paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
dcarva Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard A5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippman A5, E-Trigger, Blackcell barrel, BSA Red dot site, etc.
Strengths: Some of the same strengths already listed in the previous reviews.
Weaknesses: Did not fit my special ops stovepip offset.
Review: The hopper is noiser than the standard A5 hopper. However, I fixed this problem. I opened the thing up and duct-taped the interior of the hopper. Now it's very quiet. Not sure if this will have any negative long term effects. But I don't care. Only cost 15 bucks. ;) Also, I had to sand down the latch a bit to get it to fit into my A5 stovepipe offset.
Conclusion: Not a bad deal for 15 bucks. I rated it an 8 only because it's louder than normal hoppers. Feels brittle, but looks cool and seems to work really well because I have yet to be hit on my hopper since I purchased it. :)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 5th, 2007 at 2:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

grizzlya5 Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper
Marker Setup: A-5,Egrip,flatline and freak kit,DOP-short dropforward-power tube-rear velocity adj. ,offset sight rail,BSA red dot,ACI 68/4500
Strengths: The Shape
Weaknesses: 2 Broken and very Noisy
Review: I have purchased two of these hoppers, the first was only used about 6 times.I was shot from the side at probably 40 feet and the entire side cracked breaking most of the paint left in the hopper, so I bought another thinking I would give it another chance. This time on the first time out, I slid in behind a bunker and the lid popped open and both sides where the lid hinges broke off. This hopper is VERY NOISY when running.
Conclusion: I woud not buy this product !!!!!

WHY CAN'T RICOCHET USE THE SAME MATERIAL AS TIPPMANN WITH THEIR SHAPE
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Furby87 Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper.
Marker Setup: A-5, JJ Performance 16", Pure Energy coiled remote line, Tasco red dot, Special Ops sight rail, super fly mark 2 forward bolt, Redhot power tube, Tapco A5 6 position stock, Ricochet R-5
Strengths: Deflects paintballs, can use with sight.
Weaknesses: Lid pops open sometimes, holds less than stock.
Review: I bought mine used but I'm getting a new one cause there is a crack in the housing. It does what they say it will do but it sucks when the ball is deflected into your mask(happened once). I dont have a offset for my hopper yet but I can still mount my 30mm red dot scope on there. I dont know if it will work with a bigger scope or not.

The only down side is that it holds less paint than the stock hopper and the lid will pop open sometimes but I think that is because its just worn out and it only happens when I use CO2.
Conclusion: I love it. If you dont mind not being able to carry less paint then this is a great buy for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dizzypaintball Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just the stock hopper
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5,
J&J 13" ceramic barrel,
20 oz. pure energy tank,
remote
Strengths: Sleek looking
price
deflects some shots
very cool looking
holds more balls
Weaknesses: I could not find any
Review: so i just have the stock a-5 hopper, and it works pretty good, but as you may know, that a-5 with the cyclone ripps trough balls like no tomorrow. so i tried it out because my dad had one and i liked how it looked, so i asked to borrow it.
i don't really have any great stories but this hopper did the trick and i got shot in it and it deflected it. so that was pretty good. but i had a great time with this hopper and for the price you cant beat it. i think mine comes in on Thursday. :)
Conclusion: Buy it, its worth it for the price and is very cool looking!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BarsbyPB27 Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper (sucks in comparison, it should come with a red bullseye painted on it)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
14" Smart Parts TearDrop
Ricochet 2K R5 Hopper

16 oz co2 tank
Strengths: Deflects paintballs
Holds more paint
looks cool
Weaknesses: Obstructs sights a lil bit more
Review: I bought this hopper for about 20 bucks at my local paintball store. It was really cheap and I'd heard good stuff about it so I jumped on it. I haven't been disappointed yet.
I ran a little test just to see what it looked like on a chart.
I hid behind a tire stack with my gun elevated enough so that the hopper was only visible. My friend fired 10 rounds at the hopper.
10 shots - 9 hits - 9 deflections - 0 breaks
We ran it again to make sure
10 shots - 10 hits - 8 deflections - 2 breaks
You do the math.
Conclusion: Get it. If you've got an A-5 (hopefully you do, you're looking at a cyclone feed hopper review) and you want an upgrade from your standard (*cough* dartboard) hopper, you'll have spent 20 well placed dollars. It gets a nine, for slightly obstructing a sights view more than a stock hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

specopsp8ntball Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Hopper
Viewloader 2000
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Expansion Chamber
Drop Forward
Custom Hose
Double Trigger
Centerfeed Kit
Ricochet R5
PMI Pure Energy CO2 Tank with On/Off Switch
Strengths: Deflects Lots of Paint
Holds More Paint
Good Looking
Weaknesses: Very Loud (Can be fixed)
Review: I bought this hopper along with my brand new Tippmann A-5 and I used it for the first time with my friend. The thing held more paint than I could ever hope for, I don't know why the websites say it holds only 180 paintballs. In many situations, I had a paintball hit the front of my hopper, and not yet have I gotten out by a hopper hit. This hopper has saved me on the paintball field so many times, I cannot count them because I barely notice if a paintball its it. Sure, the hopper is loud, but you can easily fix that by buying a hopper cover or coating the inside with cloth. The hopper covers are kind of hard to find.
Conclusion: Get it, it will save your butt and it is pretty cheap
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoePa Friday, May 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Rufus Dog double trigger
Evil Detonator Reg.
32 degrees 7 inch universal drop forward
16inch all american/freak barrel (silver/black)
Pure energy 88ci/4500 tank w/ Dye rhino tank cover
super R/t
QEV
Strengths: Sleek design
Light
Capacity
Durability
Weaknesses: Cap seems like it will break easy, (mine isn't broken)
none other than that
Review: i like the new design of this, the front of the hopper is awesome no more square footage to measure, pointed at the end, holds a bit more than stock about the same but maybe a bit more. good product for the price. And it looks great too, next time the refs come to check your paint they just look at the side and thats it, we have strict rules at bfg where you have to use their paint (rps premium field colors) and they check occasionally. so its all good. it fits snug too.
Conclusion: Great product for the price i reccomend it, but if you are not in a worry about your hopper sticking out, i wouldn't, seems like the cap will break off sooner or later, there is always replacements, for 14 dollars they are replaceable. they should last more than a couple games.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrHostess Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 stock
standard gravity feed hoppers
a few electric hoppers
Marker Setup: a-5 /w response trigger, 16" j & j ceramic, 20 oz. c02 /w anti siphons, r-5 ricochet(smoke)
Strengths: Deflected 7 of 10 balls (shot 3 10 round tests)
Spring lid
Cansee balls
Price
Weaknesses: Lid can be a little hard to get open at times (good or bad)
Review: Overall its a very nice hopper its nice looking its got a nice spring lid so when you open it goes all the way for a clean fill without spilling everywhere from a half open lid the lid is a tad bit hard to open (cant flick it with ur thumb) but this can be good or bad wont pop open when u dont want it to i deflected average of 7 out of 10 balls in 3 tests the stock hopper took all 10 twice and 9 one test and i dont know if it is a problem for most people but its helpful to be able to check ur paint count without flipping the lid overall great buy
Conclusion: Foronly 10$ at most local pb store its definitely worth the money. i really like it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

onef457z Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 Hopper (obviouslu pre-cyclone upgrade), Stock A-5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Custom 98, Promark Trigger, Expansion Chamber, DeadOn Drop Forward, Cyclone Feed System, Ricochet Hopper, DYE Sticky3 Grips, 14" Whisper Barrel
Strengths: Design/Shape (and resulting ball deflection), Capacity, Look
Weaknesses: Somewhat loud, Lid
Review: This is a good hopper for your A-5 (or 98 w/ the Cyclone up). I have not gotten hit in the hopper since i got it, but you can read stories all over about the deflection that this hopper can cause. The hopper is loud, but thats not a big deal. If it really does bother you, there are things you can do to quiet it up (cloth inside, etc). The lid seems hard and brittle to me, but it hasnt broken, so i won't complain about it.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a good hopper. It looks cool, and it could save you from getting hit in-game. Go for it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a5enthusiast Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 E
W.A.S Board
Flatline
Ak Folding Stock
Shocktech Drop
Pure Energy 72/3000


Strengths: Design
Weaknesses: The Cap
Review: I picked this hopper up because i was looking for a replacement for the bulky stock hopper that came with the a5.

When I first used this product, the first thing that I noticed is that it was a bit loud, but that is not much of an issue for me since my marker is loud.

Anyways, my biggest problem with this hopper is the fact that it feels so cheap. So far it has held up just fine to my abuse, but when you open the lid, and have it up, there is a lot of free play, and i'm worried that it may be a little too easy to break right there.

But overall I think that this hopper is worth the money, and it does exactly what it is supposed to do, fit tight, and hold balls. I also like the fact that the lid is clear, so it is a little bit easier to see how many balls you have left.
Conclusion: This is definately worth the ten dollars I paid for it, it gives the a5 a little bit slimmer look.

If you are looking for a replacement to the stock hopper on the a5 than this is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media