paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R

Kingman Spyder TL-R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL-R

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL-R
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:-Drop forward -Vertical ball feed -Top cocking bolt -New larger expansion chamber -Lo-pressure chamber -All metal construction -Canted forward foregrip -Milled body -Rubber grips -Tournament style velocity adjuster -Ported barrel -2 finger trigger -Stainless steel bottom line set up
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL-R is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
th3man Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spdyder TL-X- Almost the same gun
Tippman 98 Custom- The tippman 98's a great gun, dont get me wrong, but it's overrated sometimes, the TL-R keeps up with this popular gun (or does the 98c keep up with it ;) )
PMI (forgot what type :/)
Brass Eagle Avenger-Of course the TL-R's better than the Brass Eagle, haha
Marker Setup: -Spyder TL-X
-20oz/12oz Pure Energy CO2 tank
-Extreme Rage 200 round hopper
-J&J 16 Inch Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Reliability(won't break easily)
-Looks
-The package it comes in
Weaknesses: -Stock Barrel
Review: My friend/neighbor owns the TL-R and I own the TL-X. I have to say I'm impressed with both guns very much and they're pretty much the same. The TL-R is an incredible gun for its price, I've shot probably 600+ rounds out of it before I got my TL-X and it really impressed me.

Accuracy is amazing, as long as you don't have cruddy paintballs this gun will never curve paint.

Looks are awesome, smooth, the barrel and gun fit perfectly, the navy blue is sweet and unique, the design flows.

I dropped the gun in front of my friend and I thought he would kill me, but he said, "Don't worry about it, I've already dropped it like 5 times." The TL-R is solid man.

Kinda sucks and rocks that you can only buy the TL- R in a package, but it comes with a regular hopper(gets the job done), a 12 inch barrel(No stock barrels are great, this one isn't either but it's definetely a step up for stock barrels), the Java 12 Ounce CO2 tank lasted my friend 1000+ paintballs (I said what the **** too dont worry)..
Conclusion: Just Wow man, Kingman Spyder really pulled through on the TL-R.

Killer Perfomance, Killer Design, this is a marker you will not be disappointed with.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eman8675309 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used any other markers.
Marker Setup: tl-r with 16 inch barrel & 20 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger and Frame
Strengths: Very accurate not a chop
Weaknesses: Will freeze hand long trigger pull
Review: Im a newb when it comes to paintball but i LOVE this gun it is very accurate and has a nice range but the only weakness i could find was the long trigger pull and your for-hand will freeze unless you have gloves on I found assembly and disassembly very easy due to the pull pin and the manuals included to be very helpfull in fine tuning the marker
Conclusion: I would reccommend this gun for all beginners and intermediats although i have used no other makers my friends who got me into the sport have used this marker and have loved it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 at 8:29 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

the paintie Saturday, September 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Vectore
Recommended
Upgrades:
emarker trigger
new bolt
Strengths: Barrel
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Firing rate
Review: This gun has held up for about a year and a half this past month it is falling apart and is breaking. I bought a whole new internals kit for it. it still isnt working write.

********KEEP IT OILED******************

This the only way to keep the gun running. The gun is definetly worth the buy. I got it for 160 and a helmet, tank, and hopper included.
Conclusion: I recommened this product for beginers or for some woods ball fun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

risto Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Rebel 02
Spyder E-99
Tippmann 98 Custom (w/ double trigger)
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
PsychoBallistics Large Drop Forward
Macroline
Low Pressure Block
Dead On Regulator
E-Trigger
ACS Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
For Beginners: Nothing
For Intermediates: Trigger, Bolt, maybe barrel
More Advanced: Everything Above, plus e-hopper, regulator and probably bigger vertical adapter w/ low pressure chamber
Strengths: Have never chopped a ball, good weight, very easy maintenance, upgradeable
Weaknesses: Vertical adapter, bolt drags, trigger pull
Review: Here's a breakdown of the gun completely stock:

Barrel:
-Not bad, shot straight for me.

Weight:
Most players don't like a heavy gun, but it makes it feel so much more durable to me. This gun feels great to me, even with the heaviness to it.

Bolt:
-Pretty good. Held up well, even when I upgraded to an e-trigger. But after about 60+ games, I noticed the top of the bolt seems to scratch. However, it never, ever chopped a single ball, even when I used cheap balls.

Trigger:
-Good. After a few months of play, I noticed some paint bubbles on the side. Also, it has a tad long of a trigger pull. You won't notice it during the game if you keep your fingers on the trigger.

Bottomline, ASA, etc.:
-My only issue was the vertical adapter. If you want to upgrade to a new regulator or foregrip, you have to buy a different vertical adapter. Another problem (but this could only be me) is that the threads in my adapter for my Co2 tank started to get more and more difficult to screw in the tank. I upgraded to a PsychoBallistics Bullet Drop Forward (a definite recommendation for any low-end marker) and have no problems since.

Body:
-Very cool body. Sleek, sexy. If this gun was a car, you could pick up some hotties. The rear velocity adjuster makes for very quick chrono changes, too.

Conclusion: I love this gun and would recommend it to anyone wanting a durable, easy gun. This is a gun you can find for around $50 on Ebay and spending another $50, create your own personal beast that looks and feels like 3 times as much as you paid. I love Spyders, and this gun is a perfect example why. Pure beauty.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 18th, 2008 at 2:26 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mergsy93 Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used a Tipmann 98 custom for awhile until it broke
Marker Setup: Spider TL-r with a Halo B hopper, Pure Energy 20 oz. Co2 tank, 16" sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
defiantly a 16" sniper barrel... Alone this spider model is really accurate , not a lot of curve but with a sniper barrel it doesn't curve an inch
Strengths: Not a lot of spin
great speed
awsome accuracy
looks pretty cool too
Weaknesses: after using it for a year..I can't find any weaknesses
Review: When i had a tippman i liked it. I had a lot ok kills but after bein hit a few times the trigger broke right off. So i went to the closest paintball place and picked this gun up to practice with. I never thought this would turn into my favorite gun. It has almost no curve. It's light weight. and its really cheap. If there are any begginers out there looking for a gun or even some intermediate player. Defiantly look into buying this. Its great. I will never go back to a tippman again. This was defiantly money well spent.
Conclusion: Defiantly get it if you want a good. relaible, and cool looking gun! If you have like $124 lieing around defiantly go and buy this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pyroid Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: on my past one it was full stock.

on my new one it has an 16" spyder sniper barrel.
spyder 12 oz co2
pmi tank but plate
a zap mach 404 mechanical hopper.
pmi barrel cover.

Carry ons:
1)Tippman paint grenade
2)Viewloader pro attributes 4+1 harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
the stock gun is great but im one for the long 18 inch barrels and foldable stock
Strengths: stock gun is very accurate.
shot as fast as I can pull the trigger.
Weaknesses: None i've never even chopped a ball.
Review: The best gun i've ever had. it's light accurate and kept up with my finger as fast as i could shoot. I tried to use a tippman 98 custom but I did'nt like the way it felt when i held it. nomatter what i do this gun keeps bringing me back. My last one was stolen by some kids and used to paint up a janitor from 50-60 yards away in a bush. so i dont know about you but for a stock gun shooting from that distance and striking is impressing enough but with enough force to break the ball is in my opinion incredible.
Conclusion: i would recommend for beginners and advanced players. Just an all around great gun in my opinion. so im giving it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 25th, 2006 at 1:05 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PaintFlinger Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Progressive 16in smart part barrel
Empire Reloader
16oz stubby Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evil pipe kit
electric hopper
Strengths: I shot over 450 Balls, and chopped at the most 5.
Weaknesses: It does have a long trigger pull, the stock barrel isnt the most accurate.
Review: EDIT. OK so 6 months have come and gone. ive learned a lot more about paintball and about my marker. I did Buy a smarparts progressive 16". well its over kill for speedball, but im still learning. anyway this marker, has great power. it is very easy to field strip. and simple to maintain, make sure you get some gun grease after about 4000 rds the bolt starts to scrape. make sure if you buy a barrel buy one of the kits, like the evil pipe kit. dont worry about lenght like i did with my 16 incher. /sigh you want a good paintbarrel match. thats all you need to know. altho this marker isnt going to shot at 15 bps anytime soon, it is a good idea to get some type of electric hopper. you dont want to be running in for a bunker and get lit up b/c you didnt have paint in the chamber.
Conclusion: If your new , this is a definite Good purchase. Its a 10 to me, but the TL-R needs some upgrades. so got to go with 9
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 10th, 2006 at 3:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigjoe11 Sunday, May 1st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a5
Marker Setup: Setup #1:

Tippmann A5
Apex 2 barrel
double trigger
20 oz co2 tank
14 oz co2 tank
Walmart mask

Setup #2:

Spyder Tr-l
Rifled barrel
20 oz co2 tank
14 oz co2 tank
Walmart mask
Ghetto mods :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
go to ottersscustoms, it's gone now but here's a saved version of it:
http://classic-web.archive.org/web/20080603102230/www.otters
ccustoms.com/spyder.html
Strengths: Cheap ($30 from friend)
High rof if modded ^
Reliable
Accurate
metal
Weaknesses: Poor performance in cold
Chops in cold
Inconsistent
Review: this is an ok gun, but go here:
http://classic-web.archive.org/web/20080603102230/www.otters
ccustoms.com/spyder.html
If u have this gun, do these mods at your own risk. They greatly increase performance, especially weakening the sear spring and magnet mod.
the other mods make it more efficient.

In my opinion this is a great beginner gun. If you can get it used, go for it. I have a rifled barrel for it and I love it, it's more accurate than any of the other barrels I've used. I don't think it would chop with an electric feeder, but by the time you do that you might as well get an a5 (like me) so you don't have to change those expensive 9 volts all the time.

this gun, although I only use it as a backup, is a pretty reliable gun. In the cold, though, don't use co2, I tried and it shot snow everywhere and I had 2 cack it every shot, another reason I did those mods in the link above.
Conclusion: good gun if you get is cheap and mod this (again, at your own risk). it's reliable and very sturdy being made of steel and aluminum. Even my A5 isn't this well built. the stock barrel on this gun is ok also, but 16" is a little big for me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

308hitman Thursday, December 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other spider markers
Marker Setup: i have this marker in chrome and love it. I used a tipman A5 and didnt like it as much as this marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
i had to change the spring after the first couple years of heavy use. i would not put more money into this marker than that.
Strengths: Easy to handle
Compact
Casy to clean
Cooks sweet


Weaknesses: Velocity got stuck on certain speeds
Weak
Recoil
Review: I have played some of my best games with this marker. I would recommend using a 12 inch barrel though because i have found my 16 inch weakens it.
If your looking for a good ordinary gun, this is it. i would definitely get this gun again if mine died...
Conclusion: Buy it!
You will be glad u did and its much better to buy a gun like this then a more expensive one because then you have bragging rights when you shoot people with it.
(They're is no bragging rights when you use an auto cocker or ego....)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Morningwood Saturday, May 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Agressor and Tippmann 98C (both stock) the Tl-r By far blows it out of the water
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
Empire Electronic Hopper
Custom Drop
21" Warpig Sniper barrel
Remote Hose
Custom Drop
Rocking Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
Electronic Trigger (not a NEED but always good to have :)
New Barrel (18" is great though)
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
Strength
Weaknesses: None ive encountered
Review: The Spyder TL-R ive been using for about 3 years now. ive only encountered mayb 3 problems with it and that was a broken o-ring spring and sear but i went a few months without touch. had those replaced and it is better than ever. this is my woodsball sniper gun and i wouldnt trade it for any other. This gun has never let me down its wicked accurate and very good distance i could be acorss the field and hit someone with a perfect straight shot.. ive played in the rain the mud and all and the gun worked perfectly fine. i love this gun :)
Conclusion: Kingman did a hell of a job on this one. i would reccomend this gun to anyone rookies intermediate amateur u name it.. All around awesome gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media