paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
zoracc Monday, August 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
~32 degrees whisper
~smart parts progressive
~teardrop
Marker Setup: ~spyder electra
~smart parts FREAK 14" barrel wit teardrop front
~12v revolution hopper
20oz co2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintballs because you can change the bore sizes of the bore sizes of this barrel.just dont use REALLY cheap paint.i use 32 degrees competition paintballs and they work really well. they hardly ever break in the barrel and shoot straight with using a freak
Strengths: ~bore changing
~front changing(so u can change the size without buying a new barrel)
Weaknesses: ~expensive (i got mine fo 125$) OUCH!


Review: this is the best barrel i can ever ask for! it shoots straight and hardly ever causes ball breakage.some people say that this barrel is unaccurate,ha! i dont know wut their smoking cuz this is the most accurate barrel i have ever used! some people also say the inserts are to be treated with care,well (DUH!!)no one would buy a freak barrel and just not take good care of it. dont play with ta inserts and dont fiddle with the barrel every minute and theirs u will have no problem with this barrel. i also like this barrel cuz yuo can customize it alot. if u want it to be longer,just get a new front which is about 43bucks instead of buying a whole new barrel.if u get a new gun,its the same way,just get a new back wich is about 60bucks and use ur same insert and front u already have.i would recommend this to anyone that has a little bit of $$CASH$$ because this barrel is pretty expensive. i would recommend getting a 14"-16" with a teardrop front.(that setup is accurate as hell!)i dont like 18" barrels because their a little bit too long.
Conclusion: if u have around 130$ and u want to improve ur game ALOT, i would defently get a freak barrel as soon as you can!
THIS BARREL IS THE BEST!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cannondale Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Products Pro Barrel,
Marker Setup: Shocker Turbo, Vertical Regulator, 68 4500 nitro, WG on/off Drop, Powerfeed air assist Richochet AK, Full freak Kit 10".
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs you can find.
Strengths: Beautiful, extremely accurate, match paint to barrel easy
Weaknesses: The inserts can be stepped on and bent
Review: This is the Holy Grail of Paintball Barrel hands Down!!!! if you have two guns fine just buy backs for each and you have 7 barrels for each paintball gun. Sell your marker Fine just buy a new back for the new gun (if it has diffrent threads). If you travel alot to diff fields or your weather changes quite frequently just change inserts to fit your ball. You really can't go wrong with this barrel system, the price is not bad either I've spend about 500.00 on barrels when I changed guns or needed a barrel to fit certain paint at diff fields. Having one or two barrels really did not work well for me when it rained balls would swell a bit or when it was cold balls would shrink you know the story. After I purchased the freak system no problem!!!! If your paint matches your barrel you have better accuracy, chrono is much more accurate and this barrel is quite so it's a win win situation all around. Paintballs are to expensive to waste and this barrel waste none to little when your shooting at your foes Picture yourself with a all Weather Barrel system shooting once or twice to hit your target instead of 5 or 10 shots.
Conclusion: Very nice Barrel Sytem, well worth the money, it will save you money in the long run. (wasting Paintballs) and winning the game too. This is not Hype it's a Fact!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

the_midget_man Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CP barrel
Marker Setup: Syder Victor, shocktech lpc, freak barrel, revolution, 20oz co2, expansion chamber.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, never chops, even if you use Brass Eagle.
Strengths: Everthing
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: This is the best barrel you can buy, it is accurate, pretty kewl lookin' and wont chop any paint. I put is on my spyder and wow, it shot exactly what I aimed for and it is vertical feed spyder. Its expensive though!!!! I got a stainless steal back on mine, so its heavy, but if you have aluminum, its pretty lite.
Conclusion: Greatest barrel of all time. BUY IT! I recommend it to any player, begginer or expirensed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

lieut_zonar99 Tuesday, March 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Infinity barrel
Boomy (OK just needs the ability besides spending massive amounts on all those backs to change bores)
Evil Pipe barrel system (A truly Great barrel use if dont like freak)
Marker Setup: Dark Angel LCD 2.0
Freak barrel 10in.
Crossfire 47 cu. 3000p.s.i (small as hell)
adrenalin trigger
old Warped Sportz with on/off
Peueter to black fade (kick ass only 5 in world!!!!!!!!!)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: This Barrel is as accurate as hell. With all the inserts there can be no wrong. I was doing some testing for my local Store for bore sizes and accuracy and they threw everything at me at once. The barrel chopped once and it was on th e crappiest of crap paint (Brass Eagle, ewwwww) other than that one break there were no other problems at all. Some say that some paint is too small, i say screw you this barrel has shot 25 cases, yes, 25 cases of paint without one break (not counting brass eagle) Oh yeah get the Stainless steel back it looks sooooooo much better, and get a 10in it looks kick ass.
Weaknesses: I was using my stock 2001 infinity barrel that was soooooooooooo freaking quite but not that accurate. Because of the porting on the freak it increases the amount of sound emmiting from the end of the barrel. Although it is no big deal. CANNOT USE STRAIGHT SHOT SQUEEGIES AT ALL THEY WLL SOMETIMES PUSH OUT THE INSERTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Great barrel. Who cares if it is 170 bucks. The serious player is willing to sharpen his skill and sharpen his equipment. if you whine about money GET A FREAKING JOB I AM 13 AND I MAKE 10 BUCKS AN HOUR PLENTY TO SAVE UP WITH! For the squeegie part get a battle swap they are great and easier on the hard or smooth bore finish in the barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joejoe41 Thursday, August 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Set
Dye (Boomstick)
A Ton of 1 piece
Marker Setup: ICD B2K4
ICD Freestyle
68-4500 Smartparts Maxflo Inline
Freak system
Fasta 18V
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any - that is the great part
Strengths: Interchangable
Sweet looking
Weaknesses: None come to mind ....
Review: This is one sick setup. Take your paintballs, drop test in the inserts, put barrel together and you are ready to rip. The only thing is you have to make sure your paintballs are consistant in diameter. Other than than - this setup is one of the best in the market. I know SP gets a lot of crap, but the quality is good. Try it!!
Conclusion: Nice set up - I use is all the time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Richie B Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion barrel
Marker Setup: black ion yellow trim
14" freak back aa front
egg2 y board
sp Q lock
sp qev 360
sp max-flo reg
pure energy 47/3000
vp scythe trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
not cheap ones
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Price
Have to buy the full kit to work properly
Review: well what can i say? i bought the freak back and all american front with the 689 insert, and at this moment and time i am not happy. i went to my local field on Saturday to try out my new £50 barrel setup, and i could not have been more disappointed. i tried 3 different paints and all broke in the barrel, 8 games 8 barrel brakes, now don't get me wrong i can imagine the freak is a good barrel but you must need all 8 inserts, that's another £50 now its a £100 barrel for f*ck sake im not rolling in cash. the strange thing is my stock ion barrel has a 689 bore size and shoots the same paint better, more accurately and with no brakes, whats that about then.
Conclusion: Don't buy this barrel with only one insert, buy the full kit. apart from all that the freak looks cool, and i (hope) shoots great because i just orderd the 8 insert kit
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoulJahofPress Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock black magic barrel
stock spyder barrel
boomstick
kaners
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Black Magic (black to silver)
freak barrel system
70/4500 crossfire stubby
halo B

2001 right feed wgp cocker
03 wgp pneus
03 wgp bolt
black magic cocking rod
Recommended
Paintballs:
well, i use wgp domination and perfection... small bore, might want to try something larger
Strengths: Hmm...
- Gives different bore sizes.
- Pretty accurate if you get it sized correctly.
- Average quietness.
Weaknesses: Apparently nobody knows how to size paint :-/
See review...
Review: Well, my freak came with my cocker that I had bought off ebay 3 years ago for 10$. Yes, I was extremely suprised becuase the freak wasn't advertised. Sadly, its like an 18-20 inch freak and I am way too cheap to buy a new front, so everyone thinks that I want to be a sniper or something. Anyways, the biggest weakness that I saw, is that my inserts are either sized wrong or, well that must be it. The paint I use fits perfectly in .687 but is too small for .679... So apparently the freak defies the laws of physics... or is just trying to piss me off.
Good barrel but there is better out there, I would look at stiffis and one piece cps, just find the size of the paint you use and buy that size barrel, ignore kits unless you really use alot of different paints.
Conclusion: good barrel but there's better. not worth the cash that most people pay.
well it only cost me 10$ so for the price i paid... its great =D
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icecreamman295 Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder barrels
Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
2nd Gen ACS bolt/ bought seperatly
16" freak barrel
20oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Looks awesome, intimidating
Accurate(obviously)
Weaknesses: PRICE,
PRICE,
The inserts are made of weak material,
and PRICE
Review: Very accurate barrel system. Any ball available will work with it do to the inserts, (which I think were a great idea) I could place shot after shot on my target and when ever I broke a ball I didn't even notice, It cleans itself mostly. I've never had a problem with paint getting in the porting. This is a great and necessary upgrade for any gun.
Conclusion: This is a very reliable, accurate, great shooting barrel at a really crazy price. The price is the only thing I don't like about this barrel. Also, the inserts are really fragile so be careful not to dent them or you have ruined the insert. I give it a 9 for performance and a 7 for price(got mine on eBay for a steal)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005 at 11:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryutsuzen Thursday, June 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels on spyders timmys angels mags cockers, pretty much every other stock barrel, Evil Pipe, all american, raven aero barrel.
Marker Setup: -spyder tl-r
-ESP rocking trigger frame
-xfs extreme advantage spyder board
-dual 50g trigger switches
-dye sticky 3 grip
-apocalypse custom snatch grip
-phsyco ballistics 3d flame drop foward
-smart parts 4500psi HPA remote
-crossfire 68ci 4500psi HPA tank
-dye burn/ice 68ci tank cover
-smart parts freak barrel system
-deadly wind RAIL system
-15* LP valve
-15* LPC
-trinity 9* reverse front LPR
-LAPCO clamping feed neck
-egg with modified Z board
-dye stickies
-300fps@200psi
-the coolest paint job and self milling you can imagine
Recommended
Paintballs:
Well, it has inserts for all sizes so i guess you should use the best you can get.
Strengths: Accuracy
Silence
Inserts
Weaknesses: None really
Review: Before purchasing my first pieces of the freak barrel system I was using a stock one piece spyder barrel (because my raven wasnt compatible with the RAIL). With that barrel i was getting a five foot cone at 15 yards even with most of my present fixins. Clearly, i needed a new barrel. So i did some research and a friend recommended the freak barrel system.

This barrel is cool stuff. Right out of the box it was great. I was so exited i went to try it in my back yard imediately. I loaded in some spare marbalizers and the .688 insert and set fly a perfect stream of paint hitting within a 6 inch cone at 40 yards. Amazing. This is one of the better barrels out there. Probably even better than the pipe. My second test was with different paints. I had draxus, big ball, zap chronic, and PMI premium. This system had an insert to fit them all perfectly. I was even achieving decent accuracy from 6 month old practice paint.

My third test was on the proving grounds of california paintball park, and this barrel proved itself. In our first speedball game I was able to tag a guy right in the face with my first shot. Nice. Another thing i noticed about this barrel was the consistency. The arc was the same from shot to shot making for a nice little stream at 32bps. You can lite people up with this barrel from 30 yards if you can hit the broad side of a barn at point blank.

This barrel is as close to perfect as barrels can get.
I have mine with an AA back, freak insert kit, and custom freak front
Conclusion: This is a great upgrade for your marker and a vast improvement over any stock barrel.
You will achieve point and shoot accuracy with this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ThE_EmineM_ShoW Wednesday, January 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JJ barrels
Dye
All american
Marker Setup: 04 vert Autococker --black-- 12" Freak , 72cu/3000psi pure energy HPA, 12v revy with X board.

---BACK UP---

Spyder body- Sprint ESP frame, rear cocking, shocktech super fly bolt, new hammer, 32 degreez foregrip, 32 degreez expansion chamber, drop, 12" J&J 2 peice full tilt barrel, 12v Revy with X board, 72cu/3000psi pure energy HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Well...because of the inserts id say anything, as long as its good quality.
Strengths: -Accuracy due to Changing bore size
-Looks
-Changing bore sizes
Weaknesses: -Price
-Inserts are sorta weak..be careful with them!!
-Cleaning
Review: I had a friend buy this barrel for his cocker and i tested it out and instantly loved it. So, once i picked up my own cocker i needed a barrel so i picked up the freak since i was already impressed by it before. It is the best thing i could have done to my cocker. To start, it looks so damn sexy, and it really made my gun quiet, i mean, really quiet. Then the accuracy was perfect. With the right insert it is ball on ball, i dont care how far away you are. Now that i got the freak, if i see a foot or hopper hangin out its easy to pick them off within my first or second shot, even from far away. Which is really nice. So, if your looking for a new barrel for any gun i say pick up a freak, you wont regret it.
Conclusion: All around a GREAT product!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 27th, 2005 at 7:07 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media