paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Tac-One / Airgun Designs Tac-One / Airgun Designs Tac-One / Airgun Designs Tac-One

Airgun Designs Tac-One Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Tac-One

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Tac-One
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 43
Average Rating: 10.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The TAC-ONE is absolutely loaded with outstanding features and performance at an amazingly low price!

The TAC-ONE was developed specifically with the scenario player in mind and its Three Rail (Military Spec Picatinny) Black Anodized Aluminum Mainbody is designed to house a wide variety of optical accessories. A fourth mounting point on the bottom of the new Wingless Tac Rail is ideal for mounting additional accessories like a flashlight or laser sight. The TAC-ONE also sports an Black Anodized All Aluminum X-Valve with a Factory Tuned LvL 10 Anti Chop Bolt, Black Micro-Switch-Ready Intelliframe with Blade Trigger and a cocker threaded two Piece J&J Aluminum Barrel.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Tac-One is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ODARKONE Wednesday, November 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month51 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AGD MiniMag/WGP AutoCocker/WDP 2004 Angel Fly/E-Blade Cocker
Marker Setup: AGD TAC-ONE with the Level 10 bolt and ULT Trigger kit , Intelli frame with blade trigger, Gas though stock, 13" Armson Stealth, 10" armson pro, J&J ceramic, ricochet 2KX....bag full O ' bush skillz
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gas through stock (if you dont want the tank hanging off the back), Get the ULT kit (if you want to walk the marker to its crazy fast ROF and its about the easiest upgrade ever!!)
New barrel(the stock Jand J is nice but...)my Stealth is just so accurate and silent its a must have.
Strengths: the TAC-ONE shoots very fast, its light and accurate, has very little kick
Weaknesses: Everyone wants to know what it is "Is that a full automatic marker?"
Review: I've just received the marker of my dreams!!this thing is just so tight and well built, for the price I cant believe the quality of craftsmanship that has gone into my new marker.

firstly AGD has most likely the best customer service in the industry (no doubt the best I've ever come across in the 15 or so years that I've played the game!!)over the phone and by email they worked out my order and custom built MY TAC-ONE..for me..as i wanted it built.

Secondly, the fit and tolerances on this marker are so tight that I checked it all over with a peice of paper and there wasn't a single place, anywhere on the marker, where i could fit it into a gap. I take this as a very good sign of the level of quality that this marker has been held up to.

Lastly, the marker shot so fast and straight using the ULT and stock J&J barrel, I was dropping balls on balls shooting Blaze paint at a target about 50 feet away.I was stunned. Its just so sweeeet for gap shooting on the airball field or long balling on the bush fields.Its the same guts as the high end Tourney guns, just a cooler wrapper, (for me) so the TAC-ONE is the marker to get if you like both airball and woodsball.

UPDATE: Feb 3, 2005:Put the first few thousand rounds though MY TAC and it has preformed flawlessly, the new loader has been very consistent and the level ten bolt set-up works like a charm.My brother grabed my TAC and I asked him to shoot paint till thr was no air at all.He did this and the level ten bounced off a couple rounds near the end of the air, the PSI got so low that the last two balls ended up butting up in the barrel and the tank was dead.VERY IMPRESSIVE.I think this is going to be quite a season for me ; )

Love it, couldn't be happier.
Go and Order one from Air Gun Designs...
best deal in town on a fantastic marker....
Conclusion: A super reliable marker from perhaps the best manufacturer around, has everything...accurate..light..tons o'style...Insane ROF...Level 10 Standard..simply cannot beat the price on the AGD TAC-ONE.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 3rd, 2005 at 12:28 am PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Schitballstwat Friday, November 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker
Marker Setup: AGD Tac-One RT 'Mag -- stock 12" J&J 2-piece (kicks total ass- can't wait to buy my Edge kit -- 14" Total Freak (completely sucks- soon to be 12" J&J ceramic Edge kit) -- 68/4500 Max Flow (works, but still can't wait to get rid of it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA and you're set with one completely wicked gun. I have to say I was surprised with the stock barrel (12" J&J 2-piece). I'd get a kit anyway though, that's what I'm doing (ordering my 12" ceramic Edge kit some time this week) just so you have more sizes. But honestly, I've been pretty lucky with the bore match of the barrel to the paint I've been shooting, so it completely rocks.
Strengths: Everything.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This is the best gun I have ever shot. Period. I've even built my own custom 'Cocker from the ground up, and this gun still feels/performs better (no, i'm not knockin cockers. I actually like 'em. But I'm giving you my honest opinion of the way this gun feels and shoots. What can I do, it rocks!)

The Level 10 makes damn sure you cannot chop a ball (i tested it out with my finger) and the X Valve recharges faster than anything out there (you will not get shoot down no matter what)

Excellent, excellent gun.
Conclusion: Get one. You will not regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Vicious6 Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've tried many high end markers in making a decision for a new toy. Yes, I had the budget to get a tournament-grade electro 325235bps marker. I played with many of them, and they just didn't do it for me.
Marker Setup: -AGD Tac One
Q-Loader
Freak Barrel Kit
AGD ULT Kit
Remote Line to 88/4500 Pure Energy HP

-ATS AT85
CAR Gas-Thru Stock
68/3000 Pure Energy

-AGD Minimag
Stock, which will change very soon.

-Model 98
Set up bottomline
Richochet AK Hopper
(back up gun)

-PGP Baby!

-Spyder Rodeo
(Hey I got bored one day and bought something to putz around with)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-ULT is just sexy. 15 ounces of love.
-I just prefer the Freak system because of its customization options, I'm sure there's better stuff out there. People either love it or hate it.
-Q-loader if you're into that thing like me.

Besides personal preference, one of the best aspects of this gun is upgrades. Actually, I mean the lack of a NEED for upgrades. It comes from the factory a top-notch gun. You don't need to buy some lowly semi and spend big bucks trying to make it good. You just get it good.
Strengths: It's a mag. It won't ever die. All the performance I need.
Weaknesses: I suppose only running on HPA could be considered a weakness..... but why?
Review: I looked at all the electronic markers with their super-fast boards and eyes and crap. It just didn't turn me on. Now I am a woodsball player (please forgive me), so that might influence my decision. But still, I hate going to fields and watching people brag about how fast their new $2000 electro is. Maybe I think old school, but in normal circumstances I don't need to throw 20+bps to hit someone. Logic just tells me, if I miss a target 20 times a second then I am just a moron. It brings me great pleasure to run with the 'best' of them using a semi, and more often than not coming out on top.

But anyway it's a review not a rant. SO.. after shopping around I saw the Tac One online. Basically a nice 'mag but with flat black and some rails should I ever need a l337 sc0pe to sn1pe with!!!! (false alarm, please note the VERY deliberate sarcasm)

After reading up on it, I believed I had found my new gun. And boy, was I right! Man I'm good at making decisions. I should be president!

It arrived at my doorstep a day earlier than sceduled... Thanks UPS. Pulled the gun out of its packaging. How nice. It's light. Vurrrry light. Imagine the weight of plastic, but with the durability of titanium. Also, had the ULT installed prior to delivery. More on this soon.
Anyway, I first made sure everything was adjusted correctly on the gun. I did my homework and had a relative idea of how things worked. I love how easy it is to disassemble.

I then installed a male hose adapter on the side of the bolt. Threw on my remote and engaged the Pure Energy 88/4500 HP tank. The gun cocked itself and was ready to go. Dry fired a few times. Wow, they were NOT FREAKIN KIDDING about "ultra light trigger". Easier to shoot than expensive electrics. I swear, if you look at the thing wrong it will go off. Tested out the reactive trigger. Make sure you have a nice, 800+psi tank. The high output really makes the trigger super crisp and reacts extremely well. I wasn't used to this kind of thing, but with some practice I was able to make the gun shoot faster than any semi I've used.... actually for that matter also faster than ANY reactive trigger I've used.

I threw on my Richochet AK, filled it up and turned it on. Wow, just wow. I was having so much fun with this thing I went through half a case of paint and didn't even realize it.
The stock barrel for all intents and purposes is decent. In my opinion it's better than the image people give it. If I didn't have the money for an expensive replacement, I really wouldn't sweat it. But I do, soooo..... heres my few upgrades that I'm loving so far:
Freak barrel kit. Goes veryyyy well with this gun. My mag is nice and quiet, and very accurate. I know people say it's overrated but I like it.
Also, I mounted my Q-Loader that I bought special just for this gun. Wow, I really should've listened to people when they say READ THE MANUAL OVER AND OVER.
Well, once I was experienced with it, the Q-loader has complimented this gun so amazingly well. After much practice, it's relatively simple to operate and maintain. You can't outshoot it, period.

So I heard all the ruckus about "Level 10! The Level 10! We love the Level 10!" I wasn't a believer before this. In fact I was really not expecting much. Alas, after intentionally attempting to chop balls it just wasn't possible. I almost got mad because I was now trying to the best of my ability to chop a ball. It's ok, I finally just stomped on a bunch and got it out. Though it was a mess to clean off my floor.. What a concept. I leave my squeegee at home now.
Conclusion: AGD now has another die-hard costumer.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 27th, 2005 at 6:56 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

TheBaron Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C/A5
Spyder Victor 2
Marker Setup: AGD Tac-One
ULE Trigger pull kit
Empire Reloader 2 hopper
68/4500 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
ULE Trigger kit
Hammerhead barrel
Strengths: Looks great
Shoots very fast
Fairly quiet
Looks
Weaknesses: Price?
A bit of tinkering (See my edit)
Review: Just got my Tac-One this week and just got the HPA today. As of right now I have no field experence with this marker. I bought just the marker with ULE, hoses and shipping for $487. Plus another $221 for a 68/4500 HPA tank. I figure one big investment now and I wont have to buy another paintball marker for years.

This marker was able to shoot paintballs in the same exact spot 30 yards away, no problems once I learned how it shoots. Unlike my Victor 2, the paintballs go in a streight line, they don't go up then down again.

I went threw a hopper of paint and not one break or misfire, so I didn't see how the level 10 bolt worked. I was able to shoot a long string of paint extreamly fast.

Edit 2/28: I played for the first time with it last weekend. Over that time I discovered 2 problems with the marker. 1. The ASA was leaking, the place where I put the tank into the marker. I was told to drop an O ring in it and that fixed that problem. 2. When I turned down the FPS (was shooting 320+) the bolt was sticking and sometimes seemed to leak air out of the barrel. I researched this problem on the AGD forum and saw that I needed to put the next biggest gage in the Level-10 bolt. It took me about 30 mins to figure it out and get it working again, but when I did it worked great. I just about had 2 chops, but it just went 'phut' and a ball rolled out the end of the barrel, I just went back to shooting without any problems. Not one broken ball out the end of the stock barrel either and I went threw a box durring my play plus another box when I was messing around with it prior. Now that I worked the bugs out the Tac-One is everything I thought it would be, and I wouldn't want anything else.

EDIT 4/24: Been playing with my tac-one for a while now, more than 10,000 paintballs used and not one chop, even useing some crappy field paint. I let a speedballer try my marker in speed vs. a shocker and the Tac-One kept up (I'm not that fast on the trigger). Very fast, the advanced speedballers were very impressed. It's also held up well in the woods including one game is some light rain. It's been dropped once, dragged threw underbrush, hit on bunkers and tree's and even shot a couple times and it's always held up with no downtime, just pull the trigger and it works. Durring one game it was shooting two or three balls every trigger pull, come to find out I had the ball dent off because I cleaned it the night before. Still, it worked fine. Also I'd like to note how easy it is to clean, take out one screw and the entire bolt assembly comes out and you can see threw the marker, just run a squeege threw it a couple times and it's clean, drop some oil in the ASA and dry fire it and it's oiled.

Also I borrowed a friends hammerhead barrel and it worked better than the stock, not reviewing the barrel here, just saying this one thing.

Baron
Conclusion: From what I have seen I like it a lot. If I find any problems with it I will edit this post and move the rating down, until then it meets my every expectation.

While I can't recomend that everyone should get one, I do like the one I have as of right now.

EDIT 4/24: As of right now I'm wishing I could post an 11 rating. This is a great marker if I'm playing speedball, or woodsball. It can shoot one shot very accuritly or a nice stream if in trouble. As of yet I have had absolutly no problems with this marker (after the original tinkering). If I ever come across any I will post them.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 24th, 2005 at 2:40 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

D-Block Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Any non-electro cockers/mags
Marker Setup: Tac-One, ULT, eVlution 2, Check-It Products On/Off ASA, System X 68/3000, Dye Rhino '05
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Needs a bottom line setup
- HPA is a must (literally you need about 750psi to cock the bolt)
That's it!
Strengths: - Extremely quiet
- Small, lightweight, perfect for frontman play
- Lvl 10 bolt ( no chops )
- Stock barrel
Weaknesses: - Will not operate under 700psi
That's it!
Review: Okay, so I ordered my new Tac-One from WWA and it comes in. First thing off the bat you need to install a bottomline (does not come with marker). The stock barrel ( J&J Ceramic 2-piece) is amazingly accurate and self-cleaning. You don't really need a new barrel. You will however need an HPA, mags will not operate under 700psi. You will probably have problems with the bolt sticking during the first 1,000 rounds of paint but trust me it will end eventually. Tacs can be tuned to personal preference with over 20 different settings, but usually the middle spring and .5 carrier works fine. Make sure, if you use an on/off, that you turn the knob all the way "on" instead of stopping when the gun gasses up. Not doing this will cause shoot down and more bolt sticking. Tacs are amazingly lightweight and small, perfect for that player that likes to get in the other team's face. Very Very Very quiet and semi gas efficient. I get about 900 off a 68/3000. Adjust your velocity once and it usually stays the same ( providing you keep the same settings ) but you should still chrono before every game! An electro hopper is a must, an egg (eVlution2) is reccommended but a 12v Revvy will do fine.
Conclusion: All in all this marker is one of the best out there. Markers don't get any quieter. Durability is at the level of Tippmanns and speed is usually about 13-15bps stock. Bottom line: Buy It!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 2nd, 2005 at 1:56 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

bit-wizard Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98 (not even close)
Spider Imagine (still not close)
Spider Pilot (nothing but problems)
Indian Creek '04 BKO (nothing but problems)
Palmer Blazer (another great marker)
Marker Setup: Tac-one (stock J&J Ceramic Barrel)
AGD ULT Trigger
Check-it On/Off
Ricochet Hopper
80/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA Tank (required)
Motorized Hopper
ULT
HPA On/Off (to degas airlines)
Strengths: Shot consistency, reliability, anti-chop, almost NO kick, trigger pull, scenario look, all mechanical
Weaknesses: NONE found yet
Review: I've used several different markers in the time that I've been playing paintball, but I kept looking for THE ONE -- an accurate, dependable marker that would complement my skills -- not detract from them. I finally found it in the AGD Tac-One. Several friends and I play a good bit of scenario/woods paintball, and the Tac-One definitely is an excellent choice for this type of paintball.

THE BENEFITS:

The Tac-One has an all-aluminum body, so it is very light and easy to wield. It's styling definitely gives it that scenario/mil-sim look, and with the multiple picatiny rails, it is easy to attach any number of accessories (sights, scopes, night-vision, slings, etc).

The Tac-One has a built in reactive trigger, so each time you fire, it pushes your finger forward so that you are ready to fire again faster than if you had to return your finger yourself. This is a true reactive trigger -- not Tippmann's version of it. It doesn't allow full automatic, but it does help you shoot the gun faster -- one pull, one shot. Sometimes I find myself firing faster than I usually intend to just because the reactive trigger makes it easy to do. One option that I chose straight from the factory was the ULT (Ultra-light trigger). This all-mechanical trigger requires only 15 ounces of force to pull. It is almost as light an some electronic triggers. I definitely like how easy it is to fire.

The Tac-One is a blow-forward design. This design, along with the light-weight aluminum bolt nearly eliminates kick. I find it very easy to keep it on target no matter how fast I'm shooting. Another KEY FEATURE of the Tac-One is that it comes with the Level X anti-chop bolt. This mechanical system prevents the bolt from chopping paint. It definitely works! The easiest way to demonstrate it is to turn off your motorized hopper, and fire fast. You can hear it "chuff" when it gets a partially loaded ball that would be chopped otherwise. I've had many instances where this kept me from chopping. I've only had 1 instance where it did chop, and it was on extremely fragile paint that would break after being dropped from chest height onto gravel. The level X bolt is an EXTREMELY nice standard feature, as it prevents you from having to interrupt play to squeegie your barrel.

The J&J Ceramic barrel that came with the marker is quite good with it. I've been very happy with its accuracy, and have no plans to buy an after-market barrel.

One of the main benefits is that the gun doesn't require endless upgrades to make it function at peak performance. It does that stock from the factory. It is worth it to me to pay a little more for the marker up-front and not get nickel-and-dimed on a bunch of upgrades. Big plus!

Scenario players often play in Big Games that happen rain or shine. Having an all mechanical marker is definitely a benefit in these situations. When you absolutely have to play regardless of the weather, the Tac-One will not let you down. I've already played with it in the rain, and it know it won't leave me sitting on the sidelines. Time for a short story - my team was playing at a big 26 hour-long scenario game this spring. My wife was using a Spider Imagine (a good entry-level electro marker). It started to pour down rain just as the game began. Within 10 minutes, her gun was malfunctioning because the electronics had gotten wet. Fortunately, one of our teammates had a spare mechanical marker that he could lend her. From that point on, we decided that electros were not for us. It continued to rain for most of that first day, but we stayed on the field and had many a glorious adventure.


THE DRAWBACKS:

The picatiny rails system allows for a great deal of customization and addition of gear, however, all of the slots cut into it (to reduce the marker's weight) can make for a bit more work during cleanup. I tend to meticulously clean my gear, so I hit each of those spots with a sponge during cleanup.

The level-X anti-chop bolt requires a bit of tuning to get it functioning at peak performance. Once it is tuned, you don't have to worry about it again. AGD sells the Tac-one factory tuned, so it is not a problem that the purchaser must worry about.

The Tac-One only functions on high-pressure air or nitrogen. CO2 can not be used with this marker.


CONCLUSIONS:

I have been extremely pleased with my Tac-One. For scenario players, woodsballers, or recreational players, it is an excellent performer that will leave you smiling after a day of play. It certainly has the potential to be the last marker you ever purchase. For a great marker that doesn't require endless upgrades, the Tac-One is the way to go.
Conclusion: An excellent, reliable, accurate, rugged marker that is ideally suited to scenario, woodsball, and recreational paintball. It cost a little more, but is well worth the price. By the time you pay to suitably upgrade an A-5 (another good scenario marker), you could have purchased a Tac-One.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 3rd, 2005 at 11:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

osustevie Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
AGD Classic: similar in simplicity and reliabilty
WGP Orracle: just as accurate and ROF
Dragun TES: Tac has similar trigger pull nice and light
Tippy A5: Tac is as reliable as an A5 without the noise and kick
Marker Setup: Tac One w/ ULT
Z-Drop
Crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, you are good to go outta the box!
Strengths: Weight 2.5 pounds
Accuracy
AGD reputation for reliability and performance
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: None
Review: I had a brand new Orracle for a week. It leaked like a old row boat. Sold it and the next week bought a Tac One. The Tac One is by far the nicest marker I have shot and owned. I took it out of the box attached my Z-drop and HPA tank and went out to chrono it. I got 277, 277,278,277. I was impressed. The X-Valve ensures high recharge rates and shot to shot consistancy. The Tac One is very light and easy to manuever. Its dead on accurate as well. The J&J barrel does a good job. Chopped paint is a thing of the past with the Level 10 bolt. I have gotten two barrel breaks but thats not because of the marker. Its very easy to clean. Just one screw and out comes the bolt. Run it under hot water, dry it off, put it back in the tube, just add a bit of oil to the ASA and you are ready to go again. The looks of the marker are impressive as well.
Conclusion: Im very pleased with the Tac One. It is by far the best marker Ive shot or owned. I cant imagine anything I would change to make it better. Thanks Air Gun Design for another amazing marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

emagfrenzy Saturday, December 3rd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every single AGD marker
DM3/4/5
Shocker
Nerve
A-5
All Spyders and their clones
Piranha
Ego
Ion
Impulse
Cocker
Marker Setup: DM4
Halo B
68/4500
Dye Ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are really needed but some common upgrades are as follows:
1.Clamping feedneck
2.ULT
3.New barrel
Strengths: AGD Quality
Needs few upgrades
Weaknesses: None
Review: I've shot all of the popular markers out there in the past few years. For a serious woodsball player this is the best bang for your buck.

The threading for the barrels is Autococker and the threading for the feedneck and detents is Angel. This gives you a wide variety of barrels, feednecks, and detents to choose from as these are popular threads. The stock J&J 2-Piece is a mediocre barrel. Everyone praises it but it is not anything amazing. It is perfectly fine if you can not afford an Ultralite or barrel kit at the time but this should be one of the first things on your upgrade path. The option to get the ULT for this at a discounted price is also nice. The ULT is not for everyone and can be somewhat troublesome for people that are not familiar with mags. The trigger pull is not close to any electro as usually stated. It is more along of the lines of a nice mechanical Cocker. Most electros sold today come with a 25g or 50g switch. 28.5g is one ounce. The pull weight of a ULT is 15 ounces. I find it hard to compare those to each other. Coming stock with the X-Valve, the Tac-One also includes the Level 10. People moan and complain about how complicated it is but it is a very simple concept. Match your carrier up to fit snugly against the stem of the bolt. About 5 cases later you should drop a carrier size. Once you deal with all this then you can experiement with shims. The gun is very simple to strip down and requires 15 minutes for me to disassemble. You should rarely have to do this as it only requires 5 drops of oil in the ASA to keep it running well. The Tac-One comes with no ASA or air lines but this is not a weakness in my opinion. Some people like their tank at different positions and some like their hose running straight to the valve while others like it running through the gas-thru grip. I chose to use a small drop forward and a CP on/off. I ran the hose directly to the valve for simplicity's sake. The foregrip is extremely comfortable and should not be substituted for any other. The Intelliframe is nice but the grips are a little stiff compared to Dye Sticky3's. The trigger is all personal preference but there are several options to choose from. The Tac-One is not the most consistent or gas effecient marker out there but it is nothing terrible. I was getting 900 shots out of my 68/4500 and 1200 out of my 88/4500. Plenty for a scenario game.Over the chrono is gets +/-5 with a decent paint to barrel match. This is nothing terrible but does not stand up against a high end electro.
Conclusion: This is AGD's best (and only) move in the past few years. It is a solid marker that has no problems. For a woodsball player looking to upgrade from an E-Spyder or A-5 this would make the perfect upgrade. Unfortunately the Tac-One is falling into the hands of hardcore scenario players that know nothing of paintball and the physics behind it. Hence, kits like the Longbow are sold as a twisted version of a "sniper gun". Do not buy into any of this. SpecOps is a misleading and ignorant company putting the wrong label on paintball. Any paintball maker will be just as accurate as another providing they use the same barrel and paint and have the same consistency.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

Xboxgamer09 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann A-5, 98c, & 98
-Autocockers
-Misc Spyders
-SP IONs
-Rentals
Marker Setup: - Marker-
AGD Tac One, Special Ops T2W Airthru Stock, Q-Loader, Armson Pro Dot Max Duty
-Accessories-
32* Remote Line, Nitro Duck 68/4500 X-Treme Adjustable Tank, Special Ops Dagger Vest /w Integrated Sling System
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel Kit (Powerlyte Scepter 2007)
-Stock (if it fits your style)
-Fast Hopper (Cause it can rip)
-Sight (cause aiming actually helps! lol)
Strengths: -Accurate
-Light
-Extremely well built / designed
-Fast
Weaknesses: -Lvl 10 Tuning a little complicated
-Price I guess (Get what ya pay for)
Review: Best. Gun. Ever.

Those 3 words can sum up everything I am about to tell you about this gun. I used to own a Tippmann A-5A2 upp'd to the max. I had a Hammerhead Barrek Kit, Sights, E-Grip, etc. You name it I bought it. I used to think my A-5A2 was an accurate gun. How wrong I was.

I was lucky enough to get my Tac One off the Automags forum for a relatively "cheap" price. When it arrived I went to my friend's house so we could sight our guns in. His gun is nearly identical to my old one (HH Kit, Egrip, etc), so this day was almost a side-by-side comparison of my old gun vs. my new gun.

Now remember that at this point my Tac One was totally stock. At ~70ft I was dropping balls on top of each other or 1-2 inches off the bullseye. My friend (using the A-5) couldn't even come close to the grouping I was getting. He halved the distance to the target. Still not even close. He climbed up into his truck bed and brought out a bipod, closer but still not even comparable to the Tac One. He has dropped more into his A-5 upgrading it than I spent on the stock Tac One, and the comparion wasn't even close!

On a small downside, tuning the Level 10 bolt can be a little complicated or time consuming for someone who has never used / seen a AGD gun before. It took me just under 2 hours to Read, Research, and Tune the Level 10 to near perfection. Also the bolt 's carrier might need to be changed for different weather situations (not like rain or sunshine, but winter to summer play), but this only takes ~5 minutes to do, no big deal. After you get the bolt tuned, be prepared to have everyone you play against be mad at you , bc not only is it mad consistant and accurrate, but it is also very quiet.
Conclusion: So if you are reading this wondering: "Is the Tac One (or other AGD gun) really as good / better than my - X Brand Marker -?" Allow me to put your mind to rest. Yes. Yes it is. Buy one. You will be VERY happy. These are wonderful markers. I am more than willing to answer any questions you may have about this product. AGD has earned yet another die hard fan, I will never be without a Mag ever again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 11th, 2007 at 7:27 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Argelmcgee Tuesday, September 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My Tippmann A-5, various electros, autocockers... all inferior, except maybe a really well tuned autococker, which is probably on par. It's just much harder to maintain
Marker Setup: AGD Tac-1 Automag
Hammerhead 5-fin Battlestikxx Kit
Ricochet 2kx LCD
ULE Trigger Pull Kit

Backup/Loaner:
Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger
Palmer 12 inch Brass Barrel
Lapco Snapshot Barrel .687
Pure Energy 68cu 4500 psi HPA
Palmer's Stabilizer
TechT Vortex Mod
JCS Redhot Powertube/ Hexadecagonal bolt

Backup/Loaner:
BT-4 Combat
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably a nice barrel kit, the ULE Trigger Pull kit from Airgun Designs, and a decent hopper.
Strengths: Durable, accurate, unique, reliable, fast, no batteries, no board problems, simple to take apart, light.
Weaknesses: None... Honestly. If I think of one, I'll let you guys know.
Review: Just a warning, this is gonna be a bit long-winded.

So, right now I have a nice, new Tac-1 automag next to me. Got it in the mail yesterday after hearing so much about them for a while. A friend let me play with his Automag for a whole day at EMR's Apocalypse Now, and that convinced me that this was to be my next gun, and very probably my last gun.

My first gun is a Tippmann A-5, and it was great, it shot pretty well, it was really durable and I never had to worry about it. Sometime, I may need to pick it back up and use it, but after shooting my Tac-1 with air and paint, I know that it'll definitely take second place by far.

The Tac-1 is just one configuration of the Automag, for those of you that don't know, it's just one of the bodies (others include the Classic and the ULE) and this one includes rails for mounting various things. Along with it I got a ULE Trigger Pull kit, Jason said I didn't need it, but others suggested I get it, so I got it along with the gun. After testing the stock trigger and the ULT, there is a very distinct difference. The stock trigger is perfectly fine, and I bet with a bit of practice I could really shoot fast. The one thing I was worried about the ULT would be that it would feel like an electric gun's trigger, cause I really can't use those, they just feel too weak. I shouldn't have worried. The built-in response trigger (the trigger is pushed back into place by air rather than a spring) ensures that the feel of the trigger is really crisp, even though you can work it at really fast speeds.

The gun itself is made extremely well, everything is high grade aluminum, and the internals are extremely easy to take out. It's honestly one pin and the whole firing mechanism slides out, ready for you to take apart as you need to (which is rarely, according to tons of mag owners.)

I ordered the air hose kit, which came installed, including steel-braided hose and all the fittings, and an ASA. The one thing that I was pleasantly surprised about was the black shrink-wrapping that many people normally have to add themselves after they have bought the hose. The fittings are all sealed with red Loktite so they won't be moving for a very long while.

With paint and without, the gun was intensely fast, and shortstroking wasn't a problem at all. I tested the Level 10 anti-chop bolt with a squeegee, and that needed no tuning at all, re-setting itself perfectly after each simulated shot obstruction.

I haven't had a chance to test the accuracy yet, but from 10 feet (I know, I know) it was ball on ball, but so is any gun. After shooting other mags though, I'm sure this will have the near legendary accuracy of an Automag, and I'm really excited to playing with this in the upcoming games.

Durability of a Tippmann, accuracy of an Autocock-... well, an Automag, and good looks of an.... oh... I dunno :D

Anyways, it's a great gun, and the best part... I don't have to worry about batteries!

Argelmcgee
E-Jam Red Raiders Scenario Team

Update:

Well, I just got back from the West Point Fall Scenario, in which the weather was all over the map. Raining until afternoon on Saturday, humid the rest, nearly freezing at night and hot on Sunday. If that doesn't translate to bad paint I don't know what does, but nevertheless, this gun's accuracy was just as good if not better than a friend's highly upgraded NXT Shocker. Totally phenomenal. I would shoot off a burst of four or five shots at a target 70-100 feet away, and a hand would go up. It was unbelievable. I know the terms "shooting ropes" and all that, and although nothing's gonna be ball on ball at scenario field ranges, I would point it at a target, shoot off a stream of paint (very quickly sometimes) and although many times they didn't go right out on the first burst, I was able to eliminate TONS more than I usually do. I would get counts of anywhere from 5 to 10 guys before I got eliminated, (I can't count the final battle, cause I had a great spot with my team captain off to the far side of the field, and the enemy (NATO, blue team) had no idea we were there. My captain would just say "There's a guy on my side, get over here and shoot him", and it was basically that easy.)

Whatever it is about this gun, whatever people might say, my performance shot up, so I think this is the right gun for me. There was no "break in" period where I had to get used to the gun, it honestly just felt "right" in my hands.

Over the chrono I got a bit of fluctuation +-5 or so, maybe a bit more, but then again, this was only the first two cases through it, I don't know how long it takes the regulator to "set," and it was weird weather... and I don't have the gun fully tuned at all, it's basically on factory settings.

Update: Feb. 13 2008 - I've used it tons of times now. This gun is still amazing. Just this weekend I played at a scenario at Strategy Plus in Connecticut. It started snowing at about 12, and the barrel got slammed into the snow 3 times. No worries. Squeegeed it out and I kept shooting. The gun was covered in melted snow, but the performance was not affected at all. Another teammate has bought a Tac-1 now, and four more have said that they will get one as soon as they can. I'm fairly certain I can say that this is the best mechanical woodsball/scenario marker you can get.
Conclusion: Quite possibly the best gun there is. Little known, but a great, great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 13th, 2008 at 7:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media