paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R

Kingman Spyder TL-R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL-R

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL-R
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:-Drop forward -Vertical ball feed -Top cocking bolt -New larger expansion chamber -Lo-pressure chamber -All metal construction -Canted forward foregrip -Milled body -Rubber grips -Tournament style velocity adjuster -Ported barrel -2 finger trigger -Stainless steel bottom line set up
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL-R is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
aaron02 Saturday, April 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none this was my first gun and will probably be the only one i ever get becasue it is great
Marker Setup: tl-r with 12 0z tank and 14 in. J & J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
well i dont think i would change anything on this gun but im very satisfied with my new barrel
Strengths: Reliable, durable, pretty decent with everything stock, shoots straight, not a co2 hog
Weaknesses: There are no wekanesses of this gun
Review: Ok where to start i was going ot get a Tippman 98 custom but my uncle had used this gun one time so i gota the tl-r and he got the tippman (we traded) well let me tell im glad that i got this gun it has so amny thing you can beef it up with and over all it is jsut an awesome gun . With this gun completely stock i was beating everyone that had a5's and 98 customs that had everything you can get on them i was amazed with this gun it is just outstading any more question in this gun justr email about it
Conclusion: I think if I had to choose over this gun and any other one excpet like some angel or somthing I would pick this spyder
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C12OW Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
titan rental guns
spyder xtra
auto cocker trilodgy
tippman 98
spyder pilot
spyder rodeo
Marker Setup: tlr
16" CP barrel
everything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
locking feedneck
barrel is a must
e-frame if you want but no rocking trigger
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: okay got this off big 5 for $190 (ya i kno didn't wanna wait online) and one thing you may notice about this gun is that you can only get this in a package so I don't know if that's a plus or not but you wont be seeing experienced players with it. another thing is that this gun comes in two packages; a blue marker package, or the sniper package which is pretty much the same thing but silver and a 16 " barrel. i really don't know why they say its a sniper package all because of a barrel that's slightly longer than stock, both made out of the exact same material.

PERFORMANCE
so I go home, gas her up and shoot some average paint. It went straight as expected with the 12" and began sinking at 100 ft not too bad for spyder. I screw in the 16 inch barrel and shot, same accuracy but was disappointed that it only went 5-10 ft more than the 12" so they pretty much had the word "sniper" added in their to get people to buy it. bad move spyder. i go to the local field, weekend warriors (field paint only) and i join a game. In the middle of the game I start shooting and noticed that the paint is curving like crazy and this is pretty good paint. i notice that when the balls get warmed up from the heat i guess it drops in performance. Nothing really minor just buy another barrel I recommend a CP barrel, nothing too much for a gun like this

Looks
I notice that with the gun being silver it looks very attractive. If you go to a field like mine some people with be slightly intimidated (one kid thought i was a pro aha) but then again weekend warrior is not the best quality park out there. I go to a tournament and once they see the words "spyder" on it they laugh. so again just for intermediate play, that's what spyders were made for

weight
i noticed it was heavier than most paintball guns but i get tired of the criticism that people say about spyders being too heavy. If you cant bear like 3 lbs then stop playing paintball NOW.... before you hurt yourself. if you want to solve this slight problem then upgrade the internals to make it lighter

speed
for a mechanical gun it can shoot pretty fast with this 8-10 bps but really nothing much to brag about. if your not planning on getting another gun and frequently paintball you might as well chip in 50 bucks for an e-frame off eBay. don't get the rocking trigger frame!!!!! i can't say that enough times its a waste of money, you need a fast hopper, and many places wont allow you to use it anyways.

Feed neck
obviously spyder puts on these crappy feed necks on purpose.this and an elbow makes this gun a relatively big gun so not easy to maneuver around

other
be sure to screw in some of the nuts and whatnot to save a little bit of gas. i also notice that this gun is gas efficient, with a 12 oz tank will easily deliver 1000 shots or so. Lastly I notice that this gun does have a kick to it so if you wanna upgrade the bolt for both chopping and recoil reasons then be my guest. this gun is very upgradable.
Conclusion: with the money you can buy some other guns much better for the same price, a trilogy for example. a new barrel is a must and a feedneck to put on a new hopper and/ or shorten the height. Im not that big on spyders would have rather gotten a 98 or a trilogy but thats my opinion. Note that this gun performs almost exactly the same as many other spyder models. I shot my friends rodeo (he has a J&J barrel) and both shot the same (me with stock barrel) =D. overall its a decent gun but i think you could get better, buy it if you paintball with people of the same performance level gun. If not either buy and Impulse or trilogy for a mechanical. hope this helped
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

guitarwiz22 Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Elektra- Much better
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
Viewloader 200 Hopper
Stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel- Any barrel is better than the stock
Electric Trigger
Strengths: Shoots far
Lots of power and accuracy
Easy to use
Weaknesses: Breaks often
Stock Barrel isn't very good
Gets very cold
Review: The Spyder TL-R was my first gun. It is a great beginners gun. However, once I started to be a more agressive paintballer, this didn't cut it for me.
First off, it broke constantly. My gun had CO2 leaks constantly. This wasn't helpful when I found one right before a match.
One of the biggest problems with the gun was the barrel. The stock barrel was accurate but paint stuck to it easily. I chopped constantly with it.
It was an OK gone for a starter but I outgrew it very fast. I suggest for a beginners gun something along the lines of a Tippmann 98 Custom and not a Spyder TL-R.

Conclusion: I recommend this gun to beginners that want an easily maintained gun that shoots accurately and fast.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Weapons Master Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine, Xtra
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R with folding stock and electronic trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely electronic trigger, new barrel, folding stock
Strengths: Shoots hard, accurate, good distance, solid, durable, and looks cool
Weaknesses: None really
Review: i got this gun a month ago and it was awesome. it works well with the stock trigger on but i put an electronic trigger and it works much better, i also put a folding stock on for more stability. i use just a standard hopper. ive heard that balls break if they wont load as fast as it could shoot. never happened with this gun. i shot maybe 18bps and not a ball broke EVER.
i was also hitting small targets from around 80 yards, and leaving huge bruises on my friends. this is also a very strong gun. you can abuse it in about any way and it will still work well.
Conclusion: This is a good all around paintball gun. I recommend this gun for everyone except maybe pros.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BMAsRevenge Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman and other Spider markers
Marker Setup: Spider TL-R W/Sniper Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Metal feed neck 7 or 8 replacements later I suggest this for any marker that requires a feedneck.
Strengths: Reliable, accurate, solid
Weaknesses: Long trigger? See review
Review: I bought this gun because I liked the silver look LOL. It turned out to be a very good dependable gun. Its built solid with no flimsy parts to break off and although I haven't tried it I believe you could drop it from a one story building, pick it up and fire. The trigger pull is long compared to other guns I have used but you can still fire rappidly. I prefer to fire slow accurate shots so the trigger pull has never bothered me. I have no idea what barrel breaks are being I have fired at least 20,000 paintballs from this gun and still haven't had this problem. The one I bought came with a 16" sniper barrel and a shorter one. I basically never use the short barrel and really can't comment on that.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good reliable gun that works fine out of the box consider this one. If you have the luck as I have this marker should last a long time playing general purpose games.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thebob2 Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder mr2, tippman 98, tippman a-5
Marker Setup: spyder tl-r, w/ 16inch spyder barrel, adjustable trinity stock, and trinity vertical feed

Spyder mr2 w/ 16inch spyder barrel, adjustable trinity stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
the 12inch stock barrel is good but i would go with a longer barrel, a 16inch freak is amazing with this gun but kind of expensive, i stuck with a cheaper 16inch barrel made by spyder, if u play scinerio or woods ball get a stock but it's not really neccissary
Strengths: Durable, accurate, double trigger frame, never had it chop.
Weaknesses: The virtical feed doesn't allow for very good sight placement
Review: Igot this gun in a package with a 16inch barrel upgrade from my local sporting goods store for 175 dollars. it was worth every penny, i've never chopped a ball, which is more then i can say for my mr2 and my friends 98 custom, i've never had a jam, which is more than i can say for my friends a5, and it's a spyder so its obviously low maintenance

The only real problem i had with this gun was the cheap 6 dollar plastic adapters i would have to buy constantly every time i was done playing, eventually i said &*%@ it, and purchased a 30 dollar vertical adapter made by trinity.

The only reason i switched to the mr2 was because i wanted to put an electric trigger frame and sight rail( which, by the way, isn't possible) on my tl-r. It turned out to just be cheaper to get the mr2

The double trigger frame is nice because iv'e got fat sausage fingers so i don't have to fumble around trying to get my finger on the trigger.
Conclusion: This is an amazing paintball gun for any one. if u r looking for a quality marker that will put paint on a target, and ur to cheap (like me) to get an a5, go with the tl-r, my friend and i shot targets at 30yrds, him with his a5 me with my tl-r, and i owned him, part of it is probably that im an amazing shot but still, that says something for this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yinyin Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Gameface Bone daddy, JT tac 5 recon, Spyder TL-X
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Accuracy, fps, very compact, and stock parts a good.
Weaknesses: Paint sometimes breaks
Review: Altough I've only used this gun one time, i found it to be a very good mid-begginer gun. The stock barrel has to go though, with a 14" barrel I found it much more accurate. It is very light wight. Its comparable to the gameface bone daddy, but still better without a doubt. PLEASE TELL ME IF THIS WAS HELPFUL OR NOT RIGHT AWAY.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a great mid begginer gun I'd buy it. The reason I gave it a 9 was because of the stock barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 9:17 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NateDog123 Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-X
Spyder Fenix ACS
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
w/ Java hopper(then Halo B)
16 in. barrel
20 oz. CO2
Viewloader Pod Pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger Frame(rocking trigger if in your price range)
At least a 16 in. barrel(stock is okay but it is not great)
Electronic Hopper(Cheap Viewloader Works)
ACS Bolt(Aluminum because all the others will stick when raining)
Strengths: Very Accurate
Sleek Look
Good Starter Gun
Weaknesses: CHOPS PAINTBALLS(Helps with ACS Bolt)
Not fast shooting gun(w/o new trigger)
Review: This gun is slow but very accurate. For backyard use this is a perfect gun. I use it as a back up gun over a Tippmann 98. But over all this is a okay gun. Large Trigger Pull. This is a okay gun but it WILL CHOP PAINTBALLS! I like this gun for playing around with friend but not as much on the field.
Conclusion: This gun is a good gun for someone that is new to the game. If you are an intermediate player this is not the gun for you. I rate this gun a 7 for intermediate use and a 9 for a beginners use.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 24th, 2006 at 6:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tequila Sun Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tl-x, xtra
Marker Setup: my gun is stock except that i have a e-frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic trigger frame
better barrel
ACS (Anti Chop System)Bolt
Strengths: Powerful
Accurate
Upgradible
Weaknesses: ummm...Long trigger pull?
Review: This gun is awesome! I play mostly woodball and this gun dominates. i've shot about 3000 balls and its chopped about 2. My friends shoot tippmans and viewloaders and I have won 8 out of 10 games average with this gun. An E-frame is a must for this gun because the trigger pull is way too long.
Conclusion: Overall this is the best gun i have owned and I highly reccomend this gun to intermediate and advanced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 16th, 2005 at 8:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XxAndrewxX Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder tl-x
Spyder pilot
Marker Setup: Egg hopper
Electric trigger
48ci/3000psi nitrogen tank
14in barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
New trigger/ trigger frame
New feedneck
New bolt
Strengths: Durable
Weaknesses: Kind of big
The stock feedneck
The stock barrel
Review: This is a really good gun to get for cheap. It will last for ever if you take care of it right. I recommend this gun for novice paintball-ers. If you buy this gun the first upgrades you should get is a clamping feedneck so you don't have to keep buy elbows to fit your hopper on the stock feedneck, next buy a new trigger i recommend an electric trigger, and finally buy a new bolt.
Conclusion: If you want a good practice gun this the perfect gun for you or if you have anger issues get this gun. Once all the upgrades are bought this will be one of the best guns you'll ever had.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media