paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
TIPPY NIKY 98C Sunday, September 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
j j edge kit, teardrop, progressive - only the j j kit can compete.
Marker Setup: 04 impulse w/ Vision
ndz Rip Valve
ndz Slick Shot Ram
ndz Titanium Pull pin
ndz Halo low-rise
ndz Equalizer bolt ( Flush )
ndz Mag- Blade Trigger
SP LPR kit
WAS
HALO B
Freak kit
68/3000 nitro duck tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY!!! u get the kit for a reason.
Strengths: Very accurate
Use any size paint
Looks cool
Get to choose the type of front.
Weaknesses: Aluminum is a bit weak must be careful.
Price is a little much

Review: well this barrel is a huge upgrade from my progressive. The inserts are my best friend : ) i cant believe how accurate it was when i matched it up right. Also this barrel is verry accurate about 2" to 4" seperation from 65 feet. Also you get to choose the front you want! i picked the AA front. The looks is also very cool and distinctive. Everyone knows the barrel right when they see it. The only bad thing is that the aluminum is very fragile. You should take real care of it. The price is a little too much but you get wat u pay for.
Conclusion: this is obviously one of the top barrel systems out there. This is a must for any tourney player. get it. Its so accurate its " FREAKY " hahah how corny.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 22nd, 2004 at 10:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mevanking Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
original barrel
Marker Setup: 2002 wgp autococker with blade triggerframe, black magic reggy, orracle 3 way, superfly bolt, freak system
Recommended
Paintballs:
whats weird now since u bout the nice barrel u need really nice paint
Strengths: shoots any paint ok
Weaknesses: extremly hard to clean fast
Review: well really bang for the buck. still hard to clean get the 14 inch barrel and ull love it and people will look up to u. well its telling me to put more words in so i am sooo umm hope u have fun with this barrel go bunker someone
Conclusion: one and final saying buy the best barrel then buy some of the nicest paint
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

malign Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP tear drop. BOMB (still a good barrel), CP, Dye, you name it.
Marker Setup: My current is an orracle cocker with freak, PE tank, and an EVO II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever you want, fits anything.
Strengths: Great fitting systems, options, accuracy.
Weaknesses: Inserts can be damaged.
Review: Bought mine when they came out initialy for an 2k1 rf cocker. It worked great with any paint. Since then it has been on 3 other guns including my favorite, the orracle. You just can't beat the barrel. It is quiest, accuracy fits well, ubelievable well made for what you pay now (170 online for a full kit, all aluminum) and I've never had an issue with it. All problems I thought I had with the barrel, later turned out to be the paint or the gun, or my inability to size paint correcltly.

If you want the maximum ability to size and aren't so clumsy as to drop the insert and then step on it (some people I know) then get this barrel. YOU SIMPLY CAN'T GO WRONG.
Conclusion: Wonderfull piece of equipment, a must for me when I play. I JUST CAN'T PLAY AS WELL WITHOUT MY FREAK.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

geoxx Sunday, January 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Barrel Kit, Long Shots, Big Shots, Armsens, and most Dye barrels
Marker Setup: -2k2 Red/Black Fade Custom Milled GZ Timmy w/ WAS Board and everything
-Impulse w/ unfortuently about every imaginable upgrade on it (not much you can to to improve them anymore than they are outta the box, but they are nice guns)
Recommended
Paintballs:
not crap
Strengths: -Ends up cheaper than buying nice extra barrels for guns if you own more than one.
-Allows you to use almost whatever paint you want (as long as its in descent condition it'll work)
-Much more consistancy over the chrono
-Accuracy is a bit better than other barrels ive used
-Effiecincy is better
-Looks great, and can match your marker
-Can be changed to an appropriate length/color/insert/gun backing in almost no time
-Im sure theres more im forgetting
Weaknesses: nothing you wouldnt have with any other barrel, price seems a bit high at first but there are reasons, and the price is fairly cheap as you'll read below.
Conclusion: Buy it, the price seems a bit high, but when u use it you'll see why they've sold so many. And if you have several guns the price actually ends up cheaper than buying new barrels for each gun seperate. The people that rank this a 1 or 2 either have never used one and are jealous in some way, didnt take care of it in the least, or had a 1 in 10000 chance of getting maybe a faulty one, but i bet thats not the reason:)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ImHitImHit Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ RT, Total freak kit w/ all american tip.
Recommended
Paintballs:
viper venom's or better
Strengths: Total freak kit is a great barrel kit w/ everything you need.
Weaknesses: See Below....
Review: I'm selling my Total freak kit for the A5. Send me an email if you are intrested. I used it only once and it is in perfect condition...It doesn't even have a scratch on it. The lowest price I have seen it sold for is 179.99 on the internet. I will sell the kit for 140.00. I have the receipt that I purchased it less than a month ago.
bkp01@adelphia.net
Thanks,
Brian
Conclusion: Good barrel for any user.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evan2645 Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used any barrels with the ability to change bore sizes before.
Marker Setup: 32 Degrees Impulse w/ Vision & Cricket Board
-68/4500 carbon fiber tank
-maxflo 4500 regulator
-tape werm
-freak barrel sys w/ teardrop front
-Evolution II
-delrun bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
ALL STARS AND MARBELIZERS
Strengths: -ability to change bore size
-front/back customizability
-accuracy
-doesnt break paint
Weaknesses: -sticker placement, other than that, i have not found ANY
Review: This barrel has been amazing for me so far. I find the accuracy unbelievable (although, i have never tried any bore changing barrels before) and i have shot almost 8 cases through it already and i have yet to break a ball. It greatly decreases the volume of my shots (compared to other barrels, you must also keep in mind that impulses are low-pressure, so they would naturally be quieter than any other high-pressure based marker). I love the ability to change the length by switching out the fronts. I have a 14 inch for normal play and i have a 12 inch for front play during tournaments. The only thing that REALLY annoys me about the Freak is that it has stickers on it, and i dont know if their supposed to be this way or not, but the stickers are slightly rotated to the right and it REALLY REALLY bugs me that they are not perfectly aligned. They do not make any difference whatsoever for performance (obviously) but some of us like our equipment to perform good, and look good too. I have not read a great deal into the Jr. Freak simply because i needed the full set, but if you are just a rec player and you REALLY REALLY want a freak, i suggest the Jr. Freak. The price difference is pretty big and from what i know now, the Jr. Freak is pretty much the same thing as the full kit just missing a few things. For tournament players - this is the barrel kit for you. I strongly reccomend it. Just be sure to keep the inserts in the case, because i have heard of them being on the floor and having someone step on them, causing them to bend or dent.
Conclusion: REC PLAYERS - LOOK INTO THE JR. FREAK
TOURNY PLAYERS - THIS IS YOUR BARREL
If you dont know why i am saying this, you obviously havent read my review yet...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 2nd, 2003 at 12:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redz22 Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Vs3, pmi 72/3000, t-board, wdp loc soc, cp reg, freak barrel, Trinity VS reg adapter, Bloodline push button asa, egg2, Dye I3
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Light, strong, quiet, accurate, looks good
Weaknesses: Price, made by Smart Parts
Review: I have the Full Freak Kit and I will review it.

Quality:
The quality of the Freak is pretty good. I've heard stories that the inserts were easy to bend and break but they aren't. It came in a nice little Freak Case and has inserts in the foam for the inserts and barrel. The foam isn't really cut all too well but I can get over that. The barrel is really sleek looking too.

Accuracy:
The accuracy is really good. I was using a Walmart brand paint and I was able to keep it withing a 1 ft target using a VS3 and shooting 13 bps, so thats pretty good if you aske me. The inserts help the accuracy a lot because they keep the ball straight which, in turn, creates a extremely accurate gun.

Sound:
This thing made my VS3 a lot quieter with all the porting, I got the 14 in one and the whole barrel front is porting. Which is like 6,7, or 8 in of porting. It has 4 rows of porting with slits inbetween those rows.

Inserts:
The inserts are sturdy, and really accurate. The insert sizes are: .695, .693, .691, .689, .687, . 684, .682, .679. All of the inserts are a different color which makes the barrel look a whole lot better. I am freezing paint now and will post how it does with that later.

Conclusion: 9 because its made by Smart Parts
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghost264 Thursday, August 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing with inserts, flatline, boomstick, Custon products...
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 W/ rt
20 oz Co2
Collapsable Stock
Swat Light
BSA Red Dot Scope
14in Freak Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything... isnt that what the inserts are for?
if ya really want one... draxuss
Strengths: Extremely Quiet
Great Accuracy
Weaknesses: Inserts can be damaged -they do have staineless option
cant shoot ducks in the air?
Review: The Freak Barrel is very good i tested my friends 18in Barrel on my A-5 and i figured it was great on accuracy. he paid 109 for his and only got 1 insert. this barrel was way too long and made my gun look pretty funny. im gonna laugh when we play woods ball when he hits this on a tree. i was impressed with the acurracy and how quiet it was. i got one for myself with the 14in AA front... this is even quieter. for the barrel it is great for all players and you can different backs if you have multiple guns or diffrent length fronts if you want. it may just become better than the boomstick.
Conclusion: great barrel and has many pluses over other barrels. if ya have a little extra cash i would recomend it to anyone who is looking for a better barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 4th, 2004 at 4:22 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

penguins_r_kewl Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP barrels, JJ Ceramic
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor, Freak barrel with SS back, Shocktech lpc, revy(midnight blue and black dust), 20oz co2.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS and Diablos
Strengths: VERY accurate, customizable, differant bores.
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This is the best barrel Ive ever used. But IMO its a lil overpriced. Just do what I did, I bought a back, front and one insert. This barrel is SO accurate. Plus, it looks awesome, if you get the Stainless Steel back like me. It is also customizable, you can change fronts, backs, and bores.
Conclusion: Great barrel! I would recomend it to anyone, if they feel like paying for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dandamanyo22 Sunday, October 16th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boom stick, but boom stick is better
Marker Setup: ion stock cause i got no money
freak barrel kit
DYE STICKY 3'S WOO
empire reloader b (diamond coated)
45/4500
dye invision
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any exept brass eagle.
Strengths: 7 Colours, 9 bore sizes,accuracy.
Weaknesses: Cant get green, price and durabilty.
Review: Ok i got this because my friend has a boom stick(witch is way better) the only reason i got this is because i wanted a new barrel and the shop i went to they had these so i got it now when i brought this home it went into the gun good and i went into my back yard and shot a couple of rounds and they were right on the target mabye like 1 or half a inch spred from about 2 to 25 feet away, now my friends boom stick can do all this from about 40 feet, now i have had it for about 3 months and some of the paint has scracthed off but thats ok, but my other friend ian has 1 and the first month he took a huge dive and it dented so if ur nto doing dives try not to hit this onto the ground, meow the price of this barrel is horible like really bad like u can get a boom stick for $50 cheeper so i recomend getting it but if this is all u can get then get it.
Conclusion: Its ok but not good get a boom stick cause dye is the obly way to go
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 26th, 2005 at 8:00 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media