paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
AMslipknot666 Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock a-5 hopper
Marker Setup: my brother has owns this product, he as an a5 with
e grip
teardrop
r5
Strengths: -Lower profile
-Cool shape
-Nice flip lid
Weaknesses: No comment.
Review: first of all my brother is the one who has this product, it is great.
it makes the a5 not as scenario-like and more speedball compadible.
it holds more paint then the stock hopper
VERY VERY UNIQUE hopper. I suggest this to anybody who wants it.


looks are prefrence..but i dig it...
Conclusion: I would give it a ten, but because of personal problems with this, it gets a nine
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thedanielw Wednesday, March 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Ricochet R-5 Hopper
20oz. CO2
Double Trigger
Response Trigger (coming soon)
Strengths: Deflects hits 8 out of 10 times
Holds 200 or so rounds
Weaknesses: Loud (if that is an issue for you)
Lid pops up (before simple mod below)
Review: I bought the Ricochet Hopper after reading different reviews for upgrades to make to the A-5. I have used the Ricochet for two 6-7 hour outings, about 5000 rounds including practice rounds. I have had great results with hits deflecting off the hopper without busting, probably 8 out of 10 times. You will have to occasional hit deflect into your facemask, but that has only happened once for me.

However, on my last outing, about midway through the day the lid started popping up when I would fire. I had to make do with a piece of duct tape for the rest of the day. It seemed that the back pressure was forcing the top to pop. My solution was to drill two small 1/8" holes under the lip of the lid to release the back pressure in the hopper. After this simple mod, I have had no issues after shooting about 500 or so rounds. I will know better on my next outing, but I assume this will cure the issue for good.
Conclusion: I would recommend this simple upgrade for any A-5 owner.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 26th, 2008 at 11:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin M. Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
A-5 QEV
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Opsgear Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: Does what it says, deflects paintballs off hopper from the front
Weaknesses: Read below
Review: If hopper is hit on the left side, you will notice that they are still traveling very fast towards your facemask... you can do the math.... paintball deflected at face=splattered paintball ON face. Also the angular sides of the hopper offer no help over the stock hopper if hit from the side, but from the front.... (which should be pointed at enimies anyways) it does a pretty good job deflecting balls
Conclusion: This is not a bad product but like anything it does have its drawbacks, but it is still well worth the money
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 at 7:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BeerIsGoodForU Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
The stock hopper
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
Drop forward
12' Tippmann werks barrel
vortex mod
Palmers QEV
Ricochet hopper
jcs dual trigger
Strengths: Looks good on A-5 IMO
does deflect [i]some[/] frony shots
fairly cheap $$
Weaknesses: Is a little loud - not bad for me tho.
Review: It is a lot better than the original hopper. It looks alot better than the stock hopper. It also holds more balls. The spring lid makes it easy to load the paintballs and it "locks" down well too.

As far as the noise issue, it is a little loud, but no louder than the noise when my podz rattle around. But I don't play a lot of stealth where I need to creap a lot without noise.

Conclusion: Great product. Looks great, made well, is inexpensive, and holds more balls than the stock hopper. Get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, 3 pos. CAR stock, Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail
Strengths: Low Profile
Deflection Technology
Ball Capacity
Weaknesses: Deflection Technology (see review)
Bottom of hopper (where it connects to the cyclone)
Plastic
Review: Well to start off, i like to play a sniper/sharpshooter role, so i need somthing that is low profile, but not limited in its ammo supply (like a Tac Cap). THis hopper covered both of those needs. At 180 balls, I wont be running dry in a firefight anytime soon. The ball deflection design really does work, but unfortunately, they have on some occasions deflected into my face. The biggest problem i have with this hopper is that the part where it connects to the cyclone, it has started to leave grooves along the path that i twist. Basically, every time that i twist my hopper off, the grooves become more pronounced. THis has lead to the problem that it has become extremely difficult to remove my hopper with one hand. I now need 2 hands, and instead of wiggling it off, i simply must just pull it off with both hands. THe grooves that i talk about are very small, more like scratches, but if you run your finger over them, you can tell its deeper than a scratch, so thus i consider it a groove. The reason why i think this hopper caused the minute grooves is because it is made from a stronger plastic than the stock hopper, which leads me to my next point. THe hopper is louder then the stock hopper due to the difference in plastic used in the construction of the R-5. I recommend doing the mod that another person posted on this website, where you tape cloth to the inside of the hopper. that, or you can buy the new "sniper" model from richochet that has a variation of this mod already installed.
Conclusion: It is a great hopper and i would recommend it to anyone who wants Low Profile, Ball Deflection Technology and Ball Capacity. It could get an 8/10, -1 for the loudness of the hopper, and -1 from the cyclone feed issue. a great hopper never-the-less and i highly recommend it to ANYONE!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 13th, 2007 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kek Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper
Tac Cap
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
14" SP Progressive
G36 Folding Stock
BT Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet R5/TacCap
Remote
68/3000 HP

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" SP Proggressive
Univ. Air-through stock
HALO TSA LED Frontman
Remote
48/3000 HPA
Strengths: - Deflective technology
- Looks
- Price
- Capacity
- Sits tight
Weaknesses: - Transparent lid
Review: I bought this hopper just to check out if the Ricochet design would really work, and I was surprised to see it does. I haven't been hit on my hopper since I bought it, a big change from the stock hopper, which seen to have a cross-hair painted on it

This hopper looks way bad*ss, sets you apart from all the other people. It is nearly as cheap (12 euros) as a replacement (which I was initially looking for), and for it holds some 20-30 balls more, which a little advantage. The hopper sits really tight, you'll need some good force to get it out, which is exactly what I like. The only weakness of this hopper is that it comes whit a transparent lid, so although it allows you to check how much ammo you've left, it does scream at your enemy: See this orange spot, shoot me here!!!
Conclusion: Very good hopper, as it only has one small weakness it deserves a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vweltin Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with RT kit installed
Strengths: -Sleek design
-Fits perfectly
-Deflection works
Weaknesses: -The lid feels flimsy
Review: This hopper is amazing. It fits nice and snug into the mount point of the A5. While others complain of the increased noise of this hopper, I filled up both and shook them around a bit, and noticed no significant difference.

When I first got the hopper, I opened the bag and opened the lid. The plastic on the lid feels very flimsy and cheap, but I have yet to experience any actual problems with it.

When actually playing with this hopper, I have noted 7 instances when my hopper has been hit; 4 balls were deflected away, and 3 broke on the hopper.
Conclusion: If you have $10 you're willing to burn to make your A5 look a lot nicer, buy this hopper. It isn't a necessary upgrade, but I would definitely recommend this product.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 10th, 2006 at 6:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wicked Xtreme Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock a-5 hopper
Marker Setup: A-5
ballistic drop foward
rva
flatline
crossfire 68/3000
e-grip
Strengths: Design and style.
Weaknesses: (see Below)
Review: I only used the r5 for one game. Let me give you the senario. Chilly day, around 30-40degrees,outside for about 15 minutes. I poked out from behind the wall and got hit right in the nose of the hopper. when I got back to the staging building I noticed that the hit had caused the hopper to split a quarter down the center, and a bout halfway down. The hopper was useless after that. This was probably caused by the weather and the moons perfect alignment. either way, the hopper lasted 15 minutes and one shot.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that I will not buy another one, and hope that they design a stronger one. Not a ver good product. I gave it a 5 because I might have had a lemon.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sushiman19 Monday, July 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other ricochet loaders
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
R-5 hopper
14" werks barrel
Double trigger
Tippmann 20oz CO2
E grip
Flatline
Nitro
Low pressure system
G-36 stock
Micro cap
Red dot sight
Coil remote
Dye boomstick 14"
Strengths: Durable
Looks
Compactness
Weaknesses: Deflection
Review: This is the best hopper that you can buy for the a-5 and it is the only hopper that you can buy for the a-5. This hopper will add looks to your gun and will make it look streamline and areodynamic. The only bad thing about the gun is that the deflection technology is not really true. If you get hit in the hopper, the paintballs will still break.
Conclusion: Good hopper to get!!!! Better than stock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 11th, 2006 at 1:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Monday, April 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CenterFlag Reg.
Flatline
E-grip
R5
Strengths: High Capacity
Looks awesome
Tough Plastic
Clear lid
Weaknesses: Lid is wobbly when open
Paintballs rattle against plastic
Review: I was so ready to get rid of the low-capacity, boring looking A-5 stock hopper! I'm so glad that the R5 now graces my A-5. Every feature is an upgrade over the stock hopper. The main help is the larger capacity; I tand to shoot a lot so not reloading as often is a major help. The clear lid makes it much easier to see the paint level. It looks awesome! It really makes your A-5 look much more formidable. The plastic is super strong and it shouldn't break on me. A few minor gripes: The plastic is thin and causes balls to rattle inside. When running it can be a little loud. The lid wobbles when open, but stays securely shut when closed. Those minor weaknesses don't detract from the improvements it gives.
Conclusion: Since i has a couple small issues I can't give a ten, but I still greatly recommend the R5.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media