paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
harwegos333 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months51 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 stock hopper, other stock hoppers, some electric hoppers.
Marker Setup: A-5, car stock,
12inch all american freak,
A-5 to spyder barrel adaptor,
ricochet R-5 hopper (smoke),
32 Degrees remote,
Redz Flex-Tek 4+1 harness,
Bt fixed sight rail,
dye izon red dot sight,
16 oz Co2 tank.
Strengths: Holds more balls
Deflects 8 out of 10
quiet (after homemade mods.)
Cap fits tight
Weaknesses: Extremely loud before mods.
Blocks raised sights.
Review: When I first saw this hopper I jumped all over it. Finally there was another more convenient hopper than the stock A-5 hopper, (which deserved a bullseye sticker right on the front.) The first thing I notice with this hopper was that it was louder than and elefant stampede during a church service. I quickly acted on this and made my own mods to quiet down the stampede. I'll tell you what I did so maybe you can do it too.

1. Grab an old piece of clothing that is dark, soft, and about a milimeter or two thick. (The more thick, the quieter)
2. Now grab scotch tape or duct tape and a marker that will be visible on the fabric.
3. Lay the fabric accross one side of the hopper and use the marker to draw an outline of the side of the hopper.
4. Cut out the piece of fabric and tape it in the inside of the hopper. Make sure you use enough tape to keep the fabric secure.
5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 until the whole inside of the hopper is covered with the fabric.
NOTE: This is easier to do with a smoke colored hopper because you can see the tape on the inside of the hopper. (You can take the hopper apart if you'd like, but be careful because the screws are very weak and easy to strip.)
NOTE2: If you want you can leave the cap uncovered so you can see how many paintballs are in your hopper without taking off the cap.

With this homemade modification I was able to make a hopper that is, by far, quieter than any other hopper I have ever seen in my 4 years of paintballing.

Now onto the bounce factor. The first day I used this was at a local paintball field that was having it's big game day. I was shot in the hopper, no joke, about 14 times. It sounds like a lot, but if your playing from 8 to 5 and there are medics to tag you back in during a 20 to 30 minute game with about 100 people on each team 14 isn't too much. Anyways, out of these fourteen only two or three broke and those were the ones that hit right on the side, everyball that came from in front of me didn't break. If that isn't a good ratio then I don't know what is.

One weakness this could have it that it restricts the view of raised sights just a little more than the stock hopper. It doesn't really make TOO much more of a difference, especially for me because I use the dye izon sight.
Conclusion: When I first bought this hopper it was really loud, but with my homemade mods it is the quietest thing ever! I recommend this hopper to anyone who is looking for good quality or even if you don't really care, buy one anyway, I got mine for only TEN bucks. I'm giving this a 9 because I had to make the mods myself, but other than that its a 10. Please leave a comment, I want to know if my reviews are of good quality or need work.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 10:12 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

vtTaco Thursday, December 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Double Trigger
E-Grip
LPK
SpecOps A2-A5 Stock and Foregrip
PMI Remote w/ Slide Check
Ricochet R5 Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500
Palmer Female Stabilizer
Strengths: Capacity
Price
Deflection
Weaknesses: None...yet
Review: This review is for the Black model which I've heard is stronger than the Smoke one. It's made from a polycarbonate plastic similar to the Evolution II and Halo. It's very light and feels a lot more brittle than it is. No cracks yet...

The Good:
Deflects balls from head on (sort of) About half the shots will deflect into your mask or into the front of the cyclone feeder(DOH!!!). The other half deflect away(WOOHOO!). Compare that to the stock hopper where 10% deflect away and the rest break right on the dart board in front.

While the hopper won't do a great job deflecting paint from the sides or back, I don't plan to get shot from the sides (I've allowed myself to get flanked?!?!?) or from behind (How'd that *!#@#$% get behind me?!?!?)

Cheap: It's about $15-20 after shipping on most sites.

Hold more balls. About 20-30 more

For me, it loads quicker. The design promotes the balls rolling forward and away from the opening instead of piling up there when refilling from a pod.

The lid is plenty strong and has never opened on me unintentionally. It's clear too, so I can see my paint situation at a glance.

The Not so Bad:
Okay it's a little louder than the stock hopper. For you tourney guys this wont matter since you'll never hear the paint rattling over your teammates yells and markers firing. For you woodsballers it won't matter much either. If you're sneaking around slowly, your paint shouldn't jostle around so much that it gives you away. If you're sprinting, the enemy will see you running and hear your footsteps/paint in pods/guys shooting anyways. Snipers should remain perfectly still anyways so this shouldn't effect them unless stalking someone within 50 feet. Honestly, when's the last time you were in a firefight and thought "Wow, that guys hopper is loud."

The Neutral:
What about the size? Check the comparison pic I posted at the top of this page.

Conclusion: 10. It does everything it's supposed to. Holds more balls, deflects, (sometimes) and is cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 15th, 2005 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Nightworm Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
R/T
Flatline Barrel
BT-16 Barrel
Tapco Tactical Stock
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
Pure Energy 4500 88ci Tank
Strengths: Perfect Fitment
"Ricochet Design"
Capacity
Weaknesses: None
Review: I added the Ricochet R5 because the stock hopper was too much of a target and was a bit ugly. The ricochet holds up to its name, it will actually ricochet hopper hits instead of taking you out of the game. It also gives you a little more sight view from the stock hopper. Its the best $20 hopper I have ever used.
Conclusion: If you have an A-5 then this is a must have, you will enjoy the benefits and the looks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gwan Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock A5 hopper
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 w/ E-grip(WAS board), remote to 3000psi centreflag nitro, T6 adjustable stock, JCS double trigger, DOP front grip, Lapco snapshot 14inch barrel, M4 weaver Handguard, R5 sniper hopper, lapco offset sight mount, E-Dot red dot sight, Red hot powertube, shocktech bolt, maddman spring kit, QEV
Strengths: Deflecting angles
spring lid
capacity
Weaknesses: None to date
Review: After hearing constant turmoil about this product not being able to deflect paintballs i decided to run a test. I hid behind a rusty barrel and lifted my gun above the barrel so that the hopper was sticking out and my friend shot 10 balls. 8 hit. 6 deflected.2 broke. Then we did it with the stock hopper 10 balls. 6.5 hit. 0.5 deflected. 6 broke.hmmmm......I guess it works. the point 5(0.5) sorta hit the barrel(not the marker barrel) and then bounced off the hopper. As for looks its intimidating and carries more balls, almost 30 more.I don't know about you but i always wished that I had those extra 20 or so rounds on me.and yes i know i could carry pods! The spring lid is also an enjoyable feature because it wont fall on your hand while you pour paintballs in and they wont go spilling everywhere.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to all A5 user that want to be intimidating, distinguishable and not being sent to the dead box by a dumb hopper hit! I give it a nine cause of blocking of the sight line(if u have a red dot site)but you can now get an hopper offset adapter
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 10:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OlUncleGearHead Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 Hopper
VL200 loader (back in the day)
Marker Setup: Tippman A5
Special Ops SD Shroud
Special Ops MP Mag to Remote
Special Ops Flattop Rail
Ricochet R5 / Proteam Tac Cap (depending on circumstance)
Bushnell Trophy Red Dot Sight
Opsgear G36C Stock (for now)
Pure Energy Remote
Strengths: Looks
Shape
Warranty
Weaknesses: A bit noisy
Cap feels a bit brittle (although mine hasn't broken)
Review: We've all seen it. After a couple of games, you inevitably see some poor casualty walking off the field with the front of his stock A5 hopper dripping with paint.

In military parlance, it's called a 'shell trap'. A surface that gives a projectile a 'biting angle' and allows the object to penetrate (or in the case of a paintball, bursts). A paintball hitting a surface at a perpendicular angle will burst every time. The Ricochet R5 gives you an edge against hopper shots.

I spotted an R5 in a display case at my local paintball, and picked it up because I had had some extra cash bouncing around in my pocket. I play a mix of mil-sim and casual woodsball, so usually I use a Proteam Tac Cap, but decided it would be nice to be able to load up on paint when I'm just playing casually.

After a couple of games, I noticed that I'd get just about as many hits on my hopper with the R5 as I would with my low profile Tac Cap. Considering the R5 must have at least 3-4 times the surface area as a Tac Cap, the deflection angle works.
Conclusion: Even if you don't often get hopper hit, the possibility of the ball deflecting means more playing time, and if you spend more time playing, this hopper pays for itself.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

shotsomeone Wednesday, April 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
stock a-5 hopper
Marker Setup: tiippmann a-5 all stock 16 ounceCo2 tank Ricochet R5 Hopper
Strengths: Decreases profile
Looks
Price


Weaknesses: None
Review: Ok so I was at my local and I was talking to this kid and I was askin him about the R5 hopper and he said for 5$ bucks it pretty nice. When I heard 5$ bucks I jumped on it and bought one from the front counter. At first when I put it on I was alittle unsure about it considering it lokked pretty long. After playing with it though my front profile got smaller compared to the dart-board shaped hopper that comes stock. So for 5 dollars this aint a bad deal but im not sure if 5 bucks is the price at most places. but if you a got an a-5 (duhh! why else would you be lookin at this review?) get this hopper. It looks great and decreases your profile too!
Conclusion: I would definately reccomend this product especialy if your seriously getting into paintball and/or want to decrease your profile
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mikey 2-tones Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT,
Flatline Barrel
JCS R.I.S. 4-RAIL KIT,
Rear Peep Sight,
Swat Force - Tac Red Dot Sight
Falcon ErgoGrip Vertical Fore-Grip,
A-5A2 "Shorty Grip",
Tac-Flashlight,
Shock Tech Intimidator Bolt,
Ricochet R5,
Aci-Subzero 6-stage Expansion Chamber
Fast onTarget Sight,
Harris Bi-pod,
Lapco Offset Mount
Mil-Sim Laser Sight,
Flurry Combat Vest,
Proteus 2 Black
Remote w/ QD
Dye Lock Lyd Pods

Strengths: -Capacity
-Looks Sharp
-Strong
-Deflection Tech
-Cost
Weaknesses: -Had a lil wobble * see review
Review: Thank god they have a quality replacement hopper for the A-5! The R-5 is near perfect, the only problem i have had with it was it was it had some side to side play, which i fixed with some boxer's grip tape, now it fits snugly.

Unlike the stock hopper the R-5 is not a paint target! Which was my only complaint about the A-5, the deflection tech is not just a marketing campaign it works. I cant count the number of times i have seen paint glance off the hopper and save me from gettin tagged. The improved ammo storage is also a major plus, after all you can never carry enough paint these days!


Conclusion: I highly reccomend you get this product, its a must have for any A-5 Owner, its one of the cheapest upgrades you can get for you A-5.

I give it a 9 only becuase of the the issue i had with side to side wobble.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 at 5:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zwingli Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock A5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, E-grip, Expansion Chamber, Ricochet hopper
Strengths: Shape, size, profile, strength
Weaknesses: None
Review: The stock hopper for the A5 is a loaf that sits on top of one's marker just waiting to break paint. The front especially has a flat side which should have a target painted on it to better attract enemy's shots.

The Ricochet offers a sleek front, side and back profile that dares anyone to try and break a ball on your A5. It also seems to sit lower and is cut to provide better visuals for the shooter.

The Ricochet is also much more strurdy than the stock hopper. As you know, the hopper is removed and placed on the A5 with a twist. After many times of breaking down the gun for cleaning or transport, the stock hopper's tab wore down so that just a quick thump would seat the old hopper. The Ricochet does not seem to be made of such weak plastic that this sort of deterioration will occur. It is SOLID.

There is no mechanics or electronics, but the A5's cyclone makes this irrelivant anyway.

I like the smoke version as it allows one to better see when the reload is needed.

Some have complained about the top loading issue, but I did not find it any different than the stock hopper.

Even better... this hopper offers even more space for balls. You can increase your hopper capacity by 30 balls from 180 stock to 210.
Conclusion: This upgrade is a CHEAP way to improve the A5 profile and provides 30 more rounds, looks great, is well made, and will make hopper hits much less likely.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fl_799 Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper
Marker Setup: Own: Sim-5, Halo Backman hopper, RIS top sight rail, Trijicon Reflex NSN sight, Vertical RIS handle. Retracting MP-5 stock. Tippmann A5 Flatline R/T, JCS MP stock with RVA. Sypder imagine.
Strengths: Looks different from the stock hopper. Very nice.
Weaknesses: optics use limited. Flimsy cap mounts feels cheap
Review: Just a quick note: I bought this hopper yesterday for my A5. No biggies here as it just hold balls like any $3 hopper. This is important for some; You'll need an offset mount for sure if you are mounting optics to the stock A5's weaver rail. The stock hopper has enough room to squeeze a 30-40mm red dot on there but it is impossible to do with this hopper.
Conclusion: Higher capacity. A bit less of a target from the front but it invades the sighting line from the top more so then the stock hopper
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Predator1117 Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
allen and stock both with neoprene covers this is just as good quality as stock although much better quality than the allen
Marker Setup: Tippy A5 with all the mods. Even rino lined paint too!
Strengths: More capacity, you can see when you need a refill, and deflection (yeah right)
Weaknesses: Noise
Review: This hopper is made of a harder carbon plastic. The stock one is traditional soft plastic. You can make marks in the stock one with your finger nail. I like this new hopper other than it is three times as noisy as my stock one is. It holds more balls. They say it ricochets shots although I have never actually seen this to be true. If you get hit on something solid fairly close that paintball is going to break. The lid is harder to pop off than the stock one and makes a loud pop when you take it off. Personally I don't like it when people know when I am refilling or messing with my hopper. I don't know why but it usually tells them they need to bunker me at that moment. I know when I hear someones hopper snapping open I rush em and take em out. They usually are not looking at what is going on and or they are not ready to shoot when I run around their bunker. This hopper makes even more noise while running. I don't recommend this product to those who like to surprise people by popping around their bunker and peppering them. The advantages is it holds more balls looks custom and supposedly deflects shots. Ricochet could have done much better on this product if they would have used a better plastic.
Conclusion: I do not recommend this product. I believe it is too noisy and does not do what it is intended to do other than added capacity
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 at 7:51 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media