paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Werks Barrel / Tippmann Werks Barrel / Tippmann Werks Barrel

Tippmann Werks Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Werks Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Werks Barrel
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Solid one piece aluminum construction
Machined from 1” barrel stock
Honed & polished to perfection
Large multi holed muzzle break to reduce noise & increase accuracy
The only barrel created exclusively for the needs of Tippmann markers
Each barrel is hand checked for quality & fit.
Each barrel is individually pack to insure against shipping damage
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Werks Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
toomuchice Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month51 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 flatline, Autococker, angel, impulse, spyder TL, Automag classic, and custom 98 Flatline
Marker Setup: a-5 with a flatline and soon a e kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
ive used Tippmann Werks and it is excellent, Diablo was fine, and any type of paint actually
Strengths: Muzzle reduces sound.
A lot more accurate than stock barrel
Great price
Weaknesses: I dont like how its chrome
There are no other weaknesses
Review: I have a flatline and when im playing speed ball the flatline seems like overkill. I heard of this new barrel and had to try it out. When it arrived i tested it in my backyard and it was perfect for speed ball. There are a lot of barrels that cost a lot more and are of the same quality. If you are a sniper I suggest a flatline because it is overall better and especially because it isn't all chrome and shiny. This barrel although great, has given my position off a couple times. I suggest that you shouldn't use this in woods ball but rather in x ball or speed ball. the barrel is not long which is excellent because it wont get in the way when moving bunker to bunker. Overall i recommend that a Tippmann user buy this barrel. You can always use guillie or some type of camouflage to cover up the chrome.
Conclusion: Anyone looking for a good barrel for their Tippmann should get this. its not only cheap but it is accurate and isn't picky on paint, like the flatline can sometimes be. it can be annoying if you get shot becuase some guy saw a shining barrel, but it does not matter because this barrel i believe was made for speedball. Overall this barrel is a good buy for someone equipped with a Tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Skogz Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel and the flatline
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
14" werks barrel
sniper f/x stock
dead-on pro drop forward
20 oz. tank
aluminum rocket cock
tippmann expansion chamber
titanium bolt
q-loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
any and all
Strengths: Priced well
Accurate
Nice looking
Weaknesses: Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmm...... yeah
Review: I finally decided one summer to put some money into paintball. I had the stock 98 custom for long enough and an upgrade was in order. So i thought to myself, "Self, what is the worst feature of your gun". After much deliberation I came down to accuracy.
So I went barrel shopping, weighing price and using this site extensively to get a feel of actual performance. There were two reviews up at that time for this barrel and both were basically positve, and besides why not get a barrel "made by tippmann for tippmanns". By the end of the week i was in my backyard ready to evaluate the new hardware.

I was immediately happy with my purchase. It looked nice on the gun (initially i didn't like the nice shiny finish as i was used to the matte stock tippmann bareel, but now i find the finish eye catching.) and it was accurate. Very accurate. At 30' a 5" circle was a fine target. Moving back to 50' made me work to keep an 8" circle (lets think how big is a mask?????). I really enjoyed that but then I took the initial bag of paint I purchased when I got my gun (yes really two years old) and got it out of my hopper. Yep, those numbers are with sickly, deformed, and damaged paint. With fresh paint in this thing is spot on.
Conclusion: Great barrel, great price, tippmann quality. How can you go wrong. (Barrel itself may not be a ten but price makes up for any short-comings i haven't seen yet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

MertyPhs Wednesday, September 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman flatline barrel system and tippmann 8" stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C with 14" werks custom barrel and electronic hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Jt-Usa Elites or Pmi- Premiums
Strengths: Breaks down sound, looks great, and very light and maneuverable
Weaknesses: Gives off glare but that doesn't matter down in the woods
Review: This barrel is one that i totally recomend. I bought mine for 60$ about 2-3months ago and have only broken about 10balls per 10000 that i shoot. I recomend the Pmi Premiums because i have only broken maybe 2 of them and have shot over 1000. This barrel is better than the flatline barrel because with this barrel you can shoot faster more effectively with out breaking a ball. Also if you do break a ball it is very easy to clean your barrel out/
Conclusion: If you arew debating between this and a flatline i recomend this for trigger happy people and a flatline for people who are interested in sniping
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

warrior75w Sunday, December 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested24 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
j&j ceramic
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5
co2
double trigger
tippmann 16 inch werks barrel (which is very good )
Recommended
Paintballs:
marballizers
Strengths: Extremly accurate (words cant describe it)
Weaknesses: Extremely nothing wrong
Review: I got this barrel for christmas and i dont kno how some1 can think the barrel is chrome it is just black polished so it has a shine. now i wen out to test the barrel with one of my co2 tanks that didnt hav a lot of co2 in it (almost none) so i was shooting it (with my year old balls) and they werent curvig but they couldnt make it to the target so later in the day my freind came over and we were shooting. this time i used my new paintballs (marballizers) and my new co2 tank that was fully filled this time. i literally didnt miss a target by more than like 2 inches if even. but the thing was i was shootin at leaves and little tree peices 3 inches wide. wen i would shoot at them i kept just missin on my first 2 so i would say i was shootin at around 45 feet away and my range was 5x6. this aint no joke i mean i felt like i was a sniper iwth a real gun.
Conclusion: This barrel rocks for the price of $50 it is insane and i wouldnt go and spend over twice as much on a barrel that is a tiny bit more accurate i definitely recomend it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

LastSurvivor Sunday, December 26th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Excel 14 in- tippmann
Quiet Riot 14 in - Spyder/ tippmann
Flatline - tippmann 98
Terminator 14in- Tippmann/ spyder
Whisper 14 in- Tippmann/ Spyder
Tear Drop 12 in - Tippmann / Spyder
War Pig 16 in - Tippmann
CMI 21 in - Tippmann/ Spyder

Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom (silver)
with Response Trigger
Tippmann Werks 14in
Halo TSA
Dead on Drop Forward w/Gauge
24 oz Co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Dusk
Winchester
Traix if your careful
Strengths: -Very Accurate (It is the most accurate I have used.)

-Shoots very far
Weaknesses: - Didn't find any yet.
Review: This is a great barrel. I have always looked for the most accurate barrel for my Tippmann, and now I have found it. The first time I used it I had some Dusk, Winchester,and some old Triax. First I used the Winchester, which are double layered, so though they did not bust as much all 800 of them shot straight for fifty yards, give or take. Second I used the bad Triax that I left out on accident. The ones that shot where very efficient, but many chopped all though I'd bet my life it was not the barrel. Third I used the Dusk, which where the most accurate, no chops and I tagged about 16 people during four thirty minute games. The best feature is the fact that no matter how fast you shoot each will be pin-point accurate.
Conclusion: This barrel is good for recreational or for tournament, but make sure you got some skill too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

pbSniper5 Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Night Stick Barrel,Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, drop foward,32* night stick barrel,double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi
Strengths: Looks
Muzzle helps break down noise
Accurate
Not too long
Price
Weaknesses: None really,its not to be consider a sniping barrel
Review: ok,I was looking for a new barrel to buy so i went to the tippmann website and the had a new barrel, so i thought what the heck im gonna give this barrel a try, i didn't know what to expect because none of my friends had this barrel or their weren't any reviews for this so i bought is and it came in a few days later, i tried it out and it worked great, i guess the muzzle helps break down noise and it is alot more accurate than the stock barrel.i was also happy with what i got for the price.and ever since then i love this barrel,i use my *32 night stick barrel for sniping and woods ball and i use the werks barrel for everything else pretty much well thats all i can think of
Conclusion: This is a great barrel for anybody, its cheap and its great for the money so buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Silverfoxx Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98
Werx 14"
20 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have had good results with DBX, Scorch, El Tigre
Not bad results with Whack
Really liked those El Tigres but a little pricey
Strengths: looks great
well honed inside
better accuracy
better range
mades gun quieter
made by Tippmann
Weaknesses: Tippmann label ends up facing down
Review: This is my first upgrade to my Tippmann 98c. I did a lot of research using this site and others before making the plunge. I play primarily woodsball, and was wishing to increase the accuracy and consequently the effective range of my trusty Tippy.

I spent the better part of an afternoon testing the difference between the Werx 14" and the stock barrel which comes with the 98c. I think my results show: that the WERX is a great barrle, and that it is well worth the cost to upgrade from the stock.
First the setup:
1. In my backyard I placed a cardboard target that measured 20" x 24" (480 sq in- note a typical grown man all geared-up should have about 450 sq in of "target" from the waist to the head, not counting marker.)
2. I measured out the following ranges 50 feet, 75 feet, 100 feet and 125 feet.
3. I was using CHEAP paintballs DBX practice grade
4. I used my Shooting Chrony to make sure I had consistent FPS at each range.
5. I would shoot about 20 rounds at each range: 10 w/ the stock barrel 10 w/ the Werx.
6. Before I switched range or barrels I would double check my FPS. (Tried to maintain 290 fps)
7. The air temp was in the high 50s (warm for January in MD)
8. A 10+ mph wind blowing from left to right which I am sure affected the long range results.

Results:
1. At 50 feet I was surprised at how accurate the stock barrel was. I could hit the target with almost every shot. Score:
Stock 18/20 (90%) but with a very loose group
Werx 19/20 (95%) but with a very tight group almost all shots in a 5" circle

2. At 75 feet here is where the difference started to become apparent. Score:
Stock 13/20 (65%) hits really spread out
Werx 26/35 (74%) again- much tighter grouping than stock

3. At 100 feet Some wind effects noted. Score
Stock: 7/20 (35%) noticed wild curvers
Werx: 15/28 (54%) still shooting pretty straight

4. At 125 feet (here is where the wind really began to show its effect Score:
Stock: 0/15 (I could not hit at that range and eventually stopped wasting the co2.
Werx: 12/40 (30%) had to hold higher for arching effect but still shooting fairly straight.

IMPORTANT DISCOVERY:
As stated above I would verify FPS whenever I switched barrels or range. I was trying to keep the setting as close to 290 fps as I could so the results would be comparable. With the Werx I could get that with the velocity screw backed out 3 turns. However when I switched to stock I found that my average speed DROPPED BY MORE THAN 30 fps! This meant I had to back the velocity screw out about 6 turns. This would seem to imply the Werx would give better air efficiency. Looking at the stock barrel I see that there is a small circle of porting holes that are only 4" from the breech end. Maybe too much air escapes too soon.
Conclusion: 1. If you stay under 50 feet The Tippmann stock barrel is not as bad as some have reported.
2. The werx gave me much tighter groups, better accuracy, and a longer effective range.
3. I noticed with the stock the typical wild fliers- balls that would bend and curve so much they seemed to defy the laws of physics. But with the Werx- almost never.
4. Remember I was using cruddy DBX- I will soon test with a better quality ball and compare results.
5. Werx requires less co2.
6. The inside of the barrel is mirror like- very smooth and shiny.
7. I experienced NO ball breaks with either barrel.
8. I am very satisfied with the purchase- for under $55 including shipping you can make a great improvement in your shooting.
9. It was quieter than the stock but don't believe the "silencer hype." No barrel does that.
10. It looks really cool!
11. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 1:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wildbill2 Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
You name it, I have tried it. From Stiffi, to All American, to most others. Been playing paintball for over 20 years and have had multitudes of barrels, so I have tried a bunch of them through the years.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, 12 volt Revvy, , Double Trigger, Polished internals, Rocket Cock, Maddmann Spring kit, Crossfire 88/4500 nitro, Tippmann Werks barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most any will work fine
Strengths: Very accurate, pretty quiet. Great finish on the internal surface. Quality craftsmanship.
Weaknesses: If you don't like glossy barrels, then this might not suit you.
Review: Played a couple of days with this and really like it. On the last day we played, I had 14 kills without being taken out. The range on this barrel is good. Accuracy is really good. It is fairly quiet, like that really matters, but some worry about things like that. I shot competative edge and zap through it and both shot great. Does not seem picky with paint and never broke a ball. I purchased a Lapco Bigshot at the same time as this barrel and I sold it and kept the Werks. Both are great, but liked the Werks a bit more.
Conclusion: Give one of these a try. Price is good. Check them out on Ebay, you may find a real deal on one. New Tippmann Pro series coming out has them standard issue, so can't wait to check those out. Highly recommend.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tip Man*98* Thursday, October 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
14" Werks Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Type
Strengths: Looks cool
Comes in three different sizes
Good for all around ballers
Price!!
Weaknesses: Mine isn't chrome so it is perfect.
Review: This barrel is awesome. I have only tried two but when I look at other people's barrels they don't compare to this one. Not only is it under 90$, it has sniper precision and excellent durability. I recommend this to all 98c users. The multihole muzzle is also good because it reduces the noise of the shots. I haven't used it yet in a real game, I've only tested it in my backyard. I can't wait to use it on my friends because I know they will be running!
Conclusion: Get the barrel if you have a 98c it is perfect!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wahoofan627 Sunday, November 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann barrel-breaks paint much more often and is easily half as accurate
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, 14" Tippmann Werks Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any (I have only tested with DBX practice grade paint)
Strengths: Looks, Accuracy, Price
Weaknesses: Noise
Review: This is an awesome barrel for any beginner to advanced player. The barrel costs only 60 dollars at tippmann.com. I was shooting it in my backyard on a very windy day today and while about 30 feet away from the target I could steadily make a 3" circle of paint. With the stock barrel the circle was as big as 8 to 10 inches wide. I shot 200 balls with each barrel and did not break any balls with the Werks, and I broke 5 with the stock. The only problems that I had was that when I ordered my 14" a 16" came in the mail. Tippmann gladly switched my order and reimbursed my shipping charges. Also, there is not much of an improvement in noise over stock. It is still just as loud. I don't know what people say that this barrel is "chrome". It is nowhere near chrome, it is just shiny, and that happens to look awesome on the gun. I have just used it in my first real game. I played for a full day at my local field and had awesome results. It only broke one or two balls, but I squeegeed it and it worked good as new. There were absolutely no instances when someone shot me because they saw a shiny barrel. I am very satisfied with this barrel and I would recommend it to anyone with a 98 Custom.
Conclusion: I strongly suggest this barrel to anyone who has a price limit and is an all around player. I rate this a 9 because it is sort of loud.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 5:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media