paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps / Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps / Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps / Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps

Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hundredth Monkey

Buy Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps

Paintball Headwear

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hundredth Monkey has developed the first ever protective headgear designed for paintballers. Our soft shell TurtleCaps provide head protection to players without affecting their game. Now, players who don't like getting hit in the head are no longer limited to big bulky hard plastic helmets which subject them to ridicule, hinder playing, and are not designed for paintballers.

Hundredth Monkey Caps are great for tournament players, recreational players, referees, and spectators. If you're a field owner, your main concern is to provide availability of all paintball safety gear for your customers and you need Hundredth Monkey TurtleCaps in your pro shop to do that. Ask for Hundredth Monkey Caps if your field's pro shop doesn't carry them.
Product Availability 
The Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
orgcrime red 35 Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hat
Dye Sock Hat
Headbands
Marker Setup: Silver Alias w/ Blue Accents
Blue CP Reg
Hybrid LPR
Hybrid Adj Ram Cap
Hybrid Contract Killer Panel Grips
Trinity Uni-Mount
CP Stick Trigger
Dye Ultralite Barrel 16"
Halo B w/ Victory Board
68/4500 Pure Energy Preset Tank
Strengths: BOUNCES!!
Comfortable
Completely Tournament Legal
Safe/Protective
Ventilated
Looks Good
Not Bulky
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have used this product for a couple of years now and have never had any problems with it. The first one i got was a the first generation and was a little too small but a couple of months ago I got one of the new ones which now come in S, M, L, and XL, of course i got the XL and it fits perfectly (i have a pretty "big head"), i absolutely love this hat. I have worn it in all of the major tournaments (NPPL, XPSL/Pan Am, local, etc.) and it is always legal, Hundredth Monkey even sponsors the NPPL Refs and they all wear them (White and Black edition, which are not legal for players). Another great thing is that it is only considered one layer and since you are allowed to wear two layers you can wear a visor, headband, etc. over it and it is still legal and ur still looking good. I haven't ever had any problems with it making my head too hot or anything like that, i play mostly in So Cal weather. I think the best thing about it is that a ball will hardly ever break on it because of its protective/padded properties they just bounce right off! I have taken many bounces off of mine as have many other people i have seen wearing them. Also, it is very protective, i can faintly remember how getting hit in the head (even from far away) felt before i got this hat, but now you hardly feel anything. I recently got bunkered in an OSC pump tournament and he shot me directly in the head and i hardly felt anything, but of course i wasn't surprised since i've used it for so long.
Conclusion: BUY THIS HAT! If you are looking for some new head gear, have recently been bunkered in the head and are looking for some more protection, or are just a tournament player looking to reduce those paint breaks on your head i highly recommend this hat. Unless you like the egg sized bumps sticking out of ur head you should take a look at this product because with it on you won't feel any head hits like that again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mxmtl Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bandanna
Sandana
Marker Setup: Eclipse ETek EGO
+ Myth Regulator on CP 68/4500 Tank
+ Viewloader VLocity
+ 14" .690 Proto One Piece Barrel
Strengths: Bouncy Head Protection
Machine Washable
Weaknesses: None
Review: I've used one of these for a year now.

I've been bunkered in the head without protection, with a sandanna, and with the turtle cap. Wearing the turtle cap rates much less painful. It takes the shell shock and sting out of the hits.

With the exception of brittle paint, this cap does get bounces most of the time. I wear it more for protection than for bounces.

What is surprising about the turtle cap is that it breathes very well in warm weather. It is also machine washable.

I own two now, black and camo.
Conclusion: I recommend this unless you enjoy welts on your head.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder5oh Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular Baseball Cap
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo - J&J 12'' Cerimec barrel, Cross Fire HPA, regular Hopper, and Nxe HPA cover.
Strengths: Protect your Head
Keep you cool during summer
Keep you warm during winter
Weaknesses: The high price
Review: The Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps is a great investment when you get hit on the head.
I remember that I was hit on the head with a cheap paintball and it hurt.

Since I used this cap, some time the paintball bounce. Also I can not feel the pain when the paintball hit around my head.


Conclusion: The Hundredth Monkey Turtle Caps is worth buying, but the price is too much.
However, I'm glad that I have this cap.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SuddenDeath Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Baseball caps, headwraps, headbands.
Marker Setup: N/A
Strengths: Bounce, bounce and more bounce.
Weaknesses: A little higher profile. Price.
Review: This cap is nice, worth every penny. The first day I used, no lie, every ball that hit the mid/top of this cap bounced. I usually don't get shot that much in the head, but your height changes just a little with this cap on. Small adjustment in playing will take care of that.

I found out that if you get hit up top, it will most likely bounce. Closer to the brim it will break but could potentially bounce. The cap is made to sit up a little higher off your head. Iím guessing this is designed allow the heat to escape and provide the bounce factor. I also like the extra long visor to protect the back of your neck in case you get bunkered.

If you like to wear your goggles over the cap like I do, you'll need to get used to it. The thickness of the cap doesn't let the goggles sit flush. You could just wear your goggles just below the brim as well. Although I used the word thick, don't be fooled, this cap is very light.
Conclusion: Great cap, great protection. Wish the price were a little lower but still a worthy investment.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Sandana-doesn't protect as much, but I still wear it + a headband
-Beanie-Cheaper and works well, but not as cool
Marker Setup: Does it matter?...
Viking
Cocker
VSC Phantom
Strengths: Protection
Ventilation
Sexiness
Weaknesses: Price
Review: My dad bought one of these for my little brother after he got a lump from gettin shot in the head...my dad's paranoid about drain bamage, so he thought these were a good idea.

They are. Nice protection, lots of colors, and overall looks are very good (and not awkward as you'd think a padded cap would be.) As with any hat, if you plan on wearing it forwards, it's a good idea to have mask like a Profiler or a Pro-flex so that it doesn't make your profile that much larger.
Conclusion: A good buy if you're concerned about getting shot in the head.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 7th, 2004 at 4:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jodo_Kast Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
A "militia" esq hat
Marker Setup: The MR-2, 20 OZ C02 tank, electronic hopper, Tru-Flight 14 " barrel
Strengths: Its thick, and comfortable!
Weaknesses: Not realy a weakness, but the price.
Review: The first time going to a paintball shop, the guy working had one of these on, and I realy liked it. He told me to go to hundreth monkey, but I never could find one available for sale. I went back a few days ago, and he had ordered two more, so I picked one up tried it on, and liked it.

The $35 price point was sorta high for my budget, as I didn't realy want a hat, but man, I just couldn't get over how cool it was, so I got it anyway, in black.

I've been hit in the head before, and it does hurt, but I'm preety sure this hat will make you worry free of head impacts. Its heavy duty, and has a great range of protection. Plus you could always wear it around, outside the paintball feild.
Conclusion: I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a hat, or someone who was afraid of getting a head shot, or has a past expeirence with a head shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baby boomer Sunday, July 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Baseball cap
"Head Saver"
Marker Setup: Timmy Empire Red to Black fade
Empire Barrel Set
Empire Reloader-B
Palmer Reg
Nitro Duck Tank
RMR Ramrod/LockDown
Strengths: Fits very well
Good ventalation
Protects head from direct hit.
Weaknesses: Nothing as of today
Review: I played a tourneyment today, 7 matches in very hot/humid weather in CT. My head was not sweating like it did with the "Head Saver" I used last weekend. Also, it fits very good and my mask worked great with the hat. It has very good legal padding and also a lot of vents to let out the heat. If you want your head saved from bunkering, get this hat asap.

Walter
Conclusion: Get this hat asap if you want your head safe from close range bunkering and still staying cool in very hot/humid weather.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GabeA23 Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
normal hat
Strengths: Good padding
Eliminates pain of head-hit
Comfortable
Good fit
Good ventilation
Weaknesses: Brim is the same as any other hat
Price
Looks a little bulky
Review: I played with this hat for my first time yesterday, and it was pretty cool. You dont have to worry about getting hit on the head. You can feel the thud of a hit, but it is not painful. I got shot twice in the head, one was a bounce, and the other was a break. The break however was where the brim meets the actual hat so it was expected. It also keeps your head cool by allowing air to flow freely. The brim has no padding which almost means a definite break, which i dont like. Also, you wouldnt wear this hat to the beach or something, its kind of bulky and slightly awkward looking, which doesnt bother me because it does its job. It still looks cool though (i got the black color).
Conclusion: Although it is overpriced right now at $35, i would get this hat. It gets you bounces, cools your head, and gives you some extra confidence during the game or while bunkering someone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hxc-ecs Sunday, February 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hat
jt Sock Hat
Headbands
Beanie
Marker Setup: dm8
dm9 eye pipe
b wing bolt
sly barrel kit
cp trigger
cp reg
cp flow plug
cp asa
Strengths: BOUNCES
very Comfortable
100% Tournament Legal
Safe
Protective
Ventilated
Looks Good
Machine Washable
Weaknesses: High price
A little bulky
Review: Iv played with this hat a lot. I didnt have to worry about getting hit on the head. Its a little bulky but it ok the number of bounces you will get with makes it worth it. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a good hat to play in.
Conclusion: a little overpriced at $35...... Get this hat if you want your head safe from close range bunkering.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dirty Drummer Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Beanie
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
Halo B Hopper
Clamping feed neck
Freak Jr. Back w/ .689 insert
Mini-Drop w/ on/off valve
HPA 3,000psi tank
Strengths: Light
Good protection
Fits well with mask on
Different colors to choose from
Weaknesses: XL is still a little small for me
Price
Review: Ok, after getting shot in the back of the head by somebody shooting hot, I decided it was time to get some head protections. I tried usinga beanie but that didn't really work.

When I saw the new Hundredth Monkey Turtle Cap I went to my local pro shop and tried one on.

The Fit:
I put it on with a V-Force Profiler at the shop and it fit very well. There was a small gap at my forehead but the visor on the mask covered it up.
I had to get an XL and even then it is just a little tight for me. But I streched it out and it now fits comfortably.

Material:
On the inside there is quadruple stitching so it doesn't look like it's going to come apart anytime soon. The top is very thick and gives ample head protection. The brim is just a normal brim like on any baseball cap.
Conclusion: As far as I'm concerned this cap has no competiton. Get this to protect your head. You won't be sorry.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media