paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan

Proto Turbine Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Turbine Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Turbine Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 3.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch goggle system adds the Turbine fan to its ever-growing bag of tricks. The Turbine keeps fog and perspiration away so you can deal with the real pressure on the field. It features the Turbo 9 accelerator blade that yields higher air flow volume and operates at a lower RPM, resulting in quieter operation and extended battery life. With 2-speed operation, you'll never have to lose your focus again.
Product Availability 
The Proto Turbine Fan is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
heinous Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2006 MacDev Cyborg
MacDev long rail
MacDev on/off ASA
Vlocity with Speed Feed
Dye Throttle 45/4500
Strengths: Cools your face.
Weaknesses: Can get loud (see review)
A bit heavy.
Review: I got this as a freebie for buying a Proto mask.

SOUND: Turning it on out of the box at home, it was quiet. Then I installed it and wore the mask and it sounded so loud when it was 1 inch from my forehead. However, using it in a game I could still hear everything going on in the field much louder than the fan. It does buzz a bit, but does not obstruct your game.

WEIGHT: This is where the fan falls short. When held in hand it felt quite light, but once I installed it I could just feel it dragging the mask down. I had to get the strap real tight to prevent that from happening. That is fine by me but I understand some of you out there might not like tight straps. Proto should have made an overhead strap from one ear to another like headphones, and made that come with the mask itself. Perhaps double-strapping is a remedy but I have not yet tried it.

WIND: Ah, this is why you got the fan. To tell the truth, you barely feel anything... until you start sweating. When you do, you will be so glad you got the fan.
Conclusion: Proto should have used a quieter motor, a fan with larger leaves and larger ventilation between the fan and mask. That would make the fan way better. As the fan is right now it is still a decent product. The sound and wind get better as you play and the weight problem has a few easy solutions.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gallace Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 With flatline, e-grip, hyperstar bolt, and compressed air

Backup --> T.E.S. With a Teardrop Barrel
Strengths: Fits well in mask
Adds SOME ventilation
Weaknesses: Doesn't help a whole lot
Loud to the person wearing it
Exspensive
Review: If you have a chronic problem with fogging this MIGHT be helpful. It does help some, though be warned the difference it makes is next to nothing. It is loud to the wearer and is pretty expensive for its usefullness. Money would be better spent elsewhere. I bought mine for twenty bucks and like an idiot didn't immediately use it. The warranty expired and by the time I found out it was useless it was too late. I have NEVER even bothered turning it on during play.
Conclusion: Don't buy unless you have cash to just throw away.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NuSkool Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT "Vortex" Fan
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 STO Autococker (CUSTOM Anodized):
-Planet Eclipse "E2" Trigger Frame
-Planet Eclipse "Zero B" Upgrade Board
-Planet Eclipse Samurai 2 Trigger
-Planet Eclipse "Reflective" Infared Anti-Chop Eye
-Planet Eclipse Electronic 5-Way/3-Way
-Kapp 5-Way/3-Way Hose w/ "Top Hats"
-Karnivor Valve Assembly
-WGP Worr-Blade "Lockdown" Hammer Kit
-WGP "STO" Inline Regulator
-WGP "MP-4" Ram (2 Built-In T.R.V/Q.E.V....lightweight AND Compact)
-WGP "Tickler" LPR (Low Pressure Regulator)
-WGP Worr-Blade Bolt
-WGP "Black Magic" Pull-Pin
-Custom Products "Flamed Drop" Forward
-Custom Products On/Off w/Bleed
-WGP Pump-Rod
-WGP "Black Magic" Cocking Rod
-Dye Beaver-Tail
-Redz "Q-Lock" Clamping Feedneck
-WGP Braided-Steel Hose
-WGP 45-Degree Stainless-Steel Elbows/Fittings
-WGP "Black Magic" 2-Piece Barrel (14inch)
-Evil Pipe Barrel Kit (14inch)

www.AnarkystPaintball.com
Strengths: Provides a cool Breeze
Weaknesses: Doesn't decrease Fog
Review: I found out the hard way, that this fan was a cheap knock-off of the "JT Vortex Fan". In my opinion, it only provided my forehead with a cool breeze. However, it did not prevent my lens from fogging up. I bought this product in hopes that it would be similar to the "Vortex"....... the only similarity: they are both fans.
Conclusion: If you have a Proto mask, then I guess you may want to consider it. Personally, I wouldn't waste my money.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reinkster Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i have never used a goggle fan before. but after this expierence i think i am going to build my own.
Marker Setup: I use a Tippmann A-5.
adjustable stock
5.5 inch or 16 inch barrel
response trigger
remote air
Strengths: Fit nice in goggle
Weaknesses: Loud!!!
Review: ok so i orderd this thing off the internet and got it today, opened the box and put the battery in. Then i turned it on and stared. I took off the cover for the battery and looked at the fan, thinking there has to be something wrong with this! i could not believe how loud it was.
Conclusion: I play scenario and the games I usually play usually have a lot of sneaky moves. I could not see this at all working in that situation. Also with the mask on I dont see how you could really understand your teamates from a distance.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goodnsmall Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
some other stuff
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
CP 1 piece barrel
CP on/off ASA
CCM Feed Neck
68/4500 java tank
empire reloader b w/ rip drive

Java Carbon Fiber 68Tank
Halo B
Strengths: Good paper weight

Weaknesses: Noise maker
Noesnt blow out air.
doesnt fit in ur mask
Review: this thing was over all horrible. i dont know why they made this. its completely useless. first the freakin fan wudnt spin so i had to put in a piece of wood thing so it wud activate the switch. dude u can seriusly blo more air out of ur mouth more than that so called fan can blow out in a day. its so noisey it wud jst give u a complete headache. its a waste of 40 bucks. no wonder they were giving it out for free if u bought a switch f.s cause it totally sucs and no 1 wud buy it and they probably needed to empty out the inventory. it really sucs. jst do ur self a favor and buy somethin else like something that wud actually help u. if u do hav it then sell it (if u can which mite really take A WHILE) and buy a headache reliever.
Conclusion: Dont recommend this thing. Dont buy it. you're just wasting $40-$50 bucks on something that you can buy for you gun thats actually helpful.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 14th, 2006 at 10:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

schecter81 Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline with proteam shroud, 48cui 3000psi Pure energy air. Collapsable CAR stock, laser sight, and red dot sight. Lapco front grip.
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: I sweat alot when I play PB. I have had my Proto Switch for a year and never really had any problems. Recently the lenses have been fogging, maybe I need a new lense. Anyway I purchased the fan hoping it would help. I just took it to a scenario game and had a chance to use it. I had to leave the fan running all the time just to keep the fog to a minimum. Once you are fogged it will not help at all. The noise really isn't as bad as everyone else says. It is definately distracting though. I payed 35 us for mine but buy the time i got it in canada it cost a cool 85 canadian. waste of money. hopefully new lenses will help.
Conclusion: Don't spend your cash, no noticable improvement.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bornhard Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT fan (much quieter! similar airflow, though JT seems to have more)
Marker Setup: Too much to type for a goggle fan review...
Strengths: Thought design was going to impress
looks solid
dye/proto has good looking gear (opinion)
Weaknesses: Cost cheap on e-bay
LOUD no joke!
5x + louder than my computer case fan!
Review: I've owned a couple JT fans for years now along with many JT masks.

I really like the Proto mask when I first saw it. Got a proto mask, cause it looked cool and is a great pair of goggles for scenario & rec ball. I needed a proto fan for fogging issue during night play, but this thing can be heard probably 20 plus feet away at night. If it had more of a thumping sound I could pretend to be a helicopter gunship flying low, coming in for an attack.

Anyway, there's a mod below....hope that makes it quieter, or I'm gonna have to trash.

I laughed when I saw a guy rig a computer fan to his goggles, but I would take that rig over the Proto Fan.

Conclusion: It works somewhat as a fan. Sound makes it bad for Air-ball and Rec-ball. You'll be heard, but unable to hear $#!+ around you! Get bunkered, or sniped with this on. Maybe worth using while walking on and off the field while goggles must remain on.

Dye/Proto...sad, very sad....product testing??

Looks cool as a paper weight though!
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 15th, 2005 at 4:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pricejm Thursday, March 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: N/A
Strengths: Made to fit the mask???
Light-weight.
Weaknesses: Annoyingly loud. No air flow worth considering.
Review: Well first of all, I don't know why they would sell this item for $50. It is only worth about $15 if it worked.

After installing my own battery, I was able to turn the fan on. I was amazed at how loud the motor was. I don't believe the fan itself is what makes it loud, but the motor. It sounds like a loud electric razor. There is know real air flow coming out of the fan.

Proto's site says it is 2-speed...is off now considered a speed.

It seems to make the goggles less comfortable because my forehead was pressing against the backside of the fan. No I don't have a big forehead. I seems it should have been made thinner.
Conclusion: I is too loud to actually use. It is not worth more than $15 (if it worked right). If you can get it for free like I did, it would be worth getting because you can lol about how ridiculous the MS-RP and the acoustics of this fan are.

I have a friend who rigged up a small computer case fan running off a 9-volt. I would suggest doing the same; add a potentiometer/rheostat to give you infinite adjustablity in speed of the fan.

I gave it a 1 because it seems to be a total waste of money.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 8th, 2005 at 12:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dockman Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Vortex Fan
Marker Setup: Black ISC Phantom
-Pun Dual Rod Undercocking
-Pun speed block
-WWA Frantom 2 with SS inserts
-CCI Adjustable Stock
-CCI Drop Out Changer
-Red Dot Sights

Prolite, VM68, 3357
Strengths: Does what it was designed to do
Easy to install
Weaknesses: Really, really, really loud
Review: Man was this disappointing. Considering the quality of the mask this really fell short. Dont get me wrong, it does what it is designed to do but it is god awful loud doing so. This is by far the loudest fan I have ever heard on a mask (even though there are not many out there).

As others have said, if you play woods ball do NOT get this fan, the sound wil drown out everything going on around you. For speed ball it would be ok but I still find it distracting.
Conclusion: Save your money and spend it on something better, if it wasn't for the fact I got it free with my mask I would have sent the thing back.

Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JDCocker Thursday, October 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: WGP '04 Pro Stock
CCM Front-End kit
CCM In-Line regulator
Eclipse Blade hinge frame
Worr Blade bolt
Check It Uni-Mount 2
Dye Sticky 3 grips
WGP Kaner barrel kit
Revvy w/ X-board
PMI 68/3000
Strengths: It does what its supposed to
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: Well, as everyone else has stated... this fan is LOUD. What on Earth was Proto thinking when they designed this thing? Airflow is sufficient to defog your mask, so if its a day that your mask will fog... then it better be running from the time you pull your mask down over your face. But, if you try and wait until your mask fogs... you're screwed. It won't do anything, other than sound like there's a swarm of bees in your mask.

Its not really loud enough to give away your position in a scenario, unless everything is quiet and someone is standing right next to you.

If you're playing in fast-paced games... the fan's not that bad. In closer quarters, there's enough markers going off to hide the sound.
Conclusion: I'd recommend it, just because it does what's its supposed to.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 28th, 2006 at 3:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media