paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Werks Barrel / Tippmann Werks Barrel / Tippmann Werks Barrel

Tippmann Werks Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Werks Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Werks Barrel
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Solid one piece aluminum construction
Machined from 1” barrel stock
Honed & polished to perfection
Large multi holed muzzle break to reduce noise & increase accuracy
The only barrel created exclusively for the needs of Tippmann markers
Each barrel is hand checked for quality & fit.
Each barrel is individually pack to insure against shipping damage
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Werks Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Ty29 Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel = WORSE ][ Apex = Same ][ Stiffi = Slightly Better
Marker Setup: 98, J&J w/ Apex Tip, Remote, Ricochet AK Hopper, Stock, Rocket Cock II, Horizontal Foregrip, 3" Offset Rail, Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Tippmann Werks Paint (matches bore exactly), Marbs, Wrek Elite, almost any.
Strengths: Decent Price, Accuracy, Quieter than stock barrel
Weaknesses: Heavy, but not enough to matter
Review: This is an extremely nice barrel, at least that's what all the other team says when I hit them with balls from it. It was kind of expensive but well worth it, considering I've gotten three good years out of it and still going absolutely strong. I found the best paint to use with this barrel were Marballizers. I used Tippmann Werks paint which is made for this barrel and the orange paint worked great. Unfortunately the yellow paint got a ball break every other shot, which was probably a manufacturer defect. This barrel is sleak and shiny and looks like it performs, smooth, silent, and deadly.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to each and every beginner to the sport of paintball, it "Werks" great (couldn't resist) and gets me through, it's comparible to a higher end barrel like a stiffi or a C Series in my book.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 8th, 2008 at 2:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingbill34 Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
used tippmann flatline barrel, and other spyder barrels.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7
Barsk 5mm red dot scope
tippmann 14" werks barrel
Palmers Pursuit stabiliser and remote coil.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs are a good match to the barrel
Strengths: Shinny
Lots of porting
Very durable.
Weaknesses: Will not fit in the stock x7 with out modifying it.
Review: I started out with a tippmann A-5 and i decided to stick with Tippmann and buy a barrel from them and the werks was the only one that tippmann makes. I chose the 14" because I am a middle of the road type of person. The barrels is 10 times better than the stock barrel.

Then I purchased an X7 and i was looking for the barrels that are shown with the x7 when you go to the Tippmann site and build your own X7. Anyways tippmann does not make them they are put in there for visual purposes. I was told this by the Tippmann direct sells then i mentioned that it doesn't fit in the shroud and he said that i had to take it apart. I took it apart and it does work but it does not look good when i was going for a look like a mill sim gun. the direct tippmann seller said that i should just go buy a freeks barrel or something like that.
Conclusion: I like the werks barrel for the a-5 its cheep and it works but for the x7 i would suggest getting some other barrel preferbly one with a matt finish.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

act_appalled Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, Smart Parts Linear, Smart Parts Proggressive
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98C
Tippmann Werks 14in Barrel
Lapco Machine Gun Shroud
Tippmann Double Trigger
BSA Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Dusk are good
Strengths: Somewhat quite
Increases accuracy
Sniper quality
Weaknesses: Glossy
Review: I bought this for about 60 dollars which seems expensive but it is worth the price. My friend and I did an accuracy contest for who could hit the Big Gulp cup first. His weapon, Tippmann X7 with Smart Parts Linear. Me, my Tippmann 98 with Werks barrel. I set it around 80 90 feet away. His smart parts linear couldnt even touch the cup but my Werks barrel not only could hit the cup every time but i could manage (with my astonishing aim also) to hit the circle in the middle of the cup a couple times too.
Conclusion: Spend the extra money on this product
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coltlacrosse Tuesday, December 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Old spyder barrels (with adapter)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with 14" werks, 68ci 4500 psi HP tank, low pressure system (very helpful), E-grip, m16 style stock, remote hose, upgraded internals, scope ( a cheap wal-mart scope mostly for looks but it does help if you use it as a monocular when playing in the woods, although you need to take off your mask)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizer or any other with a textured surface or has a double shell
Strengths: Very accurate
Reduces noise somewhat
Goes well with gun
Polished BLACK- NOT CHROME
Weaknesses: None after about 15,000 shots and three five day skirmish games.
Review: Overall I definitly recommend this barrel to any level Tippmann owner. It's just so amazing, I actually prefer this over a flatline. The problem with the flatline is that you need to use high grade paint for it to work properly, also the extra 100 ft it adds isn't as good as it sounds. I mean its only accurate until it gets to that last 100ft and when you're shooting at someone that far away you need dead on accuracy.

Back to the WERKS. It is the best barrel i've ever used PERIOD. I bought mine for $50 but I would've spent $150 for a barrel as good as this one. As for the shine that seems to be dissapointing a lot of people... WHO CARES!! for one thing its not chrome, its just polished black and it doesnt give you away. If you're really that worried about the shine buy some CAMO tape for 2 bucks and cover it ( just not the holes).

When I used it my first time in the woods, I won 4 out of five matches and I only shot about 60 balls and it was against 5 other people. My friends were so impressed that they spent an hour just shooting at random targets with it rather than playing! It is also good for speedball because unlike the flatline the paint doesn't fly so slow. I also have not broken a ball yet with the marbalizers.

The secret behind the Werks barrel lies with basic Physics. I actually did a project for school on how to make an accurate and quiet barrel for my A-5. Through testing, I found that the amount of C02 discharged from my A-5 needs about 10 inches of barrel to expand to its max capacity, after these 10 inches, it loses power and slows down. With this data I concluded that I needed 10 inches of solid barrel to get the most out of the gas. The report comes from the gas coming out at a high pressure. To fix this, I needed to add more barrel with holes to let some of the gas out so it comes out at a lower pressure but doesnt slow down the paintball too much. I found that 4-5 inches of holes was the max amount of length to let out the extra C02 but not slow the ball. In conclusion the perfect barrel needs 10 inches of solid air-tight barrel and 4 inches of holes to silence the shot. I wanted to market this but Tippmann beat me to it with the Werks 14" barrel.
Conclusion: THIS SHOULD BE THE FIRST UPGRADE ANYONE BUYS FOT THEIR TIPPMANN! It is very inexpensive and it is just amazing. GET THE 14" BARREL
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 11th, 2007 at 2:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

allamericanman Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
smartparts teardrop, all american.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Flatline barrel
Smartparts all american Barrel
Response trigger
16inch werks Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Scorch work great.
Strengths: Accuracy, Range.
Weaknesses: 16 Inches is a little too long for me.
Review: Overall this is a great barrel, much better than the stock barrel that 98's come with. I got this thing off of Ebay for $30, and it has served me well ever since. This barrel adds about 50 ft. extra in range and and is incredibly accurate. A good barrel, but it (Ebay currently has a few of these barrels listed right now).
Conclusion: A great barrel buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamPointBlank Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most barrels on the market today
its very early in the morning, please excuse gramtical mistakes.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline and All american 12 inch
Low preassure kit with Ergo reg (set to 400 psi) and 68 cu. in. Nitro
Respnse trigger upgraded
Folding stock
Steel remote hose with 1/4 turn on/off
Graphics kit
Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would suggest any paintball that is .687 to 6.91 which is the ideal range for paintballs as it will cover almost all types of field paint, as well as expensive and inexpensive brands. Read review for further information
Strengths: Accomodates a good range of paintballs.
The 12 inch is very ideal
Weaknesses: The muzzel break porting is rather rough, poor anodized finish
Review: I work at a paintball store here in south florida, and a good part of my job there is to test(as a player of the sport as well as a seller) all the products we get in and give accurate feed back to customers.
After testing this barrel, I bought one for myself as all I had for my a-5 was a flatline and the stock barrel(and a 2 inch barrel I made myself because I think it looks neat!)

I tested this barrel with three seperate brands of paint, and since have put maybe 5 more types through it.

I used a 5 gallon water cooler tank as a target, yes, with a little mask on top
I use low preassure nitro and my velocity maintains at 273-278 at the highest in the test

First Tested: Thrust paint.
This is the paint we mainly sell at my store. It's horrible, should be taken off the market or shoot through slingshots(more fun than you think). In the first test out of 1000 shots i got 21 breaks. So I considered that a loss due to paint and went onward. I barley got these things to the traget accuartley even at 30 feet

Second Test: Blaze by Draxxzuss
This paint seemed acctually to work the best, it deformed very little and shot quite consistanly. its a good medium sized bore paint and made quite well. With this barrel I shot a fairly consistant man sized target through 1000 rounds with no bolt or barrel breaks. at 1500 rnds the barrel broke one at the very end on the porting.
At 25-30 feet this barrel shot almost ball on ball only off by about the spacing of a paintball when I shot full auto. Semi doing about 3 shots a second there was fantastic consistancy.
At 45-55 feet: The grouping spread out a little more. I make up for that by, sending another 20 bps at the traget, which they REALLY spread out to about 4 inches every few shots from the center
At 55-70 feet, not the greatest results, but I was using a 12 inch barrel. However still acceptable

Third Test: Marbs:
These were too small and not very succesfully. By this point in the day the wind kicked up which shot conistancy all to hell and i decided just to shoot at the fish in the pond. Marbs are good for that.

About the finish: people are saying that the finish comes off easy. First, I would like to say, its not paint, its anodizing(just FYI) and yes, it can come off easy and the barrel acctually deforms quite easy. After being a metal smith and anodizer for many years, I will now explain why:
Commonly in high polish barrel(inside and out) they acheive that by putting into their Caustic solution tank for just a little too long(easy to loose track of time when you are doing that many barrel at once) and what tha does is remove all the impurities for the alluminum, leave a VERY shiny but VERY soft metal. They also used a not so hard or thick anodizing coat and/or they sealed it not quite long enough.
Whats this break down to? Well, theres not much you can do about it but take good care of your barrel, keep it clean and polished so dirt grains and dry shell shards dont scratch it.

Honing on the in side: Granted they could have polished it a little better on the inside, but I am assuming they stopped to reduce the chance of making the bore any bigger than it already is.
The friction on the ball was not too great as to affect it over all and it maintained velocity fairly well.
Conclusion: I am sorry to say I did not test this barrel with c02 or on one of florida commonly hot and humid days as I usually test things, so results may vary here. it was windy out in the later half of the day but overall with the draxxus it only effected the grouping by out 6 inches from center at 50 feet. After using it games with various mid range field paints, i found the results to be almost identical from brand to brand. Mind you, I made sure I had a good paint/barrel match.
I give this an 8 because they could have taken more care on the anodizing and used a harder aluminum, like T6061(I can dream) and they could have cleaned up the porting a bit(I found every barrel at my store we like that with tippmann brand). Once you find the right match this barrel will treat you well, especially if you play woods, for close range speed/rec ball I'd suggest something like and all american 9 inch.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005 at 1:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squirrelking Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels on many a marker
Marker Setup: Custom Pro Basic (drop forward, double trigger, 11" Werks barrel)
HPA 50 ci Worrgame Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that fit bore size (.689)
I've used Draxxxus Midnight and X-ball bronze and had three barrel breaks in 2000 shots
Strengths: Solid
Looks good
Shoots straight (50 to 70 feet range)
Weaknesses: Finish scratches very easy
A little expensive

Review: I am very satisfied with this barrel that came with my Custom Pro. Compared to other barrels that I've handled, it feels very tough and I'm not afraid to bang it around. I also feel that its look fits perfectly with the Tippmann image. In other words, it looks like it should come stock on a Tippmann. I have a 11" barrel and It shoots great in the 50-70 feet category. After that, it starts to lose its edge. This is why I would suggest getting a Longer barrel than 11", at least if you play outside. Keep the 11" barrel for indoor games.

Now, I personally don't care about this, but I know that for some this is important: The paint finish on the barrel is VERY easy to scratch. Heck, I think I could do it with my fingernail if I wanted to.
Conclusion: I think that the Werks barrel is a very good and dependable barrel, but I feel it might be a bit over priced for what it can do.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 at 2:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yankeesrock13 Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none that compare
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
16 inch Werks Barrel
Dead On Bullet Drop
Ben Tippmann rocket Cock 2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any work fine.
Strengths: Accurate
Very Quiet
The shinny black look awsome
Weaknesses: When I twisted it into my 98C the tippmann wording on the side was upsidown.
Review: This is a great barrel for anyone who has a Tippmann. This barrel is very accurate and looks great. I have had many complements on my barrel. I picked this barrel because it was supposed to be very accurate and it was. I have been out about five times with this barrel. I've shot about 3,000 paintballs with it and it hasn't broken one.
Conclusion: This is a amazing barrel because of its price and its preformance. If I could I would rate it a 11!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 6th, 2005 at 5:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

9T8Custom Monday, April 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Teardrop
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Werks/teardrop barrel and double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Nightmare
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Slightly loud ( doesnt really matter, dont know if i can call that a weakness)
Review: I like this barrel. i have had it for two years now and it has never faultered once. Its just as accurate as an $80 or $90 barrels. if you use fairly good paint (at least) it will go strait about 95% of the time. Although if you fire too fast with crap paint, it'll chop a few of them. But if you use a good paintball like a diablo nightmare or a draxxus dusk ball, you will not break a single one. It is also a little loud, and by loud i mean not as loud as a stock barrel, but still loud enough to give away a location in woodsball. Not like it really matters because by the time they know where you are, they will have paint smeared all over their mask.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this barrel to ANYONE. its cheap, and accurate. i give this barrel a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mousetrap Friday, June 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Americans
Teardrop
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
14" Tippmann Werks Barrel
Custom Pro drop forward
DOP Rocket Cock II
BT Fixed Sight Rail
Recommended
Paintballs:
Scorch and Super Swirls work fine
Zap is okay
Any Brass Eagle paint gets a lot of breaks. I'm not trying to bash it, it's just the truth.
Strengths: Looks
Weight
Price
Weaknesses: Doesn't Self Clean Quickly
Review: For the short time that I have used this, it has served as a good-looking, accurate replacement for the stock barrel.
The accuracy is that of any good aftermarket barrel you can buy. The paint very rarely curves unless there are strong winds or a break occurs.
Yeah, I don't know what else to say except it seems durable and repeating that it looks good.
And when I screwed it on, the label was right side up which is always a plus.
Conclusion: It's a good barrel and should be the first upgrade for your gun. Get it.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 16th, 2006 at 2:40 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media