paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
ikey Monday, July 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
various otehr kits
Marker Setup: Upped impy, nitro eggy, bla bla bla
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that fits, in this case everything fits, high quality ones
Strengths: Bore changing, looks, quality, acuracy, quietness
Weaknesses: Not really anything.
Review: Probably one of the best barrels for 150 right now. it is just as acurate as any barrel out there and is the barrel from which most otehr kits are judged. it is very quiet because of the porting, looks good in pretty much any marker, has many different options with the fronts and backs. it also has pretty much more bored than any other barrels. some ppl dont like the inserts, but if you are careful they should never break. it is a quality kit and one of the best you can buy for 150. also, if you have more than 1 gun, all you need is a new back, that is a huge plus for ppl with more than one gun like me.
Conclusion: It looks sweet, acurate, quiet, 8 bores, and can change back for multiple guns. for that it gets major points.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

borntolose1319 Friday, July 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
bommstick stricker series all american big dady
Marker Setup: sp ion with dead on drop and blade trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil is what i use but you can use anything
Strengths: Different bore sizes so you can use any paint with it.
Weaknesses: The inserts bend easily and i ruined 3 of the inserts.
Review: Well over all the freak kit is good. i liked the fact that you could use the inserts to change your paint so it will fit better. The downside is that the inserts are fragile and dont last in the long run. The barrel is also self cleaning so thats another upside.
Conclusion: This is a good product but with the evil pipe out you might as well go with that .
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Oc_Gunslinger Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye titanium one piece....
infinit y
check it Jr3
Marker Setup: G7 ccm feed neck check it unimount...SS freak.
05 Speed...cobra valve, volumiser/
04 Mech outkast...
Recommended
Paintballs:
any...that's the good thing,,,
Strengths: Very accurate, dampends sound....reliability....able to change backs and comes with a case
Weaknesses: None so far.Backs are a pain to take out if you have phat fingers...
Review: i bought cheap paint from my local store...turns out that it a small bore paint...no problem i changed the back and wala....Dart machine....ball on ball all day long goging them muppets...i love it...i have no regrets....smart parts makes great barrels.. I like the fact that you can also but on stiffi fronts....this is a real good system...it fit's my needs and it's accurate as hell...
Conclusion: it's not the lightest barrel.But ig get's the job done..that's why i got this barrels system...I don't think that i will ever use all the backs...But it feels good to have em...Buy it you won't be disapointed...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cool shoes Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop, All American. This kit gives you the best of both worlds.
Marker Setup: Red 2004 Vision Shocker with...
Nerve Board
New Designz Talon Grip
New Designz Ball Detents
New Designz Gauge Adapter
Ion Feed Neck
Ion Grips
Bob Long Gauge
32 Degree Drop Forward
Smart Parts HE Bolt kit
14" All American Barrel .689 back
Full Freak Kit with all 8 inserts, Also two additional freak front 10" black and 14" silver
Evolution with Z- Board
And HUGE 88 4500psi Pure Energy Tank w/ Smart Parts Burn tank cover

Backup guns
Spyder TL-X with...
Smart Parts All American 12" barrel
32 Degrees Electric Trigger Frame
Halo TSA Hopper
Shocktech superfly bolt
CIP Sure fit adapter
32 Degrees Spring kit
E-99 Java edition gas grip

Custom blowback marker w/ a black E-99 body (too many parts to write)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.
Strengths: Can shoot 10 year old paint
Perfect barrel to bore match=accuracy
Different Tips
Weaknesses: whoo-wee expensive lucky I got it for free he he
Review: Wow the Freak kit is an amazing barrel kit. There is no other kit out there that gives you this many inserts. The variety in tips help too. I owned two different AA barrels before the Freak kit and I still hav use out of them because I can use their tips. I prefer the 10 inch Freak Tip because I can bunker and move around w/ ease. I'm always using a variety of paint and this helps me to maintain accuarcy no matter wat kind of stuff I'm using. From Brass Eagle Blue Steak to RPS AL Star I can maintain great accuracy and NO BARREL BREAKS. My friend who has an old school pump gun (Tippmann 68) had some old paint that he forgot about. He found it in his basement and the recepit was w/ it. IT WAS 10 YEARS OLD. I slid in the .695 insert and had NOT ONE SINGLE BREAK! (and no chop cuz of vision). This mere fact alone proves the greatness of the Freak. Now I'll admit, the 10 year old stuff wasn't accurate, but hey who cares it was 10 years old. The price is rediculously high and I would never pay that much but I got 3 tips, the freak back, and all 8 inserts for free :P so that rele doesn't affect my review. The carrying case is nice too. It's an absolutely incredible barrel kit I hav no desire to purchase any other barrel or barrel kit
Conclusion: Paint Bore to Barrel match gives you accuracy. The Freak delivers on this wholeheartedly so go buy it don't waste money on a single bore like a boomstick!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 27th, 2005 at 11:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Freak_A5_dude Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Barrel, Core 21"
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT, E-grip w/ JCS Dual Trigger, Freak Barrel Kit, Core 21" sniper barrel, 32 Degrees Remote kit-------

Triton: all stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, because it has inserts, but mostly i like Draxxus. Preferably Blaze, Midnight, Hellfire.
Strengths: Any Paint, Any Weather, VERY ACCURATE, Intimidating, Good Milling, Light.
Weaknesses: Price. (Although it was worth it)
Review: This Barrel is great. I've been using this barrel for a while and it has never let me down. It is SOO Accurate and has awesome milling. Its funny listening to people freak out cause how accurate my A-5 is. I have the Kit and it has the perfect size inserts for all paint. They fit perfect with whatever paint you get and has easy cleaning. It comes in 3 pieces and is very durable.
Conclusion: Overall this is a REALLY Great buy and you cant get another barrel better than this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerboydrew Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kaner
Evil pipe
Cp kit
one and two piece barrels
Marker Setup: 04 vert cocker e2
sto kaner barrel
70ci crossfire
Empire reloader b
Super fly bolt
Pursuit custom shop quicker ram with QEV's and micro rock lpr
Dye attack pack
Recommended
Paintballs:
what ever bore size that what you get it for
mid grade or higher
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: My friend has one of these on his SP impulse but I get to use it alot beause hes on my team, so I get a experiese with it.

Pros
many bore sizes (8)

cool colors on inserts and neat freak symbol and the word freak cut out on the back

have the opinion to get stainless backs and inserts and aa front

If you have mutiple markers you only have to get a new back all the backs fit all the
fronts and inserts.

spiral porting is nice

cost effective if you have multiple guns much cheaper than buying a whole new kit

easy to find the whole kit or just inserts and pieces

Accruacy- flat shot good grouping 9/10 on accuracy

made by SP (i'm a smartparts man)

Cons
weak inserts

backs are to shorts to get off my cocker, but no one else execpt cocker owners should have that problem.

a bit loud compared to my kaner

would like to see smart parts come out with more durable inserts and mabie take some of the porting off from the back
Conclusion: For any one with multiple markers this is the way to go for sure
every one but cocker owners should love it also
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dafreak6889 Friday, May 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kanner barrel kit
Marker Setup: Team Ronin Ecocker
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anykind will work. i found that blaze works well with the .684 insert.
Strengths: -Looks
-# of bores
Weaknesses: -inserts
-Weight
Review: I only used the freak 3 times, and i must say, i did like it. Although i didnt have the chance to compare it to other barrels, it shot really well. The porting on the front not only looks cool, but helps the ball fly in a correct pattern once it leaves the barrel. Another thing i liked was the facct that there are 8 inserts avalible, and they make them in SS too.

The downsides, were the aluminum inserts can bend, break if stepped on. A case is almost a must. Also the SS back is heavy, not like the boomy though. But heavier than the kanner.
Conclusion: IMO there are better sets out there. If you are at a field were they let u use putside paint, and u like to switch it up.This is a barrel for u. but there are better ones out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarkSpyder Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other barrel kits used
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra (Black) 14" freak kit Halo or Egg 68ci 3000psi carbon fiber tank new designz no rise clamping feed neck shocktech superfly shocktech spring kit shocktech shim kit dye stickies (grey)
Recommended
Paintballs:
It doesnt even matter this barrel is awesome.
Strengths: Inserts
Easy use
beautiful
made by smart parts
awesome
Weaknesses: Havent found any yet and I dont plan too.
Review: Do I even have to say it. Smart parts has done it again with the perfect barrel. This is the greatest barrel and barrel kit ever made. No questions asked. Its made by some of the best. I would have paid 500 bucks to get this barrel. You can put this on any gun out there and make it super accurate. I dont care if its a Talon. Buy a Freak kit now!!!!!
Conclusion: You gotta have this. If You dont have the money....Well get the money its so worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadlyimpulse Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all american, stock bko, stock pirhana
Marker Setup: TonTon impulse, fireball mountain mercury bolt, fireball mountain delrin trigger, all ndz. internals, ndz hopper clamp, freak kit, max-flo reg.
Recommended
Paintballs:
depends on what bore size insert you are using
Strengths: Accurate, looks, inserts for flexibility, can customize your look
Weaknesses: Is a little irritating to screw into the gun..
Review: Overall this is a great barrel. Using the inserts you can match the bore size to your favorite paint. Got a special look in mind? NO problem, you can get lotz of different color combos with the freak. Interseted in a package but low on cash? Get the Freak Jr. kit for just over 100 dollars.
Conclusion: Get it. Comes in all kinds of threads. Deadly accurate. I am giving it a 9 because if you dont have vision and you chop, you are screwed, if you try to squeegie the barrell and put it back on. Sometimes i swear it just doesnt work...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StrangeDemon Tuesday, February 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No similar barrel systems. I've used one piece barrels.
Marker Setup: 2k4 All Red Strange Vision Impulse, Stock w/ a shocktech drop and on off. 68/4500 crossfire tank. Evo 2 loader.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind you want.
Strengths: Bore changes. Accuracy. Looks. Light weight.
Weaknesses: Price. Paint change.
Review: I used the freak barrel on a stock 2k4 impulse. It has been the most accurate barrel I've used. I had a tear drop tip on it. The paint flew straight everytime. The one and only problem I have faced on a game was when I had 2 different kinds of paint with me in a different pod. The bore match was different so you could tell a difference in the pattern it was shooting. The price was pretty expensive for a barrel set. My friend baught one for an A-5. It definitly helped his game though. I bought the barrel by itself. It was 100 bucks. I'm glad I didn't buy the inserts because the price dropped by 50 bucks. Its 150 now for the aluminum set. I got the freak barrel stock on my strange impulse. i then baught the inserts for 75 after. I think it was worth it. I think any barrel that you can change the bore to I think is a great barrel. If you get the stainless steal inserts, they will last longer and be more scratch resistant. The aluminum ones after continual use will start to ware. It has its good things, since you only change out inserts you don't have to worry about stripping the threads on the back and front pieces. The only drawback is if you break a ball in the barrel, you have to take it all apart to get it fully clean.
Conclusion: I would recommend this for anyone wanting an extremely accurate barrel that is serious or wanting to get serious.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 24th, 2005 at 8:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media