paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R

Kingman Spyder TL-R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL-R

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL-R
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:-Drop forward -Vertical ball feed -Top cocking bolt -New larger expansion chamber -Lo-pressure chamber -All metal construction -Canted forward foregrip -Milled body -Rubber grips -Tournament style velocity adjuster -Ported barrel -2 finger trigger -Stainless steel bottom line set up
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL-R is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
duck_boy Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom - slightly louder and bigger
Spyder E99 Advent - faster, otherwise the same
Marker Setup: marker: Smart Parts ION (stock)
air: Crossfire 68/45

-also-
marker: spyder tl-r, bone daddy gt
custom stuff: polished internals
air: 12oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
Strengths: Cool milling, Fairly accurate out of the box, small amount of blow-back
Weaknesses: Mechanical (long trigger pull), loose hoses, packaging, vertical profile, foregrip
Review: This review is about the stock Kingman Spyder TL-R marker.

Overall this is a good marker. the blow-back is small compared to other markers, it agitates the paint in the feedneck just enough to keep the paint coming in a steady stream.

When you take the marker out of the box you may want to check to see it there is isn't Styrofoam inside the low pressure chamber. and the screws on the hose should be tightened down a bit (I lost a lot of CO2 by not tightening them).

The barrel is accurate if you get used to it but it should really be replaced. The feedneck included with the player pack creates a very large vertical profile.

EDIT:
The foregrip has a weird way to remove it. You have to unscrew 2 little allen wrench screws to get it off and its not threaded. So if you want to get a new foregrip you need to buy a new vertical adaptor also.

The mech trigger frame isn't as bad as i thought it would be. It forces you to conserve paint and gives u time to aim between shots.

EDIT #2:
I have been playing with this marker for a year now and overall it works very well. As my playing style has evolved this marker still kept up. But I have found a few problems:

1) I do find that it shoots slower than I would like it to, so if your looking into this marker also look into the Kingman Spyder Imagine or other electronic spyders, they shoot faster but other than that they are the same thing inside.

2) As I mentioned in the first edit, the foregrip cannot be interchanged with a regulator without changing the whole vertical adapter. This means it will cost more to get a regulator.

Other than those problems, the Spyder TL-R is a very durable and trustworthy marker, it won't let you down.
Conclusion: Good Gun, recommended for beginners, stock barrel isn't that good but hey its a stock barrel what do you expect.

EDIT: Great sturdy marker. It is easy to upgrade. The stock barrel is quite accurate if you use the correct paint. I recommend DraXxuS Heat (consistent bore size) or DBX rec grade paint (cheaper, not so good fill).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 29th, 2005 at 8:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder1212 Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann custom 98, spyder shutter and spyder tl-x
Marker Setup: spyder tl-r marker, java gravity fed hopper, double trigger, 12" stock barrel, 16" stock barrel, 2 12oz c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
i have all stock so i dont know
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: None At All
Review: I bought the tl-r with the sniper pack which comes with a 16" barrel, 12" barrel, c02, mask, hopper, barrel plug, extra parts, ext. I loved it! the accuracy of it was amazing. It does outstanding in games. I would say its for beginners, intermediate and even some advanced players. Another excellent marker Kingman!
Conclusion: This is an amazing gun that I think you should buy therefore im giving it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 10th, 2006 at 6:22 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer1500 Tuesday, February 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Stock Everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
extended barrel, electronic hopper
Strengths: Accuracy, Distance
Weaknesses: None
Review: The TL-R is a very durable and accurate gun. When i got it everyone underestimated it.But they soon learned to fear it. Even my friend lost to it and he was using an autococker! I think it is a good gun for beginners and advanced players. Overall i think it is a very good gun.
Conclusion: I give the TL-R a 10 out of 10 because it is very durable an dfun to play with.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintBaller1024 Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom, BrassEagle Eradicator, Avenger and Talon, Veiwloader Genesis, and ViewLoader Triad.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R (Currently Stock but not for long hehe)
20/12oz. CO2 Tanks
JAVA 200 round Hopper
JAVA Elbow
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
E-Trigger (Maybe)
ACS Bolt
Strengths: Durable
Cheap
Looks Good
Easy To Strip
As good as 98Custom but cheaper
Weaknesses: None really just as long as you select good paintballs.
Review: My gun has been dropped in snow, mud, and water and it still worked. I just cleaned it and lubed it to keep it in great condition. The finish hasn't chipped or scratched and the package it comes in is very good. The package comes with all JAVA accessories including a 12oz. CO2 tank, JAVA mask, squeegee, spare parts, allen wrenches, & Barrel Plug. The only problem i have had with it is it chops the balls but that was because i was using cheap, old, dented, balls that would have broken in any gun. It has about the same amount of accuracy and rate of shots as the 98Custom and is much cheaper. The TL-X is the same gun as the TL-R but it is the version that does not come with the package deal. They are both equal other than the color and the TL-X currently has a 9.7 / 10 rating. I would highly recommend this gun to anyone. It can be upgraded to run with the big dogs for a low amount of money. I love this gun. It has never broken on me unlike Brass-Eagles or View-Loaders. Go out and buy this gun if you would like a good-quality, accurate, marker that will keep up with or surpass your friend's 98Custom which a lot of people have.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun Go out and buy it if you would like a good-quality, accurate, marker that will keep up with or surpass your friend's 98Custom or upgrade it to be much better than one! It is a great gun and has never given me any trouble.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 28th, 2005 at 12:46 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PaintedBalls999 Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Black Maxx
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
12" teardrop barrel

soon: C.A.M.D trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
trigger (maybe)
Strengths: Accurate, powerful, cheap
Weaknesses: Slow shooting
Review: The spyder tl-r was the very first gun that I bought in my short paintball gun career so far. It was a very good buy and I only got it for around 130.00$, while it's original price was around 200. This gun is super accurate and quiet thanx to my teardop that I have on it. I will probably invest in a new trigger since it does shoot slow. Overall this gun is a very good buy and I recommend it for the beginning paintballer, since it is less complicated then the A-5.
Conclusion: Good for the price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

war40k Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Zip
Marker Setup: TL-R Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend a better barrel and a new trigger
Strengths: Accuracy
Vel Adj.
Weaknesses: Trigger Pull
Review: Advantages:

- It's accuracy is probably the best I have seen for its price, but it would be better if it had a new barrel.
- The velocity adjuster is very easy and easy to change on field just incase your over the
max. velocity.
- The cocking is easy cheesy, unlike the Striker I tried to cock once. It was so funny, I was practice shooting by a ditch, and when I could'nt cock the striker anymore... Oops getting off topic.

Disadvantages:

- The trigger has quit a big pull so I recommend getting a new trigger.
note: Im not very good at coming up with disadvantages for a good gun.

--Repeating Adam West-- We give the TL-R for paintball a 5 out of 5 (10 of 10)
Conclusion: New trigger pull and barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SNIPEUR MAN Saturday, August 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stryker emx 1000
Marker Setup: Kingman spyder tl-r stock 16 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A halo tsa lcd a long barrel like a 21 inch rocking trigger.
Strengths: Great for snipeing soo fast never chops balls an intermedeit gun for winners.
Weaknesses: Heavy very heavy
Review: Great gun I mean it seems almost fully automatic when im going crazy with it
I put out about 11 balls a second according to my timer. When im tired mabey
7 to 8 balls a second.With marballizers in it mabey 15 17 bps and one fast finger ouch.
It doesnt jam I have crappy balls $24 balls and in 700 shots only two jamed not one
has broke since i got it. Its durabal but heavy with that 16 inch barrel thats not alumium
nor carbon fiber its medal.So I give it a 9 based on an intermedite scale on a pro scale
a 5. I got mine refubished on ebay for $74 the gun has no scratches on it I got the full kit.
ILL post a pic of it later. Want one get from ebay or amazon.
Conclusion: super fast good for snipers and up close as well but its kinda heavy never breaks balls
low matainence cant break it easy. GET IT GET IT GET IT.it rules.+ its (shinny) i spell that right?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder Guy0975 Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first marker.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R with clamping feedneck (unknown brand), 12 and 20 oz. co2 tanks, stock 12" barrel (will upgrade to a 5.5" JCS barrel very soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A clamping feedneck for sure. It lowers your hopper a lot and keeps it really secure
Strengths: Simple, relatively easy to disassemble, accurate, durable.
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull (supposedly, I haven't had problems with it)
Review: It's a very solid gun, great for beginners like myself to intermediate players. The trigger pull could be shorter, but if you use it you'll find it's not that bad really, and you can get used to how it feels. The foregrip can get pretty cold with rapid fire, but if you wear even thin gloves you won't notice it. So far it's only chopped two times that I can recall, and those were when I was just shooting cans in the backyard with it, not in combat.
Conclusion: It's a very good marker, very rarely chops, it's pretty accurate, all in all it's a very reliable gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fxracing200 Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used a pmi and the kingman spyder tl-r shoots streghter and faster than it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Streight shooting and balls never break in the gun.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I think that all starters that like spyders should get this gun. Its cheap and comes with everything that you need to get started. (ecept for paintballs) I shot about 1500 balls out of it and none broke so far. i bought this gun for 189.99 dolars at dicks sporting good.My freind has a tippman 98 custom and this gun shoot just as fast as it.
Conclusion: I think that this gun is good for starting of with .Its acurate and balls dont break in it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Kuegeltlr2 Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
PMI Razzor Barrel
ESP Classic E-Frame C.A.M.D.
Backman Halo Hopper
12oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel maybe e-trigger with e-hopper
Strengths: Powerful shooting gun, light weight (weight in back), easily disassembles for cleaning, and upgradable
Weaknesses: Heavy trigger pull and slow shooting (if you like to shoot fast)
Review: This is a great gun to start with or for experienced players. It is very upgadable and comes with 2 stock expansion chambers. I have never chopped a ball or had any major problems with this gun. I use it for woods ball because that is all I play. It is very dependable in all terrain. It jammed once but it is very easy to unjam it quickly. It can shoot pretty far with a new barrel. Velocity bolt is very easily adjusted when you need to.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun. My friend showed me this gun and I got on Ebay for $70. I was so happy with my purchase that I bought anouther one and they both havent given any trouble.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 4th, 2007 at 9:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media