paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Russian Legion Intimidator / Bob Long Russian Legion Intimidator / Bob Long Russian Legion Intimidator / Bob Long Russian Legion Intimidator

Bob Long Russian Legion Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Russian Legion Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Russian Legion Intimidator
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $550

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Capable of firing 25+ BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Russian Legion Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
clintrad420 Sunday, June 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel 1r3, outkast autococker; invert mini; dm6`
Marker Setup: russian legion
16" cp barrel
cp asa
dye sticky grips
evo II loader
loader clamp
dye 68cu 3500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and clamp thats all dropforward if you want
Strengths: Light; fast; easy to strip
Weaknesses: Barrel short but not bad
Review: With out a doubt worth every penny; light as hell and ropes paint like you wouldnt believe, also very cool looking, makes heads turn and then covers them in paint, also very easy on air i suggest new regulator tho its not necassary in all a little expensive but not nearly as much as the super high enders but they cant keep up with me
Conclusion: A must have for serious players
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Oh_So_fast Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dmc- no as fast or as nice a feel, Angel A4 Fly- angels are garbage, Dm5 w/ virtue- as fast but not as light, Ion- there ok but needs to many ups
Marker Setup: Russian legion Timmy, Virtue, CP Reg, Critical Frame/ Trigger, Shocktech Superfly bolt/ ram/ ram cap, Eclipse On/Off, Assassins barrel, 45/4500 Pure Energy, Halo b w/ rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Speed, Weight, Accuracy
Weaknesses: New Barrel Needed
Review: this is one of the best guns ive ever used and the best gun ive ever owned, and its light and fast as hell! The first time I used it I had to buy it when it was only $600. I love this gun its my baby. Ill have a picture of it soon, so you can admire its beauty.
Conclusion: If you ever have chance to pick up 1 of these babies, take my word for it, BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AndyTB Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Virtued DM6
Angel A1

etc.
Marker Setup: Russian Legion Intimidator
Frenzy 127.4f
Hybrid Hedloc2
Critical ASA
SP on/off
CP Trigger
hybrid ram cap
high flow barb kid
DXS 68ci/4500psi LP tank
empire b1 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Adjustable ram cap
Strengths: Lightweight.
Milling/Appearance. (Preference)
Fast.
Easy maintenance.
Bob Long marker, few breakdowns and good service.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel.
Jewels come off easily.
Could use some better grips without gloves.
Review: I picked this up used a few months ago for 430 and am totally wowed by it. The only complaint I could possibly hold is accuracy with the stock barrel. It's very fast and its trigger is extremely light, which may take some getting used to in order to not spray paint but laying down alot of paint fast where it counts makes this a great plus. Maintenance was quick and painless. Simply removing the HPR, LPR and bolt, and greasing or lubing them respectively is a cinch. Afterward readjusting it is quick and painless and doenst require nitpicking throughout play.
Conclusion: I was very pleased with this product, and they are coming cheaper and cheaper as time passes. I highly reccoment this product to anyone who wants a great bang for their buck.

9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adambarracj Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
infinity legend
u'd dmc
fs8
dragon 2.5
Marker Setup: cp shorty reg
diablo flame drop
cp on/off bottomline
cp adjustable ram cap
empire ram
hybrid hedlok feedneck
ul barrel
kila detents
virtue membrane switch
shocktech bolt
trinity front block
trinity ram sleeve
hybrid volumizer
check it lp
hybrid grips
cp rake trigger

plus a few more.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Obviously mine has a lot. But I would get the kila detents, cp trigger, and a new feedneck to start off. (preferably clamping.) And if you want it to be perfect a better barrel.
Strengths: ROF, Accuracy, weight, size, simplicity
Weaknesses: Reliability, but its a beast when it works
Review: I love this gun. I have had it for a year now. Great accuracy and ROF. This is the most accurate timmy I have used and it barely ever chops. The weight is average but the simplicity of the design is a great feature. Compared to my legend, no competition, but the legend just owns period. The ul'd dmc, no competition, the rl puts the dmc in shame. My rl is not very reliable, because of my stock eyes wearing down. This is an amazing backup and now my main gun.
Conclusion: This gun is good for pro's and mid level players out of the box. Great simple gun to learn how to use. Best gun for the price. (Now it is around 700)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper_GC Wednesday, October 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Empire Intimidator, various other Timmy's, DM's, PM's
Marker Setup: 06 Russian Legion Timmy, 68/45 Pure Energy HPA, Empire B2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe new barrel. It will be a personal choice.
Strengths: - Fast!!! Rips right out of the box!!!
- Not as heavy as it looks!
- Amazing trigger!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: First impressions:
As soon as I opened the box I fell in love. Clean look, awesome milling. No imperfections anywhere on anything. The black to red fade looks awesome too. I aired it up and dry fired my entire 68/45 through it. I could not believe how fast this thing was cycling!!!

First day of use:
The first day I used it I was a little nervous. I didn't want anything to go wrong with it. So I chronoed and was impressed with its readings. 280, 278, 282, 275, 277, 281, 280, 279, 283, 280. For brand new reg, not bad. The real surprise was when I actual played with it. We played at the speedball field and this thing was mowing through people.

Tourney I played:
I got the chance to play in a tournament. Of course I used my Timmy. By this time the reg was well broken in so I was getting readings +-2. This is with the Hyper 2 I put on it right away. During all the games I played the RL performed flawlessly. I played 8 matches and burned through the rest of my paint at the end of the day. No barrel breaks(using stock barrel and premium paint), no breech breaks, no double feeds, no nothing except amazing performance!
Conclusion: This gun amazed me. I was never a fan of Timmys because I had always heard they were maintanence nightmares. This gun is easy to tear apart and clean whether at home or at the field.

If you have a bit of extra money laying around and are looking for a new gun, give the Russian Legion a look. You won't be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stevebski Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Classic
Alias Timmy
Eclipse E-Tek
Marker Setup: 2K5 RL Timmy
AdvantagePB Virtue board
Halo B w/ Rip Drive & V35 board
Boosted Halo B w/ Rip Drive & Cheetah board
Crossfire 68/4500

SP Ion
SP Freak system 14"AA tip
ND QEV
ND roller bearing trigger
Redz Clamping feedneck
Lucky Stage 1 & 2 upgrades
Messiah reg
Crossfire 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, anything that fits your style of play. A definite is a really, really fast hopper. You'll blow through paint like it's your job, and you gotta have something to keep up. The stock eye system is good, Bob actually gets the whole ACE concept, but if you're like me and you just never want to throw soup downrange ever, go Virtue. I don't work for the company, but I am a satisfied customer.
Strengths: Build, Looks, Speed, Speed, Speed
Weaknesses: Price. Hint, Hint Bob...
Review: Not really being in the market for a high-end marker, I was actually at the proshop to upgrade my SP Ion when I saw the RL on the wall. I've seen it before in the magazines and online, but never really held one. I couldn't put it down. It fit in my hands great and had a solid feel to it. The trigger is typical Timmy style which is amazing, although I need something that comes out at the bottom like a slingblade trigger (which is in the mail). I got to air it up and throw some reball through it.

So now I'm walking out the door and to the field with my new purchase of a RL intimidator. I take it to the field and over the chrono I get a +/- 8 FPS range. Could be better, but then again it's not broken in yet. The stock assassins barrel is an okay barrel, but not one I'd go out of my way to buy. I throw my Freak on and size it to the paint. I'm getting consistent groupings even in high rates of fire.

Getting to the high rates of fire. Somebody said on here that 14bps is a slow day for this marker. Damn right. I have spent more money on paint in the last 6 months than I have probably all of last year. The thing rips. If you buy one, be sure to have a fast hopper, I've even upgraded my hoppers so they can keep up. V35 or Cheetah works, but be careful of the shell for the V35, I break a lot in the breach from the hopper force at max speed on my V35. I've shot two other timmies and an eclipse e-tek (which functions basically like a timmy) and they all rip. It came down to looks when I purchased it.

I only have a few upgrades that I am going to be buying for it, a CP Slingblade trigger, a Virtue board (only because I am a huge advocate of Virtue products), and a Dye Hyper 2 reg (the torpedo is nice, but I have had only the best experiences with the Hyper 2). Everything else is perfect in my eyes.

9/15/06- I just got back from field testing my new Virtue board upgrade. Having done the research on the replacement boards for the Timmy, my choices came down to Tadao or Virtue. With all that has happened recently on pbnation with Virtue I was hesitant to go Virtue but let me tell you, I'm glad I did. I thought the marker just out-performed every other on the field before. This is just rediculous. Insane speed, awesome eye logic (out of two cases of X-ball silver only one barrel break near the muzzle), and consistency are all that were improved on.
Conclusion: There may be an influx of Egos and Shockers on the field right now, but the Timmy was one of the first and still able to roll with the newer high speed, low drag markers. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase, even if my bank account isn't. For anyone questioning whether or not to buy one, I say get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 16th, 2006 at 5:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thegreatfraggle Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
promaster
dm6
Marker Setup: russian legion
cp feedneck
cp drop and on off
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feed neck
Strengths: The gun has strenths and no weaknesses but the best thing its fast , sexy
Weaknesses: No weaknesses that o know of yet
Review: If you want a fast gun high end willing to pay moolah and want superiorness over all other guns buy this gun and win tourneys buy this gun and get some upps i got mine nib for 600 which is not bad at all for this super awesome bob long made noob puppet mower gatling gun that owns faces
Conclusion: Buy because its fast and sexy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamPointBlank Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Othe timmies.
Marker Setup: 05 Russian Legion Timmy
Torgpedo reg,
Empire Revolver barrel kit
68/45 comp air
Hybrid Bi*** Grips
Psycoballistics bullet drop on/off
Saber trigger

Tippmann A-5 with flatline and/or j&j ceramic14 incc
Low preassure kit with CP reg (set to 400 psi) and 68 cu. in. Nitro
Respnse trigger upgraded
Folding stock
Steel remote hose with 1/4 turn on/off
Shocketect drop forward with 1/4 turn on/of
Graphics kit
Double Trigger
Shocktech superfly


Wgp vert feed
Smart Parts Freak kit
planet eclipse e2-blade
cp regulaor
NeXuS ram
shocktech supa fly bolt
shocktech on/off valve
cp flame drop foward
Wgp orracle LPR
NeXuS QEV's
hybrid ironcross eye cover
kapp twisted cocking rod
shocktech titanium pump arm
Delrin back block

Ion with Blackheart board
Progressive barrel
new designz qev


I can go on and on, so I'll stop here
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock, this marker kicks, but honestly, just a barrel
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
Light
Weaknesses: None
Review: Very nice gun all around

Noise: Very quite, and alot of that comes down to the barrel, but gun runs very quite

Fast: Very high cycle rate, capable of out shooting a halo b with rip

Light: Vey light, very durable

Look: Very nice polish and anodozing, very sharp and eye catching


Edit: I should eloborate a little more. This guns runs efficetnly off of 60 psi, which is insanley low, infact as I understand it, the lowest operating pressure currently out. After some work to the ram(or when I mill my new one) it can work as low as 50, dare i say 45. This results in very high levels of accurace, very little kick and almost no noise. Kick is almost unnoticable at sustained rates of 25bps+. And mind you, other guns can do this as well, but this is stock out of the box with no tweaking. Bob long has a history of making his guns about as good as you could want, straight out of the box.
Conclusion: This gun is fantastic. Probably the best gun i have owned in the past 8 years i hav ebeen playing paintball. Very effecient and very light. Ropes of paint with NO shootdown what so ever. If you have the means, then i strongly suggest you pick one up. If you havent tried one, i suggest you do. I give this a nine on the simple fact that nothing is perfect and can ALWAYS be improved. And also that nothing will ever warrant a perfect 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 31st, 2006 at 12:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

keyfur14 Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Halo B
Cp asa
DYE UL
45/45 macdev
Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg
Barrel
Board
Detents
Strengths: Very Fast, amazingly light, especially with a UL, gas efficiency
Weaknesses: Not very accurate, hard to get to stop bouncing
Review: I own the russian legion(aka stalin) adn was pretty happy with its performance, its easy dissassembly makes it a dream to clean after each day of play. but like all guns it has its set backs. My stock frenzy board is incredibly difficult to neutralize bounce and the stock assassins barrel is sub par. So i replaced the barrel with an UL but the accuracy is still somewhat bad.I was very impresssed by its speed and its gas efficiency. i am able to get off about a hopper and a half on a little less than 1500. I also was amazed by how nice teh sotck trigger was, one of the best in the game still in my perspective.
Conclusion: The russian legion timmy is a great gun for any tournament player especially if you play psp. Key ups: barrel, and reg. I love it and i only bought it nib for 650
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cb_neosythe Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egos and other timmies
Marker Setup: Ion w/
Virtue
Qev
Firebolt
16" progressive
Hedlok
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel....nothign else i could see needed.
Strengths: Fast
Really good trigger
Efficient
Light
Weaknesses: Inaccurate stock barrel
Chops
Review: Now i only tested this gun, and going off the word of the owner.

When holding the marker the first thing of the bat is the clamshell frames on all timmies. Simply just comfortable and comforming to your hand. In a manner that is still agressive and puts you in a forward "KILL" position... But really the gun is light and very compfy.

Next up when you start to tickle the gun you will notice the trigger is very nice. It's light and short...really imagine a mouse and that's very close.

The board on the gun was simple on/off and such. I didn't do much programming wise or anything so i can't comment on that. I did think the LCD was some what hard to see. Not like an Angel LCD which is very clear....C'mon Bob you can do better.

When shooting the marker it was great. The trigger was very easy to rip on and the kick was there, but i didnt' mind as the marker is very compfy and the kick wasn't to hard to control.

I did have a problem with the stock barrel as the balls went every where. I could aim at one bunker and every 1 out of 10 balls would go into another bunker....kinda dumb.

Overall it was a very nice gun, but i'd like to try a different barrel to see if it is worth the serious dough you have to put down for it.
Conclusion: Overall it was a very nice gun, but i'd like to try a different barrel to see if it is worth the serious dough you have to put down for it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media