paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Scepter Combat Systems 4000-A Paintball Grenade Launcher / Scepter Combat Systems 4000-A Paintball Grenade Launcher / Scepter Combat Systems 4000-A Paintball Grenade Launcher

Scepter Combat Systems 4000-A Paintball Grenade Launcher Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Scepter Combat Systems

Buy Scepter Combat Systems 4000-A Paintball Grenade Launcher

Paintball General Marker Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Scepter Combat Systems 4000-A Paintball Grenade Launcher
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter 4000-A Grenade Launcher is a new, patented 40mm launcher that not only fires the Scepter 40mm (2-oz) fragmentation paintball grenade, but grapeshot loads as well. This launcher can be ordered to fit on ANY MARKER! including: Spyder, Piranha, Warsensor 66, Armotech WG65, SIM4, and Tippmann 98 / A-5 markers. It is made from the highest grade aircraft aluminum and uses the marker's air source.

The Scepter 4000-A fires it's load at 145 FPS, and has a range of 50-70 yards. The frag grenade has a "kill zone" of 15'! It is safe to fire at any range, as long as everyone is wearing normal paintball safety gear. It will NOT dislodge paintball goggles, even at point-blank range!

These launchers are the only approved launchers at Oklahoma D-Day, and are permitted at most fields, by most national promoters.
Product Availability 
The Scepter Combat Systems 4000-A Paintball Grenade Launcher is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
deltapaintball Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintballcombat.net type launchers
Marker Setup: WG-65 RIS with Clip Kit, Composite Bolt, Scepter Combat Systems 4000-A Grenade Launcher, 40 mm Tasco Red Dot, and 3-Point Tactical Sling
Strengths: Having an effective device to launch grenades at targets 50-70 yards away.
Weaknesses: Making sure the trigger is pressed all the way in when firing the grenade.
Review: When you first receive the grenade launcher, you can not help but act like a 5 year old on Christmas morning. The realism that this brings to paintball grenade launchers can not be matched by any other product on the market today. It offers a one-to-one scale that all the others do not, and itís not difficult to attach to your marker either, attaching directly to where your markers valve/volumizer block is located. Thus allowing it access to the co2/nitro source, this is all conveniently hidden in the connecter block. (See the pictures area)

The directions for installing the grenade launcher are pretty strait forward and simple, no one should have trouble installing it. The same goes with the grenades, Scepter Combat Systems provides you with all the safety equipment needed when making the grenades, safety is truly there #1 concern when it comes to the grenade launcher and grenades. These are totally safe when used properly, they are intended to take out targets at a distance, not someone that has their back to and is 5 feet in front of you.

The intimidation factor that goes along with these grenade launchers is just as lethal as the launchers themselves. Donít be surprised when you find yourself regularly being picked first at walk-on games, when using hardware like this is, you are definitely going to get some looks of awe, and some looks of fright (from the opposing side). And since the grenade launcher can be attached to any Spyder/Piranha, Viper/Vector, Armotech/Warsensor and Tippmann A5 model, chances are that you already own the marker needed to operate it, and do not have to go out and buy an additional marker to use it. Thatís good news if you are on a tight budget.
Conclusion: It weighs about a pound, has a life time warranty and is made in the United States; why else wouldnít you get it?

The price tag may seem a tad high, but trust me, the first time you fire a grenade out of your SCS 4000-A, it proves to be totally worth it. The top affective range is up to 75 yards, thatís farther then most markers fire, this meaning you can take out a group of the opposing force while totally out of their range.

Scepter Combat Systems has really gone out on a whim for us milsim/scenario players, but has proven that they are not in it for the money, but to bring us quality items to be used in big games, to strike fear into the opposing side, and just making it look cool. These things are truly top notch, and are worth every dime.

*Edit*

My team, The Delta Paintball Team is indeed generously sponsored by Scepter Combat Systems, I have no reason to hide that fact, but I fail to see why that is such a major factor in whether a product is good or not. Scepter Combat Systems also sponsors big games and promoters across the United States, along with a few selected teams.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 at 12:45 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

PChiarizio Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Except for spud guns, I have never used a paintball grenade launcher until I received the Scepter 4000 for Spyder clone markers. Grenade experience to date consists of picking up that which was thrown at me back at the thrower for an elimination.
Marker Setup: Speedball: Spyder Flash LCD, 18" Boomstick, 68 ci 4500 psi HPA Center Flag Hyperflow 420 tank, Proteam Warp Feed, Halo TSA Backman hopper, Atomic Elbow, Scepter 4000 Grenade Launcher

Woodsball: Warsensor WS66 A1 Elite with composite bolt, HPA, Armotech Zeus G2, Armotech Zeus RIS, COPS911 Component Oriented Pack System Interlock Vest with 2000+ round capacity
Strengths: The simple joy of attaching it and launching your first grenade 40 yards.
Weaknesses: Using the tip of your thumb to fire
Review: Here's a product designed to please, as well as launch paint grenades. The Scepter 4000 Spyder clone grenade launcher is a first of its kind. The launcher effectively launches 'nades over 40 yards. It's a method you have to learn, and it takes a few shots to accurately range the 'nade, but as it is a 'nade, you don't have to be RIGHT on target to record a hit.

The launcher simply mounts to the volumizer in the front of the marker and uses the same air source as the marker. Installation took about 60 seconds without the directions. The grenade kits have everything you need to make your own grenades. I learned the hard way not to do this in the kitchen, LOL, it's messy when a half-filled 'nade slips off the syringe, got 3 out of four walls! Ole lady was perturbed!

After making a few 'nades, and dry firing the launcher a few times to get the feel for the trigger (you need to move your finger tip in fast to actuate the valve fast and get the most from your launch) it was time for a test. A tilt of a mere 5 to 15 degrees sends 'nades flying 50 feet, a tilt of 45 degrees sends 'nades about 130 feet! Impressive! The grips on the muzzle make the launcher easy to direct where you want it. The safety and muzzle condom are key safety features when the launcher is not in play. when in play, the nades are made of rubber tubing and immediately release their contents upon even a minor impact, so there is not alot of energy in the impact if the nade hits a mask, for example. I found I could fire about 15 grenades with 1000 psi of a 4500 psi HPA tank, your mileage may vary.

But enough of the kid stuff, let's get down to business, being primarily a woodsball player on a budget. The $350 price tag for the launcher is well worth it for this American-made, finely-crafted and well-thought-out grenade launcher. I questioned it at first, but I've checked on the competition, their launchers are at least twice as expensive and have questionable range consistency due to variety of issues from air supply to ammo. The Scepter 4000 has none of these issues and it is half the price of the competition. Plus it's backed up with some of the best tech minds in paintball and backed up with a lifetime guarantee. As the launcher is so simple, I can't picture a scenario where I'd need service, but if it ever needed it, Scepter's there to take care.
Conclusion: I would recommend the Scepter 4000 Grenade Launcher to speedball or woodsball players that want a little extra kick in their game that a cheesy squadbuster grenade can't provide, and to milsim/scenario/big game players to clear fields of enemy with. It's good to own a product that presents no hassles and lives up to its reputation. It's also good when people see your marker with a launcher hanging off it saying "I'm on whatever team that guy with the launcher is on..." hehe.

Scepter has hit a home run with the Scepter 4000 Grenade Launcher for spyder clones. Keep in mind, there are other launchers by Scepter for Milsim markers, I'm hoping Santa shows up with one for my WS 66 A1 Elite !

I've rated this a 10 out of 10 not because I'm a giddy muppet, but because the launcher truly is fantastic, bringing out the kid in this 38-year old! Comments/Questions are welcome!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

COPS Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Silmilar Products RPG Launcher, Dead by Dawn Launcher
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Strengths: Light Weight, Easy to Install & Operate, Great Instructions, Superior Customer Service, Very Reliable
Weaknesses: I could find absolutely nothing wrong with this product, and no way to Improve it
Review: I got a Scepter Combat Grenade Launcher for my A5 and Played with it this weekend at Semper Fi

Best way to sum it up = AWESOME, Flawless, Impressive

Besides being Imitating and Bad A $$ Looking, its so Easy to use, weighs 1 Lb, come with a Simple Bolton Lines and Bracket, Grenades, Sabots, Clamps, Syringe, Instructions...

It has Great Range, Very Safe, Fun, Addition to my A5
Conclusion: I would Highly recommed this to any Player into Milsim / Rec Play that wants to improve his style of play, take out the enemy from approx 75 yards, Simply a Great addition to Tippmann Markers, as well as War Sensor and Armotech and other Markers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

BTRobertson Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
N/A - only regular hand-held grenades like the Tippmann Squadbuster and the G4 Wet Willie
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo Green
Standard gravity Viewloader hopper (upgrading to Empire Reloader II e-hopper)
12oz. CO2 tank (upgrading to Pure Energy 88cu 4500 psi N2)
16" Smart Parts All-American silver front, Freak Jr. rear, .689 bore insert barrel system
Stock bolt (upgrading to Delrin ACS Xtra rear-cocking bolt)
Java remote coil
Scepter 4000-A Grenade Launcher
Strengths: Lightweight
Awesome
Intimidation factor
Easy to use
Easy to clean
Quality construction
Weaknesses: Price
Have to make grenades by hand, one-by-one
Chews up air
Review: As you can see by my marker setup, I'm using this launcher on a Spyder Rodeo marker (2005), so it does fit. There was some question by the distributor I purchased it from (Jasse Paintball - www.jassepaintball.com) as to whether or not Spyder changed the threading on the newer markers, but it turned out this launcher fit it perfectly.

In taking the strengths one by one:

1.) Lightweight - Aircraft-grade aluminum makes this device a very light add-on to your marker. It attaches to the low-pressure port, fitting snuggly under your barrel. Even when loaded with air and a frag grenade (separate purchase, make sure you get the grenade kit - yep, you gotta make them yourself), it adds a small amount of weight. I recommend using a remote coil for your marker to relieve the weight of the tank on your marker.

2.) Awesome - while this may not sell you on it, the fact that I have a grenade launcher attached to my marker is just plain awesome to me. :-) I can't wait to use it on the field.

3.) Intimidation factor - in conjunction with #2, others on the field will definitely take second and third looks when they see this thing attached to your marker, or are looking down the large opening of the muzzle on the other team. :-) You will get lots of looks, and it will most likely make you a primary target on the field, so be prepared.

4.) Easy to use - the trigger is mounted on the left side of the launcher near the hand guard/hand rest. It's a single mechanical button you must push quickly to discharge the air. The safety is a simple slide lock that blocks the button on the opposite side from pusing through - simple, but effective and safe. It screws into the low-reg port tightly, and there are only two O-rings I've seen, and you get a pouch of pre-lubricated rings with the launcher - thanks Scepter.

5.) Easy to clean - you won't get barrel breaks, that's for sure. The 2 ounce paint frag grenade slides into the launcher in a cardboard "sabbot", sort of like the wad in a shotgun shell for those of you experienced with shotguns or guns in general. The "wad" holds the shot in a shotgun, to separate the BBs from the powder. The wad, upon exiting the muzzle, drifts away long after the BBs have discharged. Same with the cardboard sabbot. The paint grenade flies to the target and the sabbot falls to the ground. That way, the sabbot acts as a protective shell for the grenade during its trip through the launcher's barrel. No paint breaks. All it needs is typical petroleum jelly (vaseline) to lube the threads and other moving parts - so simple and easy it's sick.

6.) Quality construction - extending #1 even further, the launcher doesn't feel cheap at all. Sometimes you can tell the quality of something merely by handling it, and it was a very good feeling to know that I made a good decision in purchasing it.

Weaknesses:

1.) Price - it's pricey. I got mine for $30.00 less because it was the last one left at Jasse and was a demo model (never fired or tested, though). Even so, it cost me $299.99!! However, in contrast, I've seen them for $399.99 on most every other website, so it looks like I got a great deal regardless. The 25 paint grenade kit was only $32.00. That makes it worthwhile - even the refill kit is only $20.00, so it gets cheaper the more you use it. It won't break, and you get a good warranty with it.

2.) Making grenades - while this might be a good skill to know if you ever meet the Terminator (remember in T1 when Kyle made nitro-glycerine pipe bombs?), this just seems annoying beyond belief. I assume the reason Scepter offers grenades this way is to keep cost down. The grenades are small - a mere 2 ounces - but the kit probably keeps them even cheaper than if they were pre-made. Just get ready for a messy and time-consuming project if you want to make all 25 in the kit in one sitting. :-)

3.) Chews up air - it'll chew through a 12 oz. Co2 tank in a mere 7 or 8 shots!!! And that doesn't include your normal paintball shots. My advice?: get an HPA system - that's why I got such a huge tank coming in December - 88cu 4,500 psi. :-) Plus, if you use Co2, not only will you blow through the air (no pun intended), but it will most likely cause your marker to freeze up. After my first shot, I was blowing frost out the end and the launcher had frosted up a bit. Not good, but I only shot it a few times - it gets cold.
Conclusion: If you can afford it, and can't get enough of scenario play and/or love to have something few others have, this is the launcher for you. It will change the dynamic of the game and strike a certain level of fear into your opponents. The launcher is high-quality, and constructed very, very well. For the money, I don't know if it gets much better. One more tip: I wouldn't use Co2 with this launcher. It gets very, very, VERY cold because of the amount of air it uses to propel the grenade, and it will definitely leave you empty after only several shots at most. Get a high-capacity HPA tank system, which will not degrade or sputter or freeze up your marker. In fact, I wouldn't even consider this without HPA/LPA.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 at 10:00 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

trouty Friday, November 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Ordnance grenade Launcher (good but extremely heavy in comparison)
Alias MKX Scenerio Launcher (Different niche)
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, telescoping stock, e-trigger
Strengths: Lightest launcher I've seen to date.
fairly easy to install
simple design
Weaknesses: Small air leak at first
Muzzle loading a lil different
Review: I've tested this launcher for the last few day in every combo I could think of. The bladder rounds they (scepter) provide are a good balance between effective and safe.
It's always good to know you can "kill" an opponent without actually putting him in physical danger.
I dig how compact it is and also the ease at which it mounted to my Tippmann A-5.
Arching the shot is required when you get over 15-20yrds and users should remember that the launcher shoots at only 140-145 fps and adjust accordingly.
We had some light leakage issues with the unit shortly after we installed it but nothing an inch or two of teflon tape couldn't fix.
So bottom line...great product. Love the weight or lack of. Hope to see more "specialized" items coming from Scepter.
Conclusion: If your into things like launchers it's money well spent. Like I said... best and smartest of its' class.
Trouty
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Renegade_Ranger Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nerf type LAWS
Marker Setup: WS66 w/remote
Strengths: It is as effective as it's appearance is awesome. easy to use and maintain.
Weaknesses: You must keep your fingers off the backside and push the trigger fast/hard enough.
Review: It only takes a little practice before you quickly learn how to fire it accurately and consistently. Scepter Combat sells the everything you need to make grenades that are consistently the same weight and very safe and effective. The grenade kits even come with safety glasses which you use when filling the grenades.
The launchers when used with the Scepter Combat grenades or their sabots filled properly with PB grapeshot are a very safe product. I have personally tested it's hazard potential and find it SAFER than a LAWS/nerf type launcher.

DO NOT USE THESE OR ANY OTHER LAUNCHER TO SHOOT DIRECTLY AT SOMEONE THOUGH! Launchers are intended to be used for INDIRECT FIRE only! To use any product for other than it's intended use is STUPID...so please don't be stupid.
I have ABSOLUTELY no concerns having someone using a Scepter Combat 4000A with my 10 yr old son on the field though.

Conclusion: This is the ticket for anyone wanting to have the ability to clear an enemy bunker and still have your paintgun "at the ready" when they come running out yelling "GRENADE!!!" LOL

I applaud Scepter Combat for their innovative ideas to bring us a more realistic, fun, safe way to use indirect fire to clear out those crowded enemy bunkers! Can't wait to see what they come out with next!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

seavet2000 Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, APE Rampage Board, JCS Vortex Mod for Cyclone, QEV upgrade, Scepter 4000 A-5 Grenade Launcher, OPSGEAR MP5 sliding stock, J&J 14" Barrel with Apex Tip, Proteam ASR-1 Sight Rail, LAPCO Offset sight mount, Armson Pro-Dot Max-Duty red dot sight, Ricochet R-5 hopper, 3-point sling.
Pure Energy HPA tank, 88ci, 4500psi
Pure Energy Remote Line with slide check
Cops911 Scepter Grenade interlock pockets on Broadsword vest.
Strengths: Simplicity, availability for many markers, fires different payloads, grenades cheaper. Excellent tech support as well.
Weaknesses: Ammunition getting hard to find!
Review: Finding a new and different way to fire the same safety conscious paint on the field is always a boon to manufacturing companies and a thrill for the recreational paintballer as his peers look on in awe. One revolutionary product is the Tiberius Arms T-8 pistol. Another is the Scepter Combat Systems Scepter 4000 grenade launcher.

The Scepter 4000 comes with complete installation and repair instructions, a wrench for installation, and even spare o-rings! I burned through the black o-rings quickly getting a tight fit onto the low-pressure port of my marker, but the Scepter Combat team is excellent and very helpful with tech support and is mailing me more o-rings as I write this. When I first dry-fired the launcher, I had a CO2 tank. Bad idea. The CO2 froze the valve of the launcher open, turning it into a big fire extinguisher. My wife and dog hit the ceiling in fright, and we didn?t see the cats for two days. After I got the marker unstuck from my hands, I purchased an HPA tank to work this baby, and haven?t had a launching problem since. The repair instructions are great for those times when you get nailed with a paintball right in the launcher?s trigger assembly and you have to clean it out.

The grenade-making kit is so complete it makes you weep with joy. Tubing, BB?s, scissors (Scissors!!!), clamp, protective goggles, a syringe, cardboard sabots, and paint, all in one kit. The instructions are complete, although they may need updating as the paint formulas can change (I received instructions for powdered paint but had liquid paint supplied, making the vegetable oil unnecessary). I have access to medical-grade 60cc syringes with catheter tips, which I found easier to use in making grenades than the supplied syringe. Otherwise the kit is very complete and making grenades is easy once you get used to it. I advise everyone to read the instructions and follow them carefully! An excellent example was the fact that each grenade must be wrapped in paper (such as newspaper strips) before inserting into a sabot, enough paper to turn the sabot over without letting the grenade fall out. This keeps the grenade from slamming into the sabot when launched, preventing a premature air burst. Scepter Combat was once again excellent in their patience and commitment to excellence as they carefully explained the grenade-making procedures when I had problems such as this. The grenade kit makes launching grenades much cheaper, and you can still throw a Scepter grenade if you run out of air, just like any Little Betty!

I purchased the launcher for several reasons. One was I like variety on the paintball field. I like to shoot, but I also like having other options to just paintballs, making myself self-sufficient as well as bringing added firepower to my team. Another reason was simply the coolness factor. I love the idea of being able to launch grenades further than I can throw them. I enjoy the advantages I can bring to myself and my team in a sticky situation, and the intimidated looks on the faces of my opponents.

Scepter Combat was way ahead of their game when they made launchers to fit many different markers. I didn?t want to go buy a new marker just to use the launcher, and I didn?t have to. Another persuasion to purchase was that Scepter Combat has not just made a simple grenade launcher, they also made it possible for one launcher to launch different payloads. It?s very cool that one product can do different things for you like this, and it also makes you think hard about your game strategy and implementation (especially when you have to make grenades in advance). I may find myself launching a grenade at a bunker in one instant, and firing a canister load of 15 paintballs at a group of players at the backdoor entrance the next. Having this ability in a single product is fantastic. The launcher itself is well made, with no burrs in the barrel and a very clean, tight fit to the marker. The manufacturing materials seem to be very high quality, as the launcher endures some abuse on the paintball field and still continues to work perfectly.

I recently used this at Liberty Paintball, NY, and it was excellent for taking down tanks. Unfortunately, this product is no longer in production, and is getting very hard to find, along with the availability of ammunition. I hope a company will come along which will take over production of 40mm grenades, because the launcher itself is easy to maintain and so far shows no signs of slowing down! It will probably outlast the Tippmann A-5 I have it mounted on.
Conclusion: Just some tips for the serious purchaser:
1) Check with your fields before you buy. You don?t want to find out that the most excellent launcher you just paid for is not allowed in play.
2) Get an HPA (compressed air) tank instead of CO2. A CO2 tank will simply turn the launcher into a 60-second fire extinguisher, and you will need the sheer air supply an HPA can provide for multiple grenade launches as well as firing your marker.
3) Invest in some gear to make your experience more enjoyable. A remote line will offset the combined weight of the marker, launcher, grenade, full load of paint, and tank in your arms all at once, especially when playing all day in the sun. Think of a way to carry grenades and sabots without them blowing up on you as you go diving for cover. A sling helps tremendously too.
4) Follow the directions! Install the launcher and make the grenades safely, using safety goggles and following the written instructions. Do not skip steps! Scepter Combat knows what each part of the launcher and grenade is for, and how necessary each step is. They are there to help, so ask questions if you have any problems.
5) People can't help but STARE at you and this launcher. Don't let them down. Practice launching the grenades at different angles for different effects. Master its use and you will be a very formidable opponent!

This is one kick-butt addition to your paintball gear; it makes your games sooooo much more interesting. Scepter Combat has produced a very safe, durable, and well made product, with excellent options for use, plenty of supplied spare parts and grenade making materials, and first-class tech support. It is also a LOT of fun to use, with minimal fuss. It is the best piece of equipment I own, in that it always does what they say it will and has never broken down. If only every product could make the same claims! I hope that Scepter Combat Systems will make a comeback and continue with their line of products!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 5th, 2007 at 8:08 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

out4welts Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: WG-65 RIS W/Remote
Strengths: Get enemies behind bunkers.
Get many opponents with one shot.
Uses host markers air source.
Weaknesses: Takes a little practice to become proficient with it.
not really a weakness though.
Review: It didn't take much practice to start getting launches of up to 70 yards. My brother and I tested this and he was able to "paint" me with it at 50 yards after only taking a few test shots.

we loved this unit and we will both be getting one for our marker setups. One of the best things about it is that it uses the same air source as your marker so you don't need to take extra gas nades with you like the airsoft ones require.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this product to anyone that wants to be able to take out multiple enemies with one shot, take out people hiding behind bunkers and for the realism in scenario play. This launcher will intimidate your foes and everyone will want to be on your team.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

MOATI Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nerf LAWS and home made cannons
Marker Setup: A5 with too many additions to list!
Strengths: Ease of use
Appearance
Incredible performance
Weaknesses: Not all barrels fit with the launcher
Review: I had the thrill of seeing this baby in action prior to purchasing/using it myself. To put it simply, it performed beautifully! It's easy to load and very easy to get the hang of in regards to targeting and general use. I was a little disappointed to find that my Empire Kit won't work with it due to the flaring on the barrel but the J&J works great with it.

Conclusion: As a scenario player, I felt that this was a must have. I absolutely love it.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

hipboyscott Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squadbuster (it like...doesn't work!)
Marker Setup: WS-66 with Scepter 4000-A
-BSA reddot
-Remoteline to 20oz tank
-Recently aquired COPS vest to use in conjunction with marker/launcher
Strengths: Immense firepower and plain old scaring the enemy!
Looks like a Grenade launcher!
Weaknesses: Time, fast fingers and careful packaging required.
not 100% M203 lookalike
Review: The Launcher is made of aluminum and titanium....there's nothig weak about this beast...but it's not heavy nor bulky.

With this small tube you increase the firepower of not only yourself but the entire squad/team...for $300 its like having a second paintball gun, but it doesnt have to physically hit an enemy to take them out!

This baby packs a whallop and can fire either a suppression blast of 15 paintballs, or a single tube-grenade that will totally drench anything inside a small bunker if you get one in there.

There can be some problems if you are new: installing it onto my WS-66...if you arent careful you can loosen the connector to the adaptor, breaking the seal: this is easily fixed by just locking it back down with your hand....but it's different the first time. making the grenades....give yourself plenty of room...I'd suggest taking the 'nade making gear out to a nice open place in the yard or field, away from stuff you would want to clean, and DO WEAR THE GOGGLES!

if you slip and unleash a grenade....it will send high-pressure goo from the nozzle, which generally would be towards the face(and in my case my gun sitting on the table next to me...and the instructions, and the box it came in, and the everything, and the deck....these nades REALLY put the paint out)...you wear your mask during play, use the same sense while prepping these.

you have to give the valve a STRONG prep-shot...seems like 2x the force you normally use. once this is done, a steady, fash push on the valve will give you a consistent and far shot...after 3-4 uses...it's 2nd nature and not a problem.

But once you get used to this, the nade launcher is literally a BLAST to use!

rating is 9 because it's not 100% lookalike and it takes getting used to. Performance-wise it's a 10 baby!
Conclusion: Basically....maybe not for the total beginner, but an effective tool. It takes getting used to, but its something totally different, why WOULDN'T it?

If you have been looking for that device that just begs for attention, intimidates like nothing else can, and/or need some heavy-duty firepower...the Scepter 4000 launcher beats all other's hands down.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 22nd, 2004 at 10:55 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media