exp chamber
pure energy 45/3000 air tank
12 v revy w/ x-board
venturi bolt
*and now*
total freak (10"black front with black back)
Recommended
Paintballs:
any. cept b e.
Strengths: super accurate. i could hit a 1" target from 30 feet away at least 20x with a 3/4 full hopper (150 balls). the ones that did not hit were super close to hitting (still getting used to the barrel)
very tight grouping
nice looking - lots of oooos and aaahhhhs
Weaknesses: the price. expensive, but the barrel is definetly worth the cost.
Conclusion: buy the freak. NOW! at least, if you like accuracy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Digital Saturday, November 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomies, J&J Ceramic, CP one Peice Custom and many others. really nothing compares, Because they can't match to your paint like the freak...
Marker Setup: 2K2 autococker
Freak Barrel
68/3000 Crossfire Nitro
W/S Drop Forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any fresh paint, old dempled, oblong paint won't fly in anything. But good fresh paint, you can match it to the bore insert and nothing compares...
Strengths: First you can match any paint to any bore size. Its well made and not easy to damage. Some say the inserts need to be made longer, but its not true, 5" is accually all the ball needs to get up to speed. The porting while a little hard to clean, quiet the marker so much. Also some will tell you that you won't use all the inserts and isn't worth it. Like not using the .679 insert. If your use to only super fresh paint then no you probably won't use them all, but if you play in the extreams of temprature then you will use all of em I promise... I used the .679 second time out... This barrel doesn't come close to anything on the market...
Weaknesses: I can't find anything really wrong...
Conclusion: Its the ultimate barrel ever. I suggest that you make this the first upgrade to your paintball equipment!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xtratorque Wednesday, September 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter w/freak barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Diablo Blaze primarily
Strengths: This barrel has pinpoint accuracy and shoots my pain without error ( I only one ball break and that was because my safety was off and the cover was on the end of the barrel).
Weaknesses: I had to change the insert from the stock insert to the red small bore so I can shoot Blaze without any problems. The change didn't cost anything but that was at a store I go to so some stores might be different.
Conclusion: I love my freak and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a highly accurate and customizable barrel. I don't have the complete system ( I don't need it really) but for those who do I would strongly suggest this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, August 18th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The real word to descibe it is "perfect". It is dead accurate and fits any paint. Even if ur shooting bad paint it will still be very accurate. I have 2 feak barrels W/ one deluxe kit (10in & 16in). They pritty much clean out themselves in about 5-10 shoots but squeegee it to get full performance.

If you get one...get a 10 or 12 in, they shoot better than the 16 or 18in freaks(i know this from experiance). Boomsticks are nice but jut dont really have what the freak has.
Weaknesses: price: $120-140
price for deluxe: $180-245

the price varies beteen the type of back u get and the colored front.
Conclusion: Buy it if u got the money, if not I'd recommend go with a JJ ceramic or a boomstick.

Only problem if u dont buy it is, be feared by those who do have the freak!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Janus2000 Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Products 2 piece, Boomstick
Marker Setup: Shocktech Bushmaster w/ ACI Bulldog 68" 4500psi tank, and Freak barrel system
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. This system matches the ball.
Strengths: Multiple bore sizes, simple change from one marker to the next.
Weaknesses: Accuracy.
Review: There are quite a few different ways you can set up your freak barrel system. This is one of the greatest things about the Freak. You can change the length of it on the fly. Paint doesn't match the barrel is no problem as you have 8 different sleeves that are sure to create the perfect barrel to ball match. The biggest complaint I have with this barrel is that it is two piece. Don't get me wrong, two piece is a great design. It offers you more options with you barrel. The problem is, I haven't found a back and tip line up yet. I've used this system on 3 different markers and the same result. The pieces do not match up. This affects the accuracy of my shots. The great thing about the boomstick was that, though it was two piece It was glued together solid making sure that it stayed lined up. Making it very accurate. Even if the two pieces did line up, over time the o-ring that held the two in place will wear out as will the threads, thus ending in with the same result. Poor accuracy. Though this can be made up for a little with a good paint to barrel match. Still, the problem remains. There is also a problem of the insert sliding around inside the barrel. The o-rings inside do little to keep it from moving around when you are shooting. Powerlyte has eliminated this problem with their scepter series barrel.
Conclusion: Smart Parts has created a great piece of kit with the Freak. It has many setup options. For what you get it isn't too bad. It's got a ways to go to compare with the accuracy of a boomstick (Sad though that now the Boomstick is able to be separated). But, perhaps it could change for the better if It were a solid one piece barrel and the insert slid in from the back. This would eliminate the nice feature of choosing your length of barrel, but that has little to no influence on the accuracy of a ball anyways.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jus a stock REALLY good stock barrel. I've used this barrel for like 8-9 months but the highest they got is 6 months and a year so...
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS Splashed
Freak (obviously) - 14" AA. I got the whole kit
Smart Parts Splashed Expansion Chamber
macro
eVolution (sux)
booyaah (or however u spell it)
JT Excellorator 3.0 (don't really use it it anymore)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I don't really look around too much to see wat paint is good cuz i got the freak. I use marbilizers cuz it fits my bro's barrel.
Strengths: The accuracy and distance on this barrel is amazing. It added about 15-20 yards onto my old barrel. It's pretty silent. Best part is it fits any type of paintballs. This especially good when u gotta use the crappy paint they give you in fields. Not cheap material that falls off ur gun like I've seen so many barrels do when it gets really hot. No ball breaks if u use it right. Last thing is that u don't gotta get those 40" barrels like everyone else. The size of the barrel doesn't make it that much better or worse for the gun so u can stick with a nice short one that doesn't poke everyone in the eyes. Overall good.
Weaknesses: Again, it's silent but it isn't as silent as I originally thought it would be. Don't get me wrong, its madd silent but I thought it would be like soundless, but it really doesn't matter unless u like those p*ssies that hide in the back. Little on the expensive side but if u willing to go all the way then this is the only way to go. I think the only major problem for me is the inserts. I can never figure out the correct bore size for the paint. If u pick one too small = ball breaks.
Too big = bad acurracy. By now I'm pretty good at picking an insert but in the start, it took me a while. It may seem like the bad about is a lot but it nothing u can't deal with.
Conclusion: Really good barrel. Silent, accurate, and good for any type of balls. Kinda expensive but if u willing to go all the way this is the only barrel for u. If u think that u not ready for a freak yet then atleast get a different Smart Parts barrel. One last thing is that don't get the Freak Junior or watever (those things with the barrel and jus one insert). That kinda destroys the purpose of getting a Freak. You may think this is a really expensive way to use ur money but if u get this barrel and u need to save money,u can usually get some wat cheaper balls if the weather not too bad.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media