paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
cant dye dead Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing.
Marker Setup: Dye Autococker Ultralite, Freak kit,Eclipse 2, Evolution 2, 4500psi Pure Energy tank .ect....
Recommended
Paintballs:
Low quality to high quality paint.
Strengths: Accurate. Various size balls can be used. The barrel can match your gun's color.
Weaknesses: Price, it all comes down to, you get what you pay for.
Review: If you are serious about paintball and have the funding to spend on this sort of thing, don't waste your money on anthing else, except maybe the Stiffi, which has similar performance. But not to get off track. This barrel kit covers all the bases. From cheap paint like Core which has more imperfactions, where you should use a larger bore to combat the ball from getting stuck inside the bore. To the High quality paint such as Marbilizers which I would have to say is the best quality, any way you are allowed to have a much tighter tolerance to these higher quality ones because of the improved roundness making the paint you shoot more accurate. Yes you do have to size the balls up the tigher the tolerance of the ball to the bore the better, but of course not too tight to prevent sticking or breaking.
This barrel is also very quiet because of the porting.

On a side note I have read reviews of people that have had problems removing the sleeves out of the barrel. Simply put grease on the outside of the sleeve and slide it in. When you want to take it out just stick your finger in the barrel and pull.
Conclusion: I would definatly buy this again but only before I wasted money on cheaper barrels, except for the Stiffy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXMaxipadXx Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested: Flatline good but not a speedball barrel
A-5 Stock Barrel: Ditch it quick, toilet paper tubes are better.
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ response
Freak + SS Kit & 16''
Recommended
Paintballs:
I shoot DBX because its good paint for the money and the Freak barrel seems to like it.
Marbalizers seem to break in the freak though, not sure why.
Strengths: Accurate Accurate Accurate.
Weaknesses: Expensive.
Review: Ive never shot a J&J or an Evil Pipe but i love the freak. I dont know what people are saying about "Kinda adds accuracy". My A-5 has stock internals at the moment and even if i shoot C02 It's accurate as hell. I practice shooting a 3 inch wide stick from 70 feet and gettin pretty dam good at it. The paint I buy is $35 for 1500 at Dicks so its nothing amazing but DBX is usually well rounded. I have a 16 in and looks long as hell but on the air ball field its perfect for those doritos because its just long enough to clear the air bunker when i hug it.( I'd suggest 12'' - 14'' because 16'' gets in the way when you play front) Its also good on the woodsball field where distance and accuracy are crucial. I admit it doesnt nearly have the distance of the flatline but you can out shoot a Flatline within 100 feet with the Freak.
Conclusion: I have only good things to say about the preformance, but in my oppinion your paying for the smartparts name. J&J all stars are good too and a lot cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rcko Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
non freak 14" AA
JJ Ceramic 14"
Lapco 8inch big shoot
Marker Setup: 05 Pro Stock Autococket
14" AA Freak Barrel
Odessy TSA LED Backman
PMI 88/4500
A-5 RT
Palmer Male Stabilizer
Rufus Dawg Bolt and Power Tube
Lapco 8" Bigshoot
Palmer Cyclone QEV
RT and Cyclone 1/8" ID Hoses
CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pick and choose insert to match paint bore.
Strengths: Adjustability of bore
Weaknesses: Price
Review: AS expected adjustable bore sizing increase efficiency and accuracy of my current markers.

Use a lil of lithium grease on the threads to simplify fastening of fwd and back sections of the barrel. Also used some PB blowback marker oil on the outside of the inserts to help them slide better into the back and decrease wear on the mating surfaces. Gauge of aluminum inserts very thin. SS insert would be recommended if durability is paramount. Make sure barrel back is clean before inserting an insert. Also make sure insert is clean inside and outside to prevent damage to the back body.

AA american front has worked very good with my autococker. The barrel kit performance had motivated me to obtain an A5 back so I can use it on my A5 as well as the Autocker.
Conclusion: Pricey but you get what you pay for. Insert gauge is thin so handle with care.
Performance is very good and I am very satisfied with this product. By buying different back you can have one barrel system for multiple markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shakman119 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lucky 15
Marker Setup: My setup always changes, for now:

Blue PM6
Freak kit
Ultimate freak front
Ramping chip
---------------------------------------------
Backup-
Rare Miami Raiders Ion (Rare verson of the strange)
Bolt out back operation
Torpedo regulator
Shocktech Drop #1
SP protouch grips
PSP board
Superman color scheme:
Blue body
with red proagresive barrel
and red macro
custom red paintjob on frame
-------------
Hopper:
Reloader B Dimond edition
-----------------
P/E 72 4500 stubby
----------------

Recommended
Paintballs:
Everything from monsterballs, to Hellfire
Strengths: Many inserts
Weaknesses: Price, but you can buy used!
Review: I got the full freak kit in a trade, but Ive had great experiences with the freak barrel on other markers.

When upgrading to the freak, you can buy inserts, or a kit to match whatever paint you have on hand. For some guns like cockers, you underbore, and for intimidators, you can overbore.

The freak gives you many options to find the perfact boresize to achieve the best accuracy.

Must I say, this thing is deadly accurate. When running a test, with WALMART parnt we stood 80ft away from a 3 by 1.5 foot target. This is the standard size of a small garbage can, or a person kneeling down. Matching the paint snugley to my Eblade 2, we were able to hit the can 19/20 times.

I love my freak, and I have used it on 4 different guns, including 2 timmys, a proto matrix, and my Eblade 2 autococker. I stand by it as the best kit on the market. Although there are 2 negatives. Loudness, and cost. But who cares about loudness, and if your poor, get a job!

Conclusion: The mack daddy of barrels, nothing comes close.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

^ZION^ *PYRO* Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel (hardly compairs)
Marker Setup: Smart-Parts ION
EvoII
Hybrid Hedlok
Smart parts Freak kit
45/3500 alum. Pure energy

2k4 Prostock Autococker
Smart parts Freak kit

Back-up: Brass Eagle Tigershark with 18" A-A and 12oz. CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that arn't swollen and gooshy
Strengths: Versatile

Easy to use on more than one gun (see review)
Weaknesses: Can't think of any off the top of my head.
Review: Awesome barrel. Dead accurate and uses Freak and All-American fronts.

I have the full bore kit with an 18" A-A front and a 14" freak front. I recently bought a new back for my ION. I now have essentially a barrel that is universal (if you buy new backs)

You can buy the backs in pretty much any thread. Aluminum or the more expensive (and stylish) Stainless steel. I have two aluminum backs (1 cocker, one Impulse/ION) and they work just fine.

Conclusion: Incredibly versatile. Incredibly Accurate. New backs are cheap than new barrels for every gun you have. New fronts are Cheaper than buying a longer/shorter barrel for every position you play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xtibian Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy Pro SF
eVultion 2
Worr Gas 50ci/3k
Freak Barrel System
Flame Drop Forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Nelsplat thats all The interchangable bore sizes so any paint
Strengths: Interchangble Bores
Accuracte
I reccomened steel inserts and back
Barrel Options
Weaknesses: Price
Aluminum inserts can dent/bend easy(get steel)
Review: This a very good barrel. It is very accurate and you can use any paint because of the interchangable bore sizes. You can get the All-American front or the Freak(Teardrop). You can get a lot of different lengths and colors. The back comes in stainless steel and aluminum.
Conclusion: Great barrel I highly recommend this barrel to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

masterx02 Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot 05 ACS
Thor Clamping feedneck
dye 3 sticky grips
freak jr kit
20oz C02
Halo b with rip drive
Recommended
Paintballs:
None inparticular
Strengths: Shoots Straight
Silences my gun
Better velocity
Weaknesses: Pricey
Review: I got this barrel with my own hard earned money. I still think i could have gotten a barrel that was as good for less. I really like this barrel though because i makes all of my balls shoot straight. Its like ball on ball action when im using this barrel which is very awesome since the field i play at only has woods-ball atm. It made my gun much quieter, and it gave me better consistency/velocity. If i could have gotten a better deal i probably would have took it though. I got this thing for 100 shipped.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel i have tested and it would be good for any gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chikin pickle Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 factory barrel, '05 cocker factory barrel, DYE boomstick, DYE ultralight, J&J two peice ceramic.
Marker Setup: '05 prostock autococker
'06 Freak back, 16" all american front, .687 and .691 stainless inserts
DYe sticky 3 grips
crossfire 68/3000 cf tank w/ '05 rhino cover
ricochet AK hopper w/ countypaintball sticker
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, if you can buy it, there is an insert for it. Although never buy cheap paint!!
Strengths: Adaptability
accuracy
looks
Weaknesses: Hard to clean fully.
Review: Well, I am putting my review here because I didn't opt for a full kit, for price considerations. I got an '06 back with a 16" all american front, and then two stainless steel inserts along with a few other non-barrel related items. I had read the reviews on here, and decided to take a risk, although I opted for the more expensive inserts because of the durability.

Now I grimaced at the price, as I don't have a job and saving Money takes me a while. Although, the barrel and one of my stainless inserts cost $8 less than a titanium boomstick barrel, so there are more expensive things you can buy. When I got home I opened everything up and was impressed with the smoothness of the barrel front, nice and shiny. Then I looked down the insert. <_< ook, it was worse than the stock barrel off my old tippmann. Well being put off a little bit I put my finger in to have a feel. Oh, there was metal dust inside. Made sense as they are indeed milled steel.
So I washed it out and then it was nice and shiny.

I assmebled the barrel. (I reccomend putting a little oil on the insert the first time you put an insert in to lube up the O-rings inside the back.) And put it on my gun, wow it looked sweet. The cutaways, and color combo matched my gun perfectly, as my 'cocker basically has 3 colors. Blue, black, and then silver for the things like the actuator rod, and ball detent. It basically matched perfectly and looks really hot.

When I got to the field I went to the target range, and set my reg which needed to be done, and when I was finished chronoing the gun I decided to see if my $110 barrel was worth the money. Whhen I pulled the trigger pffschk-schk and whap, an orange splat mark appeared dead center on the farthest target. I few more shots ffft-schk ffft-schk all of them close on the far target. Way more accurate than anything I had ever shot, quiet on my 'cocker too.

I went and played a few games, the first game I played was centerflag assault. Now we had some military types with A-5s and whatnot organize some tactics, with a base of fire, and a force to push up the other side. I volunteered to be part of the base of fire, because I like blasting fools with ropes. So I hit my favorite bunker, a large tower with a spool on one side. I come out and start laying a rope on someone. Spat, I see him duck down and his gun comes up in the air. The rest of the game was pretty similar, and I was hitting cracks in bunkers, and other thing in very tight groupings for that game.

Unfortunately, I only got one more game in, partly because my reg took a dump and started jumping all over, and then my dad decided that I wasn't going to be allowed to play because I took the oversized visor off of my mask. Why? I have no idea.

I had one break during the day, because I was shooting Evil, which has an uber thin shell, and I short-stroked my gun. So I chopped, It shot like crap until I figured out that I had chopped. And I had paint in my bolt and all over, so I had to take that out, swab the barrel a fewtimes, along with the tube of my gun. Then I got it back working again and it shot just as good as it had before.

Yay update, My gun has been plagued with rediculous consistency issues and I have no idea. The balls go in the same vertical plane but the trajectory gets screwed up by the fluctuations.
Conclusion: All in all, this barrel was well worth the money. The original barrel kit is still the best. This barrel shoots awesome, and is the most versatile barrel on the market. 5 kinds of front, 3 kinds of backs, along with a carbon fiber barrel by deadlywind that takes the inserts. If you have the cash pick one up, you won't regret it at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 7th, 2006 at 1:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bunkerking1337 Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Peppersticks barrel kit
Empire barrel kit
Match Stiks barre kit
Marker Setup: BL 2k4 Black Alias with blue sleeve.
clear Halo B loader
CP Unimount
CP adjustable ram cap
45/45k Crossfire HPA tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything you want it a kit so you can use any paint
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: The Freak isn't as good as it use to be. I mean its physically still a good barrel but the whole insert thing is outdated and obsolete. If you look around how many of the popular barrel kits use inserts besides the Freak...none. The Evil Empire, Match Stiks, and Pepper Stiks all use backs that are made to a certain bore size. Inserts aren't always consistant in bore size, they're not durable, and they're just a pain in the butt..

Strenghts
Allows you to adjust to any bore size
With a good paint to barrel bore match you get good accuracy

Weaknesses
Inserts a cheap. They break easily, they're not always consistant in bore size and they're just a real pain in the butt.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good barrel kit take a look at the Evil Empire, Redz Pepper Stiks, Stiffi kit or Match Stick barrel kit.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kendall_peter Thursday, September 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop
Stock
Marker Setup: Kingman Sonix (Black With Red Highlights)
14' Freak
9oz co2 Tank
12oz co2 Tank
Empire Reloader II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any...Its Amazing
Strengths: Freak
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love this barrel. I put it on my Sonix and it worked amazing. It was way more accurate and i didnt have to pay much for it. It is very high quality and it look orgasmic. I love this barrel and i think everyone should have one. Overall this is worth the pretty high price tag... it will set u bck but its worth it in the long run. It saves money on paint cuz u wont have to shoot as much.
Conclusion: Buy one of these.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media