paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Warped Sportz Dark Shocker / Warped Sportz Dark Shocker / Warped Sportz Dark Shocker / Warped Sportz Dark Shocker

Warped Sportz Dark Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Warped Sportz

Buy Warped Sportz Dark Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Warped Sportz Dark Shocker
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Dark Shocker is a 100 percent authorized Smart Parts, private-label Shocker.

The marker carries the following features:
Tech Specs:
-Smart Parts circuit board/ operating pressure-low pressure/ semi-auto/ open bolt/ "vision" anti-chop eye/ recieves cocker hread barrels/ custom trigger/ custom milling/ re-enforced, 15 degree gas through/ drop forward and ASA adaptor
Custom Parts Standard on the Dark Shocker:
-.691 bore, CMT thread, 15 inch Lucky 15/ Function Clamping Feedport
Product Availability 
The Warped Sportz Dark Shocker is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Vinny3299 Tuesday, August 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4 fly, All intimidators, Spyders lol, Cockers, DM4, Impulse
Marker Setup: FULLY UPGRADED BY WARPED SPORTZ.
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE THAT I CAN FIND HONESTLY,
Strengths: Very light i want to say about 1.8lbs, very good for front man player
Weaknesses: Drop forward i feel is retarded put a rail on it and your set.
Review: Dark Shocker Features:
Custom Cocker Threads
Custom Milling
Custom Grip Frame with Gripper
15 Degree ASA and Front Reg (vs. gas thru grip on some other models)
Function Clamping Feedport
.691 Bore Lucky 15 Cocker Thread Barrel

all i can say is warped sportz put it to the test on this marker, it ran very well for a shocker, most shockers i have shot were ok but kinda incosistant, but warped upgraded to their trigger all internals. magnetitc trigger helps for ripping on it, a little trigger job and it will FLOAT. maybe a little much on air use but this gun is perfect for a front player or even mid player. you can be very tight with it.

all low pressure internals done by warped sports
a plus using cocker thread barrel, lucky 15 shoots flawless
out of the box air it up and ready to fire
low rise clamp feedneck great to clamp that halo b or reloader b down. thats what you'll need.
eye's on you will not chop with them it wont fire unless a ball is present.
my question to everyone out there is all the top teams out there are shooting shockers, well here's the top of the line shocker and made me switch from my angel 4 fly and get one of these to shoot so.
Conclusion: Great bang for you buck and not expensive at all, top of the line. get rid of the drop forward and your set.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

sprayandpray Sunday, November 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
lasoya and species timmy, rasta fly, dark impulse, karnivor, matrix
Marker Setup: stock dark shocker, a beautiful candy apple red
halob(a must)
cp reg
HE bolt
check-it unimount
68/45 lp crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
these are upgrades i believe EVERY shocker needs
HE bolt
unimount or rail
custom products reg
Strengths: Speed, beauty, easy maintenance, simplicity, accuracy, and it's itty bitty. comes with guage.
Weaknesses: Gas usage, Reflective eye.
Review: ok folks here we go
SPEED: this thing is fast! the trigger and guard work together very well to encourage high rates of fire. i'm not that fast but with the stock board, (no flipped switch) i can easily reach 15+ bps. quick note about the feedneck. it's designed for a halo neck. if you put a revi or an evo on it, you need to wrap it with tape one time.
BEAUTY: this marker is a work of art, i've had it for over 6 months and sometimes i still sit there and just stare at it. everyone who has seen it, dm4 owners, angel owners, timmy owners, all of them agreed it was beautiful.
MAINTENANCE: come on, it's ONE TUBE! you can have it completely disassembled in about a minute thirty. can't say that about any other high end gun i know. pop everything out, inspect the o-rings, clean it off, lube it up, and put it all back together.
ACCURACY: when you have a reg that can keep up with a good recharge rate and a tank that can supply the air you will shoot ropes of paint with this gun. it's very easy for your body to learn how to aim the marker, what i mean is, there is no conscious aiming. you can do instinctual point and shoot and be right on target. many times i have ran full speed downfield and fired a single paintball at an opponent cross field and watched it break on goggles or center mass.
SIZE: this marker is so tiny. my friend has told me he can't even tell when i stick my shocker out from behind the bunker, the only time he knows is when he sees paint coming.
GAS USAGE: really only a problem for those who have to pay for each fill or back men in tournaments, but i say, better safe than sorry. the average balls shot for a 68/45 tank i found through my "extensive" research into forums is around 650-900 for the stock bolt and 1250-1400 for one of the HE bolts available. right now there are about 4 bolts available but because of the milling of the dark shocker you can't use a couple of them. I would recommend the SP turbo charger bolt, around $95 ( i know it hurts)

REFLECTIVE EYE: this is cause i'm lazy and now i have to look at the color of paint before i buy it. i got spoiled by my timmy's eye. if you have bright paint there will be ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEMS, but if you use dark shell paint, you'll probably have to turn the eyes off.
Conclusion: i absolutely love this gun. the weaknesses i posted are there because they aren't perfect. the gas usage isn't going to kill you unless you pay for every fill or shoot ridiculous amounts of paint. and the reflective eye is cause i'm lazy.
bottom line? FAST, SMALL, SEXY, AND CONSISTENT(when mini reg is clean)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 12th, 2005 at 3:34 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pgoty Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE DM4
KARNIVORE
MATRIX LCD
INTIMIDATOR DRAGON
Marker Setup: HAD 2 DYE DM4's
-CP TRIGGER, TADAO CHIP
DYE MATRIX LCD
-FREAK KIT, CP TRIGGER
HALO B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe A Rail (Depending on the way you shoot)
Strengths: Light, Low Profile, Fast As Hell.
This Marker is A Great Mid & Front Player Gun.
Weaknesses: NONE. It is complete out of the box.
Review: This is a great marker with a great price tag, I've owned several DM4's and a Matrix LCD. I've also shot my teamates markers ranging from (DM4-Karnivore-Intimidator Alias-Trixxes and to Angels) I loved my DM4's,Trixxes and Angel for the Speed, Karnivore and Intimdator for the feel.

A smart parts Shocker marker has nothing on the Dark Shocker.

The Dark Shocker is All-In-One. This is the marker that I will probably retire out of the sport with. It is so compact and low profile that will just make you want to run and bunker everyone.
Conclusion: The opinion expressed above are my personal feeling of the Dark Shocker, I've owned and shot alot of markers "you could say that I'm a gun whore" but the DS is the best marker that I've shot so far. THERE IS PRACTICALLY NOTHING TO DO ON THE MARKER (Just take it out of the box and let the bunker fest begin)
Enjoy!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spshocker Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder and Tippmann 98 Custom, but although the Tippmann is superior to the Spyder, neither really compares to the Shocker. I have also used a Vision Shocker which is very comparable with a few exceptions (feedneck, the regular vision shocker is lighter and has a shorter barrel and different styling). The vision shocker is very similar in performance to the Dark Shocker. Both shoot very fast and are easy to use.
Marker Setup: Limited Edition Dark Shocker by Warped Sportz.
68 ci 4500 psi low pressure tank.
Halo B loader.
15" Lucky 15 Barrel
Currently the marker is stock as received from Warped Sportz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Others have recommended a high efficiency bolt but I love the way it performs as is. I would hate to mess with it and screw something up. We have free gas available at our field, therefore there is little need at this time to tinker with a bolt upgrade.
Strengths: Very Fast!!
Accurate!!!
Sexy Looks!!
Easy adjust trigger.
Clamping Feed Neck.
Vision
Regulator Gauge
Weaknesses: Gas Usage ?? I didn't really notice a problem.
Price.
Review: I've always liked the looks of shockers but when I held one, I knew I had to have one. When I saw the Limited Edition Dark Shocker from Warped Sports, (WS) there was no question that was the gun for me. The price was a little steep but I'm glad I went ahead and bought this gun. The gun was set up and ready to go when I received it from WS. It shot well with the velocity at approximately 280 right out of the box. Just to learn the gun a little more, I started messing with the settings (output pressure, rate of fire, ramping and dwell). It was a little confusing at first but is really fairly simple once you get used to it. This gun is very, very fast. I had to turn down the ROF to prevent my hopper from emptying in mere seconds. Even with the ROF set in the middle of the range, I can rip through a full hopper and 4 pods before I know it. The marker is nearly a pound heavier (due to the heavy WS milling) than the regular vision shocker but people still comment about how light the marker feels. The trigger is very easy to adjust. It has three adjustment screws and a magnet that can help adjust the trigger pull. I haven't messed with the magnet but have adjusted the three allen screws to make the trigger very sensitive. It is fairly easy to bounce but if ramping is set at 5 (the highest setting) there is little need to bounce. In tournaments, ramping will need to be turned off. This is easy to accomplish with buttons under the handle. I even drilled two small holes through the handle so that I can adjust dwell, ROF and ramping without taking the handle of. I use the same small allen wrench for adjustment that I use to adjust the trigger screws.

I have not had a single ball break in the chamber but did have a few break in the barrel during high rates of fire. Not a big deal because it clears very fast after only 2-3 shots (without using a squeegee). I was shooting inexpensive paint (spank and JT Maxim2). It liked the spank best. I know high-end paint will do even better.

During the games, I was able to shoot ropes of paint the entire distance of the field very accurately.

No problems with this gun so far. I expect to have it for a long time!
Conclusion: I definitely recommend the Warped Sportz Dark Shocker as well as the Vision Shocker. They are clearly the best guns I have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

smartguy41 Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Warped Sportz Dark IR3
04' Shocker Vision
Marker Setup: Primary Marker
*DYE DM4*
-Function push button On/Off
-Tadao M3 Chip
-Warped Sportz Lucky 15 Barrel
-Hybrid Panelz Contract Killer Grips

Backup Marker
*2k4 Impulse Vision*
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: *See Review*
Weaknesses: *See Review*
Review: *I have only tested this product so this will be a review of first impressions.*


Well a guy came and visited our field one day who owned one of these. Me being the person that I am I just had to shoot it. First off I like Smart Parts and I love Warped Sportz so the two combined are great. I noticed that it came with a Lucky 15 Barrel, locking feedneck, and a 15 degree reg. The trigger is very nice and has a nice light trigger pull. As far as weight goes, it's about as light as a shocker, maybe, just maybe, a little tiny bit heavier, but still light. Okay, accuracy, well as any shocker it was accurate and the Lucky 15 made it that much more accurate. It had a slight loft as any paintball gun does, but not enough to really throw you off. Speed, well it was fast, what else can I say? Efficiency, I didn't really use it enough to notice any major problems with air. It's just about as efficient as any shocker, I would think. Overall a nice gun and worth all of the money.
Conclusion: Expensive, as any Warped Sportz marker, but well worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 28th, 2006 at 10:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whoscool22 Friday, February 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freeflow Shocker, Shocktech Shocker, Regular Vision Shocker, DM6, PM6
Marker Setup: Dark Shocker, 14in' Freak, CP on-off, Empire rail, Dynasty board, HE Bolt Kit, CP Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP on-off (The Smart Parts one's are not very good) CP Regulator (More Consistant) And an HE bolt kit (Better Air Eff.)
Strengths: Acurrate, Angled Reg, Very little Kick, awsome looking
Weaknesses: Bolt Sticks sometimes in very cold temps but that happens with every closed bolt marker.
Review: I bought this marker used and i have to say that it is the best marker that i have ever owned. It is accurate (just like all shockers) good on air, and consistant. I can shoot 4 pods and a hopper off a 45-45. I recommend a cp reg and on off for it. The Cp on off is very easy to use and never messes up. the CP reg adds alot of consistancy and less FPS fluxuation.
Conclusion: I totally recommend this product for touny players. It shoots ropes and is very dependable as long as you know how to take care of it (lube it after everyday of play) I give this product a 10 for sure.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

edcan Thursday, October 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Game Face Thunder Impulse, Ion
Marker Setup: WS Pewter Heavy Metal Dark Shocker
HE Bolt
Dye Stainless Boomstick
Trinity on/off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Designz v3 Stinger for cut bodies
Virtue or Dynasty Board
New Detents
Any kind of Bleeder on/off ASA
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Quietness
Grip
Good Point and Shoot-type feel
Weaknesses: Not Much
Efficiency
Just Change O-Rings
every 10 Cases
Review: This gun shoots really well compared to most of the markers I used prior to the Dark Shocker. I own the Dark and the 03 and I can honestly say that they're the most accurate guns I've ever shot, hitting fence posts from 75 feet away consecutively is pretty good. As with any Shocker the efficiency is not the greatest but for the price I sacrifice a little efficiency for some killer accuracy. I play mostly Speed Ball but when I play woods ball (rarely) people always compliment on how little they can hear my gun...SNIPER!!!
Conclusion: If you like accuracy and a compact feel in a marker I would suggest getting any kind of Shocker, you won't regret it, and for those killer prices you can find on ebay there's no reason you shouldn't own one. DARK SHOCKER.... GET ONE:) ;)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

r51460 Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 Shocker
DM5
06 Nexus Ego
DMC
Nerve
Marker Setup: Nexus Ego w/ Maxflo micro
Dark Ego w/ Maxflo micro
Dark Shocker/ 04 Vision Shocker (Backup)
Virture board
Predator board
Lucky 15 Kit
Hammerhead barrel kit
Freak Barrel kit
All American Barrel
Twist tight feedneck
HE bolt
ND firing can
Hybrid bolt guide
Q-Loader
Halo B w/ Victory Board and rip drive
Empire Reloader B and rip drive w/ Hybrid suicide shell
92, 88, 45 CI Crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lucky 15 kit
S rail
CP trigger
Hybrid bolt guide
Efficiency bolt
New board
All personal preferences though
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Small Profile
Consistent velocity
Sweet looks/ unique
Weaknesses: -Upgrades needed to perform optimally
-Heavier than the regular shocker
-Efficiency with stock bolt
Review: Well, I bought this marker with upgrades already on it (Predator board, CP roller trigger, S rail, and HE bolt) for $900 so I thought it was quite a deal. All I added was the hybrid bolt guide, a Lucky 15 kit, and a CP reg.

-Very accurate, especially with good/ fresh paint and a good barrel to paint match, consistent and predictable ball flight with tight ball groupings, ball on ball from around 25+ feet
-Compact profile like all other shockers, great for front players on the move but it is heavier than a stock shocker and the nexus ego and probably the new DM6, one of the lighter and smaller high end markers but not the lightest anymore, although I rest the tank against my shoulder so marker weight is not as much of an issue except when running
-As fast as any other marker I've seen or used, I've been capping mine at 15 bps to conserve paint but it keeps up well even when I use my Qloader, it becomes a freak show on full auto or ramping
-My HE bolt gives me about a case with my 92 or 88 and about 1000 with my 45 but I usually refill before then to maintain optimal performance, I never like to feel like I'm running low during a game
-Alot of after market parts for customization to your preference level
-Awesome milling and looks, you'll get lots of stares and questions from other players
-Very Consistent (+-2 fps with proper settings and good paint with the right barrel match)
-My friend tells me it's quiter than my other shocker but I can't really tell a difference shooting it
-Good range from back to back
-The eyes work very well when cleaned properly, I've never had problems with even dark paint chopping
-Awesome barrel with the stock lucky 15 (I've used lots of barrels before but I like the Lucky's one piece design and it works as well as anything else I've ever used including the Dye UL), I'd still reccommend getting a kit for better paint match and the best accuracy/ consistency/ and efficiency, it uses autococker barrels and not shocker barrels so that could be good or bad depending on which barrels you already own
-It works well with both my virtue and predator boards, I hear the dynasty boards are also awesome but if you want a more basic board that shoots fast, you can opt for the nerve board which it may come with standard
-I have had problems cutting the eye ribbon when reassembling the gun so be careful
-Very reliable when maintained properly but finicky when neglected
-It can shoot cheap paint well but why would you drop $1,000+ on a marker and be cheap on paint? Unless you have no choice because you dropped $1,000+ on a marker.
Conclusion: Great gun! It excels in the most important aspsects of a marker IMO accuracy, speed, size/weight, and with a bolt upgrade, efficiency. It's a solid performer straight out of the box but if you want to squeeze the optimal performance out of it or would like to personalize it, there are many options for you to choose from (Barrels, boards, bolts, etc...). As with any marker, proper maintenance is very important for optimal performance, I'm just glad I've got the Garcia brothers from Philly Americans to tech my gun now.

Bottomline, get a kit for the best paint match, always use the best paint (as with any high end marker), get a HE bolt to cut down on trips to the fill station and enjoy the fun of watching the pissed looks on other players faces as they wear your paint in the dead box.

I don't believe that any marker is perfect but the dark shocker is about as good as you can get especially with all of the upgrades given today's level of paintball technology

Update: I still love this marker but have been using egos lately. I prefer not having to clean and lube my bolt after every weekend, plus they are much lighter.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 5th, 2006 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pblifedye4 Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ebladed Autococker-Accurate and quiet but doesnt even compare.
2k5 Alias Timmy-Hard to program without lcd because i had the Tadao M3
Marker Setup: Dark Shocker(Olive,HE Bolt,Freak AA Barrell front abd back,trinity feedneck,trinity grips,NDZ,rail and Chrome shocktech ASA.)
Halo B w/rip
68/4500 Pmi Carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak AA
Tinity Grips
HE bolt
Strengths: Trigger Frame(Bigger)
Light
Fast
Quiet
Milling
Weaknesses: A little much $ but its worth it (BELIEVE ME)
Review: Look if you are looking for a high end electronic marker that will suit you for as long as you play paintball than this marker is for you.I mean its a shocker and they are some of the top selling electronical markers sold today and this is an upgraded version.
Conclusion: If you have the money$$$$$$ BUY IT!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbAddictWI Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot all the following:
DM4, Angel Speep 04, dark timmy, ND timmy, lasoya timmy, Gen E & TMC Matrix, stock shocker, freestyle
Marker Setup: 2005 Dark Shocker, HE bolt kit, NDZ SS manifold, NDZ roller barring blade trigger, NDZ Ball detents, check it uni mount, reloader B, crossfire 68-4500 LP tank

Dynasty board soon to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
-HE bolt kit is a most for any back player. if you are a mid or front player and dont shoot that much paint in a day then the stock dark bolt is fine.
-A really fast loader
-Trigger board and reg are all personal, you either like them or you dont, you have to shoot the gun before you can decide that.
Strengths: Very light
Uber fast
Accurate
Consistant
Weaknesses: For me there is not one weekness
Dislike of some stock parts, not a weakness
Review: well i can sum it all in a few words but i have to have at least 50 to post this. starting out let me just say it FREAKIN AWESOME. everything thing about this gun is great. One of the best things is for once i get a gun and right out of the box it works like a charm. This gun shoots darts all day long, its so smooth too when you shoot it. i found out that the stock bolt is a little better then the SP stock bolt but not as good at the SP HE bolt kit. for some this is a big plus, i get about 1000 out or a 68-4500 a little better but not much, still recommend the HE kit.
lucky 15 barrel is awesome, i think there is no need to get any other barrel, if you like barrel kits thats cool but not needed with this barrel.
accuracy is amazing, ropes all day. nothing else needs to be said
the nerve board is surprisingly good. for right now i see no need to upgrade but i will be in the future(dynasty board fan)
best gun i have ever owned
Conclusion: This is the best gun i have ever held shot or played with. everyone has there favorites and this one is definately mine. the best buy i have ever made in paintball. Everything about this gun is great. If you are a serious tourney player and you are drawn between what gun to get i suggest trying the dark shocker, i did and i love it to death.
Its well worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media