paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Paintphreak Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Stainless one piece
Taso Eliminator
Stock Barrels
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix
Check it Products 15 degree
Shocktech Inline Regulator
New Designz HPA Valve
Shocktech Supa Fly Bolt
Freak Kit
70 Stubby Crossfire Preset (High Pressure)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Silver Series X Balls by Draxxus - Best paint available!
Strengths: Ultra Accurate
Less breaks with the matched bores
Weaknesses: Price (kind of)
Broken paint is difficult to clean on the field
Review: The Freak is the best barrel system on the market for one reason, Smart Parts development. Smart Parts has been making barrels forever. Their barrels are well crafted and absolutely pristine inside.

The ability to accurately match your paint to your barrel is great for a few reasons:
- It improves accuracy by keeping the paint in place and firing straight
- There are less paint breaks when the paint is matched properly. (Please note that the proper way to match your bore size is to make sure the ball does not roll through the barrel. You do not have to match it so tight that it takes a superhuman effort just to blow the ball out.

The only drawbacks that I see are the following
- The price is high, but when you really think about it, You are actually getting 8 different perfectly matched barrels. If you take that perspective, then the system is not that pricey (about 20 per barrel).
- The main problem with the freak is on-field maintenance. It is difficult to squeegee the barrel clean with out removing it. Sure you can just jam you Redz down the front, but that does not get all of the paint in the porting. It really does not have a drastic effect on the way the paint flies. You may lose 2% - 5% of your accuracy. It is a quick fix in between games. Now, I have only had this problem twice in the six months that I have been using the system, but if I had to choose between a semi clean Freak or another barrel system, I would choose the Freak 10 times out of 10.
Conclusion: This barrel system is a must for anyone who owns a tricked out or high end marker. IT will improve your accuracy. It will improve your marking capability. It will improve your game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ase Friday, December 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
knockout 10-piece kit
Marker Setup: strange vision impulse
check it clamping feed neck
dye sticky 3
freak kit
hyper flow 68/4500
empire reloader b
Recommended
Paintballs:
any and all
Strengths: Different bore sizes.
Weaknesses: sleeves break/bend/dent EASILY!
Review: Well i have one.... wat is there to say its a barrel kit with 8 different inserts .679, .682, .684, .687, .689, .691, .693, .695 all in very pretty rainbow colors. the tear drop tip is more quiet but the all-american is more accurate and has a longer range. if you have a good paint match you shouldnt get barrel breaks unless your using wal mart paint.
Conclusion: Get it its great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joe"psycho" Tuesday, November 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Kaner, Stocks on PIRANHA and BKO (bad stocks), 1 Peice SS Boomy.
Marker Setup: '04 Red BKO...
12 Inch Freak with red AA front.
WGP Torpedo Drop with ON/OFF
Smart Parts black Q-Lock No-Rise
Halo B
Crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any...Thats what you buy the barrel for.
Strengths: Bore change...Customizable...Looks....Performance
Weaknesses: Expensive customizations.
Review: Well I originally got this barrel for my PIRANHA as a FREAK JR. Later, I stuck an adapter on it, busted out a new front, and put in on my BKO. Now I guess it is a REAL FREAK because the back is the same (performancewise) as the real thing and EVERYONE (almost) has an AA FRONT. So here is my PRO-CON LIST.

PROS:

Bore changing: What more can I say? The inserts let you adapt to what paint you happen to be shooting that day: Especially usefull to the thrifty player like myself and buy whatever paint is on sale. Never worry about Paint-barrel matches again.

Custom: Now if you can afford it, just get a back for each one of your guns (instead of an adapter) and a front to match color and change length...very sexy.

Performance: Due to the unsurpassed porting in the AA and FREAK (teardrop) fronts combined with paint matching, this thing shoots perfect. Even after a ball break, the AA and FREAK fronts perform very well. The FREAK JR. front is another story...

Looks: Looks great, especially with a SS back and a FREAK front.

CONS:

Price: If you can't afford the real deal, then the FREAK JR. is always there, but the actual FREAK is better, not because of the back because they are the same apart from looks, but the AA and FREAK fronts are better.

Custom: This might fall under price, but if you want customization, it WILL cost you.

One or more...: After you get about 2 or more breaks, you are gonna have a lot of problems. It will only clean after only one break...
Conclusion: Great kit. You can start out small and build up. Or, just get the inserts you want, because everyone knows that you won't be needing anything below a 687. Nothing is perfect, but this is pretty damn close...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DOR_paintball Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye barrels
cp
Marker Setup: Vision Impulse with max-flo 45/4500 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
if you have all the inserts, you can match any size paint but rps and evil are the most consistant and accurate
Strengths: Accurate,quiet
Weaknesses: Stainless steel version is a bit heavy
Some problems with the 2 piece threads
Review: This barrel overall is a awsome barrel but there are some weakness's. Its accurate and light and looks cool. I've used this on my impulse for 1 year and its worked perfect. a good thing about it is you can use pretty much any paint if you have all 8 inserts. this barrel is good on any gun.
Conclusion: If you're having problems fitting paint in your barrel, buy the kit. GOOD BARREL.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rich4444 Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None similar.
Marker Setup: Indian Creek BKO w/ Halo-B, CP High Pressure Reg, Mitey Max Volumizer, Stock LPR, Stock Bolt, ICD Drop Forward, PMI Pure Energy 88/5000, Freak Barrel and inserts, Vapor Valve
Recommended
Paintballs:
doesnt matter
Strengths: Great Accuracy, not too loud or heavy, looks nice!
Weaknesses: Teardrop front hard to clean ingame.
Review: Boy, I love this Freak Barrel and inserts I use. Really, I have been nothing but impressed, and it even works much better than my J&J 2 piece ceramic. At fields it is too hard (with "field paint only" in so many places) to pick and chose your paint for the bore of your barrel, and who wants to buy 3 seperate barrels and adjust to how they all shoot?

This barrel system is pricey, but it is good working. I'd just suggest the All American front for more easy cleaning over the teardrop that is harder to squeegee toward the end. Not sure if it affects performance after a ball break though. The teardrop looks nicer ;)

Paint to barrel matching of bore size is huge, and it will improve your accuracy greatly if you do it. Also, I experience hardly ANY ball breaks with this barrel kit (and if I do they are marker problem related at least!)
Conclusion: Buy It Now!!! (or at least a similar system that allows you to match bore sizes if you don't like Smart Parts because of all those lawsuits hehe) ....can you tell I own a BKO hehe
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

You_Run_You_Die Tuesday, May 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: 2k2 cocker, kapp fat ram, rock lpr, bomb 3 way, shocktech hinge, 12" freak kit, dye stickys, and a prefect drop. ACI Bulldog III 68/3k
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil
Strengths: looks
accurate
boring
Weaknesses: just have to know the size of your paint
and price
Review: great barrel for anyone that has the 200$ to fork over. but i got mine for $100. love how it looks on my cocker. like the extra inserts. only bad this is if you dont know what size paint you are using and you go out in a game with the wrong bore size. you might as well leave the game the first time you break paint.
Conclusion: over all its a good barrel. just keep the .689 insert in there and you will do fine. i give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Catfish2850 Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe,Empire kit
Marker Setup: Blue Dust Angel Speed
Halo B
Max Flo 68/4500

Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: wide selection of bore sizes to choose from.Accuracy
Weaknesses: inserts could be damaged if not taken care of proper
Review: Freak kit in my book is one of the best interchangeable bore barrels on the market.Accuracy is great and any paint I want to use I can.Can't tell you about cleaning of barrel because I have not yet chopped one single ball with my Speed using the Freak.Overall well pleased with its performance.
Conclusion: Great kit.I would suggest shopping around for a good price.This kit should give years of performance to anyone,even if you buy a different marker.I give it 10 out of 10 because you can buy new backs for your other markers you might have laying around.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RobVsWorld Saturday, April 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock cocker barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Well, it comes with so many inserts, you could shoot just about anything.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, and bore sizes.
Weaknesses: The price.
Review: Well, I needed a barrel kit, so I drew straws and somehow wound up with a Freak Kit. Well, although I paid 200 dollars for it, I'm pretty happy with the purchase. There are eight bore sizes in a kit, which is about four too many, but it's still nice to have so many. The porting on this barrel is really well, done, and it quiets a gun down considerably. The finish is like glass, and its really just well put together over all.
Conclusion: Get this barrel. Alot of people say it's inserts are flawed, but I disagree. It's accurate, quiet, and has tons of inserts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Metallix6403 Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't tried anything like this but I know there are similar products out there
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus
Total Freak
Boo Yaah E-LCD
AKALMP Lightning Bolt
AKALMP Excalibur Regulator
Shocktech Spyder LPC
Drop Forward, Folding Combat Stock, Bi-Pod
Multiple Upgrades
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintball will work
Recomend All Star or Marballizer
Strengths: Multiple bore sizes
Customization
Accuracy
Very Reliable
Weaknesses: Price
Cleaning
Review: The Freak was the first barrel that I bought for my Spyder TL Plus. Since then I was so impressed by the Total Freak that I bought backs for my other Spyders, my brother's two Autocockers and my Automag. The goal of this barrel is to be accurate. So if some one tells you that this barrel is inaccurate they just don't know how to use it. Just roll a few paintballs down a bore and if it is a snug fit pop the fitting in and your good to go. Also, any type of paint will work and be pretty accurate but you need to know that one barrel isn't going to fix your aiming problems. Go for quality paint. I recommend All Star or Marballizer.

As for the durability that everyone complains about it the actual barrel is quite durable. The fittings also do their job and will not break unless you really attempt to break it. Sure, they are very light but they are stronger than you would expect.

The only problem that I first had with this barrel was when I had a break (which rarely occurs with the right bore size and mainly comes from chopping in my experience). The front end that I have is the Tear Drop. When I tried to clean it by hand it took FOREVER. I soon realized that they is a much simpler way. Now it is a big no no but its been working for me for 6+ years. Just run hot hot water inside the barrel and through the tear drops and the paint will run right out. Then get a soft cloth like the ones you find at the eye doctors and dry out the inside and get the tear drops with a tooth pick surrounded by the cloth. I then lube up the barrel with a barrel cleaner or gun oil. I recommend Cobra Snake Oil if you can find it. I've used this on all my barrels and have had no corrosion or scratches what so ever.

Price wise, it is expensive but if you have a lot of guns, not a lot of money for separate barrels, and want excellent quality this is definitely the way to go.




New Info

I just wanted to update this reviw to add that the barrel system is very very reliable. Ive had no scratches with my above cleaning method and it ensures that all that horrible oil gets out of the porting and bore inserts. Still a wonderfull product and is my only barrel that I use any more.
Conclusion: Excellent system. Very accurate. Some cleaning issues but not that big of a problem, try my above method, it DOES work. After years of use, still no scratches nor dents.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 at 1:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patrick4588 Saturday, March 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel, Progressive, Tear Drop
Marker Setup: WGP Black Magic w/ Freak Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer
Strengths: Can get Stainless Steel back and inserts and new size fronts 10-18"
Weaknesses: The aluminum back and inserts arent very durable
Review: You can switch out the bore size to fit the paintball you are using exactly. You can also buy fronts to switch length from 10-18". If you buy a new gun you can buy a new back and keep the fronts and inserts. The stainless steel backs and inserts are a must. The 10" front is great for speedball and the 18" is the quietest front i have ever used. There are 8 different bore sizes to fit the paintballs you are using. The barrel with a back, insert, and a front is about $110. The entire aluminum freak kit is about $180 and the stainless steel is about $210.
Conclusion: A definite must for any gun. A barrel makes all the difference especially this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media