paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
DragonSlayer2 Thursday, April 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper, if that can be called similar
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ Freak Barrel System. Remote air w/ 68ci 4500 Compressed Air Tank. Ricochet Hopper, electronic trigger.
Strengths: Fits great
Durable
Ricochet design
Weaknesses: Little louder when running, not too good for us woodsballers.
Review: This is the best upgrade you can get in this catagory. I have been shot several times in the hopper, and it works just like they say it does, not one ball broke. The price is great, holds more balls than the stock hopper, and is better constructed. The plastic knob that locks it onto the gun is much sturdier, and doesn't wear like the stock one if you don't seat it just right. The balls do rattle around a little louder though. Maybe because it seems to be a little thinner plastic?
Conclusion: Overall this is an excellent product for a good price. Works just like it is supposed to. I would give it a 10 if the balls didn't rattle so loud.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

doubleshot Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-grip, Low Pressure Kit, P.E.Techine reg. Psycoballistics Double Trigger, Flatline barrel, 14in jj ceramic, polished internals, Pscycoballistics on/off bullet drop with boblong gauge, Ricochet R5 hopper, and 68/3000 fiber wrapped P.E. tank.
Strengths: Looks great and deflects balls
Weaknesses: Flimsy lid
Review: The R5 is a great hopper to have, it has great capacity, looks great. and it is good for speed ball because it has a narrower front for less of a target. I like how its durability is so great. I know that I am getting good quality because it is a ricochet.
Conclusion: Buy it because it is better than any other.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SCAP Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, E-Grip, R5 Ricoche, Bullit Drop Forward, 20 oz co2
Strengths: -Paintballs "Ricoche" off it
-Cool look
-Clear Lid
Weaknesses: -Lid is kinda flimsy
-Paintballs rattle louder
Review: The R5 Ricoche hopper is overall a pretty good upgrade for people who want a better look for there A-5. But the lid i found was kinda flimsy but thats just about the only thing wrong. The only reason y i got it because of the more paintballs it can hold.
Conclusion: In conclusion the hopper is an overall good buy for 15 bucks. Buy it now! Because you should!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Teak Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Shocktech Dropforward
68 4000 Nitro Duck
14" Teardrop
DOP RVA
Pro Team Star Front Bolt
Ricochet R5 Hopper
Strengths: Its looks very cool. And it deflects balls.
Weaknesses: The lid feels a little flimsy when open, but stays firmly shut when closed.
Review: I feel that everyone A-5 owner should have this. It allows for you to have more balls in your hopper, deflects paintballs, and look very good with the marker. I bought it for the looks, I didn't really care for the extra balls or the deflection, I just hated that blimp of a hopper the A-5 came with stock. One other thing I noticed is that when it is on, it stays on. It has a very tight lock on the cyclone which makes the marker feel tighter and personally although it may have no effect what so ever, it feels stronger to me, the overall feel is better, more secure. The clear cap is very nice, no longer will I have to open up the cap to see how much paint I have left, which will save that oh so important half a second that I need to spot the enemy ; )
Conclusion: Every A-5 owner should have this, I got mine for $14 off ebay. So its a cheap investment that will make your marker look even more impressive.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 12:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phsycopyro dlf Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann A-5 200rnd Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Paintball Marker
Dead On ON/OFF Bullet Drop Forward
Tippmann A-5 Lapco Drop Forward Adapter
Tippmann A-5 M-16 3 Position Adjustable Stock
Tippmann A-5 Ricochet 200rnd Hopper
Tippmann A-5 Shock Tech Foregrip
3K 800 P.S.I. Pure Energy Compressed Air System
Tippmann A-5 E-grip
Tippmann A-5 Double Trigger
Tippmann A-5 Rufus Dawg Venturi Bolt
Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Deflects balls when hit about 80% of the time and has a great look.
Weaknesses: To get 200 paintballs into it is difficult. Initially you get about 170 balls.
Review: This hopper is awesome! I love the look and it really functions like it claims to. My old fat stock hopper used to always smacked when I played, but now balls bounce off the hopper about 80% of the time. The R-5 hopper also gives a sweet look to your gun and allows slightly larger sight to be mounted on to you gun. A considerable down side though is the hopper claims to hold 200 balls, I counted how many paintballs went in and I came up with about 194 balls, but that's after shaking, the hopper, moving ball around and putting ball in on by one. Initially you can get about 170-180 ball in when loading quickly during play. So I would say this product is good, not great just good.
Conclusion: I would only recomend this product if your not trigger happy and take that one extra split second to actually aim at what your shooting at. One more thing, by "not trigger happy" I don't mean you have to be a sniper, thats my job : ) You can still go nuts on a guy if you have to.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghettostomp Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper, Ricochet 2k
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline
Ricochet R5
Shocktech Drop
Strengths: Capacity
Deflection
Looks
Uniqueness
Clear Lid
Weaknesses: Lid flimsy when open
Review: I feel that the R5 hopper is a pretty solid investment for any A-5 owner. Besides the great design and looks of the hopper, it is also very functional. It holds more paint and keeps more from hitting it than the old one. One of the best $25 that I have spent on my paintball gun.
Conclusion: I recommend that you DON'T go out and buy it because then it won't be as unique for me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ronin1501 Wednesday, October 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 Flatline
Strengths: Holds more paintballs than original hopper. Has well design bounce off angles.
Weaknesses: Bottom section that attaches to the cyclone feeder.
Review: I bought two of these when it first came out. I don't know if they have made improvements or not. After 3-4 games, I noticed cracking at the base where the hopper mounts to the cyclone feeder. Well after 6 games, I went back to the original hopper. Both my riccochets broke at the bottom. I hope then can remake them stronger.
Conclusion: I would not recommed this product unles it was redesigned with a stronger lower section.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

foughtwolf Wednesday, September 7th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X7 Hopper, various tac caps and the original A5 model hopper.
Marker Setup:

Avratech Falcon Pre-production model. 1-10.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: When this hopper first hit the market, I was all over it. I had been a big fan of Ricochet hoppers for years at this point. I already knew the problems they created, and they were usually offset by the gains, and given the original A-5s hopper was a gigantic, blunt target it was a must have for me.

At the time it was an incredibly unique and needed design for the A-5, and it came into its own for me the first time I used it. The only thing a new user would need to get used to is the 'angle' of reloading it is different than a normal hopper. Its very close to a vertical opening which can be hard to hit for some people without practice.

The Pros of the Ricochet R-5:
The utterly unique shape.
Deflecting shots at ranges that usually result in breaks, this is however a double edged sword.
Strong built, the material is very firm and strong but in the years Ive had mine it hasnt even gotten a hair line crack.
Good lid design. Some hoppers require a firm slap to close them fully, but even with a good lid spring like the R-5 has it doesnt have any problems closing quickly and reliably.
The LOS is significantly better than the stock hopper.

The Cons of the Ricochet R-5:
Stock, it is a serious rattle can. The hard plastic material its made of really doesnt dampen sound at all, shifting the hopper from side to side with paint sounds like your doing a full spring with a normal hopper. This is an easy fix with either an external neoprene cover or simply taking it apart and gluing some thin foam into the halves.
Deflecting shots into your mask instead of out away from you. Admittedly, if this happens, with a normal hopper you would have had it splattered on your hopper anyways, but it still stinks.
Some may not fit into your cyclone without some sanding and filing on the hopper.
The LOS on the R-5 is not as good as it could be, its better than the stock hopper, but because its longer, it may not allow sights and scopes if they are on risers of just huge.
Conclusion: If you can find one today, grab it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andrewmastic Wednesday, October 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hoppers.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5.
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel.
Ricochet R5 Hopper.
Adjustable Stock.
Strengths: Get deflections easily.
Black color is nice & simple.
Holds 210 paintballs.
Cap is secure.
Weaknesses: VERY LOUD.
Might slip out of the cyclone feeder.
Review: This review is for the black R5 (which I understand is different than the smoke).

Good:
It looks great on your gun, and has alot better angles than the stupid stock hopper. The cap is very secure, so you don't have to worry about it popping open. It also holds around 210 paintballs as opposed to the 180 that the stock one holds.

Bad:
IT IS VERY LOUD. The plastic is very brittle, so the paintballs make alot of noise inside.
The tab where it fits into the Cyclone feeder is not as thick as the stock hopper. If you tap the front of the hopper the tab can come loose, making me worry that the hopper could fall off sometime (if you turn your gun upside down of course).
Conclusion: I'm torn.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

za_hulk Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
the other electric ones
Marker Setup: automag rt pro ule q-loader ......
Strengths: Cool looking
Deflect paint some times (but better than some hoppers that do at all)
Weaknesses: Noisy
Review: Its a hopper but it deflects paint. it looks cool but the paint inside makes it sound like a maraca. i would get thew sniper version or put something in it to make it less noisy.
i have had lots of paint deflect off one time i let my cuz use my a-5 i used a pump and i shot the hopper and it deflected off and shot him. So you can get hit if you have it at the right angle.
Conclusion: I would give it a 8 cuz its kind of noisy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media