paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Real Action Paintball RAP4 / Real Action Paintball RAP4 / Real Action Paintball RAP4 / Real Action Paintball RAP4

Real Action Paintball RAP4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Real Action Paintball

Buy Real Action Paintball RAP4

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Real Action Paintball RAP4
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $499

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first real action paintball marker that is identical to the legendary M4 rifle used by SWAT Teams and the U.S. Military. The RAP4 shoots 40 or 43 caliber paintballs wrapped in metal or plastic shells. The RAP4 automatically ejects the

shells in rapid-fire succession just like a real M4 rifle. There are two types of ammunition: metal-shelled and plastic-shelled (for environment protection the plastic shells are biodegradable ).

Although the RAP4 is an automatic paintball marker, it only uses 1.5 joule to launch a 0.029 oz. projectile a distance of 33 meters. With this power, the RAP4 can be fired 50 times with only 0.4 oz of CO2. RAP4's Co2 cylinder is ingeniously hidden inside the butt stock. The RAP4 is a marvel of engineering!

The world's first paintball marker designed like a real assault rifle. Features include:


Adjustable for semi or fully automatic fire

Shell casing ejected after each shot.

Clip fed 20 rounds magazine.

Low pressure or steady pressure launch
Gas exhaust through flash hider-type muzzle
Low gas consumption
Can be fully submerged in water without harm.
Velocity 250 to 450 fps (adjustable)
Simple to operate & easy to maintain

The RAP4 allows you to enjoy War Games like never before! It looks and feels like a REAL M4 military assault rifle. Casings are ejected out the side in rapid-fire succession just like a real M4 rifle! Safely experience the excitement and heroism of real war combat! This is as REAL as it gets!

Unlike traditional paintball markers that rely on gravity and a hopper for reloading, The RAP4 loads through a bottom-mounted magazine just like a real M4 rifle! This gives users an incredibly "realistic" feeling for War Games and SWAT simulations.

Due to these many outstanding features, the RAP4 is undeniably the best non-lethal assault rifle in the world today. Many branches of the U.S. military and local law enforcement use the RAP4 in their training camps and simulations. The RAP4 is a 1000 times better than a cheap aluminum marker because it is designed and built exactly like a real M4 assault rifle. This makes RAP4 the PERFECT marker for military training, SWAT simulations, and competitive War Games. Best of all,

the RAP4 is extremely safe, highly affordable, and more fun and excitement than anything you've ever experienced

Product Availability 
The Real Action Paintball RAP4 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
maxwelbr Saturday, August 11th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other .43 Gun. I have used many .68 scenario guns, such as a Recon E5, as well as upgraded/custom 98C and A5's.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Hk33 Handguard
G3 Stock
Hk33 Mag Kit
12" Werks Barrel or 16" Progressive
Howitzer Bolt

Rap4 LE
3 Mags
Vert. Grip
Silencer
Recommended
Upgrades:
The LE is a MUST! I cannot stress this enough! The version4's just don't cut it anymore. The LE can be bought as an upgrade kit for $150, a whole new core for $290 or a new LE gun, $550 (same as a Rap4 standard). LE increses velocity with new internals, replaces the mono-filament ball detent with a rubber grommet (also increses reliability, less/no jams). A new barrel. (LE is discussed further in body)

More mags are a must for any sort of decent play. As many as your budget will allow. Along with mags is a shell catcher and a solid remote adaptor or a portable refil kit. This way you can keep the stock on.
Strengths: Realism
Accurate
Range
Reliable
Looks/feel
Weaknesses: Weight for some
High velocity
Rare parts
Rare paint
Review: To go into detail with the strengths and weaknesses:

Strengths: Well, if you like realism in you paintball, then this gun is great. When i say realism, I mean it. For some, it will be too realistic to handle. They will tire of loading each paintball into the shell, then each shell into the mags. The 21 round mags will be a burden on those trigger happy players. That's why you must be weary of this. Everything that comes with the real gun, you get with this. Goods and bads.

With the LE Upgrade, the range and accuracy is no longer an issue when playing against .68 guns. The accuracy, if tuned exactly, and using good paint with the LE barrel (copper lined barrel) you can match that of a .68 gun with a 1-piece barrel. Range is slightly less than that of a .68, but it is a sacrafice you have to make. Also, the smaller ball seems more prone to the wind, so be aware of this.

You need to reflect on your playing style when buying this gun. Are you a rusher or back? Do you like to sprint with your gun blazing and bunker people, or lay down cover? Dont get this gun. Period. The small magazines will not allow you to use cover fire, no will it allow you the freedom to make rushes with multiple enemies around. For those who are more of the flanking, stealthy or ambush players, this gun MAY be suited for you. The adjustments in playing style and mind-set is very different with this gun, more different than the gun itself. You may see someone and have surprise, but you will have to think not once but twice before going into the kill. You cannot just jump into the action, you need to plan things out. Although the full-auto can be very fast and help you get that extra step up on the enemy, you'll be hearing the click of death (empty mag) and need to reload fast.

My personal experiance with RAP4, the gun and company:

I've heard, said and believed the old saying that RAP=CRAP, but when i got the chance to trade old A5 parts for a RAP4 i jumped at it. The gun itself looks and feel awesome. The internals are on the rough side, especially the trigger. The trigger pull is heavy and rough, but you get used to it after a while. The gun takes tinkering, keep this in mind. Most of the tinerking for me was the velocity, rate of fire, barrel and mag catch/release. Upon getting the gun, the mag catch would not return when the release button was pressed. I filed this down on many occasions and had to replace a screw in the release button. The velocity is a must! You need to use about 200 balls to tune it for maximum performance, possibly more. Target balls would be a good buy for this if you have the money. You shoot a grouping, open the gun and adjust slightly until you get the best groupings. The barrel is a little fidgety, at least mine was. The previous owner had tightened the set screws too tight so the barrel was really hard to move. Its nothing major though, especially with the LE upgrade.

Trust me when i say you need the LE upgrade! I got this gun as a version 4, and it was jamming every other shot, range was bad and accuracy was worse! I don't know why, but casings would not eject for 3 shots, or shoot a dozen meters. I purchased the LE Upgrade Kit ($150) and basically recieved a new gun. RAP4 sent me a whole new LE core with LE barrel and grommet because the kit was out of stock. They sent me nearly $300 worth of parts when i paid for $150. This was a very great thing to do on their part. I was very pleased. Only thing that sucked was that i needed a new barrel adapter for the rubber grommet to seat properly. I called RAP4 wondering why and they told me the problem quickly and politely and after telling them my order number they sent me a new barrel adpater free. I have nothing but good things to say about their customer service thus far, and KT Tran, the owner, is a very polite person and very helpful through e-mail.

There is a noticeable differance between the LE and version 4. LE shoots 350-450fps, when the version 4 tops at 280. Be careful though, fields will most likely not allow the smaller paint size, and those that do might have a chrono limit of 300fps even for the smaller paint. It is safe to shoot the gun at 450fps however, because of simple physics. The mass of the ball is less, and thus the energy of the ball (even at 450fps) is still considerably less than that of a .68 at 250fps. No comments on the pain of getting hit though, have yet to experiance that. I'd assume that it would welt more because of the harder shell, but not hurt as much initially. I shot my brother from about 40 meters and he had a silver dollar size welt where it hit a minute after once i upgraded to the LE version. When i had the version 4, my friend shot himself in the bare foot point blank and didn't seem to hurt.

Conclusion: Is this gun for you? I'd say it probably isn't. It takes a special type of player to want the gun, and an even more unique player to use it effectively. When used right, it can be just like a .68 gun, plus the looks and realism that cannot be achieved by them. The paint can be ordered for about the same price as a average .68 paint (15-20 dollars for 500). It really comes to $30 with 500 casings however, thus a shell catcher is good. The AG1 forumula paint from RAP4 and its dealers works the best.

I'd say join the forums at www.rap4.com/forum and ask a bunch of questions. The folks there are great and very helpful. If you plan on using this as a primary, don't. It IS prone to breaking and parts are rare. Not that it breaks more than any other gun IF TREATED PROPERLY! but parts take longer to get and are more expensive. Get a reliable .68 that you can use any time, then get this gun. This can be a primary easily when it's working, but it will require proper care and tinkering to keep it going.

The gun is great fun to shoot, hold and play with. Its a really awesome gun for those who can use it and afford to use it properly. Really for the die-hard woodsballer or scenario player. It can be used in outlaw skirmishes too, just don't expect to use it all the time, especially at fields because most don't allow the .43 paint.

Keep in mind your playing style and reflect on the changes that will have to be made, THEN get the gun. Its a great gun if used to its potential and for this to happen it will be expensive and time consuming. The reward for this is the most realistic and cool gun ever built with accuracy that meets a .68cal gun and the range just short of it.

8/10 because of the fact that paint and parts are rare and it requires tinkering and tuning. Other than that, perfect in almost every way!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

dustinlowery Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 custom sniper kit
Marker Setup: RAP4 with an A2 barrel

Spyder TLX with a 12inch hamerhead barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Customize it to your desire, get more magazines and a 60gram tank.
Strengths: More accurate then most paintball guns, very realistic, upgradable.
Weaknesses: The cost and .43 caliber paint is hard to find and so are the casings.
Review: I first picked it up it felt sweet, very realastic like a M4/C8 i liked the fact u had to change mags and shells came out and you should use the sites i only used goggles not full mask becuz i wa sonly with 3 other guys who had the same gun and they arent as bad as a .68 when the hit you in the head. Absolutely amazing for scenario play, get it if you want realism and tell your friends to.
Conclusion: Amazing gun for scenario play get it if you want realism and tell your friends to get it also.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

SonicNox Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like this
Marker Setup: Im currently in the market.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have no idea
Strengths: Looks real
Feeds through magazines
Weaknesses: Uses tiny lil paintballs
Parts brake (magazines)
Not allowed on most fields
Review: Ok when I first pick up this marker I thought it was pretty kool b/c it looks so real and feeds through magazines. I went to put some paintballs in it and guess what? They wouldn't FIT!... I asked the person wtf was wrong with his marker and he just laughed and handed me a bag of these tiny lil paintballs about the size of reinforcements (you know the kind you use on paper). So i was like "ok..." and filled up the magazine with them. I set it up and fired a few shots. The paintballs were tiny so you wouldn't even see them when they left the barrel. I walked around were I shot them and found a tiny paintball mark on a tree bout 25 yards down. I can tell you one thing those lil paintballs are FAST! Seriously, don't get hit by one cuz they STING. I cant believe our field actually let him use this marker. This marke is a lil but heavy to but not that bad but not good for any type of speed ball.

Even though it looks real and kool this is the kinda thing that gets paintball banned or give it a bad name. By companies making real looking semi-auto markers that look EXACTLY like a real gun. What would happen if you were walking home carrying this thing and a cop drove by?? You would land you ass in jail thats what. Im not saying its a bad idea to have one just don't go walking around home with what appears to be a M16 in your hand. Keep it in a carrying case.

Now about the paintballs. Apparently the only way to get them is by ordering them off the companies site that made the marker (Real Action Paintball). Therefore, if you wanted to have a game you would have to wait about a week before you could use it or even test it out if you just got it. Just make sure you stock up on them so you wont run out when you need them.

Thats about it. The maker is $500 so you could easily get a high end semi-out or mechanical maker but hey its your choice.
Conclusion: If you want a real looking marker than go right ahead but if you looking for speed, reliability, durability and a overall better marker get something different.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 12:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phecri902 Sunday, October 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: Great for milsim, no hopper hits, very durable, will last long time if maintained.
Weaknesses: Requires frequent maitenance, not for the impatient, small magazine can be a deterrent.
Review: I've been using this marker for over a year, so I think it's time I posted a review. The first thing to remember is that these markers require constant attention. They must be stripped and cleaned frequently, I would suggest before every game. They will not appeal to everyone, and you must think carefully before you buy one of these. It really depends on what you are looking for in the market.
These markers are magazine fed via a 20 round, spring-fed detachable magazine. The .40 or .43 paintballs are loaded into small shell casings, which are available in a biodegradable plastic or metal alloy. Shell catchers are available to recycle your shells.
CO2 tank is smaller than normal, and fits inside the buttstock. The marker has a very efficient gas consumption, and a 45 gram tank (about 1.5 ounces) will give you about 140 shots (7 magazines, which is a lot.) The tanks provided are standard threeads, so you can also use a remote line, or remove the buttstock and use a standard CO2 tank. These markers are also adaptable for Nitro and HPA, but I have not personally used these in this marker.
There are two main versions available, the RAP4 and the RAP4 LE. The LE uses higher quality parts, and the CO2 efficiency increases a LOT when using the new parts. Higher pressure from the new system allows very high velicity, from 350 to 450 FPS. Since the paintballs are of smaller mass than .68 caliber, they can be safely fired at these higher speeds without any greater risk of injury. This is great for people who play in backyards, or for Law Enforcement/military training groups; However, if you play at chrono of 300 or less, the standard RAP4 will meet chrono, so it would be a wiser purchase.
Accuracy depends on the version you purchase. The LE version gets direct shot accuracy of around 1" groupings at 75+ feet, whereas the standard version gets about 6" groupings at 65 feet, due to the lesser velocity.
The best paint available can only be purchased form one of the leading distributors, www.rap4.com. If your field has a field paint only rule, try asking the field owner if it's possible for the shop to order it for you. That's what I'm doing now, so the paint isn't an issue. However, if you can't get the paint for the place you intend to play at, then this isn't worth your money at all. Get something you can use.
The parts are metal, and the outer housing is mostly anodized aluminum, so this thing can take a real beating. Since it's all mechanical, this marker can even be sumberged without damage. There is also an airsoft conversion kit, so these markers are incredible for airsoft play, since they can literally go anywhere. The paint can't go underwater without damage, but the marker will perform well in the rain, since the paint is kept in the chamber until firing.
Simply put, this marker is ideal for someone looking for flexibility. The options available for use are staggering (CO2, HPA, Nitro, stock, no stock, remote line, airsoft, paintball, tactical training). However, you MUST be willing to spend a lot of time on this marker, it is HIGH MAITENANCE. But since it is mechanical, it's not that hard to figure out. For help when maintaining the marker, you cam always visit the forums at www.rap4.com. The people who have been on that forum a long time can give you a lot of help if you run into a problem not covered in the manual (which isn't that great.) Remember, these markers are made in Asia. RAP4 is just a distributor. They don't manufacture them. So don't go pointing fingers at the wroing people if the marker isn't what you expected.
Conclusion: This product requires a lot of time and is a great learning experience if you have the patience. If you want soemthing that doesn't require a lot of attention, then you should find something else. These aren't for everyone. But if you have the time to sink into this thing, it'll serve you very well for a long time.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Matt1230 Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann A-5, 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Rap 4 LE 2 mags
Strengths: Good looks, nothing else
Weaknesses: Bad quality, Poor preformnce and Really bad customer sevice.
Review: I got this gun for my Birthday. When I took it out of the box it looked amazingly real. Then when I tried to fire it, the paint balls exploded in the barrel. Paid $30 to get it shipped to the warranty company took 2-weeks to get them to repair it, and then another 2-week to get it repaired. When I got it back same thing, they did nothing.Rap4 said they would replace it, so I called there warranty company and they said they don’t do replacements. Talked over 30 people in there tech support, it is like a maze they just keep sending you to the same people you talked to a few minutes ago. The tech support hangs up on you sometimes. These markers are the biggest waste of time and money. This company has bad reviews for a reason. They might look cool, but they don’t work. This company is horrible and I will never buy from again. You can trust me on that one. After 2 months of fighting with this company i finally got my money back Some what. One I paid in total $65 in shipping, second they took 25% in restocking fee. The the manager said he will give back $400. He lied all he did was take my gun and money. Now i have to call my credit card company and cancel the order.

F*ck rap4 and their $hity guns

Trust me don't Judge a paintball gun by its outside, but what is inside that counts.
Conclusion: If you want to waste your time and money on this marker that can be beat by a $20 gun at Walmart go ahead. These guns are worse than a Brass Eagle. A Brass eagle really is a better gun. But the A-5 has better accuracy and longer rage and 200 dallers cheaper also bulit 10X better, last it comes with a WARRANTY unlike rap4.

I will never buy form this company for the rest of my life.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 7:58 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

KirKTimN Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None like the RAP4. I have used a Spyder Xtra, Miltec MT66, and Brass Eagle Avenger.

For milsim, the marker I've used that has come the closest was the Miltec MT66, and it doesn't compare to the RAP4.
Marker Setup: RAP4 METS system, 45g tank x2, magazines x7
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra magazines, an extra 45g or 60g CO2 tank. For milsim players the marker can use an assortment of rails and accessories.
Strengths: Realistic operation. Efficient CO2 use. Customizable. Accurate up to 100 feet.
Weaknesses: no fields THAT I KNOW OF currently allow the firing in excess of 300fps. Cost.
Review:
Review: Being a cadet at North Georgia College and State University, I wanted to purchase a paintball marker that would provide the most realistic operation in order for myself to get used to operating an M16 Rifle/M4 Carbine. After purchasing a Miltec MT-66 and using other paintball markers as well as reading about ATS’s markers, I discovered the RAP4. After watching a video of the US Army 95th Training Division using the system, I decided to try it out myself. I bought my RAP4 at the beginning of 2007. I’ve had to send it in for repairs once but more on that later. I will attempt to review the marker in sections.

NOTE: I am reviewing the latest RAP4 METS system. Keep in mind that there are other versions such as the RAP4 Version IV and RAP4 LE which WILL perform differently.

Appearance and Pre-Usage: 10/10
First off, RAP4 is a dealer for APS RAM and the company that makes the RAP4. In most other locations you will find the RAP4 listed as RAM. This stands for REAL ACTION MARKER. As the name implies, the marker operates in a realistic manner. The marker is a 1:1 scale replica of an M4A1 Carbine. It also functions in a similar manner to the M4A1 and the M16A3. The system consists of the marker with an orange glazed muzzle, one 45g CO2 cylinder, and one magazine. You can buy packages that include more magazines, CO2 cylinders, and even a hard case or vest but those would cost you more.

The air supply (in this case a 45g or 60g CO2 tank) is hidden inside the RAP4’s collapsible butt stock. This frees the user from using a hose or attach a heavier tank that is required for most other markers. On the flip side, if you so choose, you can attach a 20 oz tank or a remote line to the marker and choose not to use the butt stock. The 45g and 60g CO2 tank operates differently from most tanks that I have seen. This is because instead of having a valve that is depressed by the marker and allowing the CO2 to flow, there is a on/off switch on the back of the tank that you twist after attaching the cylinder to the marker. This means that the marker can have the CO2 tank attached and still not be able to fire if you haven’t turned the tank on.

Next are the magazines. You have to hand load each paintball into either an metal alloy shell or a biodegradable plastic shell and then manually load them into the magazine. Once you’ve loaded your magazines, all you have to do is place the magazine in the marker, pull the charging handle to open the dust cover, turn the fire selector switch to either SEMI or AUTO and pull the trigger.

Other things on the marker are the charging handle, the fire selector switch, the front and rear sights, and the magazine ejection button.

The charging handle doesn’t actually charge the bolt; it just opens the marker’s dust cover to allow the shells to be ejected. This is where most users who have used an M16, AR15, or M4 will feel a difference. The charging handle feels light compared to the real thing since it’s not pulling a bolt into a buffer spring, and it also has a “short stroke”: only about half the distance of that of a real rifle. The rest of the marker (selector switch, sights, etc.) act like the real thing.

Performance: 7/10
The RAP4 performs like the real M4A1 carbine. Due to the smaller caliber paintball though, you have to turn up the velocity beyond 300 fps to have performance that is comparable to a .68 caliber paintball gun. As stated earlier, I currently do not know of any paintball fields that will allow a marker to shoot past 300 fps. Though there are rumors of some fields allowing you to do so, I have yet to find any in my location. This leaves the RAP4 for woodsball and milsim use mostly. This is okay with me since I generally don’t play on a field. For those who do play on fields, DO YOUR RESEARCH. CALL AND ASK THE FIELDS YOU PLAN ON PLAYING ON BEFORE BUYING. Otherwise by an Ariakon, Miltec, Warsensor, Armotech, ATS, RAP4 T68, or any other .68 caliber marker. My marker was accurate up to at least 50 yards and left groupings less than 1 foot in diameter. I’ve heard other markers giving off different numbers but the general consensus is about 100 feet which is more than enough for a typical woodsball or milsim player. On a windy day though, I saw my paintballs veering direction sooner than a .68 caliber due to it’s smaller mass. Using just one (1) 45g CO2 tank, I was able to fire seven (7) full magazines and still didn’t have to refill. Since each magazine holds 20 rounds, this equals to 140 rounds off 45g of CO2. To me, that is very efficient since you shouldn’t need more than 7 magazines in one playthrough anyway. For most paintball players, you’ll have to change your strategy since you’re limited on ammo compared to hopper fed markers, but it adds to the realism if that’s what you’re looking for.

Maintenance: 4/10
Maintenance for the RAP4 can be a daunting task. Taking the marker itself is pretty simple. You just remove the two pins like you would for an M16 and the two halves split apart. From here you can adjust the rate of fire and velocity using hex wrenches. If you need to repair the core, that’s more difficult to remove and you might lose pieces. This was where I had most trouble with my marker. I ended up not being able to fix the problem I had and sent it in for repairs. The plus side, ever since they fixed it, I never had to touch the marker again.

Customer Service: 10/10
Customer service for the RAP4 is excellent. They now have a location in Colorado dedicated for just repairs and service. The marker comes with a one year warranty, IF you fill out the card and send it in. Alternatively, you can go on the RAP4 website and apply for warranty there but it’s sometimes difficult to know where to go. As I stated earlier, my marker was having problems and I couldn’t fixed it. Since I had warranty, I called the service center and sent in my marker. I received it back a few weeks later and it’s worked perfectly ever since. If you don’t have warranty, you can still send it in but they’ll charge you a fee. Customer service was friendly and quick to respond. They even told me that if they couldn’t fix the marker, they would replace it and send me a brand new one. You can also request that they test the marker before sending it back to you (I had them send 6 magazines through my marker on both auto and semi.)
Conclusion: The RAP4 is a unique marker that is still relatively new in the paintball world. If you’re a woodsball player looking for that realism or that milsim player that wants the ultimate milsim experience, then the RAP4 is the perfect marker for you. If you’re used to playing speedball or fields then you probably would want to consider buying another marker or changing your style of play. As I stated earlier, DO YOUR RESEARCH as most fields will not allow you to fire above 300 fps or allow the use of .43 caliber paintballs or both. If you play on fields, then ask around before you buy, but if you play with friends in the woods then this might just be the gun for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 19th, 2007 at 11:46 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

stormoffires Friday, August 26th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tipman A-5, and a few auto-cockers
Marker Setup: Rap4 LE with 6x 20 round mags, 1x mag clinch, 1x 45g Co2 tank, 2x 60g Co2 Tank, 500+ shells, Barrel cover, and shell catcher
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything it currently has, maybe more mags, deffiently get a shell catcher! and more air tanks ;)
Strengths: Good solid marker, reliable no ball breaks ever! (endless your fps is way to high)
Weaknesses: Two rounds fall out when clip is removed before its empty.
Review: This is a GREAT! marker! truely impressed! just sad that you have to fill each clip after each use. I recomend you get the Rap4 LE and not the Rap4, even if its .43 cal paint it will rock the world with its 1:1 scale with the real standered issue M4 and it weights the same! Its defiently a great gun never had a ball break, better then A-5, and some auto-cockers and its just stinking cool!
Conclusion: Get the Rap4 LE if you want best performance and Realism!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

IntruderPTY Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipman pumps, tipman custom 98, typman A5, spyder classic, spyder Aggresor, angel, Cocker, and some others i cant remember their names...
Marker Setup: RAP4 LE, no accesories yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything and M4 can carry and you like (Rails for flash lights and laser pointers are on my xmas list)
Strengths: Realism, water submergible, REALISM, no hopper, REALISM,
Weaknesses: Single dealer, not acceptable on regular (hard headed) fields, no open availability of paintball size.
Review: I recieved very exited about it, i opened and tested, taked more time to be "ready", more discipline, needed to "prepare" the mags, i could quicly attach a 9oz tank, and starte shooting... it put holes in cardboard boxes (computer motherboard boxes) at 30 feet, very very accurate (2 inch grouping), the "cases dropping" felt really cool (and caused quite and impression on real play), but i suggest you get a case holder to save some money. Fps regulation its different, and that will cause troubles in some fields (did i mention hard headed?), but its safer than .68, lacks the same LONG distance, but its quite comparable with tippman A5. Magazine can be taken out one put it without lossing some/all paintballs
I read several bad reviews on RAP4, but seem the RAP4 LE had fixed most of them.
I had my orange tip painted with car paint... hated that...
Conclusion: If scenario and realism as it can get its your thing, then THIS is the gun for ya. NOT a speedball gun, lack the ammo capabilities and range. Not perfect, manufacturer can still fix some issues, like magz loosing balls when unloaded not empty.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Molot Tuesday, September 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAP99, only similiarities are the realism and use of .43 caliber paintballs.
Marker Setup: RAM1R with CASV EL handguard, Magpul CTR Stock, Eotech 557, 3x Magnifier, folding grip and tri rail mount.
Recommended
Upgrades:
More magazines, 60gr gas tank.
Strengths: Realism
Weaknesses: Only for true MILSIM players
Review: I refer to it as RAM 1R because RAP4 simply rebrands, they dont make these. The oficial distributer in USA is Umarex, and they are sold to the rest of the world by APS and manufactured by QianWei Paintball in China. I bought mine from an oficial APS distributor here in Argentina. Overall it is a great marker. I have always wanted a trully realistic paintball marker and this is as good as it gets. 20 round magazines, shell ejecting, no hopper, no big gas tanks and no remote lines. From up close it looks exactly as a real M-4 and its overall operation is quite similar. Its weight is a bit more than the real M-4 too.

I loved it from the beggining and knew I was going to require a big budget. I got a lot of external upgrades for it, but also 5 spare mags which are quite expensive and the 60gr gas tank. Internally it is VERY compex, but sense it was several of us in the team that got the marker we bought one maintanaince kit that comes with all the tools required to maintain and fix the marker. Once you get the hang of it you realize its not all that complicated.

The biggest draw back is that you have limited supply of CO2, enough for 8 mags at most. Which means that sometimes I just resort to taking out the stock and playing with a 9 ounce tank screwed in the back and use that a stock. It doesnt look as good but I dont need to refill my tank as often. Actually the 9 ounces seem eternal.

Other issue is that you need to use it at 400-450 FPS and some fields wont allow it. But we have found that most MILSIM games do.
Conclusion: Its a great product a long as you are aiming for true realism and are willing to spend a lot of extra money on magazines.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tm7Springer Tuesday, January 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAM p99
Marker Setup: Tm7 14" night stick barrel dye rigor hopper pure energy 70cu 3000psi tank and remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra clips
Strengths: Realism high upgradable no hopper
Weaknesses: 20Rd clips core of marker is overly complex key part that are broken to easy.
Review: First off the marker looks fantastic. Standing five feet away from it you can not tell the real one from fake. It has all the mil-sim correct part to it. From the rear site with windage and pep holes. To the fully functioning 20 rd clips.
Tha marker has ok to above average range, but lack the ability to fire though brush with much effectively.
The biggest down side to this setup is haveing to load the paint into the shells and then the clips one by one. This is vary time consuming. Some of the other major drawbacks is clips do not sit tight when load in the marker. This will cause the round to feed in at odd angel leading to frequent jamming. Also when closing up the rap 4 the shell ejecter will stick out and if tour not careful you can shear the spring or ejecter off.
The problem with the core is that it is vary time consuming to remove from the marker and is hard to.get at the internal parts. The triggeris vary sloppy but This is personal preference.
The only other true down side to it is that the rate of fire on the marker is inferior most other markers not to note the small amount of paint each clip holds.
Conclusion: The mark is just not worth the time and money for standard woods ball. But if you are going for a true mil-sim then get but it's best if the other people you play against have it to.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media