paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II

Tippmann SL-68 II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann SL-68 II

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann SL-68 II
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 116
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann is reintroducing a paintball legend with a few modern updates, including a redesigned integrated feed neck that fits most current standard hoppers, as well as a redesigned ergonomic grip for enhanced comfort and control. Most of the other great features that helped establish the original as a true paintball legend still remain.

Key Features:
• 11” Performance Aluminum Barrel For Accuracy
• Smooth Short Stroke Design For Speed
• Redesigned Integrated Feed Neck Fits Most Standard Hoppers
• Auto Receiver For Faster Firing – Hold trigger and pump repeatedly for continuous firing
• Solid Cast Aluminum Receiver and Non Corrosive Internals for Durability
• Redesigned Ergonomic Grip For Comfort And Control
• Integrated Tank Adapter with Built-in Gas Line
• Front and Rear Sling Mounts
Product Availability 
The Tippmann SL-68 II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
3Fingered Jack Thursday, October 10th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom
Marker Setup: 98 and SL68 II ... if you're really that interested to see what's on them, then too bad
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper adapter, sling, red dot sight, I shaved down the sharp edges of the trigger with a metal file.. trigger feels much more smooth to the touch now
Strengths: I am very surprised with the performance of this gun. Velocity adjustment is very easy. Much like you adjust velocity on a 98. It's much simplier than adjusting velocities on Phantoms. A bud of mine that owns one has to take off his barrel each time he adjusts. On the SL you just ram an allen wrench into the screw in the bolt, and turn (which is easily accesible through the little view port). The little view port is another thing I like about it. You can tell if you load a ball into the chamber or not and if you double fed. Double feeds can be eliminated when you pump quickly though, which you'll become accustomed to as you use it more often. The pump action is very smooth when gased up. The auto-trigger owns as well. Yes, you do lose some velocity and quite a bit of accuracy (because you're pumping AND shooting, which jolts the gun around), but it can get you out of a tight squeeze, and has done so for me. Without using the auto-trigger, accuracy is surprisingly good. As good, if not better, than my "tricked" 98. Not quite as accurate as a Phantom, but hell, what is? Don't let that deter you from buying it though, accuracy is very pleasing, and yes, even with the stock barrel. Of course, this is with a nice paint to barrel match. I have found PMI Premiums and Big Balls to fit very nicely (and both are relatively cheap, so that's a plus). A red dot sigh has helped with accuracy. Just adjust for windage, then when you use the sight in a game, just put the dot a little above your target and pull the trigger. You only have one shot, you can't shoot once then adjust accordingly. So, make it count. A sight makes it count. The gun comes with a sight rail molded into the body, and all the sights out there fit on it (stuff like ADCO, Daisy, blah blah). Oh, and maintenance. As you could expect, very little maintenance. What else do you excpect from a Tippmann?
Weaknesses: I disliked how the gun DOES NOT come with the hopper adapter already and a sling like it used to. I am disappointed that I had to call up Tippmann to order a hopper adapter just to fit today's hoppers into the feed neck. As far as I know, this gun cannot go stock, unless you do some home modifications. I would love to play stock class with my bud. I am also disappointed with the overall craftsmanship of the gun. It looks and feels like they just threw some cheap metal into a mold and wallah. The pump arm feels cheap, because it's plastic and rattles and jiggles on the barrel. Which brings me to another point... you have to completely take out the barrel via a screw to clean a break. Forget about cleaning breaks in the middle of a firefight, unless you have a straight shot, then you can jam it down backwards and pull back out, which works fairly well.
Conclusion: I was hesitant to buy this gun at first, but now I am glad I did (yeah, I know that's a cliche you've heard many times, but it's true). It is accurate, smooth pump action, has an auto-trigger, a port to let you see the breech, easy to adjust the velocity (as opposed to a Phantom), and of course, easy to maintain. Yeah, it has some bad aspects, but the good outweighs the bad. A very nice pump, in my perspective. I'd rather have this than a Phantom. Yeah, OK, call me crazy. I feel like I'm going to snap the Phantom like a twig when I pump the damn thing. The SL 68 II deserves a solid 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

magshota Thursday, September 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
my only pump.the only things i haven't shot are impys and trixs
Marker Setup: 2k2 sto cocker and sl68 ll
Recommended
Upgrades:
you can't really get any
Strengths: see review
Weaknesses: see review
Review: it's one of those really nice pumps,my dad gave me this after he used it for like 10 years.its lasted a long time.it's accraute.the only thing is that they don't make them anymore.oh and you might want to get tippmanns sniper barrel
Conclusion: very nice.very accurate.i would buy one.if you can find one.lol
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Painter_73 Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Blade, BE Samuria, Used my Friends Black Maxx
Marker Setup: SL 68
12 oz
14 Inch barrel (soon i am hopin)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ummmm not to much
Stock barrel is alright but maybe a upgraded barrel
Strengths: SEE REVIEW
Weaknesses: SEE REVIEW
Review: The Good
Accurate
Durrable
Nice Grip
Good Feel
Sights are cool (altho they only work for 40 feet and less)
Got Auto Trigger for that semi-auto feeling when someone is

The Bad
Little heavy(cast iron)
Need to get a hopper adapter
Sights are a little off
Hard to find upgrades
Some What Expensive



This is a pretty good overall gun, its one of the most durrable gun on the market, yet very accurate. Its a little heavy with a 12 oz tank and you need good paint or else you'll be shootin like a shot gun (peices everywhere) I would not recommend BE, crappy paint try something like Zap if your short on money, I use PMI Premium and that works great.
Conclusion: Great overall gun for those that wanna pump, auto trigger works great. I WOULD recommend this gun only if ya get good paint and are patient. With this gun i usually wait for the ppl that i am playin against come to me so that i have an advantage and can pick em off from like 100+ feet away. Its always fun watching as you hit them in 2-4 shots when they are shootin a prayin with their Semis. good buy i think, a little expensive but overall its pretty good
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 27th, 2003 at 7:35 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SUPERMAN2865 Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade 2
Marker Setup: Tippmann SL-68 II, no upgrades really
Recommended
Upgrades:
Umm maybe a new barrel.
Strengths: 200+ Feet in range,
Not a Co2 waister,
DURRABLE.
Weaknesses: Pump,
kinda loud,
Review: Well im kinda a sniper so when i play forest ball I play with this gun and it is always on target and very relieable. Its not too heavy, that i like about it, time to time it can get a little inaccurate but its a good gun overall. When i play I am mainly a sniper so it is good when I can take just one shot at a time then pump cause with a semi auto you can tend to waist ammo and Co2
Conclusion: Buy its the best pump gun there is. I doubt you will find better its great for forest ball, and if your a sniper like me only takeing shots when you know you can hit them this gun is great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Azn_Pawl Monday, March 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really similar because it's a pump but other Tippmann markers I've used are:
98 Custom
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Sl 68 II
Shoulder Sling
JT USA Clip On Adapter (Makes it a 3 dot sight)
Spyder 200rd Loader
Stryker 24oz Co2 Tank (Makes a great stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" Barrel (Although the stock barrel is fine)
Co2 Buttplate.
Sight of some sort.
Strengths: Reliable
Durable
Accurate
Easy to Field Strip
Auto Trigger
Weaknesses: Hard to upgrade
Low Rate of Fire
Loud
Review: When I was buying a marker I needed something extremely durable because I am extremely destructive. The SL 68 II hasn't failed me once.

The are extremely durable. With a full metal body I swear it's indestructible.

They are also extremely reliable. They're like the AK-47 of paintball. Dirt, Water, Jams this marker powers through anything.

They are also really accurate. The stock barrel on this marker is amazing compared to others.

With only 7 internal parts this gun is super easy to field strip. However you have to carry an Allan wrench to do it.

On the other hand this marker is so old that it's pretty hard to upgrade with out some serious bank.

Being a pump it has a low rate of fire. That's fine 'cus I play sniper. The Auto trigger helps in close quarters.

It's also pretty loud. First you have the Tippmann ping to deal with but then the sound of the gun firing is like a grenade going off. Then you have to rack the pump again. Chick Chick.
Conclusion: I love my Sl 68 II. I got it cheap, It will last me all my life, and playing pump at a young age (I'm 15) I will surpass most players in skill/ aim. Also playing with a marker as old as me commands respect from my team considering it whoops their butts.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 16th, 2009 at 11:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamez54 Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro-lite, which is basically the semi version of this. Various pumps:
Trracer, maverick, hornet: this is better built and has a better stock barrel. Made by a better company.
Marker Setup: SL-68II
12oz w/butt plate
48 rd. Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sight Hood or Ghost ring.
Upgrade barrel if you have extra $
Get an airsmith to install an AMP illusion feed system and a vertical adapter.
Strengths: pumpstroke
Cannot double feed
stock barrel
Cast from Iron/simple
Parts available through the internet
Weaknesses: Cleaning the barrel (see below)
Discontinued
upgrades
Stock sights
ok efficiency
Review: The sl-68II is probably the most durable paintball gun ever made. The entire body of the gun is one piece. This makes it stronger than even the venerable pgp, but keeps upgrades to the bare minimum. The design also makes the balance feel very good.
The stock barrel is impressive and fairly loud. My first time using it I long balled a player off the break. I would still upgrade it to a JJ ceramic as they are more accurate and much quieter. A slightly irritating feature of sl barrels are their lack of threads. They come loose, especially from autotriggering, if not tightly screwed into place.
When fully loaded this gun always surprises semi players. It, of course, shoots as far as any other quality gun on the field. What I mean to say is it shoots better than the poor qualtiy semis (aka stock spyders) which frequent my local fields.
I like the fact that this comes stock with a sling although it is not necessary.
The stock sights will bend from use rendering them useless. Mount a sight or learn to aim down the barrel if you want to long ball other players. *Note* you will have to do this eventually since you are using a pump.
The gun comes with an auto trigger which is fun to have, but is a waste of resources. If you want to shoot faster you can always buy a semi or electro. Plus, pumping with wild abandon = no accuracy = you getting lit up.
You must have an adapter to use modern hoppers. This is included with the gun, but it is annoying.
My biggest peeve with the sl-68II is the fact that you must remove the pump handle/arm to clean the barrel out. What a pain in the ass if you are using old or poor quality paint. If you get a serious break in the middle of a paint slinging frenzy you are *&^%ed unless you shoot the paint out of the barrel.
The pump stroke is smooth (more so than a phantom) and the trigger pull is light.
This gun is discontinued (although recently so), but parts are easily available through the internet. *Note that I did not mention Tippmann*
The efficiency is not very good, but I usually play with stock guns so this is important to me.
Conclusion: I bought this as a loaner and find myself using it a lot. It performs well and is really fun . I use about 20 balls when I play on teams of thirty people and they hit hard.
This is the best gun to use as a rental or for talking others into playing pump. It has a very simple design and has no maintenance issues. I would buy another. The best full sized gun in the roughly $100 price range so I give it a ten.
Be aware that more expensive pumps will obviously perform better than this one... that is why they cost more and I am not comparing them (aka phantom which costs easily twice as much). Keep this in mind when reading others reviews.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 4th, 2004 at 1:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

grillintipper68 Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann M98,Balck dragun,Tippmann A-5 (these were all borrowed)
Marker Setup: Tippmann SL68 II 60 rd. hopper, 10 inch barrel (w/ home made extended barrel that brought it up to 14"),sling ( i got it off my old tattered bag),
Recommended
Upgrades:
12" or 14" will do nice if you can find any or just do it like i did make one of your own,a scope (preferrably a 4X15 scope from tasco or daisy),60/45 rd. hopper if your conservative
Strengths: INDESTRUCTABLE!.very accurate,auto-trigger,low c02 use,easy velocity adjusting,4long range shooting
Weaknesses: NONE IN MY VIEW. I just love it
Review: it's my first marker.igot it off at around $55 at my paintball arena/store.it was cheap coz it used to be a rental.Even though it was used as a rental for 4 years and hasn't been cleaned that much,it still shot like new.I bought this because i have a habit of being trigger happy when the manager (he's my friend)told me he was selling a marker that was going to make me more conservative and accurate. I haven't seen a pump in my life.I trusted my instincts and went along with it. It was the best thing i bought. Not only did it make me more conservative (meaning less money and ammo wastage),it made me the "shooter/sniper" in my team mainly coz of the scope and where i position myself (at a very far distance from the opposition).even though i was shooting far it always shot straight and i have NEVER AND I MEAN NEVER HAD A SINGLE BALL BREAK WITH THIS MARKER. The first time i admit might be weird but once you get used to the pumping, you'll feel the satisfaction of a one-shot-one-kill.buy it.i bought a scope along with it to help me aim at long ranges.I forgot to mention it has very good accuracy.
Conclusion: BUY IT! If your a begginer and wanna shoot accurate then buy this gun. I even got to shoot a guy who had 50 rds. in his hopper (i only had 25) and wasted it. By the end of the game, i shot (at least i think so) 2 people and left with 4 or 5 rds. in my hopper.buy it you'll love it. If your gonna buy it, buy it along with a scope (people WILL get pissed at you for painting their face when they havent even seen you believe me). You'll see improvements in your tactics and accuracy because you have to be one-shot one kill (it's cool to see them get hit with one shot). BUY IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 31st, 2004 at 3:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fontaine Wednesday, August 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmaster Deluxe SI, TM-11 A
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, teardrop, and a 9v revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper Adapter
Strengths: Durable
Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: Not made anymore.
Review: I was really looking forward to getting my new SL-68 II. So then I found one that was used but in perfect condition. I got it at the perfect time because my 98 Custom broke. So I have been using it and it works excellent. But I am gonna be getting an A-5 so my SL-68 II is my back up and so is my 98 custom. This gun is awesome.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun if you can buy it used or new anywhere still. You will be very happy you listened to me. Tippmann always makes awesome products.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 25th, 2004 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nel Spot 007, Splatmaster, Apex Elite, Phantom.
Marker Setup: SL-68 II, 12oz, 150rd APP hopper. Also a orginal SL-68, 12oz, 150 APP
Recommended
Upgrades:
At this time I am testing a Co 2000 reg. Thus far it looks good keep you all updated.
Strengths: Ah, the venerable SL-68 II. What can be said. Hmmm. Well Tippman guns are some of the most durable markers of all time. First I did not have the Sl-68 II for long, I sold it to a freind. But I still use the 12 year old SL-68 (yes12 years ) and it still works like I bought yesterday. This marker is a warhorse. It has more kills to its creidt than all my freind combined most are new but half are 4 year vetern players. Soild, Reliable, Accurate, Consistent, and Indestructable. Both have been through it all and still function like new. I can not give enough praise to it. I love pulling it out and playing aginst everthing from talons too Angels, this marker has fought them all. The weirdest thing about my 12 year old classic is the stock barrels accuracy. It has out preformed ever aftermarker barrel I have bought, even the All American. The guys who I bought from did not belive me so I shoot both behind there shop. And the stock blew the AA away. So far all I can tell this barrel is one of those rare flukes. Still people give me weird looks when I wipe out half a team with that old pump. I love it. You will to.
Weaknesses: My only complainte as it has been with many is the auto trigger. Not that it is bad but these types of triggers were never perfect. They are inteded for desperation fire. If you found yourself using it you are in a bad spot. Still if you are very careful you can time it right abd sound like a slow semi. Or pump fast enough to sound the same. After a few years the pump slide get well worn in and butter smooth.
Conclusion: In Feb 1990 a Sl-68 and SL-68 II where only 260 dollars. Now you may find a SL-68 for just over 100 dollars. If you want a super pump that is the last punp you will need get it. Even after all this time and many chances to get Phatoms, Sterlings, and even a Buzzard i still use my old SL-68. If you want a challenge, that after a little time, abd go aginst stagering odds. And you come out on top with a pump, You Will Feel Invicible. Go pump and perfct your game!


l
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thra1l Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: SL 68 II w/ a 12 oz. and 7 oz. tank and a 4X rifle scope, stock everything.
Strengths: Accurate, reliable, strong, and fun!
Weaknesses: You need practice to keep up w/ competition of semi autos and up.
Review: The SL 68 II is a great pump action marker from Tippmann. After feeling the weight on a 98 compared to this this gun is alot lighter, with and without paint. The internals are simple, which i truthfully haven't ever seen them all since i've never had to replace any o-rings in it or fix a seal. It utilizes a system of clamping for both the hopper and barrel, hopper wise this is a bad idea because of how soft that aluminum is up there-barrel wise it works very well and if you're handy enough you could cut in threads for another type or barrel if you wanted to. Closed bolt accuracy, pumps smoothly, very efficient on gas and paint (you'll save a bunch of $-trust me). You do need a hopper adapter for it, although i fashioned one out of a pipe adapter. It is very accurate and mixed with evils and a red dot it amazing at snap-shooting from 75 feet against full auto guns, and can be used for some long baling if you can adjust for windage and elevation. The only downside is, other than the weak hopper clamp which broke one me, is it's shooting rate. Although it has auto-pump (hold down the trigger and pump, and ever time the pump makes a cycle it shoots-a great advancement back in the day) you can probably max out a 3bps, and those not being very accurate balls either (though i'm sure with practice it'll be better). Lastly it seems to give other players big head when they play against you, until you blow them off with it's accuracy.
Conclusion: No upgrades needed, accurate, threatening (loudness wise-no porting), reliable, a true tippmann gun. I've used this thing for idk how many years and never had a problem-other than newbies chopping paint with it from not cocking it right and half-squeezing the trigger and it's bolt unlocking like it's ready to be cocked again.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 28th, 2008 at 4:57 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media