paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel / Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel / Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel

Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 78
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
These awesome two-piece barrels combine the best of both worlds. A Teardrop front section and All American back make an extremely long ranging and accurate tournament barrel.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Big Daddy Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, January 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: Avalon Gt commando 2, all stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS marballizers are dead nuts accurate, Diablo blaze worked alright
Strengths: Its pretty quiet, all i could hear really was the bolt on the gun. However, on the commando thats pretty loud anyways. With the Marballizers i put about 4 or 5 balls right on top of each other from about 50 feet away. It was simply amazing. The diablo blaze did much better than stock barrel, but the grouping wasn't quite as good as marballizer, but still pretty damn good. Basically what im trying to say with all this rambling is that its quiet and damn accurate. If you miss with this thing, you need to be beaten with it. nobody should miss with this.
Weaknesses: Im not sure if its the gun or the barrel, but the barrel didn't fit my Gt commando. Its supposed to take standard spyder threads, but it didn't. We complained to the place I bought it from, and they were extremely helpful and sent me a new barrel in a couple of days. Unfortunatly, it looked like the same damn barrel. Anyways, it didn't fit either. With a dremel tool, some steel wool, and a lot of cussing we managed to make it fit. We got out the micrometer and pitch gauge, and the threads were EXACTLY the same as my stock barrel. We still can't figure out why the damn thing wouldn't fit.
Conclusion: Basically, everybody should have one of these barrels. Its a little expensive, but, i got mine for $64. The people there were really great too. Its worth the money. Make sure where ever you get it from you tell them what color you want, black or purple. My black one matches the gun exactly. Anyways, go get one, just don't play against me with it. I give it a 9 just cuz of the compatability problems, which can probably be attributed to the gun, not the barrel. Otherwise it'd be a perfect 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ConorC4 Thursday, January 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
j an dj ceramic, stock on spyder ad stock on avenger(worst gun ever made i don't see how it got a 7.6)
Marker Setup: spyder xtra, 16 in. Big Daddy, dye sticky grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
proball, marbalizer
Strengths: -possibly the best looking barrel out there
-quiets the gun down a whole lot but xtras aren't that lod to begin with so i guess thats a maybe
-accurate i shot about twenty five shots at a tree(its a slim tree but its not oo thin) from about 35-40 yards and most hit the tree and iff the didn't they went just to the side
Weaknesses: i got a terrible color cause i ordeed it online but i still only paid 64 for it
its lie a purplish gray its not that badit just doesn't match my gun
Conclusion: you should get it if you want to
they are kinda expensive though
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock...Boomstick
Marker Setup: TL+, 20 oz. tank, laser sight, 18 inch Smart Parts Big Daddy barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Adrenaline all the way....best ball around.
Strengths: Extremely accurate. It is just as accurate or more than the Tippmann flatline. I hit a half dollar at 35 yards. That should tell you something. The Boomstick has the same accuracy, but costs......40 bucks more. I found mine for $65. Get it if you have the money. Great barrel.
Weaknesses: The ports are a little hard to clean. Find a long squeegee if you get the 18 inch model...
Conclusion: A great barrel for the beginning and experienced barrel. Puts a backspin on it (if your velocity is set right) just like the Tippmann flatline does. Get it if you have the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tim2thousand4 Sunday, January 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, 32 degrees carbon fiber barrel
Marker Setup: piranha sts g3 vertical feed, 12 volt revvy, vigilante reg, 20 oz co2 w/ anti syphon tube, mad man spring kit, 18 inch big daddy barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Since it is cold rps polar ice, also rps all star, el tigre, and powerball.
Strengths: This barrel is accurate at a fairly long range. It is a barrel well worth the 90 dollars I got it for. This barrel has a kind of a lob when you shoot it at a long range, but who cares? All barrels do that! The porting is nice, it is fairly quiet, and just as accurate as the boomstick. It is really nice.
Weaknesses: There is not really anything significantly wrong with this barrel, just make sure your gun shoots hard so it doesn't lob the ball. Also, if you pull your squeegie the wrong way through the barrel it can be really anal to clean.
Conclusion: It is a good barrel for the money and I would highly recommend getting it. I am giving it an 8 because you can get a really accurate barrel a little cheaper, but comparing this barrel to a boomstick's price, it is a good bargain.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c, polished internals, full boar shadow, x-chamber, some sort of drop forward
Strengths: improves range and accuracy a ton., looks good (simple, doesnt hurt ur eyes like a stealth), well made (smart parts) and just about everything else.
Weaknesses: porting can be a little hard to clean, but thats pretty insignificant if u have a sink somewhere in ur house. also a little on the loud side, but my gun is loud anyway wothout it so i dont think it is so much the barrel as the gun. a little pricey, but you can find good deals out there
Conclusion: get the barrel, everything else will follow...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dye stainless, dye aluminum, wgp stock barrel, spyder stock 12'' barrel, custom cut x raider series barrel, WGP "boomstick" 2piece barrel, CP 2piece 10'' barrel,
Marker Setup: spyder xtra, 32degrees shark drop, kapp on/off ASA, macroline, psycho ballistics x-core 8 stage expansion chamber. ....and an ANS GX3 autococker.
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium bore, anything. this barrel is very forgiving!
Strengths: QUIET, quiet in the sense it makes you open blowback almost sound something like a quiet autococker...! dead nuts accurate. stiff arbor honing. high quality, retains it's value. this barrel is 2 piece , half all-american, half tear drop.
Weaknesses: hard to find, EXPENSIVE. cant take it apart. to put different length tips.
the only bad thing is that it's bad a$$!.
Conclusion: buy it. stop reading. buy 2, one for play, and one for show. ----> the boomstick is way over-rated... dye makes good barrels and stuff.. but it's like saying, what is better, stickshift, for automatic? it's all personal preference. i would say the big daddy is better cuz it is better at shooting a more well rounded number of different types of paint. flexibility and value. PERFECT. 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 31st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American, TearDrop, BoomStix
Marker Setup: Piranha G3 VF Titanium is what i'm currently using the BigDaddy on.
Recommended
Paintballs:
All Paint depends on What Size BORE you get. I got the MEDIUM, it seems to accomodate the cheaper bulk bargain basement Field Paint
Strengths: It's tight, i found my range and accuracy were doubled, when i chronographed the gun with this barrel versus the stock barrel i found that the BigDaddy gave me aprox. 23fps (feet per second) more.
the barrel looks trick, even though it's not done up with splash and crap, it still offers that needed intimedation factor on the field.
Haven't had a break yet in the damn thing and i fired well over 4000 balls off the bugger.
Loved the barrel so much i was going to buy a sencond one for my other gun, instead...after some research, i bought an All American with a TearDrop front and guess what...IT"S THE SAME DAG NAB THING>>>and i saved a few bucks!
Weaknesses: people are saying "it's hard to clean", these are the kids that must have had their parents clean their room for them and this is the first thing that they ever had to clean...run it under hot water, for gods sake. Nothing more needed.
If you don't have the money for the BigDaddy or you would like the splash patterns, then here is my advise. Smart Parts now offer the All American barrel in 2 peices, so just order an All American with a TearDrop front section in the color scheme you want, and BANG you have a BigDaddy at a lower cost, i only wish Smart Parts were doing that before i bought mine the first time...would have saved me a few more dollars i could have spent on paint....lol
Conclusion: This is a great barrel for the price and it out performs many of the more expensive barrels. If you're thinking about getting it then take my advise...buy it, or go the el'cheapo way and order the All American with TearDrop front.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 30th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Zero Gravity, Dye Boomstick, All Kingman Stock Barrels.
Marker Setup: TL Plus, TL Plus Regulator, Big Daddy Barrel, Mako ELCD Storm Grip, 16 Oz Tank, 12V Rev. Hopper.
Strengths: + One of the more quieter barrels out there.
+ VERY good range, one of the BEST.
+ Extremely accurate, I can hit a 5 in. x 5 in. target from over 100 ft. consistantly.
+ Strong material, not easily dented or scratched.
+ Only broken 2 paintballs in about 1500 shots, and the 2 balls were very cheep.
+ Looks really cool!
Weaknesses: - Due to so much porting can be tough to clean, you can just use toothpicks, or Q-Tips, or just run a little bit of water through it.
- If you get the barrel in more than 14 in. it gets tough to move around quickly.
Conclusion: If you have the money to buy this barrel I fully recommend it. If you are thinking about getting the Dye Boomstick insted, don't, get this, you won't regret it. You know this barrel is good because it has the awesome front Teardrop section, and the sweet All American back section. Check it out here: http://www.smartparts.com/page/57
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:

Armson Stealth
Marker Setup: Piranha G3 Pro Ext with Big Daddy Barrel or sometimes Armson Stealth
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any balls RPS or better
Strengths: Pretty Accurate
Fairly Quiet
Cheap (only $60 at the right place)
Balls don't break very often in barrel
Weaknesses: Well, I personally think the Armson Stealth is a better barrel. It is much more accurate and is designed not to have any paintballs break in it. In my experience the Armson Stealth is quieter and is a better choice.
Conclusion: Since the big daddy and the armson stealth are the same price $60) i would say go with the armson, you will be much more satisfyed
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smartparts teardrop ( damn good 4 the money )
Marker Setup: tppman '98, big daddy barrel, hyper star bol,t electronic upgrade, VL revolution hopper, realtree hopper cover, tippman grenade launcher upgrade (fun as hell to shoot at pople behind bushes )
Recommended
Paintballs:
Almost antthing still works great
Strengths: doesn't break a ball since i've had the barrel it has only broken like 10-15 balls but it regains it's acuracy quickly, damn good distance ( i once had an opponent like 200 yards out with a lil tree in the way but i shot a 5 round burst and hit him 3 times ) kick ass accuacy ( better than my friends dad when he is using a pump and he is scarily good with 1) and of cource is great with rapid fire ( once i was shoting squirrils out of a tree and i put on full auto and was able to hit a squirrel 6-7 times before it broke it's neck on 50 ft. drop)
Weaknesses: ummmmmmmmmmmmmmm i cant find it in any kind of green or a camo color
Conclusion: i will put my gun up to full velocity, go over to your house and shoot u up while you're in th sower if u would rather get a flatline ( they chop like every ball )
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media