paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II

Tippmann SL-68 II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann SL-68 II

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann SL-68 II
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 116
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann is reintroducing a paintball legend with a few modern updates, including a redesigned integrated feed neck that fits most current standard hoppers, as well as a redesigned ergonomic grip for enhanced comfort and control. Most of the other great features that helped establish the original as a true paintball legend still remain.

Key Features:
• 11” Performance Aluminum Barrel For Accuracy
• Smooth Short Stroke Design For Speed
• Redesigned Integrated Feed Neck Fits Most Standard Hoppers
• Auto Receiver For Faster Firing – Hold trigger and pump repeatedly for continuous firing
• Solid Cast Aluminum Receiver and Non Corrosive Internals for Durability
• Redesigned Ergonomic Grip For Comfort And Control
• Integrated Tank Adapter with Built-in Gas Line
• Front and Rear Sling Mounts
Product Availability 
The Tippmann SL-68 II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
empire2 Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 E w/ 14" Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel, 32 Degrees Shark Drop Forward,
X-Chamber, Revolution 12 volt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Ok, I'm gonna do this like Painter 73. Leave a comment if you don't mind painter 73.

The Good:
-The best pump you can get.
-Pretty good accuracy for a pump.
-Tippmann made it.
- No problems out of it except ball breakage ( not much )
-Looks cool ( Like Pro/Carbine )

The Bad:
- Pretty darn loud. ( maybe good, maybe bad )
-It's a pump.
-Every now and then a ball breaks....but not much....about 7 or 8 out of 500.
Conclusion: If your wanting a pump, get this. It's the best pump, I thinlk. If I was gonna buy a pump, I would get this one. So it's probably worth $140.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 2nd, 2003 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nitro Duck Wednesday, February 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Tigershark
Marker Setup: -98 Custom R/T-
12 inch J&J Ceramic
Lazy Z Drop Forward
Pro-Team Powerfeed
Pro-Team RVA
68/4500 N2 Tank

SL-68II
Sling
Hopper Adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
Leave the thing stock it preforms just as good stock as it would with anything aftermarket.
Strengths: Its tough as nails you just cant tear the thing up.
-Nice pump stroke
-Comfey grip
-easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Its hard to get to the trigger spring
You will need a hopper adapter
its kinda loud
Conclusion: I bought this gun from a feild that used it for a rental and its had the crap beat out of it and is still going just fine exept I need a new main spring and some o rings.Overall I would highly suggest you buy this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballer2389 Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter, Tippmann Model 98 Custom, Tippmann Pro/Carbine
Marker Setup: Only Tested this one
Strengths: This gun is good for a pump.
Weaknesses: Well its a pump.
Review: Its a good little gun. Its one of the best pumps i've ever used. I just would hold the trigger down and pump it so it would be like a semi-auto. Its really cool when you get someone w/ an auto out with this gun. I like tippmann guns, they have always worked good for me.
Conclusion: Its a nice little gun. Nothing to complicated. I'll give it a ten because it worked good for me and didnt chop any balls.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 26th, 2003 at 7:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hitman08 Wednesday, September 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 Stealth Sniper Apex Barrel Weaver Quad rail mount Tactical light Bipod Laser pointer Collapsible Stock Semi Auto
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
Strengths: Durability Strength
Weaknesses: Likes to load more than one ball at a time
Review: Excellent shape does not chop like some pumps this is my first pump i like it i did a scenario with it since i dont own a paintball pistol the Tippmann SL68-2 whooped and pwned a lot of semis and put up a hell of a fight against the Spyder MR2 & MR3 users i would highly recomend this marker as a starter pump to anyone
Conclusion: Great Price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snipes5 Thursday, July 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cocker pumps
phantoms
Marker Setup: tippman 98c platinum a.c.t.
flatline barrel
response trigger
Custom products one piece 14' barrel (indoor)
Worr Games Products 50 Cubic inch aluminum HPA
Vlocity
beoranged bolt
or
sl68-2
12 ounce co2
gravity feed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
maybe a ported barrel (not required)
dot sight (if you want to be a "sniper")
Strengths: Tough you cannot kill this thing
Accurate just like other pumps
Autotrigger for tight spots
Weaknesses: Non ported barrel (not really weakness)
Review: this marker is great its tough accurate reliable. What more could you ask for in a pump and its simple. You can peg people at around 50 yards at 300 fps although that is with clear line of sight that is still awesome. I got the rereleased version so the feedneck had been updated. this thing is extremely light you can go for a whole day and not feel tired. It is a bit loud but if you play outside its not very noticible plus indoors it scares noobies. It comes with an eleven inch barrel which is now mirror polished and very accurate. i love this gun i play with it alot even more so than my semi.
Conclusion: This is a great marker . its durable and never dies its accuracy like most pumps is unmatched.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vex22 Wednesday, April 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
U.S Army Project Salvo
No other Pump guns
Marker Setup: Stock Sl-68
Spyder Red Dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Small
Awesome Looks
Weaknesses: No ball detent
Review: I just got this marker yesterday and all i have to say is wow. I shot one pod of paint at a 5x5 cement block. My pod is about 150 paintballs and i counted up after words, something like 137 hit this small target at 100 feet. I was beyond impressed, it was the stock marker with a normal fps and it was shooting like a marker with a 20" barrel, needless to say it was incredible.
The one problem is that if the gun is pumped and not in auto trigger mode, and the gun is held down that paintball will fall out, but its a very minor annyoance and should not turn people away from the gun
Conclusion: If you want what i believe is the best woodsball marker on the marker today, buy this marker now
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 15th, 2010 at 7:37 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jackfish Friday, March 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
First pump I have ever used
Alpha Black Stock marker
98 custom with 14 inch JJ ceramic
Viewloader Orion
Marker Setup: Stockl SL-68 II with Tasco red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Slightly longer barrel / maybe 14inch with porting
Holo or red dot sight
Strengths: Compact
Durable
Simple
Easy to clean and maintain
Light weight
Weaknesses: No ball detent (Balls roll right out onto the ground)
Review: As noted above the only dislike I have with this marker is the lack of a ball detent which I didn't know about until after I purchased it and went to test fire it off my deck and realized there were balls on the deck at my feet. I have since placed a small strip of duct tape along the inside of the back of the barrel and this squeezes the ball just enough to prevent roll outs. Has survived hundreds of balls so far and hasn't shot out yet. Would seem that a company as advanced as Tippmann would not have placed something as simple as a detent in a re-introduced marker. Some porting on the barrel would have been nice as well. I like that they kept it old school, but some modernizations would have been well placed while they were replacing the feed neck and the air tank fittings.
Conclusion: Overall I love the gun's performance. It is accurate, and forces me to take aimed shots rather than shoot and track like I used to. I will be looking for a JJ barrel for it with porting to reduce the popping sound when I shoot, but it will always be in my arsenal even if not always used against my semi shooting family members.
I give it a 10 anyway because it is a tank and a pleasure to shoot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Monday, February 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: Reliable, Minimalist design, small profile.
Weaknesses: Can't change barrel, so must use standard bore paint.
Review: I used this gun for a full set of games. Went through around 1000 balls in probably 20-30 games. It's got a few quirks but once you get the feel for the pump stroke, the action is fast and reliable. On the other hand, I found that if you use bad pump technique, you can get double feeds, misfeeds, balls broken in the gun, etc.

Accuracy is reasonable. It's probably not the absolute best in terms of guns out there, but it's not that bad either.

Personally I like the minimalist design of this gun. A lot of modern pumps seem over-designed to me: regulators, stacked tubes, double triggers, etc.

I don't know if it's possible to rig something up to drop in an aftermarket barrel.
Conclusion: I'd get this gun if you're looking for a reliable, solid pump gun. The only real downside is that you are stuck with the standard barrel. Not a big deal unless your preferred paint is some non-standard bore.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Milky Spore Saturday, October 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom-Way better.
Talon-Lol.
Splatmaster-Pretty cool, I liked it more.
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom
Trigger shoe
Detent rings
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't know of any upgrades, but if there is it needs a barrel first.
Strengths: Indectrucable
Simple
Light-ish
Anti-double feed
Weaknesses: Where the bottle goes
Annoying grip feel
Inaccurate
Anti-double feed
Review: Alright, so it's the end of the day reffing at our field. The speedball tourney we had was over, and there was only a few walk-ons and refs left. So, since there wasn't that many people left, the field owner let us play, and I chose this gun to use. The first thing I noticed is it was light-ish, and it had this thing on the grip that dug into my hand and was the most annoying thing ever. Where the bottle goes in the grip is annoying too, makes it feel akward. It also felt really well built, I mean I could've thrown this in the fire pit we had going and nothing would have happened to it. So, the game starts and I noticed I couldn't hit anything. All the shots hooked to the left. Why? I don't know, they just did. If there's such thing as an aftermarket barrel for this, get it. Lastly, the anti-double feed I liked and didn't like. Sometimes I do want to load two balls into my Phantom, and I can do that with it, but not with this gun.
Conclusion: I would only recommend it as a loaner gun. It's not that great of a performer, but it works alright enough, and it will never break. Because of that, it gets a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

huffnpuff12345 Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
just a brass eagle pump that sucked
Marker Setup: 98c, cyclone feed, tapco t6 stock, 16" stiffi barrel, ADCO Sure Shot
A-5, Tapco SAW Stock, Special Ops Forgrip, RT trigger
SL-68 II
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J barrel and a hopper adapter seem to be the only upgrades around.
Strengths: Acurate, easy to clean, light, durable, air efficient
Weaknesses: Pump (but you should know that), not many upgrades, have to get a hopper adapter
Review: I had decided that I wanted a pump to help me improve my game. I searched around and found the SL-68 II to be the most recomended one. I got onto ebay and bought a really early one. I got it and it looked in bad shape, I opened it up and everything looked fine so I tested it out. It was very acurate and I was using dented paintballs. I found that cleaning out the barrel is so easy.
After getting a hopper adapter I was finally able to use it in a 1 on 1 game this weekend. They had my 98c so they had way more firepower. After I got a handle for it I ended up winning the second game. The auto pump came in very handy. The gun had great acuracy and distance. It didn't dissapoint me at all.
Now I just need to get a barrel
Conclusion: If you're looking for a good reliable pump that doesn't cost much go with this one. It's great and I doubt it will let anybody down.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media