paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II

Tippmann SL-68 II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann SL-68 II

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann SL-68 II
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 116
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann is reintroducing a paintball legend with a few modern updates, including a redesigned integrated feed neck that fits most current standard hoppers, as well as a redesigned ergonomic grip for enhanced comfort and control. Most of the other great features that helped establish the original as a true paintball legend still remain.

Key Features:
• 11” Performance Aluminum Barrel For Accuracy
• Smooth Short Stroke Design For Speed
• Redesigned Integrated Feed Neck Fits Most Standard Hoppers
• Auto Receiver For Faster Firing – Hold trigger and pump repeatedly for continuous firing
• Solid Cast Aluminum Receiver and Non Corrosive Internals for Durability
• Redesigned Ergonomic Grip For Comfort And Control
• Integrated Tank Adapter with Built-in Gas Line
• Front and Rear Sling Mounts
Product Availability 
The Tippmann SL-68 II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
fartface Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon (useless)
Marker Setup: PMI VTL with coiled remote and red dot sight, VM68 with 4x scope, Talon, 2 slingshots, 2 rocket launchers
Recommended
Upgrades:
sight
Strengths: semi auto option, good barrel
Weaknesses: its a pump slow fire rate
Review: This is the first paintball gun I heve ever used.
Since it was a pump I couldn't hit anything.
You can make it go semi when you hold down the trigger and continuously pump.
It takes barrel extensions.
accurate with red dot scope.
made of metal so it will last.
I myself would rather use a semi.
Conclusion: I recomend this to snipers and to add a scope to it or you won't hit alot and to noobs because its a good gun if used right.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

flintlock88 Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Phantom would be a good comparison to this, but the SL is a lot more meaty
Marker Setup: 98 Custom (silver)
14" Progressive barrel
GTA Vertical Adapter
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
Psycho Ballistics Drop forward
RT Response System
Psycho Ballistics RVA
Polished Stock Barrel
Polished Internals
9oz and 16oz CO2 tanks
12v Revi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sling, hopper adapter, 12 gram adapter, either a 40rd Ammo Box or a VL200
Strengths: Tippmann durability, very accurate, sorta fast, AWESOME backup gun
Weaknesses: The front sight is a bit weak
Review: Well, having JUST tested this about 2 hours ago, I've decided to buy this over an Autococker. I really want to get into pump play, and this would be a perfect thing for me, being the rabid Tippmann fan that I am. They are THE best paintball company in the world, no questions asked (not to mention one of the oldest). I guarantee that any marker that you would buy from them would last longer than you will. I mean you can give this to your kids. Also, you can play stock class with it if you want, as long as you can make a stick feeder out of a PVC pipe.
Conclusion: Get it. One of the best pumps out there. It's durable and very accurate, and the only problem is that they stopped makin it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 15th, 2003 at 2:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Venom523 Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo pump
Marker Setup: Tippmann SL 68 II. 16 oz. stubby Co2 tank. Smart Parts 15" barrel. Sometimes a remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded barrel
Strengths: Solid dependable marker. Shots almost any kind of paint like a dart gun
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire, but it only takes one good shot!
Review: I've been using the SL68II for a few months now. My shot vs. hit ratio always goes way up when I use it. I actually send way more guys packing with this gun then others. My other markers are a Tippmann 98 Custom R/T and a Automag classic. The Automag is very accurate but I SL68II seems just as accurate and lighter. I can snipe way better, especially in 1 ball (no hopper). Try it some time. You will learn the game and your gun way better. Then when you put the hopper back on you'll be a force to be reckoned with.
Conclusion: Rock solid pump from a depenable company. Definately worth the price I paid on eBay.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LiquidOstrich3 Tuesday, July 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ACI maverick
Marker Setup: Just the gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels are hard to find. Maybe a scope?
Strengths: good on co2, easy to clean and strip
Weaknesses: barrel held in by a screw?
Review: This gun is good if you want a pump. Ive heard a phantom is way better, which it probably is, its good but NOT CUSTOMIZABLE. i wish it could have a pistol grip pump. built like a tank yet hard to hit. I've had a few problems with it, when i cock it back, it releases a butt load of co2, not good, i'd go with a better gun.
Conclusion: Its good and durrable, but not super great, it was my first gun, i wish i hadn't wasted my money on it, i prefer semi auto's
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

overkill Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
cci phantom
pgp
tiger shark
talon
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 ,14in dye xcel, aci stage 4 expantion chamber, cp lightning drop forward,dubble trigger rear volocity adjustment, 12 vol rev
Recommended
Upgrades:
they only thing i would up grade on this gun is maybe ther barrel but it is not needed
Strengths: it never loses its volocity and shoot strait every time
Weaknesses: you need an adaptor to put a hopper on it
Review: the plains for this gun where handed down by god him self. mother mary would be proud to shoot this gun. True story: I didn't have the adaptor for my gun to hold the hopper on so i would just load 4 balls down the elbow and shoot like that and the top ball would fly off from the recoil. so im out in the wood and me and my team get seperated and i end up by a pond. the oposing team consited of 4 talon and a perona xts the saw me buy the pond and attacked i gor pushed 1/4 the way round the pond on to a pennensal where i held all 5 of them off for a good 15mins shooting 3 balls reloading.
Conclusion: looks like a shot gun sound like a shot gun won't die great on air. i would take this gun up agenst an impluse, cocker, or angel anyday. but its not made by cci and you have to get that stupid adaptor it gets a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CPDeluxe Sunday, May 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
seriously i don't know
Marker Setup: sl-68 II
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel
Strengths: brings lots of fun
Weaknesses: accuracy on mine was bad.
Review: i like this pump. its my first marker and i love it! only thing i didn't like was the accuracy at first but its probably me who did something. not enough velocity or something, and if anyone knows the reason for my accuracy on this pump can you pm me your response
k thanks
Conclusion: get it! i got a good deal on this pump. i got it new with jt x fire mask and chrome molly 12 oz co2 all for only 90 ! thats with shipping too! get this pump its great !
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DeusExMachina Wednesday, April 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade (Just cause it's pump) Talon (uh-oh, 2 brass eagle) and Maverick (not a bad gun)
Marker Setup: SL 68 II with 10 SHot Tube or Clear hopper (depends on game) 9 0z c02 and Sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sling (like on a pro/carbine), Hopper adapter (or have one shaved off or made custom by a friend like me) and Barrel, still looking for that one.
Strengths: VERY accurate out of the box with stock. It's a Tippmann and invincible.
Weaknesses: It's a bit loud, has that tippmann ping.
Review: I just bought my SL and I would highly recommend this gun to people who want to star out with a well priced, sturdy gun or those who aspire to Snipe their enemies. At about 106-109 dollars, this is one of the best affordable pump guns out there.

The only problem is that is does not come with a hopper and standard sized hoppers will not fit so have one shaved or have a tube custom made or make an ammo box yourself. The gun is sling ready, I installed mine today with little trouble I just bought my brother's sling off his pro/carbine and installed it on mine.

Conclusion: This is a great pump gun for beginners. It's reliable, and it's tippmann, nothing more needs to be said.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper003 Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing that is a pump
Marker Setup: Just a regular SL-68 II witha red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Red dot sight
silencer
14 inch barrel (its out there)
stock
remote line
a lot of c02
Strengths: Accurate
pretty much indestructable
only 1 thing can rust (pumping rod)
Weaknesses: extremmly loud
need a hopper adapter
sight is kinda messed up
Review: This gun is great. Its my second gun and i luv it. VERY ACCURATE even if u through it in the mud. (ive done it) Shoots through brush. Velocity limit kinda sucks. not many after market upgrades. Good sniper gun, although loud. Light without c02. Can take any kind of c02.
Conclusion: This gun is a really good gun, if your a sharp shooter u should get this. Best with working with a semi-auto for cover.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crosshead1 Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha
Marker Setup: 100 round hopper,9oz co2,shoulder strap
Recommended
Upgrades:
tippmann did a great job as to giving it the best!i wouldn't upgrade/change anything on here.unless you can find a better barrel(good luck),the barrel is great,very accurate and durable
Strengths: -great accuacy if good velocity
-co2 efficent
-small
-very tough
-fast field striping
Weaknesses: -heavy
-cannot really get to trigger spring
Review: if you are looking for a gun that will last forever,shoot accurately,and is the best quality.this is the gun for you.i would still be using it if my bolt hadn't broken.and that's because this gun is 10 y/o(it was my dad's).it works like cr*p in cold weather!but in summer the best pump gun out there,and it's fairly priced...$195.the aluminum body is amazing,over the 10 years we(me and my dad)have had this,i've never seen anything majorly wrong with it.it's very easy to maintain.it's not quite as easy to clean.the trigger spring isn't very easy to get to.
Conclusion: if i ever wanted to buy a pump gun again,this would be the one i'd buy!it's an all-around perfect gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Myrddyn Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom,and a few other pumps that were easily forgetable
Marker Setup: Tippy SL-68 II with custom made pump handle, bolt and barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
There aren't really any aftermarket parts for it anymore, you have to know a machinist to upgrade it.
Strengths: Fairly accurate, VERY DURABLE, and of course the satisfying CLUNK-CLUNK when you rack it
Weaknesses: only 2, the loudness of the stock barrel and the lack of aftermarket parts
Review: I would not play without my SL! Even with the stock barel it is fairly accurate (aprox.3-6 inch groupings @ 90 ft with very few flyaways providing you are using good paint),and absolutely scary if you can find other barrels (very dificult to find though)
As far as pumps go it is a bit heavier than most, but I think that gives it a better overall feel.
Conclusion: As I said earlier, I would not play w/o my SL. It is a very nice piece of work with a low pricetag (seen it as low as $109 U.S.), makes it worth the extra effort to find/make parts and upgrades.

EVRYONE should play at least once with a decent pump!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media