paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II

Tippmann SL-68 II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann SL-68 II

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann SL-68 II
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 116
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann is reintroducing a paintball legend with a few modern updates, including a redesigned integrated feed neck that fits most current standard hoppers, as well as a redesigned ergonomic grip for enhanced comfort and control. Most of the other great features that helped establish the original as a true paintball legend still remain.

Key Features:
• 11” Performance Aluminum Barrel For Accuracy
• Smooth Short Stroke Design For Speed
• Redesigned Integrated Feed Neck Fits Most Standard Hoppers
• Auto Receiver For Faster Firing – Hold trigger and pump repeatedly for continuous firing
• Solid Cast Aluminum Receiver and Non Corrosive Internals for Durability
• Redesigned Ergonomic Grip For Comfort And Control
• Integrated Tank Adapter with Built-in Gas Line
• Front and Rear Sling Mounts
Product Availability 
The Tippmann SL-68 II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
apjohnny416 Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cci- Phantom
Wgp- Sniper
Home Made Schnocker
( homemade cockerpump)
Marker Setup: -Cci Phantom Vertical stock Class
-3.5 Oz co2 tank
-Gauge Installed into Valve

-Tippman A-5
-Heavy Internal Mods
-18inch Operator Barrel
-Ops gear Shroud
-North star Red Dot
-Site Riser
-Tasco Three Point Stock

-Sl-68ll
-120z Tank
-Cross man Red Dot
-Homemade 21 Round Tube
-Custom Paint Job
-Heavy Internal Work

-Piranha Gti
-App Expansion Chamber
-Some Internal mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
A New barrel Maybe
Strengths: -Reliability
-Accurate
-Easy to clean/Maintenance
-THE CLEANING PORT
-Efficient
Weaknesses: -None
-Loud
Review: I bought one of these about two years ago. Ive wanted one since i started playing but never had the money to buy one, until two of my Friends bought them, ExoticSportz was selling them for forty dollars, used and abused hells survivor rental guns. When i first bought it, it worked and was in HORRIBLE SHAPE or so it appeared. I took the gun apart down to nothing, and cleaned the years of grime and paint off. it turned into a shiny black and clean gun. With some polishing compound and some 40 micron sand paper i went to work
polished everything inside, somehow the powertube was managed to bent, so i went and bought a new powertube and the rest of spare parts they had for them (yes i cleaned them out) then it turned into my "command gun" with a twelve once but plate take and a crossman red dot i would use it to run messages (im the captain of my sppl team) i find the gun light and with a fifty round hopper very manageable I used a piece of 3/4 inch copper pipe cut to one inch and dremeled out the inners of the hopper and put a hose clamp to lock it down.
i have used and abused this in the year ive had it. i have chopped two dozen times and i actually dropped it into a pond. (i was running to the center of it and hopping it slipped the shoulder strap) No lie i just dumped the paint, hit the barrel with the squeege and pulled the trigger it just dripped went BOOM and worked.

This gun is amazingly simple to clean if you chop, often i wonder why no one else doesn't have a cleaning port, the tippmann 98 does (you slip down the little elbow)

We did nickname my gun the shotgun though. it make and extremly loud CRACK sound and we put an opsgear cannonizer that i had for my pro-carbine and this thing sounds like a beast and will make mostly anyone drop there head and go WHAT? WHOS SHOOTING!? it does help alot when im outguned running pop one shot and run

Alrite, so this gun is now considered tried and true indestructible to me, As of right now i have put this gun through murder, and yes, it fell down my stairs, and didnt wind up with a scratch, Amazing lets see someone drop there ion down a flight of metal stairs and have it walk away....
Conclusion: I rate this gun ten out of ten for simplicity ease of use and a great beginners gun.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting to try the challenge of pump or just beginning.
I plan on turning mine into a gun with a lapco drop stock and twelve grams
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 6th, 2007 at 11:26 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pump Phantom Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is no older pump that reaches up to this one.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom-back bottle- red dot sight. Detent rings, trigger shoe. Stock 14 inch barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel would be nice but it's very hard to come by nowadays for this gun.
Strengths: Very accurate, light, and the clink clunk when you rack a paintball in.
Weaknesses: None other than hard to find aftermarket things for this gun.
Review: This pump is very reliable. I started playing pump with this gun and i loved it. I like playing pump so much i bought myself a cci phantom. This gun is solid like a rock. Ive seen people with this gun and drop it on solid concrete and it would still be working perfectly. If you want to want to check out pump play, check this gun out.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you come across it and you will not be dissipointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JhonnyC Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
This is the only pump that I've acctually payed with
Marker Setup: Tippmann SL-68 II
7oz. cO2
50rnd. hopper
Red-Dot sight
Good aimin' skillz
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definently a red dot and the 50rnd, unless you're playing a long ass woodsbal game, then I reccomend a normal 200rnd hopper
Strengths: Looks
Size
Weight
Pump stroke
Durability
Autotrigger
Quiet
Weaknesses: Lack of ups
Not really around anymore
Review: So this was my first pump and I'm super pleased with it. When I bought it online, I expected it to be huge and heavy (tippmann sterotype, sorry woodsballers!) but when I pulled it out of the box I was shocked! This thing was tiny....I mean TINY! And the pump stroke was so smooth! So in no time I gassed her up and took her outside. Since it didn't come with a manual, it took me a while to find the velocity adjuster (on the side of the bolt in the little window). I then chronoed(spelled wrong) it and shot off a few rounds. Man this thing shoots great, and its quiet! I haven't gotten to play a game with her yet due to financial problems but I can't wait to get her out there
Conclusion: Just starting in pump? Can't a fford a phantom? Then the SL-68 II is perfect for you! BUT THIS GUN!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bounusball75 Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
68 carbine
98 custom
Marker Setup: 2004 black imp
ndz stubby bolt
all- a 14 in.
strange ram and hammer assembly
red halo b
68/3000 nitro duck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Idk
Strengths: Size
old school
pump
Weaknesses: Speed
Review: This is a great old school gun. I really like it. It is a older marker and it's fun to tool around with. If you play speedball this is a good gun to get back to basics with as I have. Really fun marker that is way more durable than anything I have seen.
Conclusion: Awsome and old
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

netmare666 Thursday, February 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ummmmmmm blade???
Marker Setup: BKO, Egg2, 47 3000 center flag
Sl-68 aftermarket barrel (not sure wat it is it was given to me)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrels but there arent many that u can find
Strengths: Accuracy, looks, price, weight,
Weaknesses: The barrles held on by friggin screw, louder than average, the pump handel is weak
Review: This is a great marker, very accurate and easy to use. i havent seen anywhere u can get a barrel for it. in the other reviews most people said "need hopper adaper" but i didnt need one with a pmi 150 round gravity hopper. i am giving this a 8 because there are better pumps out ther but it is still a great marker
Conclusion: This gun is good for those woodsball snipers and is a overall great gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SonsOfLiberty Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Tiger Shark Crystal
Marker Setup: SL-68 II
9oz Tank
200rd hopper
J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J 14" Ceramic barrel, you could also get a sling and a sight for this gun but its not as important as the barrel
Strengths: Very Durable
Very lightweight
Low profile look
Great out-of-the-box accuracy
Weaknesses: Only a few upgrades
May need to get a hopper adapter
Sights aren't great

Review: First I'll start off with the exterior design of the gun. The pump handle is very well designed and provides excellent support when aiming. The Body of the gun is one solid piece, which makes this gun very sturdy. The grip conforms to your hand nicely, with the bottomline integrated right into the handle.
The performance of this gun is awesome. The barrel is very accurate, but the J&J Ceramic barrel is alot better. It will be quieter and I love the self-cleaning feature that J&J Ceramics have. The The trigger pull is fine and the ability know as the "auto trigger" is great to get yourself out of tight spots. This allows you to hold the trigger and keep pumping out shots. I noticed that there is more ball breakage when you shoot like this, so the J&J would help out here too. Like all pumps the CO2 efficiency is great as well as the low number of balls used.
The aren't that many upgrades but the barrel is key. Countypaintball has all the parts and the barrel ,but the sling you'll have to fine else where. You can still buy this gun new at various places for somewhere around $100. I bought mine used and it is still great.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun if you want to get back to your days when you first started playing. Most of us started with pumps and worked are way up, but now it is time to get this great pump gun even if you own a high end marker. Get the J&J for this gun and you won't be displeased. This gun gives you high satisfaction in the arena when you take out the kid with the angel or the other assorted $1000 gun. Anyone who is looking to buy a gun and doesn't want to spend the $180 for a phantom get this gun because is is very sweet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SL-68 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PMI
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
BTB Rear Velocity Adjuster
Drop Forward (custom)
BSB Red Dot Scope
16 inch CMI "Thunderpig" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sight
Strengths: Cost
Acurracy
Weight Size
PUMP MARKERS RULE
Weaknesses: Availabilty
ROF
Hopper adapter

Review: I bought this gun in order to go back to the old ways of playing and boy was I pleased. It did exactly as I wanted it to. Very accurate and very hard to win when you are against a person with a semi auto. I personally was tired of wasting paint so I bought this baby to crutch my paint useage and boy did this work. Instead of spending $60-$100 a month I went to $40-$60 a month. Great buy!
Conclusion: Over all this is an excellent gun. Efficent and lightweight the SL-68 is the perfect pump to go with overall. A lot of people will disagree with me but when you're looking for a gun that supports the old ways of playing this is it. Although it's hard to come by (and if you do you should defintaly buy it!) and although it has a slow rate of fire it's the perfect backup for when you're in trouble. I'm giving it an 8 becuase of the hopper adapter but that is easily repairable.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

speedf50 Saturday, September 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder is close
Marker Setup: Evil omen with boomstick and after-market drop, and 12 volt revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
are there any?
Strengths: Accurate, you can do anything to it!
Weaknesses: Isn't very fast.
Review: This gun is crazy for something this old! It is crazy accurate, almost as accurate as some of the top end markers. this gun is so durable, My friend whoe's I tried actually throws it in his pool to clean it! And It still works really well, the gun is the best when wou hit somebody really good with it.
Conclusion: accurate, relliable, IT IS INDESTRUCTABLE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bam4 Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Prolite With And 18 " Barrel - The SL could shoot just as accurate as the prolite with its STOCK BARREL!
Marker Setup: A-5
SL 68 II w/ 14" J&J Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded Barrel - Some sort of scope
Strengths: Accurate - Light - Scares Newbies
Weaknesses: The sites dont work after 50 ft thats where a scope comes in
Review: Nice gun, If you can find you I highly recomend you to buy this. Tippmann is the manufacturer that I've stuck with. They are very durable. When I first used this like everyone laughed. Even the people that weren't as good as me. But when we were shooting at some trees before a game they were freaking out because of the accuracy
Conclusion: BUY IT IF YOU WANT BETTER ACCURACY AND IF YOUR A PLAYER THAT HAS A TIGHT BUDGET THIS BABY WILL SAVE YOU MONEY ON C02 AND PAINT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jsfnv Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle, Various semi automatics and pumps
Marker Setup: SL-68 II
Recommended
Upgrades:
red-dot scope
Strengths: Very Accurate
Doesn't double feed
doesn't chop paint
powerful
semi-automatic feature
Weaknesses: none
Review: This gun is very accurate and doesn't need a new barrel. I would reccomend being a sniper with this gun because of its accuracy and distance, if the enemy creeps up around you, the semi-automatic feature will save you. It did for me when my whole team was eliminated and I was the only one left.
Conclusion: This is a great gun that will last forever. It is totally made of metal and is good CO2 efficiency
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media