paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Pure Energy Air System / PMI Pure Energy Air System / PMI Pure Energy Air System

PMI Pure Energy Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Pure Energy Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Pure Energy Air System
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 455
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
3000psi in 48cu, 68cu, 72cu and 88cu; 4500psi in 48cu, 68cu and 88cu; 5000psi in 68cu.
Product Availability 
The PMI Pure Energy Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (46):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Baker2g180 Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Co2 its not simialr at all, becuase Co2 is cheap and sucks, but it made my gun shoot.
Marker Setup: SP ION Freak Green
Halo B
Freak Barrel
PMI Pure Energey 72cu/3000psi
Strengths: PRICE
gets the job gone
its N2, so its accurate
Weaknesses: The guage maybe... but it does its job so no big complaints
Review: After upgrading to the Diablo Wrath, from a Tippmann 98c, I screwed in Co2 to the marker chopped like crazy. National Paintball said it was because it was cold out and my gun worked best on N2. I was forced to upgrade. Having just bought a brand new marker, ($275) $100 for a new Halo B to keep up with the gun, a new Smart Parts All-American barrel because I thought the marker would work on Co2 and stock barrels drive me crazy.

As you can imagine I was pretty broke. I needed something fast that would make my gun work. So I went online to find the best deals. I found the PMI Pure Energy. After reading reviews on pbreview.com I found that this tank is a decent investment. It was a great deal, and I like most people on a N2 tank thought that "you get what you pay for" this is not the case with this N2 tank. It is very nice. The 72 although a little bulky gives me around 800 shots. That is good for 3000psi.

I screwed it in and my guage shot up past 600 (which is the max on the Diablo guage). The pressure was causing my gun to leak through the trigger, but no trouble I turned the air intake to a mininum and it was working like a charm. It was tough to screw in but arn't all ASA's tough? Only other complaint would be that it is heavy, but its steel so that is to be expected.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great price. This tank goes away from the "you get what you pay for" it has not leaked at all to dispell that common rumor. It does its job. And that is really all you can ask for in a N2 tank. It is a little heavy, nothing too bad. I'm gonna give it a 9 becuase one point off for the guage. It isn't super accurate, and the guy screws me out of some air because of it lol. Buy this and you won't be dissapointed, even if you need a backup tank this would definitly be the way to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 28th, 2006 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ITO TTSOM Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
92/4500 Crossfire
Marker Setup: Tippman A5, Palmer Reg, Checkit Unimount, and lots of other mods
Strengths: Looks great... is real pleasing on the eye.
Weaknesses: LEAKS!!! and is completely undependable.
Review: This review is for a PMI 88/4500 Carbon Fiber HPA tank.

After having the tanks for almost three months I have had it in the shop for repairs longer than I have actually played with it. I paid $160 + shipping for it, and have spent an additional $200 in repairs, shipping, and lost field fees because it failed.

Here is a list of the specific problems I have had:
Leaks!!!
Fill nipple wont seat after fill
Bad O-ring on fill nipple
Bad Fill nipple
Tank wont accept air
Gage quit working then started leaking
Pressure too low
Pressure varies during play
And IT STILL LEAKS after the factory said they fixed it.
Conclusion: After spending so much money and time I decided to cut my losses and my final solution was to pay a competitor to put a new Crossfire reg on it for $65, and now it works PERFECTLY.

Just to make this perfectly clear: I put a Crossfire Regulator on my PMI tank to fix it.

I gave this a 2 becuase the PMI reg did not work, but the tank was pretty.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 31st, 2005 at 5:29 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

chadthedude Monday, February 2nd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a AGD flatline and the 68/3000 fiber wraped pmi tank
btw i am reviewing the pmi 48/3000 steel tanks
Strengths: it has a nice size to it
Weaknesses: every single 1 of these tanks i had leaked on me
Review: both me and two of my other friends have had the same exact problem with these tanks...on the other hand, the 68/3000 fiber wraped version of this tank has not givin me or any of my friends a problem...the48/3000 steel wraped version of this tank plain and simply sucks! dont buy one. try to stay away from the the small pmi tanks. spend a little more money for the a bigger, better made pmi tank, or go with a different brand.
Conclusion: the small tanks suck from both mine and two of my firends experiences.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

PBObsessive Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire 47/3000
Co2
Marker Setup: Odyssey 03M
Empire 4 piece barrel kit
PMI 68/3000 and Redz tank cover
32 Degrees 800 PSI Guage
Clear Egg2 with y-board and paddle mod
Strengths: Relatively inexpensive
Good quality
Weaknesses: A little heavy, need to refill often (steel tank)
None (wrapped tank)
Review: First of all, this review is for both the 47/3000 steel pure energy tank and the 68/4500 wrapped n2 tank.

Steel Tank:
Besides from being a little heavy and bulky (hey I got steel and you get what you pay for) This is a great tank. It has never leaked on me, the guage is accurate, and its consistent. Great N2 tank. This tank gave me 500 or so shots on my cocker.

68/4500
If you want a light tank, I highly recommend the 68/4500 either crossfire or this one. Both will make you happy. If you get the steel tank, you eventually will want to upgrade. The 68/45 gives me about 1600-1700 shots on my cocker
Conclusion: Great tanks. If you don't mind the weight and are on a budget, go steel but you will probably want to upgrade a little down the road.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 at 2:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bionic_show Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Bulldog 2 (The ACI is A much Better Tank)
Marker Setup: Indian Creek Bk2 2003
Boomy
Halo B
ACI Bulldog 2 6800
Strengths: It's Weight was okay not the lightest but not the heaviest.
Recharge time is not too bad
Cheap
Weaknesses: Very inconsistant.
My shots would drop of like anything.
Makes weird noises while filling (close your eyes and hope you don't die)
I went though 2 burst disks in the POS
Customer support Stunk
Review: I guess allot of people would say you get what you pay for. However not so true my ACI is a about 25 bucks more and it is a ten times better tank. Save yourself allot of trouble. Go get a bulldog 2. Their are very consistent, great recharge rate and are much better looking. Just my two cents worth.
Conclusion: Maybe I had a bad one I don't know. However the one thing I can say for sure is that I wasn't happy with the product or the poor attitude's of their customer service people.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann_dude** Saturday, December 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy 20oz tank, Rental H.P.A. tanks.
Marker Setup: 1. Tippmann Custom Pro with Response Trigger, Viewloader eVLution II, '16 CP barrel, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank.

2. Spyder Pilot, Viewloader eVLuition ll, '12 "X" barrel, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank.
Strengths: 1. Easy filling
2. Way better consistency
3. Light (in my opinion)
Weaknesses: Nothing really...It only last me about 3 games, but i consider that good.
Review: Well, i got this for christmas, and i was shocked considering how poor my family was at the time. i screwed it on to my tippmann which has an R/T, and it seemed it was more effecient with H.P.A. Then with c02. with the H.P.A., it didnt create any dramatic puff of c02 (IM THE PERSON THATS BEEN PINNING YOU DOWN, SHOOT ME!!), instead, it was a very small puff, and hard to notice. With it, my F.P.S. no longer spiked 5 F.PS., then went down 5 F.P.S, instead, it was very minor, only going up, and down when i put put it on the sweet spot and went full auto. Even whe it went up and down, it was only about give or take, 1, or 2 F.P.S. I heard rumors of it leaking, so i went to my local pro-shop, and he told me that the leaking only occured on the older models, and not to worry because i have a newer one.
Conclusion: Buy it sice its decently cheap. ( on ebay.) my dad told me he got it for around 30, or 40 bucks.

I HIGHLY RECCOMMEND THIS GREAT PRODUCT
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 29th, 2007 at 2:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protofreak Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: proto rail black dust
newdesignz slik trigger
proto alloy back cap
halo b w/ rip drive
68/45 cf tank
Strengths: Size and number of shots
Light and compact
Weaknesses: Rumered leaks
Review: Ifilled mine for the first time but the felid i go to never gives a full 4500 fill they stop at 4100- 4300 but when i went out side and finaly got home it was 3900 but i was 50 degres out side and i rode in the bed of a pickup so the drop in temp might of done the pressure drop


Other then that these pmi tanks are great they flow constanly and are light and compact

Mine was cheap 159.99 for a 68/45 but mine has the off brand bottle with out the pmi logo other wise its 205
Conclusion: Great tank for the price mine was cheaper then most of them cuz of the bottle
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 9th, 2007 at 8:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

planters_peanut Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy 20oz CO2 with on/off and anti-siphon
Marker Setup: 2K2 vert feed autococker
eVLution II hopper
eclipse blade trigger
68/4500 Pure Energy fibre-wrapped tank

soon to come:
scepter barrel kit
orracle front block and bolt
Strengths: -very consistent
-good size
-increases accuracy drastically
Weaknesses: -leaked air when first purchased
Review: I am VERY pleased with this tank. HPA is a much better system to use than CO2, and it is much better for the internals of your marker as well. The PMI system is light and durable, as well as pleasing to the eye. I have only had two problems with it:
1) After I get it refilled, i tend to have to reset the velocity. this is sort of annoying, but the more i use it, the better it gets. i guess it's just because it is still new
2) my tank leaked when i first filled it. however, some silicon gel and teflon tape fixed that problem.
Conclusion: this tank is definately worth buying! however, i am docking one mark because of the problems i experienced when first using it. considering the price, i don't think those annoyances should have occured.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 8th, 2003 at 8:18 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

sithlord77 Saturday, May 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CO2 (NOT REALLY COMPARABLE)
borrowed crossfires
Marker Setup: black and blue 05 smart parts ion
14" stiffi (how long is yours?)
68/4500 pure energy air tank (high)
ricochet apache
Strengths: If you wanted to hold down paper on a windy day it could do that
Weaknesses: Weight (god its heavy). recharge rate. leaks leaks leaks
Review: So i buy my new smart parts ion (i am a noob when it comes to higher end gear) thinking my trusty co2 tank will work (maybe with anti syphon). So i read some stuff says thats a bad idea so i decide to make the jump to slightly more invested paintballer. I research the crap out of everything tanks hoppers barrels you name it (using pb review no doubt). So i decides i gotta get a crossfire air tank cause there the best. I attempt in vain to obtain one (supposedly thier factory was out of carbon fiber to wrap the tanks in so they were mega backordered). So i go to plan B pure energy not rated the best but good name in paintball right been out for a while so i dumps my $240 on a brand new tank from a reputable online retailer.

The tank comes i open the box pull the tank out and see the first problem. This thing is heavy i think instead of fiber wrapped aluminum it fiber wrapped lead or some crap. seriously this thing is at least 2 or 3 pounds heaver than my buddies crossy. Oh well not that big of a deal the ion is light and i got a stiffi so i got weight to spare. So i take it and immeadiatley put it in a jt tank armor protect my investment i guess. Hop on down to the fire and saftey store and get her filled. they fill it to around 4100 psi after 10 min its down around 4000 so i figure from what ive read thats just form it cooling and is normal. put it in the closet forget about it till sunday pull it out now its down to 3800 (boo).
To make a long story short the damn thing leaked out of the fill neck right out of the box. A dude on my team bought one the same time i did from a different supplier and his did the same thing. come on guy ever hear of quality control? so any way i fixed it by unscrewing the feednipple and replacing the cheap ass thread dope they use with teflon tape. now the thing seems to hold air but the recharge rate is less that optimal sometimes it has trouble keeping up and you can hear it chug a little bit. If you set the dwell under 44 on the ion it will shoot once and then not recharge for several seconds.
Conclusion: Do not buy wait for the carbon fiber shortage to end and buy a crossy this is not a plan b tank it sux. you should not have to repair a brand new tank before it can be used. all that said after i fixed it it works ok besides the un crossy like recharge. but dont settle i wish i hadnt.

overall quality to price probably deserves like a 4 or 5 but im pissed so it gets a 2
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Spiga Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 04 BKO, Cp1 16", Sonic Red Valve, Glad 04, Chaos Board, Halo B, NW Supply Chrome Drop And AMG Equation Biserk 8"/ 14" Pro .689.691 inserts Halo B w/ Warp Drive ATN Red dot sight
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Leaks... Leaks.... LEAKS!!!!
Review: I've owned a 45/88 for well over a 1 1/2 now... I'm so fed up with it that I'm ready to buy another tank if it starts leaking again....

My local pbball repair places has had it their possesion longer than I've had it because it's in and out of repairs constantly.....

The fill nipple, burst disk, guage hole, the guage itself..... If it's not one thing.. it's another....

I already have a backup 20oz co2 anit syphon for a backup but I rather have a HPa tank...

This time I gogin with a Crossfire 45/92... hopefully I won't have as many problem's on my next purchase...
Conclusion: Don't buy it... find another HPA tank.... You don't want my headache....
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (46):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media