paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EclipseBlade E2 / Planet Eclipse EclipseBlade E2 / Planet Eclipse EclipseBlade E2 / Planet Eclipse EclipseBlade E2 / Planet Eclipse EclipseBlade E2

Planet Eclipse EclipseBlade E2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EclipseBlade E2

Paintball Autococker Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EclipseBlade E2
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 69
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $495

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
There is no doubt that Planet Eclipses EclipseBlade frame for the Autococker has been the biggest selling, most successful electronic conversion for the mighty Autococker that has ever been produced. Since its first launch almost 2 years ago it has been the definitive upgrade for the cocker and has seen WGP, the manufacture of the Original Autococker, exclusively endorse and use the EclipseBlade on all of its Electro Cockers.

Now, much anticipated, and long awaited, we have the E2. The second coming of the EclipseBlade frame sees almost every aspect of the old frame re-worked, refined and improved.

Considerable work has been carried out on the battery efficiency of the frame. The new sear release design not only uses less power, by incorporating a new solenoid coil and anti-stall action, but also operates the sear mechanism under even the heaviest loads (hardest main spring settings) down to much lower battery voltages. That means tens of thousands of shots more per 9volt battery. Standby power has also been dramatically reduced with revised circuitry; demonstrating only 0.1volt drop over 150 days on standby. Add to that the improved efficiency of the LCD display over the old LED display and it all adds up to vastly improved battery life.

Up front, the new cocking solenoid is now completely encased for better protection. The gasket is fully captured to prevent any blowout of the seal, and the hi-flow stainless barbs are now press-fitted into the new ìMinifoldî for an indestructible construction. Solenoid leaks, and solenoid shot damage are a thing of the past, as well as the flow optimised manifold and barbs further increasing cyclic performance.

Add new custom wrap-around grips, larger trigger guard, larger trigger magnet, improved trigger pivot point and trigger design, through-beam and reflective eye compatible (Reflective supplied as standard), improved menus, ROF indicator, and the E2 package is almost complete.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EclipseBlade E2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Ryan314 Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month43 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original Eclipse EBlade
Marker Setup: Red WGP 2003 Vertical Feed Autococker
Chrome Eclipse E2 E-Blade
Chrome Eclipse D.A.R.T. LPR
Chrome Eclipse Nexus Ram w/ Eclipse QEVs
Chrome/Red CP 2 Piece Barrel
Chrome Custom Products Regulator
Chrome KAPP- Ball detent, FX beavertail, Twisted cocking rod
Worr-Blade Bolt
KAPP Hammer Kit w/ Madmann springs
Red/Chrome CIP uni-mount
Red Halo B w/ Z-Code - 68/3000 Crossfire
Strengths: Review body.
Weaknesses: Review body.
Review: First impressions of this frame were absolutely amazing. First, the actual packaging of the E2 is an improvement over the original E1. Instead of a cardboard box, you now get a very nice engraved tin or aluminum case that your E2 comes packed in. It comes packed very nicely and neat, with foam padding, colored laminated manual, cocking solenoid, frame, screws, eye, cover and some LP hoses, and like I said, it's all packed up ever so neatly :).

Ok, now onto the more beefy stuff. Let's start up front with the new cocking solenoid. The new style/design cocking solenoid housing is very nice. It is now fully enclosed, so now you won't have to worry about getting shot on the solenoid and worrying about busting it. The solenoid housing is actually slightly bigger then the original housing as well. Now, the actual cocking solenoid itself is also an improvement. They have made the solenoid faster and better sealed... no more blown solenoids :). They also made the cocking solenoid wire (wire that travels into the frame) thinner, so it's now easier to tuck along the top of the frame. And to top it all off, the nicely milled "e" on the side of the solenoid housing is the icing on the cake!

Now, onto the frame itself. One word it describe it, INCREDIBLE! This frame is absolutely beautiful. The actual frame itself is slightly thinner and weighs less then the original Eblade! Ok, so the first thing people are gonna do when they pick up the frame is try out the trigger right? Of course. This new trigger they designed rocks. It's, IMO, easier to walk then the original trigger, and you can rake this trigger like no other trigger. I've been able to rake this new trigger up to 19 bps with 0 bounce. The trigger gives it a nice "tucked" feel as well. The next great thing about this frame is the new LCD screen. Not only is this new screen damn cool, it gives the user a lot better battery life, which we ALL want and despised about the original EBlade! So far I've gotten about 70,000 shots off of a Duracell Copper top 9v. Next are the actual settings of the E2. The first thing people probably want to know more about is the new TT filters, or better known as, anti-bounce filters. Just let me say this, these new filters are absolutely genius, meaning, Jack, Nick, or whoever configured these settings at Planet Eclipse are pretty damn smart! There are two TT filters, TT band and TT tolerance. In a nutshell, TT band deals with the actual pull of the trigger, while TT tolerance deals with how strongly the TT filters are applied. So far on my marker, I've been using the stock TT filters and have gotten little to no bounce at all. And like everyone else said, the frame rips like no other, even when there is no bounce. Another thing that's great about this frame is the new training mode. Boy have I used this a lot. In this mode, only the cocking solenoid will activate, so just the back block moves back and forth when you pull the trigger. So you can practice your walking and not drain a your tank so fast. The timing settings have also changed a little bit. Some of the timing parameters can now be changed in milliseconds, allowing the user to perfect the timing of the marker. But, the frame still has it's factory settings, so don't worry! :)

So basically, the frame rips. It is a lot like the original EBlade, but also a lot different then the original EBlade. What I really like about the frame is definitely the new trigger, training mode and of course the new TT filters!

The bad: Nothing is perfect of course! But this frame comes pretty damn close to being perfect :p. The first thing I noticed was they forgot to put a solenoid thread o-ring in my kit, which kept the solenoid on the front block a little tighter and would keep it from being loose on the front block... not a big deal to me, but it's just the point of the matter that they forgot something in the kit! Next is the space for the wiring in the frame, and along the top of the frame. They did not fix this problem. Well, I don't know if you had this problem, but I always had a problem getting those god damn wires tucked into the top of the frame and inside the frame :(... Oh well, again, not a real big deal, but I think this is something they could have fixed. I also received version .17- This is basically the beta version of the E2. In this version, the game timer/alarm are disabled, and can only be enabled through an update, which you can only get if you send the frame into an Eclipse dealer :(.

Well, that's all I have for now. I've only had the frame for a week now (Date: 10/3/04) and have only field tested it once so far, which went successful :).
Conclusion: Definatly worth the money if you have it. It's everything Planet Eclipse said it would be. But, IMO, nothing is perfect, so I give it a 9 out of 10. Even though I would give it a 9.9 if that rating was available :p
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

SocraticB Tuesday, January 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Race Frame - harder to tweak at the field, solenoid vulnerable.
Most Mechanical Frames - slower and can shortstroke, can chop (no eyes).
Marker Setup: 2004 Karnivor with E2 and stock Karnivor pneumatics (incl. STO ram, QEV's and delrin bolt).
Strengths: FAST!
No chops!
Easy setup.
Encased solenoid.
Weaknesses: Price.
Upgrades necessary to use on lower-end 'cockers.
Review: I received this E2 already installed on a 2004 Karnivor, and have had no problems whatsoever with it.

I will break up the review into the following categories:

STRENGTHS

I. Packaging and Documentation

I can't comment on packaging as I had mine pre-installed. The documentation, however, is the best I've seen for any paintball product. Eclipse provides a thick, well-written manual that covers installation, setup, use and maintenance with clear instructions and glossy color pictures. It is clear that a lot of money was spent on the development and publication of this manual, which is the gold standard for the rest of the paintball industry to follow.

II. Installation

I can't comment on installation as I had mine pre-installed. However, having reviewed the installation documentation, it would only require about an hour of my time to install. Those unfamiliar with 'cockers would take another hour or two to install. Professionals could get it done in under and hour.

III. Fit and Finish

The E2 is several steps ahead of the E1 and the Race in this category.
- The cocking solenoid on the front block is entirely encased in a metal manifold, so damage is less likely from a hit
- Tthere is no pin to fall out of the grip as in the Raceframe (HUGE PITA)
- The trigger guard is large enough for three fingers to easily walk the trigger
- The LCD display is clear and bright, and
- The frame can take both reflective or break-beam eyes, as you prefer.

The anno, plating and design are all top-notch; no mill marks, thin anno or other problems. The grips are solid, tacky rubber; the logo and aesthetic design of the grips is a little toned down from the E1. There is little to no play in the trigger, and all parts fit and work as they are supposed to.

IV. Setup

My E2 was setup when it was installed, so I did not have to go through the process. Again, the manual provides very clear instructions, and the factory settings appear to work just dandy. The "Training" (air only to the pneus for cocking) mode is a great idea and lets you get used to your marker without too much noise or air consumption. The "Classic" (back block stays back if you hold in the trigger) is useful for tweaking your LPR pressure.

V. Menus

The menus are easy to navigate and read; the LCD display is clear and bright. Eye controls, counters and timers are easily accessed. Setup controls are accessed after you take off the grips and push a button on the board; this is to prevent cheating, I suppose. Setup menus are also easy to navigate and use.

VI. Trigger

The E2 sports the Samurai trigger with three set screws for pre- and post-travel adjustment as well as actuation adjustment. The trigger set screws allow for a VERY short travel when properly set up. The trigger has no discernable slop or play. The magnetic return is not as snappy as a hard trigger spring, but gives plenty of tactile feedback, and returns quickly enough for the 17bps that I've achieved; I'm sure it returns quickly enough for much higher ROF. The large trigger guard allows for three fingers to walk the trigger in comfort.

VII. ROF

The ROF is just plain silly, and is attributable to the design of the frame and trigger more so than the electronics. Anybody can produce a marker that is capable of reaching 26bps in the hands of pros, but it's much harder to produce a marker that allows people with average trigger fingers to achieve high ROF. Planet has produced exactly that; a grip that makes it easy for my slow fingers to reach 17bps. My Viking is supposedly faster than a 'cocker with an E2, but I can easily outshoot my Viking with my E2 Karni. The three-finger walk is easy to accomplish on this marker.

VIII. Accuracy

Accuracy is hard to gauge for a grip by itself; the critical factors are kick of the marker, how unstable your hand is when pulling the trigger and the paint/barrel match. I can say that my Karnivor has only a little kick with the E2 on it, and the E2 requires little hand motion to fire quickly and contributes to a stable shooting platform. Accuracy won't change on your marker at low ROF, but at high ROF you may notice an improvement.

IX. Bounce

Wtih the TT filter on, I have no bounce whatsoever. None. Nada. Zip. Zilch. ZERO BOUNCE. I tried very hard to make it bounce, and couldn't. I'm sure with the TT filters on low or off altogether that you can make the E2 bounce, but you'd have to take off the grips to change the TT settings (i.e. hard to do if you're intent on cheating on the field). This is a huge improvement from the E1. 'Nuff said.

X. Eyes

I have the standard reflective eye installed, and did not chop, even at 17bps, with darker-shelled Blaze, medium-shelled junk paint or lighter-shelled Polar Ice. Eye sensitivity is easy to set, and a gauge is available on the LCD screen to show you where it needs to be set depending on ambient light, paint color and bolt color. There were no problems experienced using a Halo B or an Apache. Break-beam eyes are available for those who must have them, but I'm not sure they're necessary.

XI. Battery Life

Based on the battery life so far, I am on schedule to use up one Duracell standard 9v in about 20,000 rounds. A HUGE improvement over the E1.

XII. Feel

The size, weight, grips and overall feel of the E2 is, to me, perfect. Much better than the Race; however, this is a subjective matter, and everyone will need to try both for themselves.

XIII. Support

I haven't needed any support, but Eclipse appears to provide great support. There are certainly enough Eblades out there that the forums are full of people with helpful advice. Raceframes are less common than EBlades, and there are limited Race dealers in the US. Eclipse is everywhere! Eclipse seems to have the edge over Racegun here.

WEAKNESSES

I. Cost

The E2 is about $450 new no matter where you go, costing as much as some solid mid-range markers. Used, you can get 'em for $375 or so as of mid-2005.

But the cost doesn't end there; you can't just buy it and slap it on a stock 'cocker; it requires some very high-end parts to work well. You need a high-flow valve and LPR, an extremely smooth ram, and a delrin bolt and light back block to get the best performance from this grip. These upgrades come stock on high-end 'cockers (Karnivor, Eclipse, Belsales, etc.), but will cost a pretty penny (up to $300 if bought individually) to put on a lower-end 'cocker.

And yet, it is SO very worth it.

Edited 05-11-05 to update price used and clarify some statements.
Conclusion: I don't like giving 10's, but I have to here. There are no weaknesses to the E2 at all. Fast, easy to use, no bounce, no chops, no shortstroking, easy to install and maintain. It's everything I want in a marker; I am selling my Excalibur and using the E2 Karnivor for both field and tournament play.

The only limit I see is price; $450 new/$375 used is steep for many people. However, buy an E2, Docs' Fastback body w/internals and bolt ($325), a Nexus or Belsales ram w/QEV's, a high-flow valve (Tornado!) and an LPR (Rock!), and you have a 'cocker that will compete with the best $1500 markers out there for $900.

If you are upgrading your current marker, you will need a very good ram, QEV's, a delrin bolt and preferably a light back block and titanium arm, as well as a high-flow valve and LPR, to get the most out of this grip.

Best upgrade for a 'cocker, and worth every penny. Period.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 11th, 2005 at 7:08 pm PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

angelman321 Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
e blade worrblade
Marker Setup: Angel Wdp Fly 4
Angel air
halo b w/ rip drive
All the bels and whistles,aka new bolts etc to shoot a top speed of 32bps
evil pipe
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I Just got the new E2 Upgrade from autococker and I installed it on my outkast autococker and let me tell you this is how it turned out. Installation was easy and simple. It is just about the same thing as installing a e blade or worr blade. It drastically and I mean drastically improved the speed of my gun and the unprecedented accuracy of a autococker. It raised the bps from about 13bps to about 20bps!!! WOW and it has a sweet display and grip. Works well with a autocockers old and new. Awesome if you buy a old 98 or so autococker on ebay and put a e blade in it and it will be a powerhouse. I guarantee it will make you 100 percent satisfied. Comes in chrome or black. Does not take or consume allot of power. 1, 9volt batteries. I do not know what they are shipping them with but when I got mine I got the fount block and the eyes to not chop balls and trust it does not chop at all. It is a must for any autococker. The gain is un matched. Beat jimmy who goes to the field every week with his DM4 that his mom and dad bought him for 1,400 dollars. The price is a Little high and it burns a big hole in your wallet. it costs almost as much as a impulse without the eyes.

**NOW THE SPECS**
Considerable work has been carried out on the battery efficiency of the frame. The new sear release design not only uses less power, by incorporating a new solenoid coil and anti-stall action, but also operates the sear mechanism under even the heaviest loads (hardest main spring settings) down to much lower battery voltages. That means tens of thousands of shots more per 9volt battery. Standby power has also been dramatically reduced with revised circuitry; demonstrating only 0.1volt drop over 150 days on standby. Add to that the improved efficiency of the LCD display over the old LED display and it all adds up to vastly improved battery life.

Up front, the new cocking solenoid is now completely encased for better protection. The gasket is fully captured to prevent any blowout of the seal, and the hi-flow stainless barbs are now press-fitted into the new ìMinifoldî for an indestructible construction. Solenoid leaks, and solenoid shot damage are a thing of the past, as well as the flow optimised manifold and barbs further increasing cyclic performance.

Add new custom wrap-around grips, larger trigger guard, larger trigger magnet, improved trigger pivot point and trigger design, through-beam and reflective eye compatible (Reflective supplied as standard), improved menus, ROF indicator, and the E2 package is almost complete.

But with the new Patent Applied for TT has the ability to completely remove every trace of bounce that has so far plagued the cocker due to its heavy moving cocking mass. And it does it without placing any limit on the guns rate of fire, it doesn't slow the gun down, and it doesnít stutter and stall. Regardless of the new trigger design, the TT filtering allows the E2 to rip like no other electro cocker before it.
Conclusion: overall it was a definite good buy once your fingers touch the trigger and pull it for that first time WOW it it sweet. BUY it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 9th, 2004 at 11:44 am PST
I found this review  
37 Comments - Add Comment

runthruking Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
eblade1
Marker Setup: 03 cocker with e-blade2, planet eclipse dart bolt and eclipse front pneumatics. 68/3000 AGD flatine, and eggy 2 w/ Z-board
Strengths: Fast
easy to use
great debounce settings
Weaknesses: TT was confusing
hard to set debounce.
Review: First of all, let me say this is a great upgrade for your cocker. I got this for my mech 2003, and it was incredible. i shot it out of the box at a decent rof, and after working with it a bit, it got much faster.

Strenghs:

-Speed: this is a very fast frame. out of the box, iwht absolutely no adjustments, I was able to work this at 12 bps. I then adjusted the trigger pull and it got much, much faster, although it was bouncy. After setting the debounce correctly, and after adjusting the trigger, even with my slow fingers I was able to pump 17 with no bounce with averaging 16.

-Ease of Use(except for setting debounce):this frame has an excellent LCD screen with a backlight that is the best around in my opinion, which makes doing anything on the gun a very easy and simple process. It also comes with a very detailed manual which walks the user through everything with out any diffuculty.

-Packaging: Mine came in a very stylish tin case and was lined with super-soft foam inside for padding. Also, mine came with 3 sheets of stickers:)

-Trigger: The trigger is 3 point adjustable and has a good feel, however I do not exactly like the curve at the top, but it is still really comfortable and most importantly, FAST!
Debounce: the debounce settings on this gun are great they alow for a very fast rate of fire with no bounce whatsoever. I spent an hour trying to get it to bounce, and I couldnt.

Weaknesses:

-Diffucult to set debounce: the debounce took me a couple of hours to set up correclty and even with the manual is time consuming, but it is worth it and not that big a deal since you only have to set it once.

-TT band bar limits dont move:When you get into the TT band screen, there are two bars along the side that set the limits of the trigger that are supposed to move but they dont.. It thnk this is only on mine(correcton: with the current firmware NONE of the frames' bars move) because the manul clearly states that they are supposed to move but they dont. this is waht made the setting of the debounce more difficult.

Features:

-Battery: It has new battery saving software that lasts much longer than the E1. I'm not going get into details about how, but I can say I have put about 35,000 shots on my E2 and am still on the first battery.

-Sceeens:the basic scree shows either ROF, time left in game, or total shots.your choice. It also has a battery Life indicator and a siganl showing whether the eye is on or not. the other screens in the basic menu are: a screen that shows the eye sensitivity , a screen to set the game time, a firing mode screen, and an info screen that shows total shots and version.

-Grips:the new grips on this baby are much more comfy than the E1 and are more sticky so you wont drop your gun when you are firing from akward positions.

-Gaurd:the new trigger gaurd is much bigger and can almost fit 3 fingers, but does a great job with two. it has a lot of room to move about.

-Reflective eye:this is a great eye. It has read everything ive used from local white box crap to Chronic. It did a good job of reading the paint even when I purposely broke a bal in it .

and much much more..... lol( but seriously there is much more to this frame than can be fit into a tiny review).


A little addition:
specs(I did not actually write these but im not going to spend an hour just rewriting it)
Courtesy of pbgear.com:

# Considerable work has been carried out on the battery efficiency of the frame. The new sear release design not only uses less power, by incorporating a new solenoid coil and anti-stall action, but also operates the sear mechanism under even the heaviest loads (hardest main spring settings) down to much lower battery voltages. That means tens of thousands of shots more per 9volt battery. Standby power has also been dramatically reduced with revised circuitry; demonstrating only 0.1volt drop over 150 days on standby. Add to that the improved efficiency of the LCD display over the old LED display and it all adds up to vastly improved battery life.


# Up front, the new cocking solenoid is now completely encased for better protection. The gasket is fully captured to prevent any blowout of the seal, and the hi-flow stainless barbs are now press-fitted into the new Minifold for an indestructible construction. Solenoid leaks, and solenoid shot damage are a thing of the past, as well as the flow optimised manifold and barbs further increasing cyclic performance.

# Custom wrap-around grips

# Larger trigger guard

# Larger trigger magnet

# Improved trigger pivot point and trigger design

# Through-beam and reflective eye compatible (Reflective supplied as standard)

# Improved menus, ROF indicator

# Has the ability to completely remove every trace of bounce that has so far plagued the
cocker due to its heavy moving cocking mass. And it does it without placing any limit on the guns rate of fire, it doesn't slow the gun down, and it doesn't stutter and stall. Regardless of the new trigger design, the TT filtering allows the E2 to rip like no other electro cocker before it.
Conclusion: This is a great upgrade for any cocker . I would recommend this to any one that wants great speed with amazing accuracy because thats what a cocker with an E2 delivers and it does it well.
overall: 9.75 which rounds to 10:)
If you have any questions feel free to pm me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 7:02 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Worr Blade (e1)
Marker Setup: WGP Karnivor...Autococker
Kaner barrel kit
Center Flag inline reg
E2 Blade frame
stock ASA
CP rail drop & function mini drop
Center Flag 70/4500
VL Evolution 2 w/ Z board
Strengths: Better; dispaly, features, battery life...enclosed solenoid housing
Weaknesses: Price (on par with the E1 when it came out)
Review: The Blade frame is a nice step forward from the e1, the upgrades include:

BETTER....

Display - nice cool blue display, easier to see in direct sunlight, different info display.

Battery Life - 2x to 3x more shots per battery, new solenoid requires less volts per shot.

Features = it has an rate of fire indicator that show your high ROF and your current ROF...
= a training mode where you can practice shooting but with no shot noise, the back block moves but the valve does not let out the burst of air to shoot....
= user downloadable display screens that display upon start up....
= a TT (Trigger Transition) filter which is anti-bounce program to eliminate bounce, or depending on your settings, turn it into a bouncing 'full auto' like gun.
different lighting on options (like it turns on when you touch a button or you can set so it will turn on when your pull the trigger or you can have it on all the time)
= it has different auto-off time out settings for how long it will stand by before it turns off.
= it can use the supplied reflective eye or an break beam eye.

The solenoid is now completely encased in the housing...no paint can get to the solenoid from the bottom of the housing like the e1.

The trigger gaurd is larger to handle bigger fingers, gloved fingers, or more room to walk the trigger...and it includes the samurai trigger, very easy to manipulate and walk.

The frame itself is a little more narrow so you can wrap your hands around it to aid faster shooting and a better feel...the grips have a new design that's comfortable and has the fingered grooves unlike the Worr Blade. Also the it seems like you can't overtighten the screws that hold on the grips...in the e1 you could overtighten the screws and pinch or sever a wire.

Pricing is about $400-$475 which is the ballpark that the e1 was selling before the e2 came out.

You can get the e2 & solenoid in Chrome, Black, Blue & Red


Conclusion: Overall it seems like they addressed and improved on every feature. Great product...if you have an AutoCocker then this Blade Frame is the best...pricey but very, very nice, the e2 seems easier to shoot, and easier to set-up and coms with better solenoid protection. It made my Karnivor a better gun and more enjoyable to operate. Now I don't want to bunker people and rather shoot and rip them apart.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 18th, 2005 at 12:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dees_Troy Thursday, December 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
e1 eBlade, various other electronic markers (timmies, angels, bushy, etc.)
Marker Setup: e2 eBlade
Turtle Cocker Body (sometimes referred to as halfback or halfblock)
Turtle pump rod, Turtle delrin back block and Turtle delrin bolt
MP4 Ram
Tickler LPR
Ergo HPR
AKA Tornado valve
Strengths: Faster
Battery life
Finer timings
Better trigger/trigger pull
Lighter weight
Weaknesses: Expensive

Break-beam eye setup is not yet available
Review: If you haven't seen a Turtle or halfblock autococker, do a quick search on google. With the MP4 ram and very light cocking components, I was able to get the e1 to cycle at a rate that would allow for 28cps. I was very surprised when the e2 opened things up and allowed an incredible 40cps. With air, and the marker firing as normal (in other words, I wasn't in training mode, the marker would have actually fired a paintball out the barrel), it will fire, recock and close the bolt in less than 25ms total.

Unfortunately, I doubt the e2 will allow everyone's autococker to see that kind of improvement, you should see solid incremental gains in cycle times with the e2. There are also lots of other refinements, but I'll just highlight the stuff that no one else has covered:

-The new LCD can display a lot more information all at once. Now you always see your battery level and whether the eye is on/off. You can then select to see the game timer, shot counter, or current and max rates of fire. You can set a default display so if you want to see the shot counter when you first power up instead of the game timer, it will. However, unlike the e1, the e2's display seems to have a bit of a delay, kind of like a slow computer updating the screen. It's nothing major, but it's nocticable.

-Some of the timings now have finer adjustments. The SON time is now adjustable in 0.1ms increments. See the manual on PlanetEclsipse's website for more details.

-The trigger can be set to an even shorter pull, so short that you can't even feel it being pulled. You can set the pull even shorter than you could with the e1. When you set it this short though, even the TT filters really won't help.

-TT filters: In both the e1 and the e2, the trigger uses an eye beam sensor inside the frame to sense when the trigger is pulled. The TT filters allow you to set sensitivity settings similar to setting your breach sensor. It's a nice feature, but with all of the hype, I guess I was expecting something more.

-The new grips are more of a panel design with rubber over the plastic panels. They still wrap around the front of the frame. The plastic panelling makes it feel a bit more solid. Also, the rubber no longer has those tiny little fins that paint and goo get stuck in so easily, yet are so hard to clean out.

-I can't really comment on the battery life as I just installed my e2 tonight, but I have no reason to doubt that the e2 will last longer.
Conclusion: If you have an e1 already, unless you have a marker that's truly top of the line, your money is probably better spent on cheaper parts such as lighter cocking pieces and a good ram and QEVs. You'll get the same speed gains with those cheaper parts for a lot less money.

Even though it's a bit pricey, I'm giving it a 10 because I'm sure the price will come down over the coming months.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 9th, 2004 at 9:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sia_simba Friday, December 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E1
Marker Setup: E2 Lotus
Strengths: In review
Weaknesses: In review
Review: I purchased the E2 this week for around $200 brand new. Not a bad price if you ask me. Now let me start off from the top down.

What I DO LIKE:

1. The packaging was GREAT. It was in a very nice tin box, color manual with thorough instructions, a very very good presentation in my opinion. Eclipse couldn't have done it any better.

2. The LCD screen is superb. I was using an E1 and thought, what big difference would it make, boy was I wrong. The E2 LCD screen makes it very attractive, easy to read, and conserve energy with the auto-dim option.

3. The grip feels very nice, attractive style but I guess that is just based on personal preference. However, I think the E1 grips feels a bit nicer because of the cushion thing they have on the grips. But the E2 doesn't fall a lot behind in comparison.

4. The sear solenoid retainer no longer falls out when the screws are removed from the grip like how the E1 did.

5. The top right screw for the grip on the right hand side no longer screw into the frame where it can pinch the solenoid + eye wires. Big improvement in my opinion.

6. The LCD menu is very easy to use. It shows you a category and you can go into the sub-category so at least you can guide yourself. I think this is really important. The eye on/off option is always available so you can tell at anything whether or not your eyes are on. I really love the ROF option. It tells you your max ROF and then gives you the current ROF you are doing. The timing is again a big bonus. You can time the gun to the exact specs you like it. ON the E1, timing is in whole numbers, whereas the E2, timing is to the decimal place. When adjusting breech sensitivity and such, you can do it by adjusting the breech sensor AND the sensitivity value, which in my opinion is a bonus. The old E1, you are able to adjust only the sensitivity and breech by scrolling back and forth in the menu which is a hassle. With the E2, both are on the same screen and you can compare the two either by numbers and/or by a bar scale.

7. The trigger feels a bit cheaper than the worrblade trigger, but it still looks nice though. My opinion. =) However, not much has been changed with the trigger adjustment. But there weren't any problems to begin with.

8. The solenoid cover looks pretty slick. I like the fact that it covers the entire solenoid so paint wont get in there if you get shot in the 3way. I think the way how the solenoid was made will decrease the chances of your 3way from leaking because the gasket is placed with the solenoid instead of how the E1 was like, which you can easily separate the two.

9. The frame has a nice design to it, well I guess its similar to the E1, but the back 3 buttons are a little tougher to press, and the top depression has a style to it which makes the overall appearance a bit more attractive. The LCD screen is no longer off centered like the E1 LED, so that is a plus as well.

10. It comes with a trilogy adapter for those who uses these style of A/C. I think its very thoughtful and nice of eclipse to make something like that.

What I DONT LIKE:

1. There are two little screws that is somewhat responsible for holding the sear solenoid in place when firing. On the right hand side of the frame, if you tighten that little screw too much, when shooting rapidly, the sear solenoid will rise up along w/ the sear solenoid retainer, thus it will depress your sear and prob cause missed shots or your hammer won't be able to catch. Maybe its a defect with my, which I doubt because I was able to fix the problem, but I don't know why eclipse would put that in the frame.

What I DIDNT TRY but WILL TRY and UPDATE:

1. The filter: I know a lot of people say there are no bounces, but I will try out the filter menu and see how it really is.

2. I haven't shot the marker with paint yet, but I'm sure it will rip. I am anxious to try all the different types of mode, along with the ramping mode. As of right now, I am only able to do 15bps max with the eye off, but of course, my gun is only timed to shoot 15bps max.



Conclusion: The E2 was better than what I expected. I definately love it. The price initially was what bothered me even when it was at $300. But since I got it for $200 bucks, I think its a big bonus since it comes w/ zero b board so I don't have to spend $80 bucks just to upgrade my old E1. If you have an E1 and want E2, instead of getting the zerob, sell your E1 and just purchase the E2 for around $200. That would make you drool. I would personally offered this item to anyone who is interested in upgrading. Of course if you are new to cockers and short on cash... the E1 is not as bad. And to conclude, I will try to update after I test out the item later on in the week. As for right now, It is the best as it can be. I recommend!

------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------
1/26/06
I have shot this frame and I'll tell you one thing, I LOVE IT. The only thing that is a bit annoying I find is with switching the modes. You would have to remove the grip frame and then switch it. I guess that prevents people from cheating in tournaments, but I don't like it. =)

I love the ramping on this gun. Ramp up to 15bps when you've completed 5cycles per second. I use PSP mode of course. The only thing about ramping is that once you switch to PSP mode, it will automatically adjust your frame settings, i.e. con, coff, etc. I am not sure if that really affects the performance or not, but since you're ramping anyways... it doesn't matter.

I have also adjusted the filter for the marker and now it has absolutely no bounce. But before you adjust the filter, you must first adjust the trigger. It is very important to know that you can't have the trigger soooo light and back. Because if you do, your frame will still bounce due to the fact that it can't register it as a real shot or not. I have my trigger adjusted... then adjusted filter to a little bit of bounce... then readjusted my trigger again. Now I have no bounce.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 26th, 2006 at 5:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tc_customcocker Thursday, November 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Worrblade with Samurai Trigger
Marker Setup: TCP Xtreme Autococker (Tricked Out Cocker all Planet Eclipse Parts Worrblade Samurai Trigger), Air America 68/3000, 14 in Empire Barrel .687 bore, Evlution 2
Strengths: Fast, Extended Battery Life, Trigger Setup
Weaknesses: Around $490 to get one.
Review: Great trigger. If you have an autococker and want to shoot as fast and faster then Angels, Timmies, Matrixs, and all other high end guns you want this. My friend has an Angel Speed and it rips, but after shooting this his Angel doesn't look so big and bad anymore. This trigger is just outright fast. I had a Halo on the gun I was shooting (TCP Xtreme Cocker everything Planet Eclipse decked out) and this thing was throwing a laser of paint. I think I was doing at least 18/19 bps. Also so has the new Trigger Transition technology which is supposed to make it bounce free, very important for tournament players.
Conclusion: If you want to take your autococker up to the next level or two, buy this you want regret. I know I can't wait to get a little more money and buy mine :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

worr4life707 Wednesday, October 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Race Frame: Just as fast, performs as good speed wise, but i prefer E2 based on comfort, ease of use, looks, and ease of walking trigger.
ANS Race: No comparison really, this frame bites.
Eblade1/Worrblade: Similar, although feels much more sloppy, got rid of my E1 for an E2
Marker Setup: Freeflow Rhythm
E2
SMC w/QEVs
Outkast LPR
Nylatron Bolt
Shaft Barrel Kit
Grip Feed Neck
Qloader Tourny System
CP inline Reg
Strengths: Ease of use, speed, feel, comfort,LCD, looks etc.
Weaknesses: The LCD doesnt have cable
Review: When i first shot the E2 on a DC2 cocker i fell in love. I knew i had to get this frame over a Race, it was awesome and fit me perfectly.

The trigger isnt sloppy at all like its precessor the E1, and is far easier to walk then any E1 trigger.

The new stronger magnet allows a clean, snappy, light pull. Its awesome.

The new solenoid cover looks a lot better, and i find it easier to work on

The LCD makes life so much easier, i hated the red LED on the E1.

The ROF counter is great, its a good way to accurately test your BPS.

The larger trigger guard makes it easier for us guys with big hands to walk the trigger faster

The improved battery life makes it a lot more economic

The TT trigger filter is great. Both my TPUL and TREL are at 1 with NO bounce what so ever

Ive personally had mine up to 18 bps with no bounce, i was stunned at its performance
Conclusion: Get this product, you wont regret it. Most comfortable and easy to use frame i have ever shot

11/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 13th, 2004 at 9:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Backman89 Friday, November 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E1, WorrBlade, Raceframe
Marker Setup: 05 Prostock
E2
Besales .44 Ram and QEVs
Nexus LPR
Nexus internals
Evil Pipe kit
Strengths: Feel
Preformance
Display
Battery Life
Weaknesses: When I bought it, Price.
Review: This Is the one upgrade any cocker owner must buy. Every cocker lover must have one of his markers E2'd. This product was a vast improvment over the e1, the batterylife was increased, the solinoid was fully encasted, and the preformance was upgraded. with proper settings and marker exessories ( RAM QEV's ect) It is possible to see Rates of fire in excess of 20bps. This model offers several modes, COFA, PSP, MILL. SEMI TRAINING, those i remmeber off the top of my head. Differences in the modes are trival, most notably is the ROF that the ranmping kicks in. The display also offers a ROF indicator, but has the option for a game timer. This was pretty pricey a few years ago, but now if you can find one, they can be fairly cheap. Again, This is a MUST have upgrade on atleast one of your cockers. I swear by mine.
Conclusion: The End all Be all cocker upgrade. From here you can worry about supplements, Rams, LPRs, Valve kits, ect. But get the e2 frist.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media