paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RPS Menace Paintballs / RPS Menace Paintballs / RPS Menace Paintballs

RPS Menace Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RPS

Buy RPS Menace Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RPS Menace Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 5.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
RP Scherer's generic, value oriented, paintball. This paint used to be called Big Ball.
Product Availability 
The RPS Menace Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Not Two Tuesday, September 14th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson Nel-splat (better $40/case)
Marbs (better $60/case)
Marker Setup: 2003 Impulse w/ Vision
Evil Driver
Recommended
Barrels:
Evil Driver (which is has a .689 bore)
Spyder TL+ stock barrel (that my friend was using)
Strengths: None at all.
Weaknesses: MANY bounces
Plastic packaging has vents, exposed to air
Painful since they don't break
Review: I bought this paint because field paint is required at Hollywood Sports Park (HSP) in CA and this paint is the cheapest one there which sells for $50/case. I'm new to this sport but I've read that paintballs should be stored in bags that protect against humidity. The Nel-Splat and Marb cases I bought seemed to do this just fine. But these balls are packaged in bags that have holes in them! Soft shell, non-brittle feel to them. Drop them from 10ft and I doubt any will break.

I experienced many bounces thoughout the day as both a shooter and a target. About half of the hits to my body did not break. The only shots that broke consistently were those on my mask. My friend had the same experience. The most frustrating part was when I hit 2 ppl from about 50ft away with a ref standing about 10ft from them. The ref checked em and then shouts to me "they're ok". Apparently the balls didn't break cause I definitely hit them. Sure enough, the same 2 ppl ended up taking out me and my friend later on.

At the end of the day I had a bag of 500 remaining in the trunk of my car and these balls were all stuck together. The ones near the bottom of the bag were all squished and now useless. Granted, it was hot in the car but I also had a case of house paint (that I bought for $35) from Paintballaz, a local shop, that was also in the car that retained their roundness and did not stick together and get squished like the Menace balls did.

Finally, because of the soft shell, the balls don't stay round which results in HORRIBLE accuracy.
Conclusion: Do youself a favor and STAY AWAY, FAR AWAY from this paint. If you are playing at HSP then I would definitely pay the extra money for the other paint options. Hopefully this review will save you from a bad experience.

If 5 is average, then I am giving this a 1 for being way below average. And add another generous 1 point since it kept me in the game longer by bouncing off me when the opponent was using it...for a total rating of 2.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 14th, 2004 at 5:06 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

jdolla Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Big Ball, Evil, cheap generic paint, and probably a few other kinds I don't remember
Marker Setup: 2001 cocker w/ ups
Recommended
Barrels:
ummm............
can't say that I can really know how to make this stuff shoot straight
Strengths: Cheaper than most
Seems like good cold weather paint
Weaknesses: Misformed
Dimpled
Good luck with getting them to break on anything
Review: I have two experiences with this paint, and therein lies my review.

I was reffing at the local field, and a guy with an Orracle was there. He said that his accuracy was horrible. I thought that was kind of weird, considering his gun. I shot it, and sure enough, paint was flying everywhere. We checked for a barrel break, and the barrel was perfectly clean. We inspected the paint. Almost every ball was dimpled, misformed, and complete and total crap. He had just bought it. The field owner gave him Evil to replace the misformed paint, and his accuracy was ball on ball.

I played a few weekends later, and I had a bag of this paint. For the heck of it, I did a drop test. It bounced on the floor three times, and didn't break. I did the same thing four more times, without a break. It was forty degrees outside. It didn't break until I got pissed and threw it down really hard. My teammate shot this out of his BKO. In a one on one, I watched the paint from his barrel fly all over the place. I ran out of paint, right as he landed one on my shoulder. I yelled "Hit" and checked my shoulder. No break. And once again, the paint was misformed, with multiple dimples.
Conclusion: For 50 a case, I'd hope for some performance, but I got nothing.

If you want to screw someone over, buy them this. Otherwise, stay the heck away.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

intheend643 Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Marballizer, Domination, Bigball
Marker Setup: Tippman 98C, with remote line, and Smart Parts 16" Progressive Barrel
Strengths: Price, if I have to list one.
Weaknesses: Poor quality, many dimples and irregular shaped balls
Review: My negative feelings about this paint started forming right after I got it. It was field paint and I don't think they stored it that great for some reason. When I was filling my hopper I noticed quite a few dimples on the balls and knew that it would not fly as well as it should. Then a couple of games into the day my freind's gun jammed and we couldnt see what was wrong until we took it off the feild and found a little ball of plaistic that was supposed to be a paintball but was slightly less than half the size and solid plastic all the way through. Another one of my freinds picked up one of his balls to inspect it and a dozen or so stuck together and came up in a clump. After I got home, I was firing off the rest of the paint because I was too embarrassed to have it in my house, and I shot a screw out of my gun. Somehow a screw made its way in to the bag of paint and i ended up firing it out my gun. It didn't go far and probably wouldn't have hurt anyone but it could have damaged my bolt or scratched my barrel.
Conclusion: I cannot recommend this product to anyone, eventually enough complaints to the field I used got them to drop this brand, and for good reason.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bezorro Friday, April 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Miscellaneous field paint
Marker Setup: Custom 98, stock (just got a 32 degrees Whisper barrel, but have not used it in a game yet)
Strengths: Cheap. Mine were said to be fresh, and they had minimal flat spots.
Weaknesses: Did not seem to break well on impact.
Slimy.
Review: I have played on two occasions with these balls (probably 1200 rounds total). The last game that I played I hit many players. The balls did not break well on impact. Two people told me that they were hit (hard) several times and even called themselves out despite the paint not breaking. These same people received nice big green splats from my friend's Marballizers. Also, the Menace balls had an oily film on them, although I must admit that I did not notice this until after the game when I was cleaning up. They did not fly very straight, but that may have been partly my barrel's fault.
Conclusion: Based on my somewhat limited experience with these balls, I would look for something else to use, even if that meant spending a little more money.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hekrill Friday, September 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
most paint
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Imagine, 20 oz. PMI, Viewloader eVLution II Y Board, New Designz Low-Rise Clamping Feed, 14 " 32 degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel, removed sight,removed venturi,some others coming soon.
Recommended
Barrels:
medium bore
Strengths: Break well, good thick fill, RPS
Weaknesses: pink(not usable someplaces) green(ok) Black(????)
Review: Bayou Dragon uses this as field paint along with pmi premiums. Menace is much better. these fly straight and break well. They have hi visibiltiy shells, but the fills (BLACK!!???)can be questioned. i know the pink is fine though,greens ok.i went through a few (1k) with no breaks.
Conclusion: Unless they have allstars or marbs at the same price, buy some.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 20th, 2005 at 8:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilfreakwitagun Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
From Brass eagle to Evil and every thing in between.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot, Halo TSA loader, Pure Energy 68ci n2 tank, some cheep futureball barrell
Recommended
Barrels:
A Freak jr worked well.
Only use aftermarket barrels.
Strengths: In review.



Weaknesses: In review.
Review: Pros=
Price-These paintballs are at a vary low cost ($30.0)
Shell-These all broke on the target.
Chopping-I had no chops throughout the day, even with no eye.

Cons=
Fill-Well you get what you pay for. Decent fill under average.
Dimples-Lots of little "zits" seems to effect accuracy but not alot.

These paintballs are good for the price, but the dimples and fill were under average.
I will buy this paint again its a good deal. Good job RPS!

Conclusion: Buy these if you are low on cash (like me) they are well worth 35 dollars (2000 balls).

I highly recommend these.

A 7.5 is my ranking ill round it to an 8.
PEACE - lilfreak
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Worr Pimp Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil, Big Ball (never get that again)
Marker Setup: Black Dust DM4, 60/4500 Crossfire, Egg. Team: The Losers (the team name is a joke)
Recommended
Barrels:
Evil Pipe Kit/Dye Ultilight
Strengths: Would not freeze
Weaknesses: Dimples, would break in the gun not the barrel.
Review: I would not buy these paintballs again because they would not fly strait and they are expensesive for the quailty you get. 1 out of 2 balls had dimbles. They would break on the target once in a while. If you shooting for practice they will break on anything solid. I had 5 paintballs break in the cyclone when I was using my A-5. I WOULD NOT BUY THESE PAINTBALLS BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT THE BEST FOR THAT PRICE.
Conclusion: I gave it a 4 because not all of them broke. I think I was lucky. DO NOT BUY THESE PAINTBALLS.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DM4Balla Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Rec-Sport, Tomahawk field paint
Marker Setup: DM4
Recommended
Barrels:
Evil Pipe
Strengths: -Great Price
-No Oil at all
Weaknesses: No key weaknesses found only the
Review: It's the cheapest paint in the RPS range, ideal for cheap training paint, do not expect quality found in midevil/evil .

Compared hem with the rec-sport or the tomahawk, the menace are way better .Same breaks, but no oil or broken paint in the bags involed.

If you buy them make sure you use the correct bore size and you won't have any problems, it worked fine with me :-)
Conclusion: I found no problems with menace, as i said the price is right for what you're getting
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bloodyfinger Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Premium
Marker Setup: 2k5 Ion, Dye nitrogen system, Empire barrel kit, PMI Flame dropforward, Halo B w/rip dive
Recommended
Barrels:
Don't bother
Strengths: People shooting these at you will have no accuracy and are unlikely to hit you
Weaknesses: They are NEVER round. Horribly dimpled. Thin WEAK RUBBERY shell.
Review: These absolutely suck. NEVER buy them. They have NO accuracy at all. It's funny that this was the first paint I've ever used so I just assumed that paintball were that inaccuract. Then I started using other paint and realized how BAD these were. EVERY paintball is a different shape.
Conclusion: Do not, I repeat DO NOT buy these!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballrebel89 Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle paintballs
some zap
Marker Setup: -JT USA excellerator 6.0
-Spyder TL-X with electronic grip frame
-Spyder Pilot ACS
Recommended
Barrels:
anything 32 degrees
Strengths: -(mostly) breaks on contact
-price
-fill was OK
Weaknesses: -Dimpled
-Irregular shaped
-Weak shell
Review: I used these back on August 7th a few years ago. These were junk. My friend and I got them at the local pro shop because they were cheap and on sale. "hey", I thought, "RPS makes good paintballs right?" So I thought...Upon opening the bags, I immedietly saw that most were highly dimpled and irregular shaped. In fact, I can still remember my friend at the time laughing at me and saying "ha, looks like you are going to be playing moonball!". Upon testing them I was appauled at just how crazy the balls were going after leaving the barrel. I messed with the velocity. Same results. I changed 3 different barrels. Same results. As for playing, well no need to go into detail about all that 'cause I think you get my point. But seriously, do you know how crappy it is to chop paintballs consecutively right before you bunker someone? As for the fill, it was a little bit too watery for my liking but they were alright. Upon breaking on contact they did alright too except for a few that didn't burst when they hit a solid object. But this same brittle nature and breakability caused numerous breaks in my barrel. I'd say for every 60 that made it out the barrel, one or two would be chopped. The accuracy was pretty awful. I was having to do some serious angling just trying to lob them a medium distance. I like it when paintballs are somewhat oily but these were just excessive to the max. One other thing that I've only experiences with these paintballs is how small they were. Several times the ball would just simply roll down the barrel and onto the ground (of course I wouldn't discover this until I shot and nothing happened). We even got some of the games on film and you can see a paintball just roll out of my barrel. The price was cheap and I see why because I paid for some cheaply made paintballs. Yet, I have found some good bargain paintballs but unfortunately, these were not one of those.
Conclusion: I would not use these paintballs again nor would I recommend them to anyone. Typically I go through every case of paintballs that I get one handful at a time but I would of ended up throwing out 80% of them. Trust me on this, because since October of 2002 I have used thousands upon thousands of paintballs and many, many different brands..and these are the worst of them all. Don't make the same mistake I did. I give them a 2 and not a 1 b/c they worked bad for my friend too but not as bad as mine.

[this has nothing to do with the review, but I'm quite possibly the only person on pbreview to ever be typing up a review and while doing so, have their office chair's back snap in half, sending them flying backwards and hitting their head on a treadmill]
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media