paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
SuperTrooper_OT Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/Response Trigger
R5 ricochet
DOP Air Regulator
DOP front grip
crossfire 47/3000psi
Remote Coil
Response Trigger

Marker #2
2k4 Prostock
12v revvy
47ci/3000psi
Strengths: Deflects hopper hits
Smaller Profile
Looks cool
You'll get asked lotsa questions
Weaknesses: Lid's a little flimsy but its not really a weakness.
Review: The first time i tried this out i was quite amazed. I must have hit many people in the hopper that day but i didn't take one hopper hit, and i deflected quite a few. A funny thing is that if you get shot on the left side of the hopper it just might send that ball towards your mask but then your mask has the deflector visor which will send that ball towards the teammate behind you :P. back on topic, This hopper has quite a smaller profile. Some kid thought it was an electro hopper and said it was pretty small for one, he was surprised when i told him it wasn't electro. This hopper gives your A5 that awesome look. The hopper doesn't slide around when on.
Conclusion: If you're tired of getting hit on that big flat target on your stock hopper, get this, you won't regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 4th, 2005 at 6:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lawnboi Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper
Marker Setup: b2k4 w/pds
evil detonator reg
halo b
crossfire 47/3000
Strengths: -Deflects balls
-Lower profile than stock
Weaknesses: -When balls move they rattle louder than the stock one.
Review: I got this hopper cause I was sick of having to call out because i got hit in the hopper. When I first got this hopper i set it out and took a few shots at it, out of 3 balls olny 1 broke and the one that broke wasn't even the size of a quarter, i was impressed. Not to mention that this hopper looks AMAZING on my gun, and with the smoke color i can tell when i have to refill my hopper in the heat of the game.

-Edited March 22 05
I found a crack in the feed port and with just 1 day of play on it. so i called Ricochet and told them about the problem. They told me they would be sending one out right away. I dont know if it will happen again or if it was just a crack from banging it around. Ricochet has very good costomer service, no questions and they said they would send me a new one. A+ for Ricochets costumer service.

-Edited March 30 05
I just got my new hopper and i recieved a black one instead of the smoke. I dont really care so i unrap it to find out that the black is more heavy duty than the smoke. You can tell by just feeling them that the black is stronger. So if you are going to get this hopper I would reccomend the black because it is stronger than the smoke.
Conclusion: This hopper is a must have for people who play in bunkers and hate having to call out on a hopper shot. I got it for 13.99 and for that price you cant beat it. Big step up fron the bulky flat stock hopper. Great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 21st, 2005 at 4:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Terial Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: All Red Bushmaster 2004 with PDS
-Egg II with z Board
-2005 Custom products feed neck
-Custom Products Regulator
-Custom Products Barrel Kit
-Stiletto drop
-Custom Products self blead ASA
-Mac Dev Value
-Choas Board
-Mac Dev Sonic LPR
-Black Dye Sticky 3
-4500/91 BULLDOG III
And a whole lot of paint


A-5 with everything upgraded but no weird stocks or annoying recon style barrels that dont work....

And soon to have, and looking forward to get a NAUGHTY DOG FREESTYLE!! WOOOHA
Strengths: best aftermarket hopper for the A-5
Looks
Deflection
Weaknesses: Lid flimsy when open
Review: The R-5 defiantly has a unique look to it that makes your A-5 look even cooler.

I have found that it holds more balls then the stock one.

The lid when open gets a little flimsy

The R-5 Hopper goes on the same as the stock on, and fits great, doesn't not move around.

It has deflected balls off mine before.

Rumor says black ones are more durable than clear/smoke ones

A-5 hopper takes up alot of space if your right handed, and its exposed easy, this hopper helps take away that with the delfection
Conclusion: Get this hopper ASAP if you have a A-5, fo sheezy if you play speedball... thanks
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BLIX666 Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The stock A-5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
E-Grip
GTA Expansion Chamber
Shocktech Front Bolt
Rear Velocity Adjustment
Smart Parts All American 14" Barrel
Ricochet Hopper
Strengths: Unique Look
Perfect Fit
Price
Larger Ball-Capacity
Weaknesses: None Yet
Review: Well, if you're like me and you enjoy having something a little bet unique about your gear, then this is a good first step. It looks awesome on the gun. I didn't encounter any problems with the fit or the lid being flimsy. I puchased the "smoke" model so i could see at all times how much paint I had left. It also does seem to hold more paint than the stock hopper, although I did not test this...maybe it's just a mental thing. Also, you really can't go wrong with the price. It's less than $20. There aren't many worth-while mods out there that are this cheap.
Conclusion: The second best $20 i've spent on my gun...next the the R.V.A.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DethWshBkr Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5- E-Grip - J&J 14" ceramic / Tippmann Flatline - JCS Double trigger, Crossfire 65/4500 carbon HPA Tank w/remote line. Tombstone adaptor removed - remote line plugged directly into tombstone.
Strengths: SOLID. Sweet looks. Larger than stock.
Weaknesses: Hardness of plastic. Could create a breakage issue in cold weather.
Review: I only used this hopper one time so far, (Christmas present which I tested out), but it is nice.

I put my stock hopper back on now until Christmas, and I hate it! (THe stock hopper) The Ricochet hopper has a very tight fit (can be semi-tough to remove), but it doens't move on the gun. THe stock hopper is sometimes too easy to spin (turns slightly during play for me if I bump it right) and it wobbles a little in the Cyclone. THe Ricochet has a very nice, tight fit, and doens't wobble. The clear lid makes it VERY easy to see paint quantities, as opposed to the smoked lid on the stock hopper.


THe only thing I would see as a POSSIBLE freak issue would be breakage. The plastic the hopper is composed of is hard, and SEMI-thin. If you got hit square in the hopper, on a very cold day, it's possible it would crack. I've seen normal hoppers crack already in a game I played a few weeks ago, and that was a normal gravity hopper for a 98 Custom. This plastic is harder, which COULD mean more brittle. I have nothing to confirm this however.


The only other "inconvenience" of this hopper is that it is wider. This means - it can and will get in the way of something mounted on your top rails.
I mounted a BSA laser on the top of my A5, and with the Ricochet - the beam grazes the hopper. The stock A5 hopper clears the laser beam fine. I have a Lapco 45 offset coming, so it will be a non-issue, but the Ricochet is wider. (Wider = more ammo though)
Conclusion: I love this thing. It looks sweet, and it just flat out gives the A5 a nice crisp look! Buy it! It's cheap enough!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

imp41 Friday, December 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 hopper
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline
E-Grip
JCS RVA
R-5 Hopper
Lapco 45* Offset
42mm Red Dot
Strengths: Sloped design - better for deflecting balls
Higher ball Capacity
Weaknesses: Haven't had any problems yet
Review: A nice alternative to the Stock A-5 Hopper (which has this huge flat surface on the front that always seems to catch 1-4 balls per day on the field). Well the R-5 (Ricochet) is here to help reduce the number of direct hits to your hopper, its designed to help deflect a few balls from the front. Also I think aesthetically its a bit more snazzy than the stock hopper.

I believe the R-5 has a slightly lower profile than the Stock A-5 Hopper, giving your opponents a tiny bit less to hit.

also with a clear lid its very easy to check your ammo situation without having to pop open the hopper to check.

Lastly the R-5 has a slightly higher ball capacity (20 more balls i believe)

although I haven't experienced any problems with my R-5, i have heard reports of the R5s lid coming open from time to time....i guess a potential problem you might want to be aware of...

Conclusion: If you woudn't mind trying out a different hopper for you A-5 that can on occasions deflect a few balls from the front, with a slightly lower profile, a nice clear lid, and an extra 20 ball carrying capacity...than at around $15-20 this would be a great purchase!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 at 2:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crsbrx Thursday, December 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet Hoppers for other markers
A-5 Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12 inch J&J Ceramic barrel
Palmer Pursuit Stabilizer
BSA 30mm Red Dot sight
16 ounce tank
Strengths: Looks better than the stock hopper
Fits a few more rounds in
Bounces rounds off (?)
Weaknesses: One may not like the look
Some sights may not fit better than stock hopper
Review: I would have to say that overall, this is worth the 15 dollars or less that it costs to buy one. They're a little hard to find right now, but ask your local shop to order you one. I could only really think of one main problem that I have with this hopper, just that I can't fit my particular sight on there any better than it did with the stock hopper. However, I remedied the problem by removing the rear peep sight (which I've never seen used) and moving the Red Dot sight back a little ways. Also, I would have preferred the lid to be black, but that's personal preference, and I can get a black Ricochet lid to do that with, because they're all the same size.

Conclusion: Bottomline, it is worth it as long as you can handle moving your sight or get over the look of it (if you don't like it). IT WORKS!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.T.Baggins Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock a-5 hopper(I like it better)
Marker Setup: \Tippmann a-5
Tacamo wood ak-47 barrel kit
Tacamo wood ak stock
Tacamo sight rail
Opsgear ak-47 hideaway mag
E-grip W.A.S
Penspring and my own trigger modding
Stock hopper or 30 round tac cap
Remote
48/3000 pmi air tank

Side arm:
Tiberius 8

Strengths: holds more balls
looks cool
deflects paintballs sometimes
Only 20 bucks
Weaknesses: Lid pops open very irratating
Gets in the way if you got a sight
Loud
Review: I bought this hopper becuase I was sick of the bulls eye sitting on the front of my stock hopper screaming shoot me. It also holds more balls which is great because I dont carry pods and I hate being out because I'm out of balls. It also looks much cooler. THe ricochet design has infact deflected some balls in my experience and it looks very unique. The lid also stays much tighter than stock hoppers. I have heard some people saying it makes to much noise but it hasnt been a problem for me. It also seems to made of harder plastic *Edit* I since bought a sight I dont use this thing and went backt o the stock hopper. It gets in the way much more then the stock. If you use a sight and want this hopper your gonna need an offset. Also if the lid keeps popping off drill 2 holes in the hopper on the bottom and the air pressure is realesed and it doesnt pop off anymore.
Conclusion: It works well if you dont use a sight.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 7:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spartan-III Wednesday, January 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 hopper
Marker Setup: A-5, R/T, 8" Bigshot, Lapco Suppressor, A-5A2 Foregrip, Dual offset mount, yada yada yada...
Strengths: Increased ball capacity
Deflection capabilities
Clear lid
Weaknesses: VERY thin plastic body
Serious durability issues
Noisy due to thin plastic
Review: I conducted a test of the R-5 on www.a5og.net. While I meant to test the R-5's deflection capabilities I wound up finding out about its durability the hard way. I was taking shots at the R-5 from 60 ft to see whether it does indeed deflect shots. After fifty or so shots the hopper CRACKED at the neck. Some say that if the hopper had been on an A-5 it would not have cracked but after taking more shots it cracked again on the upper right side of the hopper.

Note that I wiped down the R-5 between shots. And, after 100 shots at the hopper the R-5 DID INDEED DEFLECT 3 SHOTS.
Conclusion: The R-5 is really flimsy and not made to OEM spec at all. Even still, I like the increased ball capacity and the overall look of the hopper. I was given another R-5 as a gift so I have outfitted it with stealth liner on the inside to quiet the rattle, and I have also outfitted the outside with a cover as well to protect it from any direct hits. While the outside cover takes away from the deflection properties, I'd rather not have this one break.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dead Aim77 Tuesday, January 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5,E-grip, JCS trigger,Lapco 8" Bigshot,
Strengths: -Looks
-Holds a little bit more paint
Weaknesses: -Hard Plastic
-Loud
Review: I got this thinking it would look good and hold more paint. I tried it out in my backyard and it was fine. But as soon as tried it playing the paint kept breaking in it. I thought it was just because it was cold. I tried again and the paint broke in it again. This cause my cycle feed to get covered in paint and my shots to be extremely inaccurate. So if you want to get the R5 for your a-5 i suggest you get the R5 stealth because it has padding in it so it doesnt make noise and protects the balsl from breaking.
Conclusion: I suggest you don't get it. If you want it for looks get the R5 stealth. It is a little bit more expensive but worth it.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media